DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/039315 Kurtz, hereinafter “Kurtz” (cited previously), in view of WO 2010/117386 Walsh et al., hereinafter “Walsh”.
Regarding claim 1, Kurtz discloses an ophthalmic laser surgical system for imaging and treating a target in an eye (Abstract and Figure 7), comprising:
a laser device (Figure 7, element 1010) configured to:
direct a focus of a laser beam along a laser beam path towards an intended location (x0, y0, z0) (Figure 7, element 1022; the intended location is inherently going to have coordinates in the xyz plane, consider especially Para 161-162 that discuss a 3 dimensional coordinate system for positioning) of the target in a vitreous of the eye (Para 44) to yield a cavitation bubble in the vitreous (Para 116; the focused surgical laser beam causes photodisruption in the target tissue, which is a technique that generates shock waves and cavitation bubbles to break apart the targeted material), the eye having an eye axis, the eye axis defining a z-axis, the z-axis defining a plurality of xy-planes, an xyz-location relative to an xy-plane and the z-axis (Para 138; this is inherently in the reference, however, this paragraph discusses the axis of the eye and how the OCT takes plane images across the z access in slices of xy-planes, see also Para 161-162); and
an imaging system (Figure 7, element 1030) configured to: direct one or more imaging beams along an imaging beam path towards the target (Para 138);
receive the one or more imaging beams reflected from the eye (Para 117 and 138);
generate an image of the cavitation bubble from the reflected one or more imaging beams (Para 117); and
measure an actual location (x, y, z) of the cavitation bubble according to the image (Para 115 and 118), wherein:
the imaging system (Figure 12, OCT imaging sub-system) comprises a xy-imaging device (Figure 12, element 6410) and a z-imaging device (Figure 12, element 6420 and Para 231);
an xy-location of each of the intended location and the actual location relative to an xy-plane is determined using the imaging device (Para 115, 118, and Para 161-162);
a z-location of each of the intended location and the actual location relative to the z-axis is determined using the z-imaging device (Para 115, 118, and Para 161-162; correction vectors are determined; Para 152 also discusses the role of the Z-scanner);
and a computer (Figure 7, element 1040) configured to:
determine an error vector that describes an error between the intended location (x0, y0, z0) of the target and the actual location (x, y, z) of the cavitation bubble; determine a correction vector to compensate for the error (Para 115 and 118; position offset information; Refer also to Para 139, 161-162, and 178; it is known in the art that position offset is calculated by finding the difference between two sets of coordinates Para 139 and 161-1662 disclose that the positioning information is in the form of a 3D coordinate system; Para 118 specifically discloses the position offset information for the photodisruption byproduct from the target tissue position in the target tissue and Para 178 discloses that the photodisruption byproduct is a cavitation bubble. The error vector is therefore determined and used as a correction vector to compensate for the position offset “Based on the information obtained from the image, the beam control signal 1044 is generated to control the optics module 1020 which adjusts the laser beam” the information being the position offset); and
instruct the laser device to use the correction vector to compensate for the error to direct the laser beam towards the target to treat the target (Para 118 and 120).
Kurtz does not disclose the imaging system comprises a scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (SLO) device; and the z-imaging device is a different type of imaging device than the SLO device.
However, Walsh discloses an ophthalmic imaging system (Abstract) and teaches the imaging system comprises a scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (SLO) device (Para 351 and 354; Examiner believes it’s obvious in the art to substitute an imaging modality for another, therefore taking the stand that it would be obvious to substitute the OCT image in Kurtz that determines actual/intended locations to an SLO image. Examiner would also like to add that Walsh discloses that the OCT system is configured to analyze the SLO images (Para 354), therefore making this substitution even more obvious/possible given that the system of Kurtz would still have the same functionality, determining xy-location, other than obtaining an image from an SLO device);
and the z-imaging device is a different type of imaging device than the SLO device (Para 351 and 354; given that these disclosures show that an OCT-based system can acquire images using an SLO, examiner believes that it is obvious to combine Walsh and Kurtz to show that the xy scanner in Kurtz can be an SLO while the z scanner is an OCT).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed an SLO device as a substitution to an OCT image for the xy-location scanner as taught by Walsh, in the invention of Kurtz, in order to determine feature locations and acquire fundus images using pigmentation pointers (Walsh; Para 354 and 413).
Regarding claim 3, Kurtz discloses comprising an xy-scanner (Para 138) configured to:
receive the one or more imaging beams from the imaging system and direct the one or more imaging beams along the imaging beam path towards the target; and
receive the laser beam from the laser device and direct the laser beam along the laser beam path aligned with the imaging beam path towards the target to treat the target (Para 138, 144-145, and Figure 7, elements 1044, 1022, and 1012).
Regarding claim 4, Kurtz discloses the error vector comprising (x - x0,y-y0,z-z0) (Para 115 and 118; position offset information).
