DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 16, states “failure occurs occurs…” should state “failure occurs…” if that is what the applicant intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US 2019/0182655 A1; hereinafter Gupta) in view of Han et al. (CN 115696340; hereinafter Han ‘6340) further in view of Han et al. (US 2023/0189202 A1; hereinafter Han ‘9202) and 3GPP TS 23.122 V17.4.0, Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) functions related to Mobile Station (MS) in idle mode, Release 17, (hereinafter 3GPP TS 23.122).
Regarding claim 1, Gupta teaches a method of a user equipment (UE) (read as communication device) (Fig. 2, element 200 communication device; ¶ [0002] Embodiments relate to roaming of user equipment (UEs) in 5G systems.; ¶ [0023] The communication device may be a mobile telephone or smartphone.),
the method comprising:
determining that a first steering of roaming (SOR) security check failure occurs upon receiving first SOR information (¶ [0035] The UE receives the steering of roaming information. Security check on the steering of roaming information fails.),
wherein the UE is configured with a pre-configured priority for a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) (¶ [0030] SIM-based steering uses an updatable network list of preferred mobile operators (PLMNs) on a SIM card of the UE.);
Gupta does not explicitly teach starting a timer based on a value included in SOR connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) in response to determining that the first SOR security check failure occurs;
In analogous art, Han ‘6340 teaches starting a timer based on a value included in SOR connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) in response to determining that the first SOR security check failure occurs (¶ [n0084] After the terminal fails in the security check of the first information, the terminal supports SOR-CMCI, SOR-CMCI may be applied.; ¶ [n0086] (d) The first timer times out the longest time from when the security check fails to when the terminal executes the first operation.; ¶ [n0087] The terminal may set a timing time of the first timer, and the timing time is: the longest time from when the security check failure is found to when the terminal performs the first operation.; ¶ [n0107] Services included in SOR-CMCI.; ¶ [n0109] The first condition may be one or more of the above (a) to (g).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the timer taught by Han ‘6340 with the PLMN selection procedure taught by Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase connection reliability and conserve battery power by utilizing a timer to avoid repeated reselection scans during transient coverage issues (Han ‘6340: ¶¶ [n0003-n0004]).
Gupta and Han ‘6340 do not explicitly teach determining whether the UE has entered a connectivity state and second SOR information is received before the UE enters the connectivity state; and
In analogous art, Han ‘9202 teaches determining whether the UE has entered a connectivity state (read as enters the idle state) and second SOR information (read as EXT-SOR related information) is received before the UE enters the connectivity state (¶ [0184] Step S501: The UE receives a NAS message sent by a network.; ¶ [0185] Step S502: The UE checks whether the NAS message includes EXT-SOR related information.; ¶ [0206] Step S507: The UE stores the EXT-SOR related information. If the UE already has EXT-SOR related information stored, the existing EXT-SOR related information is overwritten.; ¶ [0209] Step S509: It is determined whether the UE currently has an ongoing high-priority service. If not, the UE releases a connection, enters the idle state.); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine determining whether the UE enters a connectivity state taught by Han ‘9202 with the timer taught by Han ‘6340 and the PLMN selection procedure taught by Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve battery and increase reliability by using the connectivity determination to trigger the timer to avoid repeated attempts to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN (Han ‘9202: ¶ [0003]).
performing one of:
Gupta, Han ‘6340, and Han 9202 do not explicitly teach ignoring the pre-configured priority for the VPLMN and determining the VPLMN as a lowest priority in response to determining that the UE has entered the connectivity state and the second SOR information is not received before the UE enters the connectivity state or the received second SOR information security check fails, or determining a priority of the VPLMN as the pre-configured priority without the priority of the VPLMN; and stopping the timer when determining that the first SOR security check failure occurs occurs in response to determining that the UE receives the second SOR information and a second SOR security check is successful before the UE enters the connectivity state.
3GPP TS 23.122 teaches ignoring the pre-configured priority for the VPLMN and determining the VPLMN as a lowest priority in response to determining that the UE has entered the connectivity state and the second SOR information is not received before the UE enters the connectivity state or the received second SOR information security check fails (page 85, lines 3-10, The missing or security check failure of SOR information was encountered. The UE moves to idle mode or 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication. The current registered PLMN is considered as lowest priority.), or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine determining whether determining the VPLMN as a lowest priority in response to determining that the UE has entered the connectivity state taught by 3GPP TS 23.122 with the UE enters a connectivity state taught by Han ‘9202, the timer taught by Han ‘6340, and the PLMN selection procedure taught by Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve battery and reliability by using the connectivity determination to trigger the timer to avoid repeated attempts to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN and making the current VPLMN the lowest priority (3GPP TS 23.122, pages 78-85).
determining a priority of the VPLMN as the pre-configured priority without the priority of the VPLMN; and stopping the timer when determining that the first SOR security check failure occurs occurs in response to determining that the UE receives the second SOR information and a second SOR security check is successful before the UE enters the connectivity state (MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009)).
