DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 01/16/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation of claims 1, 2, and 11-12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10-12, filed 01/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 13, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Morgan (US 20200375090 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Garner (US 20210059107 A1), in view of Morgan (US 20200375090 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Garner discloses a planting machine, comprising:
a furrow opener that opens a furrow as the planting machine moves across a field; a seed delivery system that delivers seeds to seed positions in the furrow [0008] “Example 1 is a planting machine, comprising:” [0009] “a furrow opener that opens a furrow as the planting machine moves across a field” [0010] “a seed delivery system that delivers seeds to seed locations in the furrow.”
an image capture device … [0096] “In either case, member 172 can include a seed sensor 176, which senses the presence of the seed. It may be an optical sensor, which optically senses the seed presence as member 172 moves adjacent to, ahead of, or over the seed.” [0107] “Additionally, in other examples, sensors 122, 193, and 203 can include a camera and image processing logic that allow visual detection as to whether a seed is present within seed metering system 124, seed tube 120, and/or seed delivery system 166, at the sensor location proximate the sensor. They can include a wide variety of other sensors (such as RADAR or LIDAR sensors) as well.”
an image processor that identifies some planting characteristics based on the image … [0073] The present description thus proceeds with respect to a system that identifies a specific location, e.g., a seed location, and controllably dispenses or applies material, based upon the seed location (and/or position) in a field. The system can do this by sensing seeds, as they are planted in the soil, and then calculating a time when an application valve or actuator, e.g., a pump, should be actuated to apply the material, based upon the location of the valve or actuator relative to the location of the seed. [0160] “At block 452, for instance, the valve may have a camera located on it so that the seed can be sensed in close proximity to the valve. The camera may be on a seed firmer so that it detects the final location of the seed in the furrow. In any of these cases, the valve location on row unit 106 is known, at least relative to other items so that it can be actuated at the appropriate or desired time.”
an actuator that is actuated to apply a material to the field [0076] “In one example, a set of devices (e.g., actuators) 109 is provided to perform this operation. For instance, actuators 109 can be individual pumps that service individual row units 106 and that pump material from tank 107 through supply line 111 so it can be dispensed on the field. In such an example, material application control system 113 controls the pumps 109. In another example, actuators 109 are valves and one or more pumps 115 pump the material from tank 107 to valves 109 through supply line 111. In such an example, material application control system 113 controls valves 109 by generating valve or actuator control signals, e.g., on a per-seed basis, as described below.”
an actuation identification system that generates an actuation timing indicator indicative of a timing for actuating the actuator to apply the material at material placement positions based on the planting characteristic identified … [0085] “Material application control system 113 illustratively receives a signal from seed sensor 122, indicating that a seed is passing sensor 122 in seed tube 120. It then determines when to actuate actuator 109 so that material being applied through application assembly 117 (and out distal tip 119 of application assembly 117) will be applied at a desired location relative to the seed in trench or furrow 162. This is all described in greater detail herein as well. One brief example will be described now, by way of overview.” [0131] “Valve actuation identification system 256 illustratively receives some of the inputs discussed above and identifies when the valves 109 are to be actuated in order to apply material at a desired location relative to the location of the seeds being placed in furrow 162.” [0147] “Time stamp generator 364 illustratively receives seed sensor signal 304 and generates a time stamp indicating when signal 304 indicates the presence of a seed. Time delay generation system 366 then generates a time delay indicative of the amount of time it will take the seed to travel from the particular seed sensor that sensed it, to an outlet opening of the seed delivery system 166 or seed tube 120.”
and an actuator control signal generator that receives the actuation timing indicator and generates an actuator control signal based on the actuation timing indicator to control the actuator to apply the material to the field [0135] “In another example, queue generation system 270 generates a set of valve actuation timing signals, indicating when valves 109 should be actuated, for a future sequence of actuations. For instance, queue generation system 270 may generate a queue of timing signals that are generated either by event driven processing system 266 or frequency driven processing system 268, and provide that plurality of queued timing signals to valve control signal generator 258. Valve control signal generator 258 can receive that set of signals and generate valve actuator control signals based upon the queued sequence of timing signals. In this way, the network bandwidth for communication between valve actuation identification system 256 and valve control signal generator 258 need not be as high. By communicating a plurality of valve actuation timing signals as a queued sequence of signals, the frequency with which those signals need to be sent can be greatly reduced over an implementation in which each valve actuation timing signal is sent, individually and separately, for each valve actuation.” [0141] “Valve control signal generator 258 then generates control signals to control valve actuation, based upon the output from valve actuation identification system 256. The control signals control valves 109 so that the material being applied is applied at the desired location in the furrow, e.g., relative to the seed location. Generating control signals to control valve actuation is indicated by block 354 in the flow diagram of FIG. 9.”
