DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 09/16/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-4, 6-16 and 20 have been amended, claims 5 and 17 have been canceled, and claim 21 has been added. Thus, claims 1-4, 6-16 and 18-21 are presently pending in this application, claims 2-4 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
3. In light of Applicant's Amendment of 09/16/2025, the objection to claims 6-7, 9, 11-12, 14-16 and 18-20 set forth in the Office Action of 06/18/2025, is hereby withdrawn.
4. Claims 1, 6-13 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6: “a second module an air inlet” should be changed to -- a second module defining an air inlet--. (for clarity)
Claim 22, line 1: “An air distribution system for a tub comprising” should be changed to -- An air distribution system for a tub comprising: --. (for clarity)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 is vague and indefinite because it sets forth that “a blower assembly in accordance with claim 14”. Specifically, it is unclear whether the claim is attempting to require a different, separate “blower assembly” or further defines the blower assembly, as recited in claim 14, or something else. For examination purposes, it will be assumed that “a blower assembly” recited in line 3 should read as – the blower assembly--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 6-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciechanowski (hereinafter “Ciechanowski”) (Pub. No.: US 2011/0252558 A1) in view of Wentz (Patent US 5,567, 127).
Regarding claim 1, Ciechanowski discloses an air distribution system (a gas and liquid massage system for a tub, which as stated in Abstract, comprises jets) for a tub comprising conduits (comprising water distribution pipes 24 being connected to a respective fluid jet 11 for the injection of water, as stated in Paragraph [0018], air distribution pipes 33, as stated in Paragraphs [0021]& [0023], being connected to the various ports of the sequencer manifold 14) in fluid communication with holes in a tub (in fluid communication with tub A, see Paragraphs [0019]&[0023]&[0026]-[0027]&[0030]) configured to inject air in a liquid of the tub (fluid jets 11 for the coincidental injection of water and air into the tub via the fluid jets 11, as stated in Paragraph [0021]); and a blower assembly (blower 30, as presented in Paragraphs [0020]-[0021]) in fluid communication with the conduits (the blower is surely capable of being in fluid communication with the conduits, as best seen in annotated Figure 2).
Particularly, in Paragraph [0020], Ciechanowski demonstrates as how “the air circuit 13 has a blower 30. A blower pipe 31 is connected to an outlet of the blower 30. In the illustrated embodiment, the blower pipe 31 is a flexible pipe, and is oriented upwardly so as to form a Hartford loop. A safety valve unit 32 may be provided in the blower pipe 31”.
Notably, in Paragraph [0021], Ciechanowski performs as how: The sequencer manifold 14 is connected to the safety valve unit 32. As shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, the sequencer manifold 14 may be screwed to an end of the safety valve unit 32, via threading at its connection end. Air distribution pipes 33 (FIGS. 1 and 2) are connected to the various ports of the sequencer manifold 14 and thus relate the sequencer manifold 14 to the fluid jets 11. During operation, the blower 30 creates a flow of air in the blower pipe 31. The flow of air will pass through the safety valve unit 32 to the sequencer manifold 14. According to the operation of the sequencer manifold 14, the flow of air will reach the air distribution pipes 33 in any appropriate sequence to then reach the fluid jets 11 for the coincidental injection of water and air into the tub via the fluid jets 11.
Ciechanowski is silent as to the structural specifics of the blower.
Nonetheless, blowers or air pumps having the claimed structure are well known in the art, as taught Wentz.
Wentz successfully discloses another blower 10, which, as stated in Abstract, is “including a flow-thru motor and fan unit encapsulated in resilient foam rubber layer within a substantially cylindrical plastic casing is provided which operates very quietly, delivers a sufficient quantity of warm pressurized air and filters the air which flows therethrough”.
Wentz discloses the blower assembly (blower 10) comprising:
a first module (first or outer module FM12 that includes upper and lower casings, as illustrated in annotated Figure 1) securable to a structure (securable to a plurality of resilient feet or legs 60 are attached to the lower surface of the cover plate 58 by glue, cement or the like or to the bottom structure BS60, as presented in column 4 lines 35-51), the first module (as best seen immediately below the first module FM12 is undoubtedly defining an outlet structure 36 extending through side wall 32, as discussed in column 3 lines 52-65) defining an air outlet (outlet structure 36 and/or outlets ); and
a second module (inner or second module SM16, as depicted in annotated Figure 1) defining an air inlet (the second module SM16 is surely defining a central circular opening or orifice 90 which is serving as an air inlet to the motor and fan unit 14, as stated in column 5 lines 32-40),
the second module (inner or second module SM16) including a motor (electric motor 70, as presented in annotated Figure 1 and column 5 lines 20-30 & 43-55), the motor (as stated in column 5 lines 43-48, upon activation of the motor 70, rotor 72 and drive shaft 84 are caused to rotate and consequently fan blade 92 rotates thereby creating a vacuum which draws air through inlets 28) drivingly engaged to a blower (the electric motor 70 is clearly drivingly engaged to the fan unit 14 and/or impeller 92, see column 5 lines 30-45) to, in use, drive an air flow from the air inlet from to the air outlet (the electric motor 70 drives the fan to rotate and direct the flow of air through and around the motor in a generally upward direction, as stated in column 6 lines 5-10, such that the flow of air is further exiting from the air outlet).
