DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an RCE with amendment/arguments filed on 8/21/2025 which was in response to the office action mailed on 6/20/2025 (hereinafter the prior office action).
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 9 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 8/21/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in Pg. 7 in “Remarks” that the cited Para. 44 of Miller and Para. 82 of Rao do not teach the newly amended limitation in claims 1 and 9 of a first and second controllers monitoring respective performance indicator types.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Miller teaches the newly amended limitation of a first and second controllers monitoring respective performance indicator types. This is because Miller discloses in Para. 52 that multiple controllers monitor assets, where each controller monitors respective systems or processes, i.e. a first controller monitors a first performance indicator type, while a second controller monitors a second type.
Applicant further states in Pg. 7 in “Remarks” that Miller and Para. 82 of Rao do not teach Applicant’s adjusting limitation in claims 1 and 9.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Rao teaches adjusting. This is because Rao discloses in Para. 82 that process controls are adjusted to contribute performance of facility in response to status/performance of facility, where Miller teaches the rest of the limitations related to performance. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
each of the system elements in claims 9-15 configured to perform an action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0334563) (hereinafter “Miller”) in view of Rao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0247661) (hereinafter “Rao”).
Regarding claim 1, Miller teaches a method, comprising: establishing an authenticated connection with a performance indicator server in accordance with a defined schedule, (Fig. 1, Para. 91 - - repository, i.e. server, includes performance indicators storing data from controllers; Para. 119 - - data retrieval can be done at defined times, i.e. defined schedule, where server connection is authenticated in order for data to be retrieved)
wherein the performance indicator server stores data from one or more controllers that manage assets of a production facility, (Para. 91 - - repository, i.e. server, includes performance indicators storing data from controllers that manage production facility assets)
wherein the one or more controllers include a first controller that monitors a first type of performance indicator and a second controller that monitors a second type of performance indicator; (Para. 52 - - multiple controllers monitor assets, where each controller monitors respective systems or processes, i.e. a first controller monitors a first performance indicator type, while a second controller monitors a second type)
and automatically evaluating a performance of the production facility, via a performance evaluation algorithm, in response to collecting performance indicator data via the authenticated connection; (Para. 205 - - production facility can be automatically evaluated via analytics component using server data; Para. 191, 210 - - performance evaluation algorithm is used to analyze performance indicators)
But Miller does not explicitly teach and adjusting, via the one or more controllers, one or more features contributing to the performance of the production facility in response to evaluating the performance of the production facility.
However, Rao teaches and adjusting, via the one or more controllers, one or more features contributing to the performance of the production facility in response to evaluating the performance of the production facility. (Para. 82 - - process controls are adjusted to contribute performance of facility in response to status/performance of facility)
Miller and Rao are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain connected devices being controlled based on received data from devices.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Miller, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Rao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to perform real-time process control, as suggested by Rao (Para. 82).
Regarding claim 2, Miller further teaches monitoring the defined schedule via the one or more controllers, (Para. 52 - - multiple controllers monitor assets; Para. 119 - - monitoring is at defined times, i.e. defined schedule)
wherein the defined schedule delineates when and how often the authenticated connection is to be established, (Para. 119 - - data retrieval can be done at defined times, i.e. establishing authenticated connection on defined schedule)
wherein the defined schedule further delineates a timeframe associated with the performance indicator to be collected, (Para. 119 - - data retrieval at defined times, i.e. defined schedule, delineates collection timeframe for data, i.e. performance indicator)
and wherein the defined schedule is associated with a controller list comprising the one or more controllers. (Para. 119 - - defined schedule is associated with respective controller; Fig. 1 - - controllers are known/listed)
Regarding claim 3, Miller further teaches wherein the defined schedule delineates establishing the authenticated connection once every twenty-four hours. (Para. 57 - - data can be collected daily, i.e. every twenty-four hours)
Regarding claim 4, Miller further teaches collecting the performance indicator data for the one or more controllers, (Para. 91, 93 - - control project’s control is evaluated in terms of performance)
wherein the one or more controllers are included in the controller list. (Fig. 1 - - controllers are known/listed)
Regarding claim 5, Miller further teaches wherein the evaluating the performance of the production facility comprises comparing metric values of the performance indicator data to threshold values that characterize compliant performance of the production facility. (Para. 91, 93, 109 - - performance metrics, i.e. performance indicator compared to threshold values, are used)
Regarding claim 6, Miller further teaches generating a performance summary report that includes the performance indicator data and characterizes the comparing of the metric values to the threshold values. (Para. 154-155 - - performance statistics are generated for viewing; Para. 91, 93, 109 - - performance statistics are based on being compared to threshold values)
Regarding claim 7, Miller further teaches automatically distributing access to the performance summary report to one or more supervisor entities via an electronic correspondence upon generation of the performance summary report, (Para. 57 - - system can utilize higher level systems, i.e. supervisor entities, to manage operations, where such systems access performance summary reports)