Garner does not appear to teach the full claim limitation regarding “an image capture device located outside the furrow that captures an image of the furrow and an image processor that identifies a planting characteristic based on the image of the furrow”
However, Morgan teaches equivalent teachings wherein an image capture device located outside the furrow that captures an image of the furrow and an image processor that identifies a planting characteristic based on the image of the furrow [0018] “An implement monitor 50 preferably including a central processing unit (“CPU”), memory and graphical user interface (“GUI”) (e.g., a touch-screen interface) is preferably located in the cab of the tractor 5. A global positioning system (“GPS”) receiver 52 is preferably mounted to the tractor 5.” [0040] “an image capture apparatus 700 is illustrated incorporating a camera 750 mounted to an extension 710. The camera 750 is preferably oriented to capture an image of the trench, and may be oriented rearward (e.g., opposite the direction of travel) and disposed at least partially inside the trench 38 (e.g., at least partially below the surface. The image or images captured by the camera 750 preferably include the sidewalls of the trench, the bottom of the trench and/or the upper surface of the soil surface 40. The camera may be disposed forward of the seed firmer 400 as illustrated and may be disposed to capture an image of seeds. The camera may be a video camera and/or still image camera and is preferably in data communication with the implement monitor 50 for transmission of images to the implement monitor for display to the user and/or association with a location (e.g., geo-referenced location) in the field at which the images are captured and for storage in memory of the implement monitor and/or on a remote server.” [0050] “Agronomic property window 840 preferably displays an agronomic property value (e.g., residue density, trench depth, trench collapse percentage, trench shape) which may be estimated by analysis of the image 810. For example, a residue density may be calculated by the steps of (1) calculating a soil surface area (e.g., by identifying and measuring the area of a soil surface region identified based on the orientation of the camera and the depth of the trench, or based on the color of the soil surface), (2) calculating a residue coverage area by determining an area of the soil surface region covered by (e.g., by identifying a total area of the soil surface covered by residue, where residue may be identified by areas having a color lighter than a constant threshold or more than a threshold percentage lighter than an average color of the soil surface region), and (3) dividing the residue coverage area by the soil surface area.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Garner and Morgan teachings to feed Morgan’s image-derived planting characteristic into Garner’s existing actuation identification system to generate the actuation timing indicator responsive to the planting characteristic, because Garner already times actuation relative to detected seed/seed location and Morgan supplies an explicit imaging subsystem providing seed/planting criteria from furrow images to make the system include an image capture device located outside the furrow that captures an image of the furrow and an image processor that identifies a planting characteristic based on the image of the furrow.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Garner and Morgan to improve overall system by providing an image sensor with less signal variability that allows for simplified processing, and replace the citation with Morgan [0041] “The benefit of disposing the sensors on extension 710 is that signal variation generated by a seed as firmer 400 passes over the seed does not need to be subtracted out of the signal. This simplifies the processing of the signal especially when seeds are planted close together, such as with soybeans. Also, the sidewalls of trench 38 are smoother than the bottom of trench 38, which results in less signal variability, which also simplifies the processing of the signal. Also, when sensors are mounted on extension 710, a greater force can be applied so that the sensor has an increased soil contact for increased measurement. As can be appreciated, the firmer 400 has a maximum force that can be applied based on seed to soil contact in given soil conditions so that the seed is planted at a desired depth with desired seed to soil contact and/or to prevent movement of seeds. Also, extension 710 can better protect the sensor and/or camera from rocks during planting as compared to firmer 400.”
Regarding Claim 2 , The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 1 wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic, a seed position of a seed within the furrow, [0073] The present description thus proceeds with respect to a system that identifies a specific location, e.g., a seed location, and controllably dispenses or applies material, based upon the seed location (and/or position) in a field. The system can do this by sensing seeds, as they are planted in the soil, and then calculating a time when an application valve or actuator, e.g., a pump, should be actuated to apply the material, based upon the location of the valve or actuator relative to the location of the seed. [0087] “With this type of information, once system 113 receives a seed sensor signal indicating that a seed is passing sensor 122 in seed tube 120, system 113 determines the amount of time it will take for the seed to drop through the outlet end of seed tube 121 and into furrow 162 to reside at its final seed location and position in furrow 162” [0160] “At block 452, for instance, the valve may have a camera located on it so that the seed can be sensed in close proximity to the valve. The camera may be on a seed firmer so that it detects the final location of the seed in the furrow. In any of these cases, the valve location on row unit 106 is known, at least relative to other items so that it can be actuated at the appropriate or desired time.”
wherein the actuation identification system comprises: a direction identification system that identifies a direction to apply the material from the actuator based on the seed position [0087] “With this type of information, once system 113 receives a seed sensor signal indicating that a seed is passing sensor 122 in seed tube 120, system 113 determines the amount of time it will take for the seed to drop through the outlet end of seed tube 121 and into furrow 162 to reside at its final seed location and position in furrow 162. It then determines when tip 119 will be in a desired location relative to that final seed location and it actuates valve 109 to apply the material at the desired location. By way of example, it may be that some material is to be applied directly on the seed. In that case, system 113 times the actuation of actuator 109 so that the applied material will be applied at the seed location. In another example, it may be desirable to apply some material at the seed location and also a predetermined distance on either side of the seed location. In that case, system 113 controls the signal used to control actuator 109 so that the material is applied in the desired fashion. In other examples, it may be that the material is to be applied at a location between seeds in furrow 162. By way of example, relatively high nitrogen fertilizer may be most desirably applied between seeds, instead of directly on the seed. In that case, system 113 has illustratively been programmed with the desired location of the applied material, relative to seed location, so that it can determine when to actuate actuator 109 in order to apply the material between seeds. Further, as discussed above, actuator 109 can be actuated to dispense material at a varying rate. It can dispense more material on the seed location and less at locations spaced from the seed location, or vice versa, or according to other patterns.” [0138] “In the same way, where the valve or nozzle is provided with a variable orifice, varying the orifice may change the trajectory or exit velocity of the material as well. Thus, pump pressure controller 274 can control the pump pressure to obtain a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied. Variable orifice controller 276 can variably control the orifice to also achieve a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the applied material. In some examples, variable orifice controller 276 and pump pressure controller 274 can work in concert to control the exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied.”
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 2, Garner discloses wherein the actuator control signal generator is configured to generate, as the actuator control signal, a direction control signal to control a direction in which the actuator applies the material based on the identified direction [0138] “In the same way, where the valve or nozzle is provided with a variable orifice, varying the orifice may change the trajectory or exit velocity of the material as well. Thus, pump pressure controller 274 can control the pump pressure to obtain a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied. Variable orifice controller 276 can variably control the orifice to also achieve a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the applied material. In some examples, variable orifice controller 276 and pump pressure controller 274 can work in concert to control the exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied.” [0141] “Valve control signal generator 258 then generates control signals to control valve actuation, based upon the output from valve actuation identification system 256. The control signals control valves 109 so that the material being applied is applied at the desired location in the furrow, e.g., relative to the seed location.” Garner teaches that the system generates control signals (from valve control signal generator 258, and also via pump pressure controller 274 / variable orifice controller 276) that adjust trajectory of the spray. Changing trajectory is equivalent to controlling the direction in which the actuator applies the material.