direct the flow of air through and around the motor in a generally upward direction.
Particularly, in column 9 lines 1-16, Wentz discloses as how: the user or operator can remove the cover plate 58 and either replace the filter element 56 or merely rotate the element through a small angle, for example, a 20° angle, to position. a clean portion of the filter element over each of the openings 64 in the support disc 62. After years of use of the low-noise warm-air blower, the blower may be reconditioned by removing the retaining element 22, separating the upper and lower casing sections, pulling the leads from the timer 124, replacing the foam and fan unit from said casing.
Next, in column 9 lines 13-16, Wentz states that: the blower is reassembled by reconnecting the timer leads, placing the upper casing section 18 in superimposed position with the lower casing section 20 and attaching the retaining element 22.
Still further, in column 9 lines 25-36, Wentz also specifies that: attaching the tube 98 to the upper surface of the fan housing 86, placing a layer of silicone gel between the casing 12 and tube 98 and between the motor 70 and tube 98, inserting the motor leads through the upper portion of the foam encapsulation layer (50 and 52), placing the upper foam encapsulation layer in position over the motor and fan unit, attaching the timer 124 to the upper casing section 18, attaching the motor leads to the timer and ground lead, attaching the diode to the timer and positive lead, placing the upper casing section over the lower casing section, and attaching the retaining element 22.
Clearly, Wentz’s blower assembly is designed such that the second module SM16 is detachably securable to the first module FM12 such that the second module SM16 is secured to the bottom structure BS, which is defined by the plurality of resilient feet or legs 60 in combination with the cover plate 58, via the first module FM12, as instantly claimed.
Wentz then goes on to describe how: the user connects and inserts an elongate hose, pipe or adapter into the cylindrical orifice 44 of the outlet structure 36 and rotates timer knob 130 to the desired position so as to provide for activation of the blower 10 for the selected time duration. When the time runs out and the timer 124 causes deactivation of the motor and fan unit 14, the user dries off, removes the hose from the orifice 44 and removes the plug of the power cord 116 from the wall outlet.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of using a blower assembly, as taught by Wentz, to the air distribution system of Ciechanowski, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a blower assembly to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further increase the air pressure at some of the fluid jets. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the first module defining an air outlet would be further configured to be further connected to at least one of the conduits of Ciechanowski.
Accordingly, the combination of Ciechanowski and Wentz appears to disclose all aspects of Applicant's claimed invention.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 13, Ciechanowski and Wentz substantially disclose the air distribution system, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in column 6 lines 33-45, Wentz specifically teaches as how: With reference to FIGS. 1, 2 and 5 of the drawings, the blower 10 includes an electrical drive circuit having power and ground leads 112 and 114 forming part of an elongate power cord 116 extending through an opening in the side wall 24 of lower casing section 20. A plug end of the power cord 116 includes a conventional ground fault circuit interrupt (GFCI or ALCI) or breaker 118 which will interrupt the drive current to the motor 70 should there be a short in the blower 10. The power lead 112 is connected to a diode 120 which is in turn connected to one terminal 122 of a conventional timer 124. The other terminal 126 of the timer 124 is connected to the motor 70. The timer 124 includes a shaft 128 which passes through top 34 of upper casing section 18. A knob or handle 130 is attached to the upper end of timer shaft 128. The timer 124 serves as both an on/off switch, that is the knob 130 can be turned to the off position, and to provide for a selected time interval for operation of the blower 19 and associated whirlpool, spa, bubble massager and the like. The diode 120 is a conventional solid state diode rectifier and serves as a half wave rectifier to reduce the voltage to the motor 79. The diode 120 causes the motor to operate at a slower and yet adequate speed so as to reduce the noise and increase the heating of the air passing through the blower 10.
Further, with reference to annotated Figures 1& 2, Wentz explicitly exhibits as how the first connector 112 electrically connected to the second connector 114 when the first module FM12 is engaged to the second module.