Regarding claim 5, Kurtz discloses the correction vector comprising (x0-x,y0-y,z0-z) (Para 115 and 118; position offset information).
Regarding claim 7, Kurtz discloses the z-imaging system comprises an optical coherent tomography (OCT) device (Para 144, 145, and Figure 12, element 6420).
Regarding claim 9, Kurtz discloses a method for imaging and treating a target in an eye (Abstract and Figure 7), comprising:
directing, by a laser device (Figure 7, element 1010), a focus of a laser beam along a laser beam path towards an intended location (x0, y0, z0) (Figure 7, element 1022; the intended location is inherently going to have coordinates in the xyz plane) of the target in a vitreous of the eye (Para 44) to yield a cavitation bubble in the vitreous (Para 116; the focused surgical laser beam causes photodisruption in the target tissue, which is a technique that generates shock waves and cavitation bubbles to break apart the targeted material), the eye having an eye axis, the eye axis defining a z-axis, the z-axis defining a plurality of xy-planes, an xyz-location relative to an xy-plane and the z-axis (Para 138; this is inherently in the reference, however, this paragraph discusses the axis of the eye and how the OCT takes plane images across the z access in slices of xy-planes);
directing, by an imaging system (Figure 7, element 1030), one or more imaging beams along an imaging beam path towards the target (Para 138);
receiving, by the imaging system, the one or more imaging beams reflected from the eye (Para 117 and 138);
generating, by the imaging system, an image of the cavitation bubble from the reflected one or more imaging beams (Para 117);
measuring, by the imaging system, an actual location (x, y, z) of the cavitation bubble according to the image (Para 115 and 118), wherein:
the imaging system (Figure 12, OCT imaging sub-system) comprises a xy-imaging device (Figure 12, element 6410) and a z-imaging device (Figure 12, element 6420 and Para 231);
an xy-location of each of the intended location and the actual location relative to an xy-plane is determined using the imaging device (Para 115, 118, and Para 161-162);
a z-location of each of the intended location and the actual location relative to the z-axis is determined using the z-imaging device (Para 115, 118, and Para 161-162; correction vectors are determined; Para 152 also discusses the role of the Z-scanner);
determining, by a computer, an error vector that describes an error between the intended location (x0, y0, z0) of the target and the actual location (x, y, z) of the cavitation bubble; determining, by the computer, a correction vector to compensate for the error (Para 115 and 118; position offset information; Refer also to Para 139, 161-162, and 178; it is known in the art that position offset is calculated by finding the difference between two sets of coordinates Para 139 and 161-1662 disclose that the positioning information is in the form of a 3D coordinate system; Para 118 specifically discloses the position offset information for the photodisruption byproduct from the target tissue position in the target tissue and Para 178 discloses that the photodisruption byproduct is a cavitation bubble. The error vector is therefore determined and used as a correction vector to compensate for the position offset “Based on the information obtained from the image, the beam control signal 1044 is generated to control the optics module 1020 which adjusts the laser beam” the information being the position offset); and
instructing, by the computer, the laser device to use the correction vector to compensate for the error to direct the laser beam towards the target to treat the target (Para 118 and 120; Figure 7, elements 1040 and 1044).
Kurtz does not disclose the imaging system comprises a scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (SLO) device; and the z-imaging device is a different type of imaging device than the SLO device.
However, Walsh discloses an ophthalmic imaging system (Abstract) and teaches the imaging system comprises a scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (SLO) device (Para 351 and 354; Examiner believes it’s obvious in the art to substitute an imaging modality for another, therefore taking the stand that it would be obvious to substitute the OCT image in Kurtz that determines actual/intended locations to an SLO image. Examiner would also like to add that Walsh discloses that the OCT system is configured to analyze the SLO images (Para 354), therefore making this substitution even more obvious/possible given that the system of Kurtz would still have the same functionality, determining xy-location, other than obtaining an image from an SLO device);
and the z-imaging device is a different type of imaging device than the SLO device (Para 351 and 354; given that these disclosures show that an OCT-based system can acquire images using an SLO, examiner believes that it is obvious to combine Walsh and Kurtz to show that the xy scanner in Kurtz can be an SLO while the z scanner is an OCT).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed an SLO device as a substitution to an OCT image for the xy-location scanner as taught by Walsh, in the invention of Kurtz, in order to determine feature locations and acquire fundus images using pigmentation pointers (Walsh; Para 354 and 413).
Regarding claim 11, Kurtz discloses comprising:
receiving, by an xy-scanner (Para 138), the one or more imaging beams from the imaging system and directing the one or more imaging beams along the imaging beam path towards the target; and
receiving, by the xy-scanner, the laser beam from the laser device and directing the laser beam along the laser beam path aligned with the imaging beam path towards the target to treat the target (Para 138, 144-145, and Figure 7, elements 1044, 1022, and 1012).
