DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/05/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 08/07/2025. Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14-15 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument: In Applicant's previously-filed amendment and response, Applicant already argued that Ryu, [0128] merely contemplates that a STA can transmit its power mode state to an AP (and Ryu, [0132] notes that the AP can maintain power management status, which would be based on this power mode state transmission from the STA to the AP), but Ryu fails to teach or suggest determining that at least two links are in a power save mode. Indeed, Ryu's operations appear to be premised on (all) enabled links, e.g., "the STAs of the non-AP MLD may wake to listen for a beacon frame at each target beacon transmission time on the enabled links until the time expires." See, Ryu, [0153]. See, also, Ryu, [0155] which states "the time value may be determined based on the largest beacon interval among beacon intervals of the enabled links...." Ryu does not appear to consider the condition that at least two links are in a power save mode as being a trigger/prompting some further action, let alone "determining, by the AP, a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two links." Thus, it appears that the Examiner's assertions are mere theoretical conjecture that is not actually supported by the explicit teachings of Ryu.
Response: Examiner has greatly considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the nature of the amendment(s) made to the independent claims, the office no longer relies on Ryu for “determining that at least two links are in a power save mode” and instead introduces Cherian. Cherian shows a process flow in Fig. 3 of an AP and STA which establish a multi-link station, where an indication can identify one or more wireless links of the STA that are in an inactive state (¶0065-¶0067). In addition to Cherian, Examiner also introduces Kim, which in response to “Ryu does not appear to consider the condition that at least two links are in a power save mode as being a trigger/prompting some further action, let alone "determining, by the AP, a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two link”, Kim addresses the response to determining that at least two links are in a power save mode in ¶0072, where STA1 711 and STA2 712 may both be in a doze state, which implies a plurality of links,( at least two links also supported in cited figures) and both are in power save mode. To specifically address “the detection time period”, in ¶0076, Kim teaches a defined time period, where that period is tied to beacon intervals (TBTT), that applies to multiple STAs (plural links). Since the AP controls TBTT and beacon scheduling, the AP determines the timing framework for detection. The wake period tied to beacon intervals functions as the claimed detection time period. From ¶0078, Kim shows the AP transmitting to multiple STAs (links) during a defined scheduled period (broadcast TWT SP/TBTT interval). The frames sent by the AP are used to detect presence/availability of the STAs and used to coordinate wake/sleep behavior, which would be detection signals.
Argument: Indeed, Ryu, [0153] states that "the STAs of the non-AP MLD may wake to listen for a beacon frame at each target beacon transmission time... until the timer expires." As discussed in Applicant's previously-filed response, Ryu appears to be directed to scenarios where STAs are merely listening for beacons. That is, and again, the teaching of Ryu that the Final Action attempts to analogize to the claimed determination response has to do with a STA informing an AP of its desire to transition from one power mode to another, and the AP allowing the STA to do so by virtue of transmitting and ACK to the STA, after which, the STA may enter its desired power mode. In contrast, the Final Action attempts to analogize the claimed result of the claimed determination of a detection time period with Ryu's teaching of a listen interval when the STA is already operating in a power save mode. The STA of Ryu at this point, is listening for beacon frames (in accordance with the listen interval), and performs this listening operation to determine if the beacon has an indication therein that indicates the STA has a BU buffered for it at the AP. The listen interval of Ryu is not an interval during which detecting signals are transmitted and on which link connectivity is determined.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
First, to address the determination of the power modes by an AP, Cherian shows a process flow in Fig. 3 of an AP and STA which establish a multi-link station, where an indication can identify one or more wireless links of the STA that are in an inactive state (¶0065-¶0067). Secondly, due to the nature of the amendment(s) made on the independent claims, Examiner no longer relies on Ryu for the independent claims and instead introduces Kim, and to specifically address “the detection time period”, in ¶0076, Kim teaches a defined time period, where that period is tied to beacon intervals (TBTT), that applies to multiple STAs (plural links). Since the AP controls TBTT and beacon scheduling, the AP determines the timing framework for detection. The wake period tied to beacon intervals functions as the claimed detection time period. For the dependent claims where Ryu’s listen interval is referenced, Examiner interprets under BRI that detection time period can reasonably encompass any defined interval during which a device monitors for signals to determine a communication status, and the listen interval is time defined, periodic, used to evaluate beacons and affects STA behavior.
Argument: To the above, there can be many reasons why a base stations cannot decode a message, e.g., poor radio conditions, such as weak signals or excessive noise can cause data corruption. Such data corruption can lead a base station to fail a CRC check (or other integrity checks). Accordingly, the absolute assumption (by the Examiner) that if an AP does not respond, the link must have failed, is erroneous. A base stations can still receive a message, but may not be able to decode the message. Hence, because base stations can still receive a message, the link is operational/not failed. It appears that the Examiner is trying to introduce an erroneous interpretation to "force" an analogy between the teachings of Ryu (that don't exist) and the claims of the present application, i.e., unsupported theories have been presented regarding why the prior art "must" read on the pending claims, but again, those assumptions have been rebutted.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s argument’s and respectfully disagrees.