Surely, the first module FM12 includes a first electrical connector 112 and the second module SM16 directly and/or indirectly includes a second electrical connector 114 while the first connector 112 is electrically connected to the second connector 114 when the first module is engaged to the second module, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
In fact, Wentz, disclosing the combination of the electrical connectors 112 &114 and the diode 120 which is in turn connected to one terminal 122 of a conventional timer 124. and/or power cord 116 extending through an opening in the side wall 24, Wentz specifically performs as how the first module and the second module form a translation joint therebetween for engagement of the first electrical connector 112 with the second electrical connector 114 when the second module SM16 penetrates the first module and/or how the second module SM16 is solely powered via the first module FM12, otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using electrical connectors, as taught by Wentz, with the air distribution system of Ciechanowski/ Wentz, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of electrical connectors in blowers to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the air flow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
9. Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciechanowski in view of Wentz, and further in view of KYUNGSOO (KR101496297 (B1), English translation appended).
Regarding claim 10, Ciechanowski and Wentz substantially disclose the air distribution system, as claimed and detailed above.
However, the combination of Ciechanowski and Wentz is still silent as to the specifics regarding the first and/or second connecting member.
KYUNGSOO in the same field of endeavor teaches another air blower part 200, which, as stated in Abstract, “is installed in an empty space of an inner side of a bath tub 10. An upper portion of a spar part supplies air through an air feed hose (101) for controlling backflow of bathing water along top and bottom directions and blocking opening of a path of an air inlet”.
KYUNGSOO, in Paragraph [0041], successfully demonstrates that: As illustrated in FIGS. 6 to 10, the air blower unit (200) may be configured to include a blower motor (210) that operates to suck in and discharge external air, an air blower case body (220) that is fixedly fastened with the blower motor (210) housed inside, and has an air discharge port (221) formed at the top so that sucked air can be supplied through an air transfer hose (101) and an air intake port (222) formed at the bottom, and a bottom case body (230) that is fastened to the bottom of the air blower case body (220) and forms an intake passage (231) for external air. Here, the air blower case body (220) is composed of an upper case (223) and a lower case (224) that are fastened in a form that accommodates the blower motor (210) inside, and can be fastened by screw connection. In addition, the lower case (224) is connected to the bottom case body (230), and the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion of the lower case (224) and the bottom case body (230) is configured as an open structure so that an intake passage (231) can be formed on the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion. In addition, the bottom case body (230) is configured to form the bottom surface of the air blower unit (200), and may further include a shock-absorbing sponge (232) inside.
Most importantly, however, is that the lower case or inner case 231 is being connected to the upper or outer or bottom case 230 through the protruding portions or ribs and receiving grooves.
Certainly, as best seen in annotated Figure 7, KYUNGSOO explicitly exhibits as how the protruding or contact ribs R231 are protruding outwards and being engageable with engaging grooves provided on the inner surface 231.
Surely, these connecting members or protruding or contact ribs R231 having a configuration in which an engaging piece can be engaged with the groove of the inner surface.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using the first and second connecting members that are matingly engageable, as taught by KYUNGSOO, to the blower assembly of the air distribution system of Ciechanowski/ Wentz, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of engageable members in blowers to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the air flow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the first module would be further defining at least one first connecting member matingly engageable to at least one second connecting member being defined by the second module to further maintain the first module secured to the second module, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Ciechanowski, Wentz and KYUNGSOO substantially disclose the air distribution system, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen immediately below, KYUNGSOO evidently illustrates as how the protruding or contact ribs R231 project outward in an L-shaped cross section.
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the at least one first connecting member includes one of an L-shaped slot and a tab and/or the at least one second connecting member would be necessarily including the other of the L-shaped slot and the tab and/or the tab slidably receivable within the L-shaped slot to lock the first connecting member to the second connecting member and/or the L-shaped slot includes a plurality of L- shaped slots and/or the tab includes a plurality of tabs, as instantly claimed.
10. Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciechanowski in view of Wentz, and further in view of Caldewey et al. (hereinafter “Caldewey”) (DE102009033119-A1, English translation appended).
Regarding claim 8, Ciechanowski and Wentz substantially disclose the air distribution system, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in column 5 lines 30-35, Wentz specifically teaches as how: The motor and fan unit 14 further includes a substantially cylindrical fan housing 84 having upper and lower housing portions 86 and 88. The lower end of the motor 70 is attached to and supported by the upper fan housing 86. The lower fan housing 88 includes a central circular opening or orifice 90 serving as an air inlet to the motor and fan unit 14. The lower fan housing 88 is sized to accommodate a radial fan blade or impeller 92 attached to the bottom end of the drive shaft 82. A circular air diverter 94 is attached to the bottom of a plurality of supports 96 extending from the upper fan housing 86 and serves to direct the flow of air from fan 92 towards the sides of the fan housing 84.
