DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9, 12-17 and 20-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first input coupled to the output of the ramp generator" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A first input was already claimed in line 3. Please label every limitation separately and individually in order to avoid confusion when referring back to a specific limitation.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second input coupled to the output of the ramp generator" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A second input was already claimed in line 3. Please label every limitation separately and individually in order to avoid confusion when referring back to a specific limitation.
Claims 2-8, 23 and 24 inherit the same from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first input" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first input" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second input" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Clams 12-16, 21 and 22 inherit the same from claim 9.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first input" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first input" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second input" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first input" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 14, 16 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Huang et al. (20040257056).
Claims 1, 4, 8 and 24; Huang et al figure 1, discloses a circuit comprising: an amplifier (162) with an input (Vfb) coupled to an inductor terminal (L/Rs/Vout terminal); a ramp generator (164) with a slope control input (VEA) coupled to the output of the amplifier (162) and a summer (166; summer by comparison of +/- inputs) coupled to the output of the ramp generator (164), and coupled to a current sense input (VIS). Power stage 18, 20, 22, 12, etc. coupled to summer (166).
Claim 3; scaling circuit (Vref, GND).
Claims 9, 14 and 16; Huang et al. disclose a circuit comprising: an amplifier (162) with an input coupled to a capacitor terminal (C/Vout); a ramp generator (164) coupled to the output of the amplifier (162); and a summer (166) coupled to the output of the ramp generator (164) and coupled to a current sense input (VIS). Power stage 18, 20, 22, 12, etc. coupled to summer (166).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. in combination with Small (US 4631653).
Claims 5, 6 and 15; Huang et al. disclose the claimed subject matter in regards to claim 1 supra, except for the inductor terminal is coupled to a winding of a transformer.
Small teaches a transformer can be coupled to an inductor terminal (e.g. A; inductor winding P or T2) on both the primary and secondary sides of the transformer in order to provide isolated feedback and output voltage points.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention effectively filed to modify Huang et al. to include the inductor terminal being coupled to a winding of a transformer in order to provide isolated feedback and output voltage points as taught by Small.
Claim 17; Small discloses a voltage converter, comprising: a power stage (Q1/Q2, 45, 44, etc.) having a control input and an output; a transformer (T1 or T2), the transformer including a primary side winding and a secondary side winding, the primary side winding coupled to the output of the power stage (Q1/Q2, 45, 44, etc.); an amplifier (e.g. 42) having a first input (52), a second input, and an output, the first input (52) of the amplifier coupled to one of the primary side winding or the secondary side winding.
However, Small does not disclose a ramp generator having a ramp slope control input coupled to the output of the amplifier; and a summer having a first input coupled to the output of the ramp generator, and the second input [of the summer] coupled to a current sense input coupled to the primary side winding.
Haung et al. teach that it is old and well known to have a power stage (12, 18, 20, 22, etc.) and an amplifier (162) with an input (Vfb) coupled to an inductor terminal (L/Rs/Vout terminal); a ramp generator (164) with a slope control input (VEA) coupled to the output of the amplifier (162) and a summer (166; summer by comparison of +/- inputs) coupled to the output of the ramp generator (164), and coupled to a current sense input (VIS) for driving and controlling the power stage in a simple and cost effective manner to produce the desired output voltage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention effectively filed to modify Small to include a ramp generator having a ramp slope control input coupled to the output of the amplifier; and a summer having a first input coupled to the output of the ramp generator, and the second input [of the summer] coupled to a current sense input coupled to the primary side winding for driving and controlling the power stage in a simple and cost effective manner to produce the desired output voltage as taught by Huang et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 12, 13, and 20-23 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/GARY L LAXTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 1/08/2026