In direct response to assuming the link has failed if an AP does not respond, Examiner no longer relies on Haustein and instead introduces Komoriya, which describes an AP waiting for reception of a response signal from a STA to see if a STA has transitioned from a doze state to an awake state, described in ¶0005. Examiner interprets the AP not receiving the response signal from the STA as a sign of failure, in combination with Cherian and Kim.
Argument: As can be appreciated from the above quotation, Applicant argued that Ryu does not appear to consider the condition that at least two links are in a power save mode as being a trigger/prompting some further action, let alone "determining, by the AP, a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two links." However, the Examiner's response does not evidence any teaching or suggestion in Ryu that considers at least 2 links are in power save mode, nor does the Examiner's response evidence a teaching/suggestion in Ryu that a detection time period is based on at least two links. The above response merely describes how Ryu can set a timer value, and that Ryu can make some generic "determination" by selecting some timer value - nothing more.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
First, to address the determination of the power modes by an AP, Cherian shows a process flow in Fig. 3 of an AP and STA which establish a multi-link station, where an indication can identify one or more wireless links of the STA that are in an inactive state (¶0065-¶0067). Secondly, due to the nature of the amendment(s) made on the independent claims, Examiner no longer relies on Ryu for the independent claims and instead introduces Kim. Kim addresses the response to determining that at least two links are in a power save mode in ¶0072, where STA1 711 and STA2 712 may both be in a doze state, which implies a plurality of links, at least two links and both are in power save mode. To specifically address “the detection time period”, in ¶0076, Kim teaches a defined time period, where that period is tied to beacon intervals (TBTT), that applies to multiple STAs (plural links). Since the AP controls TBTT and beacon scheduling, the AP determines the timing framework for detection. The wake period tied to beacon intervals functions as the claimed detection time period.
Argument: Lastly, the Advisory Action appears to rely on the same teachings of Ryu/Haustein to support its position without considering Applicant's arguments, other than to say that she disagrees, and repeats the Applicant-rebutted grounds of rejection once more without answering Applicant's rebuttal. For example … This is a clear violation of MPEP 707.07(f) which requires that the examiner substantially answer or rebut each of Applicant's arguments so the record is clear. Here, the Examiner just repeats the grounds of rejection as its own evidence of truth.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully apologizes for the structure of how the arguments were responded to in the previous office action, and if any prior response was not clear to the applicant.
Argument: Accordingly, Applicant again submits that Haustein, [0089] appears to be directed to use of a conventional error detection/retransmission technique, such as Hybrid Automatic Repeat
Request (HARQ), where a base station transmits a NACK message when it cannot decode a message (i.e., data/packet) requesting retransmission from a UE. In Haustein, it is the base station that sends the NACK in response to a UE. That is, the UE has already sent a message, but the base station cannot decode the message, and thus, asks the UE to retransmit the message. In contrast, independent claim 1 requires that the AP determines connectivity "based on responses... received from the station...," not to mention that this determination is used to determine failed links due to a lack of receipt of responses from the station. Again, in Haustein, failed links are not identified - rather, what is "detected" is the inability of a base station to decode a message (it received the message, so the link between the base station of UE are working), after which, the base station requests retransmission.
Response: Examiner has greatly considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
In direct response to the AP determining connectivity based on responses received from the station, Examiner no longer relies on Haustein and instead introduces Komoriya, which describes an AP waiting for reception of a response signal from a STA to see if a STA has transitioned from a doze state to an awake state, described in ¶0005. Examiner interprets the AP not receiving the response signal from the STA as a sign of failure.
Lastly, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 10-11, 14-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian et al. (US 2018/0206190), Cherian hereinafter and Kim et al. (US 2023/0128915), Kim hereinafter, and further in view of Komoriya (US 2022/0085919), Komoriya hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Cherian teaches a method comprising: determining, by an access point (AP), a power mode of each of a plurality of links established between the AP and a station; (Fig. 2-3, 9 & ¶0064 - Process flow 300 may include a wireless device 305-a (e.g., a receiving device) and a wireless device 305-b (e.g., a transmitting device), each of which may represent a STA 115 and/or an AP 105 .... ¶0065 - At 310, wireless device 305-a and wireless device 305-b may establish a multi-link session (e.g., establish a session for multiple links for parallel communications between the two devices). ¶0067 - The indication may identify one or more wireless links of wireless device 305-a that are in an inactive state and are to be activated for subsequent multi-link communications. For example, the indication may include wireless link identifiers of inactive wireless links to be used for transmission of pending data. Please also see ¶0059);
Yet, Cherian does not explicitly teach in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determining, by the AP, a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two links; transmitting, by the AP to the station, detection signals in the at least two links during the detection time period, wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; and determining, by the AP, connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determining, by the AP, a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two links; (Fig. 3-4, 8, 11, 14A, 17, 24-25 & ¶0072 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may be in a doze state 731-1, 732-1 (e.g., after the TWT agreement setup) until a next TWT 730 as indicated in the received TWT responses. ¶0073 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may indicate (e.g., responsive to the trigger frame) that the STA1 711 and the STA2 712 are awake during the TWT SP 720. The STA1 711 may indicate that the STA1 711 is awake by sending a frame (e.g., a PS-Poll) frame … The STA2 712 may indicate that it is awake by sending a QoS null frame, for example, based on/in response to the trigger frame. ¶0076 - The STA1 811 and the STA2 812 may wake up to receive the beacon frame at the TBTT 830 and determine the broadcast TWT. The STA1 811 and the STA2 812 may wake up periodically to receive beacon frames. A time period between successive reception of beacon frames at a STA may be defined based on a listen interval for the STA. A TWT request and/or a TWT response, as shown in FIG. 8, may be used to negotiate one or more parameters (e.g., the first TBTT 830, a listen interval 832) for the broadcast TWT operation);
transmitting, by the AP to the station, detection signals in the at least two links during the detection time period, (¶0076 - The AP 810 may send trigger frames and/or DL BUs to the STA1 811 and the STA2 812, for example, during the broadcast TWT SP. Beacon frames may be sent by the AP 810 at regular intervals. The regular intervals may be defined based on a target beacon transmission time (TBTT). The TBTT may indicate times at which beacon frames may be sent/transmitted);
wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; (¶0073 - The STA1 711 and/or the STA2 712 may receive downlink bufferable units (DL BUs) from the AP 710. ¶0073 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may indicate (e.g., responsive to the trigger frame) that the STA1 711 and the STA2 712 are awake during the TWT SP 720);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Cherian. The motivation would be because TWTs may allow STAs to reduce the required amount of time that a STA (e.g., utilizing a power management mode) may be awake and reduce power consumption (¶0047, Kim).