However, the combination of Ciechanowski and Wang is still silent as to the fact that the second module having a rotational joint between a first housing and a second housing thereof.
Nonetheless, Caldewey successfully discloses another electric motor, “wherein the stator is accommodated in a motor housing consisting of two parts, which housing parts each simultaneously form a bearing bridge and axially overlap the stator, wherein further associated edge regions of the housing parts are connected to one another in a way that can only be removed by destruction” (see Paragraph [0001]).
Specifically, in Paragraph [0017], Caldewey teaches that: a seating area in the housing part designed as a stamped and bent part is formed by sections that are horizontally offset from one another as a result of a separating cut. The separating cut exposes a section of the housing part that is offset radially inwards compared to the adjacent housing part area, in particular by pressing in the section exposed by the separating cut to form the seating area that rests linearly on the associated end face of the stator. This separating cut is preferably aligned horizontally, further in the direction of rotation of the housing part and so on preferably along a circular line relating to the rotor axis or along a tangent to this circular line. In order to form the axially deflectable seating area by means of a separating cut, this preferably runs in an angular manner, starting from a horizontal cut as in the case of the fixed seating areas, with separating cuts at each end in the vertical direction. Accordingly, the angular separating cut creates a tab that is offset radially inwards from the surrounding housing section.
More specifically, in Paragraph [0035], Caldewey expressly states: The stator 5 is accommodated in a motor housing 11 which surrounds it on the outside and is composed of two pot-like housing parts 12 and 13. These are formed from a steel sheet as stamped and bent parts and each initially have a pot-like section forming a bearing bridge 14 in the pot base area, wherein the immediate area of the bearing bridge 14 further has a circular disk-shaped outline with a central, circular receptacle 15 in which a bearing 16 for the rotor shaft 2 is held. The bearing 16 is supported on the receiving base 30 via a spring ring 29.
Then, in Paragraphs [0041]- [0042], Caldewey specifies: In the position in which the housing part 12 is assigned to the stator 5, the tab section having the protrusions 20 extends at a radial distance from the facing wide surface of the stator-side flattening 9, whereby a slot-like insertion opening 21 is formed between the stator surface and the inner surface of the protrusion 20.In the position in which the opposite housing part 13 is assigned to the stator 5, the (counter) tabs 19, or their tab ends, which are also formed there, engage in these, the design of these tabs 19, in particular their trapezoidal extension and correspondingly their vertical extension, corresponding to the tabs 19 of the housing part 12. However, no variants 20 are provided here. Rather, each tab 19 of the housing part 13 extends overall in a vertical plane, which vertical plane runs parallel to a plane that accommodates the rotor axis x in its extension. According to the previously described design and arrangement, the tabs 19 of the two housing parts 12 and 13, in particular the free tab ends of the housing part 13 and the protrusions 20 of the housing part 12, in an assembly position in the horizontal direction overlap, further overlapping the flattened portions 9 of the stator 5.
Most importantly, however, is the specific structure of Caldewey’s motor housing assembly, wherein the motor housing is being formed in two parts while being coupled to one another rotatably with respect to the axis of rotation by a bearing bridge or rotational joint.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of using two pot-like housing parts and/or rotational joint, as taught by Caldewey, to the blower assembly of Ciechanowski/ Wentz, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of housing parts in electric motor to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further achieve an axial adjustment. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Furthermore, with respect to the particular positioning and/or particular positioning between parts, i.e., second electrical connector being in the first housing, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “preferred” or “optimum” positioning that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the intended use and the dimensions of the device, etc. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the second module would be further having a rotational joint between a first housing and a second housing thereof and/or the second electrical connector would be further being in the first housing and/or the rotational joint would be further allowing the second housing to be further rotating into locking engagement with the first module while the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector would be further remaining electrically connected, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Ciechanowski, Wentz and Caldewey substantially disclose the air distribution system, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, Wentz, in column 6 lines 23-35, expressly states that: It is to be understood that only the upper and lower foam pieces 50 and 46 of the foam layer 16 need to be sufficiently porous to allow for the flow of air through the blower 10. The other foam pieces 48, 52 and 100 need not be formed of foam material which is sufficiently porous to allow for the flow of air therethrough. The foam pieces 46 and 50 are joined to their respective side pieces 48 and 52 by any suitable glue, cement or solvent, for example, silicone sealant, or may be formed as an integral member.