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 1, Garner discloses wherein the actuator comprises: a first actuator that is actuated to apply a first material to the field; and a second actuator that is actuated to apply a second material to the field [0143] “In one example, there is a single valve that controls a single nozzle, per row being planted… In another example… there may be multiple valves per row being planted that can be controlled in order to achieve a higher application rate… Further, it may be desirable to apply multiple different materials per row. In that case, there may be multiple different valves, per row, each dispensing a different material.” [0144] “For example, one valve or valve set may apply a first commodity directly to the seed while another valve or valve set may apply a second commodity, e.g., a hot commodity, between seeds.” Garner discloses multiple actuators (valves) per row. It further teaches that different valves can dispense different materials (“a first commodity “first actuator” a second commodity “second actuator”). This shows that “first actuator” applying a first material and “second actuator” applying a second material.
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 4, Garner discloses wherein the actuation identification system comprises: an actuator selector configured to select at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator for actuation based on the planting characteristic [0131] “Valve actuation identification system 256 illustratively receives some of the inputs discussed above and identifies when the valves 109 are to be actuated in order to apply material at a desired location relative to the location of the seeds being placed in furrow 162.” [0144] “Further, it may be desirable to apply multiple different materials per row… there may be multiple different valves, per row, each dispensing a different material. Thus, valve actuation identification system 256 can provide an indication as to when to actuate each of the valves to apply the corresponding material, so that it is applied at the desired location relative to the seed, and valve control signal generator 258 generates control signals for the different valves, based upon the output from system 256.” Garner system valve actuation identification system 256 deciding which valve(s) to fire and when, and specifically doing so per seed/location. When multiple valves each supply different material, the system selects which valve applies which material at which point relative to the seed.
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 1, Garner discloses wherein the actuation identification system comprises: a pulse timing generator that generates a pulse initiation indicator indicative of a timing when the actuator control signal is to be generated based on the planting characteristic [0146] “FIG. 10 is a block diagram showing one example of event driven processing system 266, in more detail. System 266 illustratively includes time stamp generator 364, time delay generation system 366, travel distance generation system 368, valve/nozzle time offset generator 370, pulse timing generator 372, pulse duration generator 374, and it can include a wide variety of other items 376. FIG. 10 also shows that, in one example, event driven processing system 266 receives the one or more seed sensor signals 304, and endless member speed indicator 284 that indicates the speed of the delivery system 166 and/or meter 124, delivery system and meter dimension data 282 that indicates such things as the meter and/or delivery system size, the distance that the seed will drop after it exits the delivery system to the furrow, etc.” [0148] “In the example where time delay generation system 366 identifies the time delay, then valve/nozzle time offset generator 370 illustratively calculates a time offset corresponding to the responsiveness of the valve being controlled, under the current conditions. For instance, the responsiveness may vary based upon the particular valve or actuator, based on the properties of the material being applied, based upon the ambient conditions, based on the pump pressure, or based on other things. Valve/nozzle time offset generator 370 generates an output indicative of a time offset that corresponds to a latency in actuation of the valve.”
and a pulse duration generator that generates a pulse duration indicator indicative of a duration for which the actuator control signal is to be generated based on the planting characteristic [0150] “Pulse duration generator 374 generates an output indicative of how long the valve should stay on, e.g., open. This can include determining the latency in the valve response between the time that it is commanded to close and when it actually closes. This may vary based upon the type of material being applied, based upon ambient conditions, etc. The two-timing signals (the pulse time indicating when the actuator should be actuated, and generated by generator 372, and the pulse duration output by pulse duration generator 374) are provided to valve control signal generator 258. Valve control signal generator 258 generates valve control signals to actuate the valve at the time indicated by pulse timing generator 372, and to keep the valve actuated for a duration indicated by pulse duration generator 374. The rate at which the material is applied can also be varied. For example, the valve may be a proportional valve so more or less material can be applied.”
and wherein the actuator control signal generator generates the actuator control signal based on the pulse initiation indicator and based on the pulse duration indicator [0150] “The two-timing signals (the pulse time and the pulse duration) are provided to valve control signal generator 258. Valve control signal generator 258 generates valve control signals to actuate the valve at the time indicated by pulse timing generator 372, and to keep the valve actuated for a duration indicated by pulse duration generator 374.” Garner explicitly discloses a pulse timing generator (372) and a pulse duration generator (374), and that those outputs feed valve control signal generator 258, which produces the actuator control signal.
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 1, Garner discloses wherein the actuation identification system comprises: a spray shape identification system that generates a spray shape indicator indicative of a shape of spray of material to be applied by the actuator, and wherein the actuator control signal generator generates the actuator control signal based on the spray shape indicator [0019] “time to actuation calculator logic configured to generate the device actuation timing indicator based on the a priori seed pattern and the planting operation reference signal” [0020] Example 5 is the planting machine of any or all previous examples wherein the frequency driven processing system comprises: [0021] a seed pattern verification system configured to intermittently verify that the a priori seed pattern is accurate based on a detected actual seed pattern. [0022] Example 6 is the planting machine of any or all previous examples wherein the seed pattern verification system comprises: [0023] an actual seed pattern detection system configured to detect an actual seed pattern; [0024] a pattern correction value identifier configured to identify a pattern correction value based on the a priori seed pattern and the actual seed pattern; and [0025] seed pattern correction logic configured to apply the pattern correction value to the a priori seed pattern to generate a corrected seed pattern. [0138] In the same way, where the valve or nozzle is provided with a variable orifice, varying the orifice may change the trajectory or exit velocity of the material as well. Thus, pump pressure controller 274 can control the pump pressure to obtain a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied. Variable orifice controller 276 can variably control the orifice to also achieve a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the applied material. In some examples, variable orifice controller 276 and pump pressure controller 274 can work in concert to control the exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied. [0107] “sensors 122, 193, and 203 can include a camera and image processing logic that allow visual detection as to whether a seed is present” [0160] “At block 452, for instance, the valve may have a camera located on it so that the seed can be sensed in close proximity to the valve. The camera may be on a seed firmer so that it detects the final location of the seed in the furrow. In any of these cases, the valve location on row unit 106 is known, at least relative to other items so that it can be actuated at the appropriate or desired time.” [0141] “Valve control signal generator 258 then generates control signals to control valve actuation, based upon the output from valve actuation identification system 256. The control signals control valves 109 so that the material being applied is applied at the desired location in the furrow, e.g., relative to the seed location.” Garner discloses that the system determine the seed’s final position in the furrow, based on that, determine where material should land (on-seed, to either side, or between seeds); and generate control/pressure/orifice/trajectory signals so the actuator aims material accordingly. [0143] “In one example, there is a single valve that controls a single nozzle, per row being planted In another example there may be multiple valves per row being planted that can be controlled in order to achieve a higher application rate… Further, it may be desirable to apply multiple different materials per row. In that case, there may be multiple different valves, per row, each dispensing a different material.”