Yet, Cherian and Kim do not explicitly teach and determining, by the AP, connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Komoriya explicitly teaches and determining, by the AP, connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals (Fig. 1, 4-6 & ¶0005 - As described above, after the AP transmits a Wake-up frame in order to cause the STA to transit from the Doze state to the Awake state, the AP waits for the response signal with respect to the frame in order to recognize that the STA has transited to the Awake state. Here, after transmitting the Wake-up frame, the AP waits for reception of a response signal from the STA for a predetermined waiting time (Time Interval). The AP may retransmit the Wake-up frame if the AP is unable to receive a response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time … if a channel used to transmit the response signal is congested, it is possible that the AP will not be able to receive the response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Komoriya to the teachings of Cherian and Kim. The motivation would be because the invention provides a technique for preventing retransmission of unnecessary Wake-up frames by an AP (¶0006, Komoriya).
Re. Claims 4 and 14, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Cherian does not explicitly teach wherein the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise power save polling (PS-Poll) frames.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise power save polling (PS-Poll) frames (Fig. 3-4, 8, 11, 14A, 17, 24-25 & ¶0070 - In unannounced TWT, an AP may send downlink data, to an TWT STA, without receiving a frame (e.g., a PS-Poll frame, or a QoS null frame) from the TWT STA during a TWT SP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teachings of Cherian and Komoriya. The motivation would be because TWTs may allow STAs to reduce the required amount of time that a STA (e.g., utilizing a power management mode) may be awake and reduce power consumption (¶0047, Kim).
Re. Claim 5, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 1.
Yet, Cherian does not explicitly teach the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise acknowledgement frames is received in each of the at least two links.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise acknowledgement frames is received in each of the at least two links (Fig. 3-4, 8, 11, 14A, 17, 24-25 & ¶0063 - The unsolicited TWT response may typically involve a frame exchange in which the STA receiving the unsolicited TWT response may respond with an acknowledgment (ACK). Broadcast TWTs may or may not be acknowledged. ¶0073 - The STA1 711 and/or the STA2 712 may send/transmit block acknowledgement (BlockAck) frames, for example, based on receiving the DL BUs. ¶0082 - The AP may receive a block acknowledgment (e.g., BlockAck) frame (e.g., from the STA 911), for example, based on/in response to sending the downlink frame to the STA 911).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teachings of Cherian and Komoriya. The motivation would be because TWTs may allow STAs to reduce the required amount of time that a STA (e.g., utilizing a power management mode) may be awake and reduce power consumption (¶0047, Kim).
Re. Claim 8, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 1.
Cherian further teaches in response to determining that a third link of the plurality of links is in a non-power save mode, (Fig. 2-3, 9 & ¶0064 - Process flow 300 may include a wireless device 305-a (e.g., a receiving device) and a wireless device 305-b (e.g., a transmitting device), each of which may represent a STA 115 and/or an AP 105 .... ¶0065 - At 310, wireless device 305-a and wireless device 305-b may establish a multi-link session (e.g., establish a session for multiple links for parallel communications between the two devices). ¶0067 - The indication may identify one or more wireless links of wireless device 305-a that are in an inactive state and are to be activated for subsequent multi-link communications. For example, the indication may include wireless link identifiers of inactive wireless links to be used for transmission of pending data. Please also see ¶0059);
Yet, Cherian does not explicitly teach performing transmissions in the at least one link; counting a number of continuously failed transmissions; in response to determining that the number of the continuously failed transmissions exceeds a predefined threshold, determining that the third link is failed.