Hence, although Wentz teaches using any suitable glue or cement to secure the pieces of housings, it is well-known to also use snapfit connections to secure parts in housings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have coupled the first housing of Ciechanowski/ Wentz to the second housing using releasable snapfit connectors instead of suitable glue as an obvious matter of design choice since it would have amounted to choosing between well-known methods of securing parts with a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus, according to the combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the first housing and the second housing would be further releasably connected by snapfit connectors, as instantly claimed.
11. Claims 14 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KYUNGSOO in view of Campbell (Patent US 8,890,357 B2).
Regarding claims 14, 18 and 21, KYUNGSOO discloses a blower assembly (air blower unit 200, as presented in Paragraphs [0042]-[0042]) comprising:
a first module (first module FM223, as shown in annotated Figures 3&6) securable to a structure (defined by the air injection device 100 and/or air transfer hose 101; the first module FM221 is undoubtedly securable to the air injection device 100 that is installed through construction on the bottom surface of a bathtub 10, as detailed in Paragraph [0038] and depicted in annotated Figure 3 while being securable to the air transfer hose 101 that is connected to one side of the connecting member fastening groove 111, as stated in Paragraph [0039]), the first module (first module FM223) defining an air outlet (defined by a discharge port 221, which is formed at the top so that sucked air can be supplied through an air transfer hose 101 and an air intake port 222 formed at the bottom, and a bottom case body 230, as detailed in Paragraph [0043]) the first module being an electric module configured to be wired to a power source, and having a first electrical connector; and
a second module (second module SM224, as best seen in annotated Figures 3 &6) defining an air inlet (defining an air intake port 222, which is formed at the bottom case body 230 that is fastened to the bottom of the air blower case body 220 and/or an intake passage 231 for external air, as discussed in Paragraph [0041] and depicted in annotated Figures 3&6), the second module (second module SM224) including a motor (blower motor (210) that operates to suck in and discharge external air, as noted in Paragraph [0041]).
Particularly, as illustrated in annotated Figures 6 & 7& 10, KYUNGSOO teaches as how: the air blower unit (200) may be configured to include a blower motor (210) that operates to suck in and discharge external air, an air blower case body (220) that is fixedly fastened with the blower motor (210) housed inside, and has an air discharge port (221) formed at the top so that sucked air can be supplied through an air transfer hose (101) and an air intake port (222) formed at the bottom, and a bottom case body (230) that is fastened to the bottom of the air blower case body (220) and forms an intake passage (231) for external air. Here, the air blower case body (220) is composed of an upper case (223) and a lower case (224) that are fastened in a form that accommodates the blower motor (210) inside, and can be fastened by screw connection. In addition, the lower case (224) is connected to the bottom case body (230), and the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion of the lower case (224) and the bottom case body (230) is configured as an open structure so that an intake passage (231) can be formed on the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion (in Paragraph [0041]).
Essentially, as shown immediately above, KYUNGSOO evidently demonstrates as how the first module FM223 is being directly and/or indirectly securable to the air injection device 100 and/or air transfer hose 101 while defining an air outlet 221 and/or how the second module second module SM224 defining an air inlet 231 and/or an air intake port 222, which is formed at the bottom case body 230, and/or including a motor 210, which is drivingly engaged to a fan F to, in use, drive an air flow from the air inlet 231 and/or 222 to the air outlet 221, wherein the second module SM224 is wireless, as instantly claimed.
As best seen in annotated Figures 6 & 7, KYUNGSOO explicitly exhibits as how the first FM223 and second SM224 modules comprising a fastening base B223 and/or how the second module SM224 is detachably securable to the first module FM223 by a translation while the first module FM223 remains secured to the structure and wired to the power source, such that the second module is secured to the structure via the first module
Further, in Paragraph [0042], KYUNGSOO expressly states that: The control device unit (300) is configured in the form of a remote control that performs driving control to control the on/off operation and air supply intensity of the air blower unit (200). This control device unit (300) can control the operation of the air blower unit (200) by either wired or wireless control.
Although KYUNGSOO discloses the majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention, he is still silent as to the specifics of the first and/or second module and/or electrical connectors and/or power source.
Nevertheless, the use of electrical connectors in motors and/or blower assembles is well-known in the art, as taught by Campbell. Campbell in the same field of endeavor teaches another air blower for a bathing installation, which, as stated in column 4 lines 19-27, is having an outlet port 104 defined in housing 102, with the port for connection to an air delivery conduit system of a bathing installation. The air blower output may be connected to a set of jets, for example, in a bathing installation such as a spa or whirlpool bath.