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches a method of controlling a planting machine, comprising: Garner discloses generating an actuation timing indicator indicative of a timing for actuating an actuator to apply material at material placement positions based on the planting characteristic [0131] “Valve actuation identification system 256 illustratively receives some of the inputs discussed above and identifies when the valves 109 are to be actuated in order to apply material at a desired location relative to the location of the seeds being placed in furrow 162.” [0147] “Time stamp generator 364 illustratively receives seed sensor signal 304 and generates a time stamp indicating when signal 304 indicates the presence of a seed. Time delay generation system 366 then generates a time delay indicative of the amount of time it will take the seed to travel from the particular seed sensor that sensed it, to an outlet opening of the seed delivery system 166 or seed tube 120.”
and generating an actuator control signal based on the actuation timing indicator to control the actuator to apply the material to the field [0141] “Valve control signal generator 258 then generates control signals to control valve actuation, based upon the output from valve actuation identification system 256. The control signals control valves 109 so that the material being applied is applied at the desired location in the furrow, e.g., relative to the seed location.” Garner discloses that the system determine the seed’s final position in the furrow, based on that, determine where material should land (on-seed, to either side, or between seeds); and generate control/pressure/orifice/trajectory signals so the actuator aims material accordingly. [0150] “Pulse duration generator 374 generates an output indicative of how long the valve should stay on, e.g., open. This can include determining the latency in the valve response between the time that it is commanded to close and when it actually closes. This may vary based upon the type of material being applied, based upon ambient conditions, etc. The two-timing signals (the pulse time indicating when the actuator should be actuated, and generated by generator 372, and the pulse duration output by pulse duration generator 374) are provided to valve control signal generator 258. Valve control signal generator 258 generates valve control signals to actuate the valve at the time indicated by pulse timing generator 372, and to keep the valve actuated for a duration indicated by pulse duration generator 374. The rate at which the material is applied can also be varied. For example, the valve may be a proportional valve so more or less material can be applied.” Garner describes capturing camera imagery in/near the furrow to locate the planted seed, computing when/where to fire material relative to that seed, generating a timing indicator (pulse timing output), and then generating control signals to actuate the valve accordingly.
Garner does not appear to teach the claim limitation regarding “receiving an image of a furrow opened in a field; the image captured by an optical detector located outside the furrow, processing the image to detect a seed in the furrow based on the image, identifying a planting characteristic based on the detected seed”
However, Morgan teaches equivalent teachings receiving an image of a furrow opened in a field; the image captured by an optical detector located outside the furrow [0040] “camera 750 oriented to capture an image of the trench” [0040] “images captured and transmitted to monitor 50 in data communication with the implement monitor 50 for transmission of images” The system “receives” the image at monitor 50. [0046] display includes “trench 38 and seeds 42”;
processing the image to detect a seed in the furrow based on the image [0046] “image includes seeds 42 disposed in the bottom of the trench.” [0051] “monitor 50 may (1) identify a plurality of seeds in the image 810 (e.g., by identifying regions of the image having a range of colors empirically associated with seeds)” The system detects the seed in the furrow via image processing.
identifying a planting characteristic based on the detected seed [0051] “seed spacing calculated from identifying seeds in the image and measuring distances; then “calculate a planting criterion (e.g., seed population, seed spacing)”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Garner and Morgan teachings to feed Morgan’s image-derived planting characteristic into Garner’s existing actuation identification system to generate the actuation timing indicator responsive to the planting characteristic, because Garner already times actuation relative to detected seed/seed location and Morgan supplies an explicit imaging subsystem providing seed/planting criteria from furrow images to make the system wherein receive an image of a furrow opened in a field; the image captured by an optical detector located outside the furrow, process the image to detect a seed in the furrow based on the image, identifying a planting characteristic based on the detected seed.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Garner and Morgan to improve overall system by providing an image sensor with less signal variability that allows for simplified processing, and replace the citation with Morgan [0041] “The benefit of disposing the sensors on extension 710 is that signal variation generated by a seed as firmer 400 passes over the seed does not need to be subtracted out of the signal. This simplifies the processing of the signal especially when seeds are planted close together, such as with soybeans. Also, the sidewalls of trench 38 are smoother than the bottom of trench 38, which results in less signal variability, which also simplifies the processing of the signal. Also, when sensors are mounted on extension 710, a greater force can be applied so that the sensor has an increased soil contact for increased measurement. As can be appreciated, the firmer 400 has a maximum force that can be applied based on seed to soil contact in given soil conditions so that the seed is planted at a desired depth with desired seed to soil contact and/or to prevent movement of seeds. Also, extension 710 can better protect the sensor and/or camera from rocks during planting as compared to firmer 400.”