However, in the analogous art, Komoriya explicitly teaches performing transmissions in the at least one link; (Fig. 1, 4-6 & ¶0007 - a transmission unit configured to transmit the Wake-up frame while the terminal station is in the Doze state…) counting a number of continuously failed transmissions; in response to determining that the number of the continuously failed transmissions exceeds a predefined threshold, determining that the third link is failed (¶0005 - The AP may retransmit the Wake-up frame if the AP is unable to receive a response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time. A reason why the AP cannot receive the response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time may be, for example, that the STA failed to receive the Wake-up frame. ¶0026 - The retransmission count unit 308 performs processing for counting the number of retransmissions of the Wake-up frame by the WUR unit 212, and comparing the counted number of retransmissions with a predetermined number. ¶0044 - If the present number of retransmissions is greater than or equal to the predetermined number (No in step S505), the WUR frame transmission control unit 303 does not further retransmit the Wake-up frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Komoriya to the teachings of Cherian and Kim. The motivation would be because the invention provides a technique for preventing retransmission of unnecessary Wake-up frames by an AP (¶0006, Komoriya).
Re. Claim 10, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 8.
Yet, Cherian does not explicitly teach determining that one link of the plurality of links is not failed; and transmitting, by the AP to the station, buffered data in the one link.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches determining that one link of the plurality of links is not failed; and transmitting, by the AP to the station, buffered data in the one link (Fig. 3-4, 8, 11, 14A, 17, 24-25 & ¶0073 - The AP 710 may send a multi-STA block acknowledgment (M-BA) frame, for example, based on/in response to the PS-Poll frame and/or the QoS null frame. The M-BA frame may include acknowledgement information associated with one or more frames (e.g., PS-Poll frame and QoS null frame) received from one or more STAs. The STA1 711 and/or the STA2 712 may receive downlink bufferable units (DL BUs) from the AP 710). ¶0074 - The AP receiving the frame (e.g., the PS-Poll frame or the QoS Null frame or any other indication from a STA in PS mode), may send data (e.g., BUs) to the STA. The AP may send as many buffered BUs as may be available at the AP during the TWT SP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teachings of Cherian and Komoriya. The motivation would be because TWTs may allow STAs to reduce the required amount of time that a STA (e.g., utilizing a power management mode) may be awake and reduce power consumption (¶0047, Kim).
Re. Claim 11, Cherian teaches an access point (AP) comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions to cause the at least one processor to: determine a power save mode of each of a plurality of links established between the AP and a station; (Fig. 2-3, 9 & ¶0064 - Process flow 300 may include a wireless device 305-a (e.g., a receiving device) and a wireless device 305-b (e.g., a transmitting device), each of which may represent a STA 115 and/or an AP 105 .... ¶0065 - At 310, wireless device 305-a and wireless device 305-b may establish a multi-link session (e.g., establish a session for multiple links for parallel communications between the two devices). ¶0067 - The indication may identify one or more wireless links of wireless device 305-a that are in an inactive state and are to be activated for subsequent multi-link communications. For example, the indication may include wireless link identifiers of inactive wireless links to be used for transmission of pending data. Please also see ¶0059);
Yet, Cherian does not explicitly teach in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determine a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two links; transmit detection signals in the at least two links during the detection time period to the station, wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; and determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determine a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two links; (Fig. 3-4, 8, 11, 14A, 17, 24-25 &. ¶0072 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may be in a doze state 731-1, 732-1 (e.g., after the TWT agreement setup) until a next TWT 730 as indicated in the received TWT responses. ¶0073 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may indicate (e.g., responsive to the trigger frame) that the STA1 711 and the STA2 712 are awake during the TWT SP 720. The STA1 711 may indicate that the STA1 711 is awake by sending a frame (e.g., a PS-Poll) frame … The STA2 712 may indicate that it is awake by sending a QoS null frame, for example, based on/in response to the trigger frame. ¶0076 - The STA1 811 and the STA2 812 may wake up to receive the beacon frame at the TBTT 830 and determine the broadcast TWT. The STA1 811 and the STA2 812 may wake up periodically to receive beacon frames. A time period between successive reception of beacon frames at a STA may be defined based on a listen interval for the STA. A TWT request and/or a TWT response, as shown in FIG. 8, may be used to negotiate one or more parameters (e.g., the first TBTT 830, a listen interval 832) for the broadcast TWT operation);
transmit detection signals in the at least two links during the detection time period to the station, (¶0076 - The AP 810 may send trigger frames and/or DL BUs to the STA1 811 and the STA2 812, for example, during the broadcast TWT SP. Beacon frames may be sent by the AP 810 at regular intervals. The regular intervals may be defined based on a target beacon transmission time (TBTT). The TBTT may indicate times at which beacon frames may be sent/transmitted);
wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; (¶0073 - The STA1 711 and/or the STA2 712 may receive downlink bufferable units (DL BUs) from the AP 710. ¶0073 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may indicate (e.g., responsive to the trigger frame) that the STA1 711 and the STA2 712 are awake during the TWT SP 720);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Cherian. The motivation would be because TWTs may allow STAs to reduce the required amount of time that a STA (e.g., utilizing a power management mode) may be awake and reduce power consumption (¶0047, Kim).
Yet, Cherian and Kim do not explicitly teach and determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Komoriya explicitly teaches and determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals (Fig. 1, 4-6 & ¶0005 - As described above, after the AP transmits a Wake-up frame in order to cause the STA to transit from the Doze state to the Awake state, the AP waits for the response signal with respect to the frame in order to recognize that the STA has transited to the Awake state. Here, after transmitting the Wake-up frame, the AP waits for reception of a response signal from the STA for a predetermined waiting time (Time Interval). The AP may retransmit the Wake-up frame if the AP is unable to receive a response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time … if a channel used to transmit the response signal is congested, it is possible that the AP will not be able to receive the response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Komoriya to the teachings of Cherian and Kim. The motivation would be because the invention provides a technique for preventing retransmission of unnecessary Wake-up frames by an AP (¶0006, Komoriya).