Regarding claim 2, Gupta does not explicitly teach wherein the timer with the value that is determined based on a determination that the first SOR security check failure occurs is included in SOR-connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) stored at the UE and wherein the timer comprises a Tsor-cm timer.
In analogous art, Han ‘6340 teaches wherein the timer with the value that is determined based on a determination that the first SOR security check failure occurs is included in SOR-connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) stored (read as saved) at the UE and wherein the timer comprises a Tsor-cm timer (¶ [n0260] Security check failure.; ¶ [n0270] When the UE supports SOR-CMCI, determine whether the UE has available SOR-CMCI saved.; ¶ [n0272] Set the value of timer X.; ¶ [n0272] The timer X may be: Tsor-cm.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the timer taught by Han ‘6340 with the PLMN selection procedure taught by Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase connection reliability and conserve battery power by utilizing a timer to avoid repeated reselection scans during transient coverage issues (Han ‘6340: ¶¶ [n0003-n0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Gupta teaches wherein at least one of the first SOR information or the second SOR information is provided via a downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) transport message or a registration accept message (Fig. 4, step 2 DL NAS Transport; ¶ [0037] A secured packet may be used to steer a UE. Upon receipt of a DL NAS TRANSPORT message or a REGISTRATION ACCEPT message with a secured packet related to steering a UE.; ¶ [0050] NAS transport messages (Downlink) can be used to update parameters in the UE.; ¶ [0052] The AMF includes in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message the steering of roaming information.).
Regarding claim 4, Gupta teaches wherein the connectivity state comprises at least one of an IDLE mode or a fifth generation mobility management (5GMM)-CONNECTED mode with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive indication state (¶ [0053] The UE may wait until it moves to idle mode or 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive.).
Regarding claim 5, Gupta teaches a user equipment (UE) (read as communication device) (FIG. 2, element 200 communication device; ¶ [0026] The communication device 200.),
the UE comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2, element 202 Processor; ¶ [0026] The communication device may include a hardware processor.);
memory (Fig. 2, element 204 Main Memory; ¶ [0026] The communication device may include a main memory.) and
a public land mobile network (PLMN) selection procedure controller, coupled with the processor and the memory (¶ [0027] The storage device may include a non-transitory machine readable medium on which is stored one or more sets of data structures or instructions (e.g., software) embodying or utilized by the techniques or functions described herein. The instructions may reside within the main memory and/or within the hardware processor during execution thereof by the communication device.; ¶ [0028] The machine readable medium may include any medium that is capable of storing, encoding, or carrying instructions for execution by the communication device and that cause the communication device to perform the techniques of the present disclosure.; ¶ [0045] UE may undertake PLMN selection.),
configured to:
determine that a first steering of roaming (SOR) security check failure occurs upon receiving first SOR information (¶ [0035] The UE receives the steering of roaming information. Security check on the steering of roaming information fails.),
wherein the UE is configured with a pre-configured priority for a visited PLMN (VPLMN) (¶ [0030] SIM-based steering uses an updatable network list of preferred mobile operators (PLMNs) on a SIM card of the UE.);
Gupta does not explicitly teach start a timer based on a value included in SOR connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) in response to determining that the first SOR security check failure occurs;
In analogous art, Han ‘6340 teaches start a timer based on a value included in SOR connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) in response to determining that the first SOR security check failure occurs (¶ [n0084] After the terminal fails in the security check of the first information, the terminal supports SOR-CMCI, SOR-CMCI may be applied.; ¶ [n0086] (d) The first timer times out the longest time from when the security check fails to when the terminal executes the first operation.; ¶ [n0087] The terminal may set a timing time of the first timer, and the timing time is: the longest time from when the security check failure is found to when the terminal performs the first operation.; ¶ [n0107] Services included in SOR-CMCI.; ¶ [n0109] The first condition may be one or more of the above (a) to (g).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the timer taught by Han ‘6340 with the PLMN selection procedure taught by Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase connection reliability and conserve battery power by utilizing a timer to avoid repeated reselection scans during transient coverage issues (Han ‘6340: ¶¶ [n0003-n0004]).