Campbell, in column 4 lines 30-49, successfully teaches that: The air blower includes a primary power connection with power cord 90' and plug 94' configured in this exemplary embodiment for connection to a line Voltage power outlet adjacent the bathing installation, to drive the blower electric motor. The air blower also includes the auxiliary power connection 94' with auxiliary cord 94B' and connector plug.94A which is connected by a wiring circuit configuration analogous to that described above regarding FIGS. 2A-2C for the pump application, except that the wiring circuit will typically not include a capacitor for assisting in motor start-up. The auxiliary power connection can be switched on/off by an air switch with the operation of the blower, connected to line voltage when the blower motor is active on, or connected to line voltage independent of the switched condition of the blower motor drive. The circuitry for connection between the primary and auxiliary power connections can be disposed within the housing 102 of the blower, or in a utility box attached to the housing.
Notably, Campbell, in column 2 lines 26-40, discloses that: The pump system 50 includes an electrical module or junction box 80 in which is mounted the electrical wiring circuitry for providing electrical power to the motor and connecting the auxiliary outlet to the voltage at the power inlet to the motor. There are several alternatives to the state of the auxiliary power outlet 94. The auxiliary power outlet can be wired to be “live' or connected to power when the pump is turned on, e.g. by switching the power outlet to which the primary electrical connector 92 is connected. Another alternative is for the circuitry to provide that the auxiliary power outlet is live at all times power is live and connected to the pump primary power connector 92, even when the pump is turned off by a separate switch. A further alternative is for the auxiliary outlet to be live only when the pump is turned on, i.e. so that the auxiliary outlet is turned on and off with the pump motor.
Campbell then goes on to describe how: FIG. 1A shows the electrical module box 80, the primary power connection comprising the wiring 90 and connector 92, for connection to the line voltage connector, and the auxiliary power connection 94, with the wiring 94B and connector 94A. The connector 14 and wiring 12 for the second line voltage system 10 is also visible in FIG. 1A. FIGS. 2A-2C illustrate several exemplary, alternate wiring circuit configurations for connecting the auxiliary power connection to the primary power connection. The wiring configurations are implemented by wiring within the module box 80 in this example. It will be seen that, in these examples, each wiring circuit in box 80 includes a capacitor 82 with terminals 82A and 82B. The use of capacitors in bathing installation pump motor drive circuits is well known, and the box 80 is commonly referred to as the capacitor box. FIG. 2A illustrates a wiring circuit configuration 80A in which the power connection to the pump motor 70 and to the auxiliary power connection 94 is controlled by an air switch receiver 86. Thus, the motor and the auxiliary power connection are switched together, so that power is applied to the auxiliary connection whenever power is applied to the motor 70.
Still further, in column 4 lines 60-67, Campbell also states that: the wiring configuration can be adapted so that the auxiliary power connection is switched on/off by a bathing installation pressure/vacuum switch, or by the heater electronic controller so that the auxiliary power connection is energized when the heater resistive element is energized. The primary power connection may take the form of a direct wiring connection to a terminal block on the bathing installation controller board in some cases.
Clearly, the electrical connectors being provided between the power supply and control unit and/or electrical module or junction box and/or electrical motor.
Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that applying an idea of using the electrical connectors and/or circuit configuration and/or electrical module or junction box, as taught by Campbell, to another air blower assembly would improve efficiency.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using
the electrical connectors and/or circuit configuration and/or electrical module or junction box, as taught by Campbell, in the air blower of KYUNGSOO, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of electrical connectors in blowers to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the air flow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the first module would be further being an electric module to further be wired to a power source and further having a first electrical connector and/or the motor would be further drivingly engaged to a fan to, in use, would be further driving an air flow from the air inlet to the air outlet and/or the second module would be further being wireless and having a second electrical connector and/or the second module would be further detachably securable to the first module by a translation while the first module would remain secured to the structure and would be wired to the power source, such that the second module would be further being secured to the structure via the first module, and such that the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector would be further electrically connected for the second module to be further electrically powered via the first module and/or the first module and the second module would be further forming a translation joint therebetween for engagement of the first electrical connector with the second electrical connector when the second module would be further penetrating the first module and/or the first module would be further having a wire that would be further connected to a grid power source, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 19, KYUNGSOO and Campbell substantially disclose the blower assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0041], KYUNGSOO successfully demonstrates that: As illustrated in FIGS. 6 to 10, the air blower unit (200) may be configured to include a blower motor (210) that operates to suck in and discharge external air, an air blower case body (220) that is fixedly fastened with the blower motor (210) housed inside, and has an air discharge port (221) formed at the top so that sucked air can be supplied through an air transfer hose (101) and an air intake port (222) formed at the bottom, and a bottom case body (230) that is fastened to the bottom of the air blower case body (220) and forms an intake passage (231) for external air. Here, the air blower case body (220) is composed of an upper case (223) and a lower case (224) that are fastened in a form that accommodates the blower motor (210) inside, and can be fastened by screw connection. In addition, the lower case (224) is connected to the bottom case body (230), and the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion of the lower case (224) and the bottom case body (230) is configured as an open structure so that an intake passage (231) can be formed on the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion. In addition, the bottom case body (230) is configured to form the bottom surface of the air blower unit (200), and may further include a shock-absorbing sponge (232) inside.