Re. Claim 15, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 11.
Yet, Cherian does not explicitly teach the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise acknowledgment frames.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise acknowledgment frames (Fig. 3-4, 8, 11, 14A, 17, 24-25 & ¶0063 - The unsolicited TWT response may typically involve a frame exchange in which the STA receiving the unsolicited TWT response may respond with an acknowledgment (ACK). Broadcast TWTs may or may not be acknowledged. ¶0073 - The STA1 711 and/or the STA2 712 may send/transmit block acknowledgement (BlockAck) frames, for example, based on receiving the DL BUs. ¶0082 - The AP may receive a block acknowledgment (e.g., BlockAck) frame (e.g., from the STA 911), for example, based on/in response to sending the downlink frame to the STA 911).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teachings of Cherian and Komoriya. The motivation would be because TWTs may allow STAs to reduce the required amount of time that a STA (e.g., utilizing a power management mode) may be awake and reduce power consumption (¶0047, Kim).
Re. Claim 18, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 11.
Cherian further teaches the memory further stores instructions to cause the at least one processor to: in response to determining that a third link of the plurality of links is in an non-power save mode, (Fig. 2-3, 9 & ¶0064 - Process flow 300 may include a wireless device 305-a (e.g., a receiving device) and a wireless device 305-b (e.g., a transmitting device), each of which may represent a STA 115 and/or an AP 105 .... ¶0065 - At 310, wireless device 305-a and wireless device 305-b may establish a multi-link session (e.g., establish a session for multiple links for parallel communications between the two devices). ¶0067 - The indication may identify one or more wireless links of wireless device 305-a that are in an inactive state and are to be activated for subsequent multi-link communications. For example, the indication may include wireless link identifiers of inactive wireless links to be used for transmission of pending data. Please also see ¶0059);
Yet, Cherian and Kim do not explicitly teach perform transmissions in the at least one link; count a number of continuously failed transmissions; in response to determining that the number of the continuously failed transmissions exceeds a predefined threshold, determine that the third link is failed.
However, in the analogous art, Komoriya explicitly teaches perform transmissions in the at least one link; (Fig. 1, 4-6 & ¶0007 - a transmission unit configured to transmit the Wake-up frame while the terminal station is in the Doze state…) count a number of continuously failed transmissions; in response to determining that the number of the continuously failed transmissions exceeds a predefined threshold, determine that the third link is failed (¶0005 - The AP may retransmit the Wake-up frame if the AP is unable to receive a response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time. A reason why the AP cannot receive the response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time may be, for example, that the STA failed to receive the Wake-up frame. ¶0026 - The retransmission count unit 308 performs processing for counting the number of retransmissions of the Wake-up frame by the WUR unit 212, and comparing the counted number of retransmissions with a predetermined number. ¶0044 - If the present number of retransmissions is greater than or equal to the predetermined number (No in step S505), the WUR frame transmission control unit 303 does not further retransmit the Wake-up frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Komoriya to the teachings of Cherian and Kim. The motivation would be because the invention provides a technique for preventing retransmission of unnecessary Wake-up frames by an AP (¶0006, Komoriya).
Re. Claim 20, Cherian teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which (Please see “non-transitory computer readable medium” in ¶0009-¶0020), when executed by an access point (AP), cause the apparatus to: determine a power save mode of each of a plurality of links established between the AP and a station; (Fig. 2-3, 9 & ¶0064 - Process flow 300 may include a wireless device 305-a (e.g., a receiving device) and a wireless device 305-b (e.g., a transmitting device), each of which may represent a STA 115 and/or an AP 105 .... ¶0065 - At 310, wireless device 305-a and wireless device 305-b may establish a multi-link session (e.g., establish a session for multiple links for parallel communications between the two devices). ¶0067 - The indication may identify one or more wireless links of wireless device 305-a that are in an inactive state and are to be activated for subsequent multi-link communications. For example, the indication may include wireless link identifiers of inactive wireless links to be used for transmission of pending data. Please also see ¶0059);
Yet, Cherian does not explicitly teach in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determine a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two links; transmit detection signals in the at least two links during the detection time period to the station, wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; and determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determine a detection time period for detecting signals based on beacon intervals of the at least two links; (Fig. 3-4, 8, 11, 14A, 17, 24-25 & ¶0072 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may be in a doze state 731-1, 732-1 (e.g., after the TWT agreement setup) until a next TWT 730 as indicated in the received TWT responses. ¶0073 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may indicate (e.g., responsive to the trigger frame) that the STA1 711 and the STA2 712 are awake during the TWT SP 720. The STA1 711 may indicate that the STA1 711 is awake by sending a frame (e.g., a PS-Poll) frame … The STA2 712 may indicate that it is awake by sending a QoS null frame, for example, based on/in response to the trigger frame. ¶0076 - The STA1 811 and the STA2 812 may wake up to receive the beacon frame at the TBTT 830 and determine the broadcast TWT. The STA1 811 and the STA2 812 may wake up periodically to receive beacon frames. A time period between successive reception of beacon frames at a STA may be defined based on a listen interval for the STA. A TWT request and/or a TWT response, as shown in FIG. 8, may be used to negotiate one or more parameters (e.g., the first TBTT 830, a listen interval 832) for the broadcast TWT operation);
transmit detection signals in the at least two links during the detection time period to the station, (¶0076 - The AP 810 may send trigger frames and/or DL BUs to the STA1 811 and the STA2 812, for example, during the broadcast TWT SP. Beacon frames may be sent by the AP 810 at regular intervals. The regular intervals may be defined based on a target beacon transmission time (TBTT). The TBTT may indicate times at which beacon frames may be sent/transmitted);
wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; (¶0073 - The STA1 711 and/or the STA2 712 may receive downlink bufferable units (DL BUs) from the AP 710. ¶0073 - The STA1 711 and the STA2 712 may indicate (e.g., responsive to the trigger frame) that the STA1 711 and the STA2 712 are awake during the TWT SP 720);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Cherian. The motivation would be because TWTs may allow STAs to reduce the required amount of time that a STA (e.g., utilizing a power management mode) may be awake and reduce power consumption (¶0047, Kim).