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the method of claim 13, Garner does not appear to teach the claim limitation regarding further comprising: “capturing the image with an optical detector, mounted on the planting machine at a distance above the furrow, as the planting machine is delivering seeds to the furrow”
However, Morgan teaches equivalent teachings capturing the image with an optical detector, mounted on the planting machine at a distance above the furrow, as the planting machine is delivering seeds to the furrow (See Fig.8, 750/710) [0040] “an image capture apparatus 700 is illustrated incorporating a camera 750 mounted to an extension 710. The camera 750 is preferably oriented to capture an image of the trench, and may be oriented rearward (e.g., opposite the direction of travel) and disposed at least partially inside the trench 38 (e.g., at least partially below the surface. The image or images captured by the camera 750 preferably include the sidewalls of the trench, the bottom of the trench and/or the upper surface of the soil surface 40. The camera may be disposed forward of the seed firmer 400 as illustrated and may be disposed to capture an image of seeds. The camera may be a video camera and/or still image camera and is preferably in data communication with the implement monitor 50 for transmission of images to the implement monitor for display to the user and/or association with a location (e.g., geo-referenced location) in the field at which the images are captured and for storage in memory of the implement monitor and/or on a remote server.” [0050] “Agronomic property window 840 preferably displays an agronomic property value (e.g., residue density, trench depth, trench collapse percentage, trench shape) which may be estimated by analysis of the image 810. For example, a residue density may be calculated by the steps of (1) calculating a soil surface area (e.g., by identifying and measuring the area of a soil surface region identified based on the orientation of the camera and the depth of the trench, or based on the color of the soil surface), (2) calculating a residue coverage area by determining an area of the soil surface region covered by (e.g., by identifying a total area of the soil surface covered by residue, where residue may be identified by areas having a color lighter than a constant threshold or more than a threshold percentage lighter than an average color of the soil surface region), and (3) dividing the residue coverage area by the soil surface area.” Morgan shows multiple mounting arrangements at different heights (i.e., at an X distance above), including a camera mounted to an extension 710 or bracket 415 with field of view into trench; and the displayed images include soil surface and trench geometry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Garner and Morgan teachings to feed Morgan’s image-derived planting characteristic into Garner’s existing actuation identification system to generate the actuation timing indicator responsive to the planting characteristic, because Garner already times actuation relative to detected seed/seed location and Morgan supplies an explicit imaging subsystem providing seed/planting criteria from furrow images to make the system wherein capturing the image with an optical detector, mounted on the planting machine at a distance above the furrow, as the planting machine is delivering seeds to the furrow.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Garner and Morgan to improve overall system by providing an image sensor with less signal variability that allows for simplified processing, and replace the citation with Morgan [0041] “The benefit of disposing the sensors on extension 710 is that signal variation generated by a seed as firmer 400 passes over the seed does not need to be subtracted out of the signal. This simplifies the processing of the signal especially when seeds are planted close together, such as with soybeans. Also, the sidewalls of trench 38 are smoother than the bottom of trench 38, which results in less signal variability, which also simplifies the processing of the signal. Also, when sensors are mounted on extension 710, a greater force can be applied so that the sensor has an increased soil contact for increased measurement. As can be appreciated, the firmer 400 has a maximum force that can be applied based on seed to soil contact in given soil conditions so that the seed is planted at a desired depth with desired seed to soil contact and/or to prevent movement of seeds. Also, extension 710 can better protect the sensor and/or camera from rocks during planting as compared to firmer 400.”
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the method of claim 14, Garner discloses wherein identifying the planting characteristic comprises identifying a seed position of the seed within the furrow [0087] “With this type of information, once system 113 receives a seed sensor signal indicating that a seed is passing sensor 122 in seed tube 120, system 113 determines the amount of time it will take for the seed to drop through the outlet end of seed tube 121 and into furrow 162 to reside at its final seed location and position in furrow 162” [0160] “At block 452, for instance, the valve may have a camera located on it so that the seed can be sensed in close proximity to the valve. The camera may be on a seed firmer so that it detects the final location of the seed in the furrow. In any of these cases, the valve location on row unit 106 is known, at least relative to other items so that it can be actuated at the appropriate or desired time.”
and further comprising: identifying a direction to apply the material from the actuator based on the seed position [0087] “With this type of information, once system 113 receives a seed sensor signal indicating that a seed is passing sensor 122 in seed tube 120, system 113 determines the amount of time it will take for the seed to drop through the outlet end of seed tube 121 and into furrow 162 to reside at its final seed location and position in furrow 162” .” [0138] “In the same way, where the valve or nozzle is provided with a variable orifice, varying the orifice may change the trajectory or exit velocity of the material as well. Thus, pump pressure controller 274 can control the pump pressure to obtain a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied. Variable orifice controller 276 can variably control the orifice to also achieve a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the applied material. In some examples, variable orifice controller 276 and pump pressure controller 274 can work in concert to control the exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied.”
and generating an actuator direction control signal to aim the actuator to apply the material based on the identified direction [0138] “In the same way, where the valve or nozzle is provided with a variable orifice, varying the orifice may change the trajectory or exit velocity of the material as well. Thus, pump pressure controller 274 can control the pump pressure to obtain a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied. Variable orifice controller 276 can variably control the orifice to also achieve a desired exit velocity and/or trajectory of the applied material. In some examples, variable orifice controller 276 and pump pressure controller 274 can work in concert to control the exit velocity and/or trajectory of the material being applied.” [0141] “Valve control signal generator 258 then generates control signals to control valve actuation, based upon the output from valve actuation identification system 256. The control signals control valves 109 so that the material being applied is applied at the desired location in the furrow, e.g., relative to the seed location.” Garner discloses that the system determine the seed’s final position in the furrow, based on that, determine where material should land (on-seed, to either side, or between seeds); and generate control/pressure/orifice/trajectory signals so the actuator aims material accordingly.
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the method of claim 14, Garner discloses wherein the planting machine comprises a first actuator that is actuated to apply a first material to the field and a second actuator that is actuated to apply a second material to the field and further comprising: selecting at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator for actuation based on the planting characteristic [0143] “In one example, there is a single valve that controls a single nozzle, per row being planted… In another example… there may be multiple valves per row being planted that can be controlled in order to achieve a higher application rate… Further, it may be desirable to apply multiple different materials per row. In that case, there may be multiple different valves, per row, each dispensing a different material.” [0144] “For example, one valve or valve set may apply a first commodity directly to the seed while another valve or valve set may apply a second commodity, e.g., a hot commodity, between seeds.” Garner discloses multiple actuators (valves) per row. It further teaches that different valves can dispense different materials (“a first commodity “first actuator” a second commodity “second actuator”). [0087] “With this type of information, once system 113 receives a seed sensor signal indicating that a seed is passing sensor 122 in seed tube 120, system 113 determines the amount of time it will take for the seed to drop through the outlet end of seed tube 121 and into furrow 162 to reside at its final seed location and position in furrow 162” [0131] “Valve actuation identification system 256 illustratively receives some of the inputs discussed above and identifies when the valves 109 are to be actuated in order to apply material at a desired location relative to the location of the seeds being placed in furrow 162.” Garner discloses that the controller decides, per seed location / per desired placement (the planting characteristic), which valve (and thus which material) to fire (e.g. nutrient on-seed vs different product between seeds).