Most importantly, however, is that the lower case or inner case 231 is being connected to the upper or outer or bottom case 230 through the protruding portions or ribs and receiving grooves.
Certainly, as best seen in annotated Figure 7 below, KYUNGSOO explicitly exhibits as how the protruding or contact ribs R231 are protruding outwards and being engageable with engaging grooves provided on the inner surface 231.
Surely, these connecting members or protruding or contact ribs R231 having a configuration in which an engaging piece can be engaged with the groove of the inner surface.
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would reasonably appraised that the first module would be further defining at least one first connecting member matingly engageable to at least one second connecting member being defined by the second module to further maintain the first module secured to the second module, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 20, KYUNGSOO and Campbell substantially disclose the blower assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen immediately below, KYUNGSOO evidently illustrates as how the protruding or contact ribs R231 project outward in an L-shaped cross section.
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the at least one first connecting member includes one of an L-shaped slot and a tab and/or the at least one second connecting member would be necessarily including the other of the L-shaped slot and the tab and/or the tab slidably receivable within the L-shaped slot to further lock the first connecting member to the second connecting member, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 22, KYUNGSOO and Campbell substantially disclose the blower assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Abstract, KYUNGSOO explicitly teaches that The spa system comprises: an air injector portion to inject air to the water in the bathtub; an air blower portion connected by a medium of an air injector portion and an air feed hose, and to supply air in order to inject the same from the air injector portion through the air feed hose by inhaling the outside air; and a controller portion to perform a controlling execution of adjusting the on/off operation and air supply intensity of the air blower portion.
More specifically, in Paragraph [0039], KYUNGSOO further states: As shown in Fig. 4, the air injection device part (100) is formed in a plate shape that forms an internal space, with a connecting member fastening groove (111) extending downward in the center, and an air inlet (112) extending downward to which one end of an air transfer hose (101) is connected to one side of the connecting member fastening groove (111), and is fixedly installed on the bottom surface of the bathtub (10), and an air injection lower plate (110) that is formed in a plate shape corresponding to the air injection lower plate (110) and has a hollow hole (121) formed in the center corresponding to the connecting member fastening groove (111) and a plurality of air injection holes (122) formed around the hollow hole (121) so as to be detachably connected to the air injection lower plate (110), and a connecting member (130) for separating and connecting the air injection lower plate (110) and the air injection upper plate (120), and an air injection upper plate (120) formed in the air injection lower plate (110). It can be configured to include a valve member (140) inserted into the inlet (112) to block backflow of bath water and to ensure smooth flow of air supplied through the air transfer hose (101).
Surely, as best seen immediately above, KYUNGSOO evidently demonstrates an air distribution system for a tub comprising conduits in fluid communication with holes in a tub configured to inject air in a liquid of the tub a blower assembly and/or the blower assembly being in fluid communication with the conduits, as otherwise the system cannot normally operate.
12. Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KYUNGSOO in view of Campbell, and further in view of Caldewey.
Regarding claim 15, KYUNGSOO and Campbell substantially disclose the blower assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0041], KYUNGSOO specifically teaches as how: the air blower case body (220) is composed of an upper case (223) and a lower case (224) that are fastened in a form that accommodates the blower motor (210) inside, and can be fastened by screw connection. In addition, the lower case (224) is connected to the bottom case body (230), and the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion of the lower case (224) and the bottom case body (230) is configured as an open structure so that an intake passage (231) can be formed on the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion. In addition, the bottom case body (230) is configured to form the bottom surface of the air blower unit (200), and may further include a shock-absorbing sponge (232) inside. Here, the bottom case body (230) with a built-in shock-absorbing sponge (232) serves to stably support the air blowing case body (220) in which the blowing motor (210) is accommodated and fastened.
However, the combination of KYUNGSOO and Campbell is still silent as to the fact that the second module having a rotational joint between a first housing and a second housing thereof.