Yet, Cherian and Kim do not explicitly teach and determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Komoriya explicitly teaches and determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals (Fig. 1, 4-6 & ¶0005 - As described above, after the AP transmits a Wake-up frame in order to cause the STA to transit from the Doze state to the Awake state, the AP waits for the response signal with respect to the frame in order to recognize that the STA has transited to the Awake state. Here, after transmitting the Wake-up frame, the AP waits for reception of a response signal from the STA for a predetermined waiting time (Time Interval). The AP may retransmit the Wake-up frame if the AP is unable to receive a response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time … if a channel used to transmit the response signal is congested, it is possible that the AP will not be able to receive the response signal from the STA within the predetermined waiting time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Komoriya to the teachings of Cherian and Kim. The motivation would be because the invention provides a technique for preventing retransmission of unnecessary Wake-up frames by an AP (¶0006, Komoriya).
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian, Kim and Komoriya, and further in view of Ryu, (US 2024/0422674), Ryu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 1.
Yet, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya do not explicitly teach determining the detection time period comprises: determining, by the AP, a maximum beacon interval among the beacon intervals of the at least two links; determining, by the AP, a length of the maximum beacon interval as a length of the detection time period; and determining, by the AP, one of target beacon transmission times of the at least two links as a start time of the detection time period.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly teaches determining the detection time period comprises: determining, by the AP, a maximum beacon interval among the beacon intervals of the at least two links; (Fig. 16, 18 & ¶0144 and ¶0155 - In an example embodiment, the timer value may be determined based on the largest beacon interval among beacon intervals of the enabled links, a listen interval of the non-AP MLD, or a value pre-configured at the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD. Examiner interprets under BRI that detection time period can reasonably encompass any defined interval during which a device monitors for signals to determine a communication status, and the listen interval is time defined, periodic, used to evaluate beacons and affects STA behavior);
determining, by the AP, a length of the maximum beacon interval as a length of the detection time period; (¶0144 - The value of the listen interval field shall be in units of the maximum value of beacon intervals corresponding to the links…);
and determining, by the AP, one of target beacon transmission times of the at least two links as a start time of the detection time period (¶0107 - Beacon frames may be sent by AP 810 at a regular interval defined as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT). ¶0110 - AP 810 may respond with a TWT response to the TWT request confirming the wake TBTT and wake interval. Please also see ¶0145).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ryu to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates the power save operation of a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD during multi-link operation (¶0016, Ryu).
Re. Claim 3, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 1.
Yet, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya do not explicitly teach transmitting detection signals in the at least two links comprises: determining, by the AP, at least one beacon interval for each of the at least two links during the detection time period; and transmitting, by the AP, a detection signal according to the at least one beacon interval in each of the at least two links.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly teaches transmitting detection signals in the at least two links comprises: determining, by the AP, at least one beacon interval for each of the at least two links during the detection time period; (Fig. 14, 16 & ¶0146 - AP1 operates on link 1, AP2 operates on link 2, and AP3 operates on link 3. The beacon intervals of link 1, link 2, and link 3 are 300 ms, 200 ms, and 100 ms, respectively) and transmitting, by the AP, a detection signal according to the at least one beacon interval in each of the at least two links (Fig. 14, 16 & ¶0147 - In this case, the AP MLD may buffer DL BUs to the non-AP MLD at least for 300 ms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ryu to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates the power save operation of a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD during multi-link operation (¶0016, Ryu).
Re. Claim 6, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 1.