Regarding Claim 20, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claims 1 & 13, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Claims 6, 8-9, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Garner (US 20210059107 A1), in view of Morgan US 20200375090 A1 as applied to claims 1, 5, and 14 above, and further in view of Conboy (US 20230140374 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 5, wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic … within the image of the furrow, and wherein the actuator selector selects the first actuator or the second actuator based on the … [0107] “sensors 122, 193, and 203 can include a camera and image processing logic that allow visual detection as to whether a seed is present” [0160] “At block 452, for instance, the valve may have a camera located on it so that the seed can be sensed in close proximity to the valve. The camera may be on a seed firmer so that it detects the final location of the seed in the furrow. In any of these cases, the valve location on row unit 106 is known, at least relative to other items so that it can be actuated at the appropriate or desired time.” [0143] “In one example, there is a single valve that controls a single nozzle, per row being planted… In another example… there may be multiple valves per row being planted that can be controlled in order to achieve a higher application rate… Further, it may be desirable to apply multiple different materials per row. In that case, there may be multiple different valves, per row, each dispensing a different material.”
The combination of Garner with Morgan does not teach the claim limitation “wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic, a seed type indicative of a type of a seed within the image of the furrow, and wherein the actuator selector selects the first actuator or the second actuator based on the seed type”
However, Conboy teaches equivalent teachings wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic, a seed type indicative of a type of a seed within the image of the furrow, and wherein the actuator selector selects the first actuator or the second actuator based on the seed type [0024] “the row unit 18 may include a first seed hopper 42 configured to store seeds of a first seed type and a second hopper 44 configured to store seeds of a second seed type.” [0028] “the row unit 18 may include one or more seed tube sensors 90 configured to detect seeds as they fall or otherwise travel through the seed tube 52. In such an embodiment, the seed tube sensor 90 may generally correspond to any suitable sensor or sensing device configured to detect seeds passing through the seed tube 52 (e.g., whether falling through the tube 52 via gravity or by being conveyed through the tube 52 via a driven belt or other seed-transport means extending within the seed tube 52)” [0036] “the computing system 102 may be configured to activate each seed placement sensor 80 for a given period of time selected based on the determined time window or evaluation window across which each deposited seed will pass through the detection zone 82 of the sensor 80, thereby allowing for the selective collection of sensor data in view of the timing signals. Alternatively, when each seed placement sensor 80 is configured to continuously collect data, the computing system 102 may be configured to selectively sample the data received from each seed placement sensor 80 based on the timing signals from the timing sensor(s) 140, thereby allowing the computing system 102 to evaluate data associated with each instance at which it is determined or estimated that a given seed will be passing through the detection zone 82 of the seed placement sensor 80” Conboy system uses two distinct seed sources (types) and a computing system that tags each planted seed via timing/evaluation windows; associating a detected seed (from Garner’s camera) with its source lane that provides a seed-type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the seed-imaging and multi-valve actuation system taught by the combination of Garner and Morgan with Conboy’s multi-hopper/timing framework that associates each planted seed to its source lane/type, so that the controller selects the first or second actuator based on the identified seed type for per-type in-furrow treatment.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve per-seed targeting and placement fidelity using real-time placement/timing data [0036] “the computing system 102 may be configured to activate each seed placement sensor 80 for a given period of time selected based on the determined time window or evaluation window across which each deposited seed will pass through the detection zone 82 of the sensor 80, thereby allowing for the selective collection of sensor data in view of the timing signals. Alternatively, when each seed placement sensor 80 is configured to continuously collect data, the computing system 102 may be configured to selectively sample the data received from each seed placement sensor 80 based on the timing signals from the timing sensor(s) 140, thereby allowing the computing system 102 to evaluate data associated with each instance at which it is determined or estimated that a given seed will be passing through the detection zone 82 of the seed placement sensor 80”
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 1 wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic, … within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter … and wherein the actuator control signal generator is configured to generate the actuator control signal based on the actuation parameter [0087] “With this type of information, once system 113 receives a seed sensor signal indicating that a seed is passing sensor 122 in seed tube 120, system 113 determines the amount of time it will take for the seed to drop through the outlet end of seed tube 121 and into furrow 162 to reside at its final seed location and position in furrow 162” [0160] “At block 452, for instance, the valve may have a camera located on it so that the seed can be sensed in close proximity to the valve. The camera may be on a seed firmer so that it detects the final location of the seed in the furrow. In any of these cases, the valve location on row unit 106 is known, at least relative to other items so that it can be actuated at the appropriate or desired time.”