Regarding claim 12, Kurtz discloses the error vector comprising (x - x0, y - y0, z – z0) (Para 115 and 118; position offset information).
Regarding claim 13, Kurtz discloses the correction vector comprising (x0 - x, y0 - y, z0 - z) (Para 115 and 118; position offset information).
Regarding claim 15, Kurtz discloses the z-imaging system comprises an optical coherent tomography (OCT) device (Para 144, 145, and Figure 12, element 6420).
Regarding claim 17, Kurtz discloses the z-imaging system comprises an interferometer device (Para 138 and 147).
Regarding claim 18, Kurtz discloses treating the target comprises directing the laser beam in a 3D matrix of laser pulses toward the target (See Figure 23B, laser beams 1712 and Para 116).
Regarding claim 19, Kurtz discloses the z-imaging system comprises an interferometer device (Para 138 and 147).
Regarding claim 20, Kurtz discloses treating the target comprises directing the laser beam in a 3D matrix of laser pulses toward the target (See Figure 23B, laser beams 1712 and Para 116).
Claim(s) 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/039315 Kurtz, hereinafter “Kurtz”, in view of WO 2010/117386 Walsh et al., hereinafter “Walsh”, further in view of DE 102019007147 Hacker et al., hereinafter “Hacker” (cited previously).
Regarding claim 2, Kurtz/Walsh discloses the target (Figure 7, element 1001).
Kurtz does not disclose the target comprising an eye floater.
However, Hacker discloses a laser device/method (Para 14) and teaches the target comprising an eye floater (Para 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed an eye floater as the target as taught by Hacker, in the invention of Kurtz, in order to destroy floaters by means of laser pulses (Hacker; Para 27).
Regarding claim 10, Kurtz/Walsh discloses the target (Figure 7, element 1001).
Kurtz does not disclose the target comprising an eye floater.
However, Hacker discloses a laser device/method (Para 14) and teaches the target comprising an eye floater (Para 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed an eye floater as the target as taught by Hacker, in the invention of Kurtz, in order to destroy floaters by means of laser pulses (Hacker; Para 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Refer above to the rejection of the newly amended limitations.
Applicant states “Kurtz discloses a surgical laser system that utilizes OCT-based imaging to identify target locations in three-dimensional space. See, Kurtz, FIG. 7, 11 [0116], [0129], [0138]. However, in Kurtz, all of the imaging is acquired using its OCT-based imaging arrangement. See, Kurtz, [0129]. Kurtz does not disclose a multi-modality arrangement in which xy-location determination is performed using a scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (SLO) device while z-location determination is performed using a separate z-imaging device employing a different type of imaging.”
Examiner agrees with this argument. Kurtz uses OCT imaging to determine xy-locations and z-locations using an OCT subsystem that analyzes OCT images as shown in the rejection above. Kurtz was not relied on to teach “a multi-modality arrangement in which xy-location determination is performed using a scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (SLO) device”. Although xy-location is determined using OCT imaging, an SLO device is not disclosed in Kurtz.
Applicant states “Walsh does not cure the deficiencies of Kurtz. Walsh generally discloses the use of SLO for retinal and fundus imaging applications. See, Walsh, [0354]. However, Walsh does not teach or suggest using an SLO device to determine the xy-location of both an intended target location and an actual location of a laser-induced cavitation bubble. Nor does Walsh teach or suggest a system in which such SLO-derived xy-location information is combined with z-location information obtained from a different type of imaging device in the manner now required by amended claims 1 and 9.” and “Importantly, the Office Action does not explain why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have modified Kurtz's existing three-dimensional position determination framework to arrive at the claimed architecture. Kurtz already determines positional information for its treatment-guidance process. See, Kurtz, FIG. 7, 9 [0116], [0129], [0138]. The rejection does not identify any deficiency in Kurtz that would have motivated a skilled artisan to reallocate positional determination functions such that xy-location determination is performed by an SLO device while z-location determination is performed by a different-technology z-imaging device. At most, the rejection establishes that SLO imaging and OCT-type imaging were individually known in ophthalmic systems. See, Office Action, pp. 2-4. However, the issue is not whether such technologies were known. The issue is whether the cited references teach or suggest the particular multi-modality localization architecture now recited in the claims. Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references do not do so.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Walsh discloses an SLO device capable of obtaining images and used in an OCT subsystem (Para 354). Examiner believes it to be obvious to simply substitute an imaging device for another. Given that Walsh discloses that an SLO device that obtains SLO images is used with a OCT-based ophthalmic testing center system, then it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the xy-location scanner/OCT image in Kurtz with the SLO device/image in Walsh as an SLO image offers other modalities than an OCT image including but not limited to “SLO imaging can acquire fundus images without pupillary dilation”.
Examiner suggests amending the claims to overcome this rejection.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYA ZIAD BAKKAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796