Yet, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya do not explicitly teach determining the power mode of each of the plurality of links comprises: receiving, by the AP from the station, a power management indication in each of the plurality of links; and in response to determining that a power management indication of a first link comprises a first value, determining that the first link is in the power save mode.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly teaches determining the power mode of each of the plurality of links comprises: receiving, by the AP from the station, a power management indication in each of the plurality of links; and in response to determining that a power management indication of a first link comprises a first value, determining that the first link is in the power save mode (Fig. 14 & ¶0138 - As shown, initially, both STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 are in active mode and are involved in frame exchanges with APs 1402-1 and 1402-2 respectively. STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 may indicate being in active mode by setting to 0 a Power Management (PM) subfield of a Frame Control field of a transmitted frame. At a first time, STA 1404-2 indicates to AP 1402-2 that it is entering a power save mode (e.g., sets PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame) and transitions to a doze state. STA 1404-2 remains in the doze state for the remaining time of example 1400. At a second time, STA 1404-2 enters a power save mode (e.g., sets PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame). While operating in the power save mode, STA 1404-1 wakes up to receive a beacon frame transmitted by AP 1402-2 and determines that AP MLD 1402 has BUs for non-AP MLD 1404 that belong to TID(s) mapped to Link 1. STA 1404-1 may return to the doze after the frame exchange. Examiner interprets STA 14041-1 and STA 1404-2 can both set PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame, therefore STA 1404-1 can represent the first link in a non-power save mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ryu to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates the power save operation of a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD during multi-link operation (¶0016, Ryu).
Re. Claim 7, Cherian and Kim, Komoriya and Ryu teach Claim 6.
Yet, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya do not explicitly teach determining the power save mode of each of the plurality of links further comprises: in response to determining that a power management indication of a second link comprises a second value, determining that the second link is in a non-power save mode.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly teaches determining the power save mode of each of the plurality of links further comprises: in response to determining that a power management indication of a second link comprises a second value, determining that the second link is in a non-power save mode (Fig. 14 & ¶0138 - As shown, initially, both STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 are in active mode and are involved in frame exchanges with APs 1402-1 and 1402-2 respectively. STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 may indicate being in active mode by setting to 0 a Power Management (PM) subfield of a Frame Control field of a transmitted frame. At a first time, STA 1404-2 indicates to AP 1402-2 that it is entering a power save mode (e.g., sets PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame) and transitions to a doze state. STA 1404-2 remains in the doze state for the remaining time of example 1400. At a second time, STA 1404-2 enters a power save mode (e.g., sets PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame). While operating in the power save mode, STA 1404-1 wakes up to receive a beacon frame transmitted by AP 1402-2 and determines that AP MLD 1402 has BUs for non-AP MLD 1404 that belong to TID(s) mapped to Link 1. STA 1404-1 may return to the doze after the frame exchange. Examiner interprets STA 14041-1 and STA 1404-2 can both set PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame, therefore STA 1404-2 can represent the second link in a non-power save mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ryu to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates the power save operation of a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD during multi-link operation (¶0016, Ryu).
Re. Claim 12, Cherian and Kim, Komoriya teach Claim 11.
Yet, Cherian and Kim, Komoriya do not explicitly teach the instructions to determine the detection time period further comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: determine a maximum beacon interval among the beacon intervals of the at least two links; determine a length of the maximum beacon interval as a length of the detection time period; and determine one of target beacon transmission times of the at least two links as a start time of the detection time period.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly teaches the instructions to determine the detection time period further comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: determine a maximum beacon interval among the beacon intervals of the at least two links; (Fig. 3-4, 8, 11-12, 14, 16 & ¶0155 - the timer value may be determined based on the largest beacon interval among beacon intervals of the enabled links…) determine a length of the maximum beacon interval as a length of the detection time period; (¶0144 - The value of the listen interval field shall be in units of the maximum value of beacon intervals corresponding to the links… Examiner interprets under BRI that detection time period can reasonably encompass any defined interval during which a device monitors for signals to determine a communication status, and the listen interval is time defined, periodic, used to evaluate beacons and affects STA behavior) and determine one of target beacon transmission times of the at least two links as a start time of the detection time period (¶0107 - Beacon frames may be sent by AP 810 at a regular interval defined as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT). ¶0110 - AP 810 may respond with a TWT response to the TWT request confirming the wake TBTT and wake interval. Please also see ¶0145).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ryu to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates the power save operation of a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD during multi-link operation (¶0016, Ryu).
Re. Claim 13, Cherian and Kim, Komoriya teach Claim 11.
Yet, Cherian and Kim, Komoriya do not explicitly teach the instructions to transmit detection signals in the at least two links comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: determine at least one beacon interval for each of the at least two links during the detection time period; and transmit the detection signal according to the at least one beacon interval in each of the at least two links.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly teaches the instructions to transmit detection signals in the at least two links comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: determine at least one beacon interval for each of the at least two links during the detection time period; (Fig. 14, 16 & ¶0146 - AP1 operates on link 1, AP2 operates on link 2, and AP3 operates on link 3. The beacon intervals of link 1, link 2, and link 3 are 300 ms, 200 ms, and 100 ms, respectively) and transmit the detection signal according to the at least one beacon interval in each of the at least two links (¶0147 - In this case, the AP MLD may buffer DL BUs to the non-AP MLD at least for 300 ms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ryu to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates the power save operation of a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD during multi-link operation (¶0016, Ryu).
Re. Claim 16, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 11.