Gupta and Han ‘6340 do not explicitly teach determine whether the UE has entered a connectivity state and a second SOR information is received before the UE enters the connectivity state; and
In analogous art, Han 9202 teaches determine whether the UE has entered a connectivity state (read as enters the idle state) and second SOR information (read as EXT-SOR related information) is received before the UE enters the connectivity state (¶ [0184] Step S501: The UE receives a NAS message sent by a network.; ¶ [0185] Step S502: The UE checks whether the NAS message includes EXT-SOR related information.; ¶ [0206] Step S507: The UE stores the EXT-SOR related information. If the UE already has EXT-SOR related information stored, the existing EXT-SOR related information is overwritten.; ¶ [0209] Step S509: It is determined whether the UE currently has an ongoing high-priority service. If not, the UE releases a connection, enters the idle state.); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine determining whether the UE enters a connectivity state taught by Han ‘9202 with the timer taught by Han ‘6340 and the PLMN selection procedure taught by Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve battery and increase reliability by using the connectivity determination to trigger the timer to avoid repeated attempts to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN (Han ‘9202: ¶ [0003]).
perform one of:
Gupta, Han ‘6340, and Han 9202 do not explicitly teach ignoring the pre-configured priority for the VPLMN and determining the VPLMN as a lowest priority in response to determine that the UE has entered the connectivity state and the second SOR information is not received before the UE enters the connectivity state or the received second SOR information security check fails; or determining a priority of the VPLMN as the pre-configured priority without the priority of the VPLMN and stopping the timer when determining that the first SOR security check failure occurs in response to determining that the UE receives the second SOR information and a second SOR security check is successful before the UE enters the connectivity state.
3GPP TS 23.122 teaches ignoring the pre-configured priority for the VPLMN and determining the VPLMN as a lowest priority in response to determining that the UE has entered the connectivity state and the second SOR information is not received before the UE enters the connectivity state or the received second SOR information security check fails (Page 85, Lines 3-10, The missing or security check failure of SOR information was encountered. The UE moves to idle mode or 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive indication. The current registered PLMN is considered as lowest priority.), or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine determining whether determining the VPLMN as a lowest priority in response to determining that the UE has entered the connectivity state taught by 3GPP TS 23.122 with the UE enters a connectivity state taught by Han ‘9202, the timer taught by Han ‘6340, and the PLMN selection procedure taught by Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve battery and reliability by using the connectivity determination to trigger the timer to avoid repeated attempts to obtain service on a higher priority PLMN and making the current VPLMN the lowest priority (3GPP TS 23.122, pages 78-85).
determining a priority of the VPLMN as the pre-configured priority without the priority of the VPLMN; and stopping the timer when determining that the first SOR security check failure occurs occurs in response to determining that the UE receives the second SOR information and a second SOR security check is successful before the UE enters the connectivity state (MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009)).
Regarding claim 6, Gupta does not explicitly teach wherein the timer with the value that is determined based on a determination that the first SOR security check failure occurs is included in SOR-connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) stored at the UE and wherein the timer comprises a Tsor-cm timer.
In analogous art, Han ‘6340 teaches wherein the timer with the value that is determined based on a determination that the first SOR security check failure occurs is included in SOR-connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) stored (read as saved) at the UE and wherein the timer comprises a Tsor-cm timer (¶ [n0260] Security check failure.; ¶ [n0270] When the UE supports SOR-CMCI, determine whether the UE has available SOR-CMCI saved.; ¶ [n0272] Set the value of timer X.; ¶ [n0272] The timer X may be: Tsor-cm.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the timer taught by Han ‘6340 with the PLMN selection procedure taught by Gupta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase connection reliability and conserve battery power by utilizing a timer to avoid repeated reselection scans during transient coverage issues (Han ‘6340: ¶¶ [n0003-n0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Gupta teaches wherein at least one of the first SOR information or the second SOR information is provided via a downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) transport message or a registration accept message (Fig. 4, step 2 DL NAS Transport; ¶ [0037] A secured packet may be used to steer a UE. Upon receipt of a DL NAS TRANSPORT message or a REGISTRATION ACCEPT message with a secured packet related to steering a UE.; ¶ [0050] NAS transport messages (Downlink) can be used to update parameters in the UE.; ¶ [0052] The AMF includes in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message the steering of roaming information.).
Regarding claim 8, Gupta teaches wherein the connectivity state comprises at least one of an IDLE mode or a fifth generation mobility management (5GMM)-CONNECTED mode with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive indication state (¶ [0053] The UE may wait until it moves to idle mode or 5GMM-CONNECTED mode with RRC inactive.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chiba et al. (US 2024/0121589 A1) discloses “User Equipment (UE) and Communication Control Method”
Kuppelur et al. (US 2022/0312360 A1) discloses “Steering of Roaming Check During Mobility Registration”
Prakasam et al. (US 2022/0053313 A1) discloses “Steering of Roaming PLMN List Update and Management”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464