wherein the one or more supervisor entities are associated with the one or more controllers. (Para. 57 - - supervisor entities are associated to the industrial controllers)
Regarding claim 8, Miller further teaches automatically distributing a copy of the performance summary report to one or more supervisor entities via an electronic correspondence upon generation of the performance summary report, (Para. 57 - - system can utilize higher level systems to manage operations, where such systems collect performance summary reports, i.e. copies of reports)
wherein the one or more supervisor entities are associated with the one or more controllers. (Para. 57 - - supervisor entities are associated to the industrial controllers)
Regarding claim 9, Miller teaches a system, comprising: memory to store computer executable instructions; and one or more processors, operatively coupled to the memory, that execute the computer executable instructions (Para. 47 - - processors execute instructions stored in coupled memory)
to implement: a data collector configured to establish an authenticated connection with a performance indicator server in accordance with a defined schedule, (Fig. 1, Para. 91 - - repository, i.e. server, includes performance indicators storing data from controllers; Para. 119 - - data retrieval can be done at defined times, i.e. defined schedule, where server connection is authenticated in order for data to be retrieved)
wherein the performance indicator server stores data from one or more controllers that manage assets of a production facility, (Para. 91 - - repository, i.e. server, includes performance indicators storing data from controllers that manage production facility assets)
wherein the one or more controllers include a first controller that monitors a first type of performance indicator and a second controller that monitors a second type of performance indicator; (Para. 52 - - multiple controllers monitor assets, where each controller monitors respective systems or processes, i.e. a first controller monitors a first performance indicator type, while a second controller monitors a second type)
a data analyzer configured to automatically evaluate a performance of the production facility, based on at least the first and second type of performance indicators, via a performance evaluation algorithm, in response to collecting performance indicator data via the authenticated connection; (Para. 205 - - production facility can be automatically evaluated via analytics component using server data; Para. 191, 210 - - performance evaluation algorithm is used to analyze performance indicators)
But Miller does not explicitly teach and a supervisor entity configured to adjust, via the one or more controllers, one or more features contributing to the performance of the production facility in response to evaluating the performance of the production facility.
However, Rao teaches and a supervisor entity configured to adjust, via the one or more controllers, one or more features contributing to the performance of the production facility in response to evaluating the performance of the production facility. (Para. 82 - - process controls are adjusted to contribute performance of facility in response to status/performance of facility)
Miller and Rao are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain connected devices being controlled based on received data from devices.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Miller, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Rao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to perform real-time process control, as suggested by Rao (Para. 82).
Regarding claim 10, Miller further teaches wherein the defined schedule delineates when and how often the authenticated connection is to be established, (Para. 119 - - data retrieval can be done at defined times, i.e. establishing authenticated connection on defined schedule)
wherein the defined schedule further delineates a timeframe associated with the performance indicator to be collected, (Para. 119 - - data retrieval at defined times, i.e. defined schedule, delineates collection timeframe for data, i.e. performance indicator)
and wherein the defined schedule is associated with a controller list. (Para. 119 - - defined schedule is associated with respective controller; Fig. 1 - - controllers are known/listed)
Regarding claim 11, Miller further teaches wherein the defined schedule delineates establishing the authenticated connection once every twenty-four hours. (Para. 57 - - data can be collected daily, i.e. every twenty-four hours)
Regarding claim 12, Miller further teaches wherein the data collector is configured to collect the performance indicator data for the one or more controllers, (Para. 91, 93 - - control project’s control is evaluated in terms of performance)
wherein the one or more controllers are included in the controller list. (Fig. 1 - - controllers are known/listed)
Regarding claim 13, Miller further teaches wherein the data analyzer is configured to compare metric values of the performance indicator data to threshold values that characterize compliant performance of the production facility. (Para. 91, 93, 109 - - performance metrics, i.e. performance indicator compared to threshold values, are used)
Regarding claim 14, Miller further teaches a scheduler configured to generate a performance summary report that includes the performance indicator data and characterizes the comparing of the metric values to the threshold values. (Para. 154-155 - - performance statistics are generated for viewing; Para. 91, 93, 109 - - performance statistics are based on being compared to threshold values)
Regarding claim 15, Miller further teaches a publisher configured to automatically distribute access to the performance summary report to one or more supervisor entities via an electronic correspondence upon generation of the performance summary report, (Para. 57 - - system can utilize higher level systems, i.e. supervisor entities, to manage operations, where such systems access performance summary reports)
wherein the one or more supervisor entities are associated with the one or more controllers. (Para. 57 - - supervisor entities are associated to the industrial controllers)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 11,774,944 by Cella et al., which discloses industrial internet of things where data is collected and organized (Title/Abstract).
Conclusion
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119