Nonetheless, Caldewey successfully discloses another electric motor, “wherein the stator is accommodated in a motor housing consisting of two parts, which housing parts each simultaneously form a bearing bridge and axially overlap the stator, wherein further associated edge regions of the housing parts are connected to one another in a way that can only be removed by destruction” (see Paragraph [0001]).
Specifically, in Paragraph [0017], Caldewey teaches that: a seating area in the housing part designed as a stamped and bent part is formed by sections that are horizontally offset from one another as a result of a separating cut. The separating cut exposes a section of the housing part that is offset radially inwards compared to the adjacent housing part area, in particular by pressing in the section exposed by the separating cut to form the seating area that rests linearly on the associated end face of the stator. This separating cut is preferably aligned horizontally, further in the direction of rotation of the housing part and so on preferably along a circular line relating to the rotor axis or along a tangent to this circular line. In order to form the axially deflectable seating area by means of a separating cut, this preferably runs in an angular manner, starting from a horizontal cut as in the case of the fixed seating areas, with separating cuts at each end in the vertical direction. Accordingly, the angular separating cut creates a tab that is offset radially inwards from the surrounding housing section.
More specifically, in Paragraph [0035], Caldewey expressly states: The stator 5 is accommodated in a motor housing 11 which surrounds it on the outside and is composed of two pot-like housing parts 12 and 13. These are formed from a steel sheet as stamped and bent parts and each initially have a pot-like section forming a bearing bridge 14 in the pot base area, wherein the immediate area of the bearing bridge 14 further has a circular disk-shaped outline with a central, circular receptacle 15 in which a bearing 16 for the rotor shaft 2 is held. The bearing 16 is supported on the receiving base 30 via a spring ring 29.
Then, in Paragraphs [0041]- [0042], Caldewey specifies: In the position in which the housing part 12 is assigned to the stator 5, the tab section having the protrusions 20 extends at a radial distance from the facing wide surface of the stator-side flattening 9, whereby a slot-like insertion opening 21 is formed between the stator surface and the inner surface of the protrusion 20.In the position in which the opposite housing part 13 is assigned to the stator 5, the (counter) tabs 19, or their tab ends, which are also formed there, engage in these, the design of these tabs 19, in particular their trapezoidal extension and correspondingly their vertical extension, corresponding to the tabs 19 of the housing part 12. However, no variants 20 are provided here. Rather, each tab 19 of the housing part 13 extends overall in a vertical plane, which vertical plane runs parallel to a plane that accommodates the rotor axis x in its extension. According to the previously described design and arrangement, the tabs 19 of the two housing parts 12 and 13, in particular the free tab ends of the housing part 13 and the protrusions 20 of the housing part 12, in an assembly position in the horizontal direction overlap, further overlapping the flattened portions 9 of the stator 5.
Most importantly, however, is the specific structure of Caldewey’s motor housing assembly, wherein the motor housing is being formed in two parts while being coupled to one another rotatably with respect to the axis of rotation by a bearing bridge or rotational joint.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of using two pot-like housing parts and/or rotational joint, as taught by Caldewey, to the blower assembly of KYUNGSOO/Campbell, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of housing parts in electric motor to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further achieve an axial adjustment. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Furthermore, with respect to the particular positioning and/or particular positioning between parts, i.e., second electrical connector being in the first housing, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “preferred” or “optimum” positioning that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the intended use and the dimensions of the device, etc. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the second module would be further having a rotational joint between a first housing and a second housing thereof and/or the second electrical connector would be further being in the first housing and/or the rotational joint would be further allowing the second housing to be further rotating into locking engagement with the first module while the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector would be further remaining electrically connected, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 16, KYUNGSOO, Campbell and Caldewey substantially disclose the blower assembly, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0041], KYUNGSOO specifically teaches that: the air blower case body (220) is composed of an upper case (223) and a lower case (224) that are fastened in a form that accommodates the blower motor (210) inside, and can be fastened by screw connection. In addition, the lower case (224) is connected to the bottom case body (230), and the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion of the lower case (224) and the bottom case body (230) is configured as an open structure so that an intake passage (231) can be formed on the outer circumferential surface of the connection portion.
Hence, although KYUNGSOO teaches using a screw connection to secure the pieces of housings, it is well-known to also use snapfit connections to secure parts in housings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have coupled the first housing of KYUNGSOO/ Campbell to the second housing using releasable snapfit connectors instead of screw connections as an obvious matter of design choice since it would have amounted to choosing between well-known methods of securing parts with a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus, according to the combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the first housing and the second housing would be further releasably connected by snapfit connectors, as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Further, the Examiner notes that the newly applied references address the applicant's arguments as set forth in the above rejections.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746