Yet, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya do not explicitly teach the instructions to determine the power mode of each of the plurality of links further comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: receive, by the AP from the station, a power management indication in each of the plurality of links; and in response to determining that a power management indication of a first link comprises a first value, determine that the first link is in the power save mode.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly teaches the instructions to determine the power mode of each of the plurality of links further comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: receive, by the AP from the station, a power management indication in each of the plurality of links; and in response to determining that a power management indication of a first link comprises a first value, determine that the first link is in the power save mode (Fig. 14 & ¶0138 - As shown, initially, both STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 are in active mode and are involved in frame exchanges with APs 1402-1 and 1402-2 respectively. STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 may indicate being in active mode by setting to 0 a Power Management (PM) subfield of a Frame Control field of a transmitted frame. At a first time, STA 1404-2 indicates to AP 1402-2 that it is entering a power save mode (e.g., sets PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame) and transitions to a doze state. STA 1404-2 remains in the doze state for the remaining time of example 1400. At a second time, STA 1404-2 enters a power save mode (e.g., sets PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame). While operating in the power save mode, STA 1404-1 wakes up to receive a beacon frame transmitted by AP 1402-2 and determines that AP MLD 1402 has BUs for non-AP MLD 1404 that belong to TID(s) mapped to Link 1. STA 1404-1 may return to the doze after the frame exchange. Examiner interprets STA 14041-1 and STA 1404-2 can both set PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame, therefore STA 1404-1 can represent the first link in a non-power save mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ryu to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates the power save operation of a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD during multi-link operation (¶0016, Ryu).
Re. Claim 17, Cherian and Kim, Komoriya and Ryu teach Claim 16.
Yet, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya do not explicitly teach the instructions to determining the power save mode of each of the plurality of links further comprise further instructions to cause the at least one processor to: in response to determining that a power management indication of a second link comprises a second value, determine that the second link is in an non-power save mode.
However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly teaches the instructions to determining the power save mode of each of the plurality of links further comprise further instructions to cause the at least one processor to: in response to determining that a power management indication of a second link comprises a second value, determine that the second link is in an non-power save mode (Fig. 14 & ¶0138 - As shown, initially, both STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 are in active mode and are involved in frame exchanges with APs 1402-1 and 1402-2 respectively. STAs 1404-1 and 1404-2 may indicate being in active mode by setting to 0 a Power Management (PM) subfield of a Frame Control field of a transmitted frame. At a first time, STA 1404-2 indicates to AP 1402-2 that it is entering a power save mode (e.g., sets PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame) and transitions to a doze state. STA 1404-2 remains in the doze state for the remaining time of example 1400. At a second time, STA 1404-2 enters a power save mode (e.g., sets PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame). While operating in the power save mode, STA 1404-1 wakes up to receive a beacon frame transmitted by AP 1402-2 and determines that AP MLD 1402 has BUs for non-AP MLD 1404 that belong to TID(s) mapped to Link 1. STA 1404-1 may return to the doze after the frame exchange. Examiner interprets STA 14041-1 and STA 1404-2 can both set PM bit to 1 in a transmitted frame, therefore STA 1404-2 can represent the second link in a non-power save mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ryu to the teachings of Cherian, Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates the power save operation of a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD during multi-link operation (¶0016, Ryu).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian and Kim and Komoriya, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0205578), Lee hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 8.
Yet, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya do not explicitly teach in response to determining that the at least one further link and the at least two links are failed, determining, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; and disassociating, by the AP, the station from the AP.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly discloses in response to determining that the at least one further link and the at least two links are failed, determining, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; (Fig. 3A, 5, 7 & ¶0123 - When link between the UE and the AP is disconnected, the AP may buffer DL data to be transmitted to the UE (S505). The UE may detect that data link with the AP is disconnected (S510) and transmits link failure report (LFR) to the eNB (S515)) and disassociating, by the AP, the station from the AP (Fig. 3A, 5, 7 & ¶0070 - Disassociation may be performed via transmission of a disassociation frame, and in this regard, a disassociation frame includes a reason code. The reason code is listed as follows. Please see ¶0079-¶0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because it provides a method for managing link failure of a user equipment (UE) in an multi-RAT environment (¶0001, Lee).
Re. Claim 19, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya teach Claim 18.
Yet, Cherian and Kim and Komoriya do not explicitly teach the memory further stores instructions to cause the at least one processor to: in response to determining that the at least one further link and the at least two links are failed, determine, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; and disassociate, by the AP, the station from the AP.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches the memory further stores instructions to cause the at least one processor to: in response to determining that the at least one further link and the at least two links are failed, determine, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; (Fig. 3A, 5, 7 & ¶0123 - When link between the UE and the AP is disconnected, the AP may buffer DL data to be transmitted to the UE (S505). The UE may detect that data link with the AP is disconnected (S510) and transmits link failure report (LFR) to the eNB (S515)) and disassociate, by the AP, the station from the AP (Fig. 3A, 5, 7 & ¶0070 - Disassociation may be performed via transmission of a disassociation frame, and in this regard, a disassociation frame includes a reason code. The reason code is listed as follows. Please see ¶0079-¶0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teachings of Cherian and Kim and Komoriya. The motivation would be because it provides a method for managing link failure of a user equipment (UE) in an multi-RAT environment (¶0001, Lee).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al. (US 2023/0388907) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-30 & ¶0002-¶0304.
Kim (US 2023/0345362) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-10 & ¶0002-¶0157.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465