The combination of Garner with Morgan does not teach the claim limitation regarding “a seed depth indicative of a planting depth of a seed within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter based on the seed depth and wherein the actuator control signal generator is configured to generate the actuator control signal based on the actuation parameter”
However, Conboy teaches equivalent teachings a seed depth indicative of a planting depth of a seed within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter based on the seed depth and wherein the actuator control signal generator is configured to generate the actuator control signal based on the actuation parameter [0016] “The data generated by the seed placement sensor may then be communicated to a computing system configured to determine and/or monitor one or more seed-related placement parameters based on the sensor data, such as the seed depth, seed position, and/or the like, as well as one or more other seed placement parameters, such as relative seed spacing, seed population, and/or the like.” [0019] “In addition to using the timing signals to selectively activate the sensor and/or sample the sensor data, the timing signals may also be used adjust or update one or more of the operating parameters of the seed placement sensor. For instance, in one embodiment, the operating frequency, power, and/or any other suitable operating parameter of the seed placement sensor may be varied based on the timing signals. For example, when the seed placement sensor corresponds to a ground penetrating radar, the frequency band across which the sensor is operating may be varied such that sensor operates at a first frequency band for the evaluation window across which each seed will be passing through the detection zone of the seed placement sensor and at a second frequency band for the time periods between each evaluation window.” Conboy expressly teaches producing a seed-depth parameter from sub-surface detection. Feeding that depth parameter into Garner’s actuation pipeline.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the seed-imaging and multi-valve actuation system taught by the combination of Garner and Morgan with Conboy’s sub-surface seed-placement sensing that explicitly provides seed depth as a computed parameter , so that the actuation identification generates a parameter based on depth.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve per-seed targeting and placement fidelity using real-time placement/timing data [0036] “the computing system 102 may be configured to activate each seed placement sensor 80 for a given period of time selected based on the determined time window or evaluation window across which each deposited seed will pass through the detection zone 82 of the sensor 80, thereby allowing for the selective collection of sensor data in view of the timing signals. Alternatively, when each seed placement sensor 80 is configured to continuously collect data, the computing system 102 may be configured to selectively sample the data received from each seed placement sensor 80 based on the timing signals from the timing sensor(s) 140, thereby allowing the computing system 102 to evaluate data associated with each instance at which it is determined or estimated that a given seed will be passing through the detection zone 82 of the seed placement sensor 80”
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 1 wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic, …, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter … and wherein the actuator control signal generator is configured to generate the actuator control signal based on the actuation parameter [0087] “With this type of information, once system 113 receives a seed sensor signal indicating that a seed is passing sensor 122 in seed tube 120, system 113 determines the amount of time it will take for the seed to drop through the outlet end of seed tube 121 and into furrow 162 to reside at its final seed location and position in furrow 162” [0160] “At block 452, for instance, the valve may have a camera located on it so that the seed can be sensed in close proximity to the valve. The camera may be on a seed firmer so that it detects the final location of the seed in the furrow. In any of these cases, the valve location on row unit 106 is known, at least relative to other items so that it can be actuated at the appropriate or desired time.”
The combination of Garner with Morgan does not teach the claim limitation wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic, a seed-to-soil contact metric indicative of a quality of contact between a seed and soil within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter based on the seed-to-soil contact metric.
However, Conboy teaches equivalent teachings wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic, a seed-to-soil contact metric indicative of a quality of contact between a seed and soil within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter based on the seed-to-soil contact metric [0016] “The data generated by the seed placement sensor may then be communicated to a computing system configured to determine and/or monitor one or more seed-related placement parameters based on the sensor data, such as the seed depth, seed position, and/or the like, as well as one or more other seed placement parameters, such as relative seed spacing, seed population, and/or the like.” [0026] “Referring still to FIG. 2, one or more seed placement sensors 80 may also be supported relative to each row unit 18. In general, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil, thereby allowing one or more related placement parameters to be determined for the associated planting operation (e.g., individual seed depth/position, relative seed spacing, seed population, missing seeds, etc.). In several embodiments, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be configured to detect seeds 41 located underneath the soil surface (e.g., post-closing of the furrow). In such embodiments, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may generally be configured to be installed on or otherwise positioned relative to the row unit 18 such that the sensor(s) 80 has a field of view or detection zone 82 directed towards the soil surface at a location aft of the furrow closing assembly 28 (e.g., relative to the direction of travel 16 of the planter 10). For instance, as shown in FIG. 2, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 is supported relative to the row unit 18 (e.g., via a support arm 84 coupled to an associated support arm 31 of the press wheel 30) such that the sensor(s) 80 is configured to generate data associated with a portion of the field located immediately behind the aft-most ground-engaging tool of the row unit 18 (e.g., the press wheel 30). However, in other embodiments, the detection zone 82 of the sensor(s) 80 may be directed at any other suitable location that allows the sensor(s) 80 to detect seeds 41 positioned underneath the soil surface, such as at a location between the furrow closing assembly 28 and the press wheel 30.” Conboy’s sensor senses seeds after closing/pressing, allowing the computing system to infer contact quality (e.g., anomalies such as shallow seating/voids vs. well-seated returns) as a metric within the “seed placement parameters.” That metric then feeds Garner’s actuation identification (timing/trajectory/pulse width) and control signal generation to adjust on-seed vs. side-band application patterns responsive to contact quality.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the seed-imaging and multi-valve actuation system taught by the combination of Garner and Morgan with Conboy’s under-soil sensing/analysis to derive a seed-to-soil contact quality metric via subsurface detection of seated/missing/off-target seeds and drive actuation based on that metric.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve per-seed targeting and placement fidelity using real-time placement/timing data [0036] “the computing system 102 may be configured to activate each seed placement sensor 80 for a given period of time selected based on the determined time window or evaluation window across which each deposited seed will pass through the detection zone 82 of the sensor 80, thereby allowing for the selective collection of sensor data in view of the timing signals. Alternatively, when each seed placement sensor 80 is configured to continuously collect data, the computing system 102 may be configured to selectively sample the data received from each seed placement sensor 80 based on the timing signals from the timing sensor(s) 140, thereby allowing the computing system 102 to evaluate data associated with each instance at which it is determined or estimated that a given seed will be passing through the detection zone 82 of the seed placement sensor 80”
Regarding Claim 18, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 8, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Regarding Claim 19, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 9, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Garner (US 20210059107 A1), in view of Morgan US 20200375090 A1 as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Koch (US 20190289778 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 1, wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic a seed… [0107] “sensors 122, 193, and 203 can include a camera and image processing logic that allow visual detection as to whether a seed is present”
The combination of Garner with Morgan does not teach claim limitation regarding “a seed orientation indicative of an orientation of a seed within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter based on the seed orientation and wherein the actuator control signal generator is configured to generate the actuator control signal based on the actuation parameter”
However, Koch teaches equivalent teachings wherein a seed orientation indicative of an orientation of a seed within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter based on the seed orientation and wherein the actuator control signal generator is configured to generate the actuator control signal based on the actuation parameter [0012] “a first vision system coupled to the base support in operation to determine pre-orientation data for a first seed in a pre-orientation position in the trench, and an actuator coupled to the base support. The actuator adjusts an orientation of a second seed to a desired seed orientation within the trench if desired based on the pre-orientation data for the first seed in the pre-orientation position.” [0023] “Each seed firmer can include a first seed vision system (e.g., machine vision, lidar (light detection and ranging)) to determine pre-orientation of the seed after placement in the trench with a seed tube, an actuator to change an orientation of the seed if necessary or desired at least partially based on the pre-orientation data, and a second seed vision system (e.g., machine vision, lidar (light detection and ranging)) to determine a post-orientation of the seed after the seed is positioned and oriented with the seed firmer to confirm that the seed has been orientated with a desired orientation or range of orientations. The row units can include any of the embodiments described herein in conjunction with FIGS. 2-4 and 7.” [0033] “At block 602, a system monitors agricultural data including planting information, farming practice information, and seed orientation data (e.g., pre-orientation data, post-orientation data). A vision system (e.g., vision systems 472 and 476) determines pre-orientation data and post-orientation data for a planting operation at block 604. At block 606, the system (or device) causes a seed firmer having an actuator to adjust a seed orientation for providing a desired or preferred orientation (e.g., 520, 530, 540) based at least partially on the pre-orientation data during a training period. At block 608, the system dynamically determines whether the seed orientation data indicates that a threshold condition (e.g., threshold condition for range of orientations at pre-orientation position, threshold condition for range of orientations at post-orientation position) has been violated. If so, then the system dynamically adjusts an appropriate parameter or setting of a component (e.g., seed tube, actuator of a seed firmer), machine, or implement that has caused the violation of the threshold condition at block 610. The method 600 can then return to block 604 to continue collecting pre-orientation data and post-orientation data for a planting operation. If no violation occurs at block 608, the method continues to monitor seed orientation data to determine if the threshold condition has been violated at block 608.” Koch explicitly teaches seed orientation as an image-derived characteristic (pre-/post-orientation). A person that is skilled in the art would use Koch’s orientation extraction in Garner’s vision node to make “seed orientation” the planting characteristic. Koch provides the orientation signal and teaches parameter adjustment based on orientation thresholds. Together, the actuation parameter (e.g., timing/trajectory) is generated based on seed orientation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system disclosed by combination of Garner and Morgan to include Koch’s seed-orientation vision so that the image processor identifies seed orientation and the actuation identification system generates an orientation-based actuation parameter.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Garner, Morgan, and Koch to improve per-seed application effectiveness and agronomic outcomes [0031] “This causes faster uniform emergence of the plants from the soil, approximately uniform growth and height of the plants, approximately uniform consumption of water and nutrients for the plants, and uniform collection of sunlight for each plant. In one example, the plants are designed to produce leaves of the corn plants having a longitudinal axis in a direction (y axis) that is substantially transverse with respect to a direction (x axis) of row orientation 510 or at least having a longitudinal axis of leaf orientations that are not parallel with respect to a direction of the row orientation 510. In this manner, uniformity in seed orientation will result in uniformity in leaf orientation.
Regarding Claim 17, The claim recites a method of the parallel limitations in claim 7, respectively for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected using the same rational reasoning.
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Garner (US 20210059107 A1), in view of Morgan US 20200375090 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Landphair (US 20130125800 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Garner with Morgan teaches the planting machine of claim 1, wherein the image processor is configured to identify, as the planting characteristic… [0107] “sensors 122, 193, and 203 can include a camera and image processing logic that allow visual detection as to whether a seed is present” and wherein the actuator control signal generator is configured to generate the actuator control signal based on the actuation parameter [0150] “Pulse duration generator 374 generates an output indicative of how long the valve should stay on, e.g., open. This can include determining the latency in the valve response between the time that it is commanded to close and when it actually closes. This may vary based upon the type of material being applied, based upon ambient conditions, etc. The two-timing signals (the pulse time indicating when the actuator should be actuated, and generated by generator 372, and the pulse duration output by pulse duration generator 374) are provided to valve control signal generator 258. Valve control signal generator 258 generates valve control signals to actuate the valve at the time indicated by pulse timing generator 372, and to keep the valve actuated for a duration indicated by pulse duration generator 374. The rate at which the material is applied can also be varied. For example, the valve may be a proportional valve so more or less material can be applied.”The combination of Garner with Morgan does not teach “a seed spacing metric indicative of a spacing between seeds within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter based on the seed spacing metric.”
However, Landphair teaches equivalent teachings a seed spacing metric indicative of a spacing between seeds within the image of the furrow, wherein the actuation identification system is configured to generate an actuation parameter based on the seed spacing metric [0011] “The seed spacing monitoring system of the present invention uses a sensor such as a video camera, infra-red (IR) video camera, IR scanner, IR sensor, capacitive sensor, microwave sensor, etc. to sense the seed in its final location in the seed furrow immediately before the furrow is closed, covering the seed with soil. The time between detecting adjacent seeds and the planter travel speed is used to calculate the seed spacing.” [0032] “In another embodiment of the invention, detector 42 can be configured as a video camera which is mounted to the row crop unit and arranged to view the furrow between furrow opener 28 and closing wheels 34. There, the video camera can see seeds passing beneath the camera after being placed in the furrow and coming to rest at the bottom of the furrow. This results in the sensing of an actual location of the seed in the furrow. The image viewed by the camera is transmitted to processor 16A which determines when a seed comes into view. Processor 16A then measures the time until the next seed is detected. With planter speed information, the distance between seeds is determined.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system disclosed by the combination of Garner and Morgan which accounts for using seed spacing operationally (e.g., to target between seeds) and Landphair which provides a furrow-facing detection with a camera and processor logic that determines seed spacing from detections and speed.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Garner, Morgan, and Landphair to improve seed application accuracy and effectiveness [0007] “As a result, monitor technology has advanced in efforts to determine seed spacing. Current monitors determine skips and multiples of seed. These monitors also predict seed spacing in the furrow based on the timing of seed passing a sensor (such as a photo-electric eye) in a seed tube but are not capable of determining actual seed spacing.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUSSAM ALDEEN ALZATEEMEH/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662