DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 07/02/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 03/04/2026. Claims 1-3, 11-13 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to Claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2021/0385692 A1), Kwon hereinafter, in view of Cariou et al. (US 2021/0185607 A1), Cariou hereinafter, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2012/0014489 A1), Liu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Kwon teaches a method comprising: determining, by an access point (AP), a power mode of each of a plurality of links established between the AP and a station; (Fig. 3, 11 & ¶0090 - the Listen Interval field is used to indicate to the AP MLD how often at least a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD wakes to listen to Beacon frames if all STAs affiliated with the non-AP MLD and associated with the multi-link (re)setup are in power save mode. ¶0099 - a non-AP MLD indicates a listen interval value of one or more links to an AP MLD, and when the non-AP MLD is in power save mode on the one or more links, the non-AP MLD listens to Beacon frames of the AP MLD of any link that indicates the information of the one or more links at least once in the listen interval value. Fig. 12 & ¶0198 - The SR MLD is in PS mode on both links 1210 and 1240);
transmitting, by the AP to the station, detection signals in the at least two links during the common detection time period, wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; (¶0066 - At every beacon interval, the AP shall assemble a partial virtual bitmap containing the buffer status per destination for STAs in the PS mode and shall send this out in the traffic indication map (TIM) element of the Beacon frame. ¶0068 - A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a traffic indication map (TIM) element (hereinafter TIM bit) that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD. When a non-AP MLD makes a multi-link setup with an AP MLD, one association ID (AID) is assigned to the non-AP MLD across all links. ¶0085 - In a second option, an AP MLD sets a TIM bit corresponding to a non-AP STA to 1 if conditions for setting the TIM bit to 1 on any link for the non-AP STA are satisfied. The TIM bit is set to 1 if the following conditions for a link are met on any link within a set of links that multi-link has setup for the non-AP STA: the AP MLD has buffered BU … ¶0087 - The Listen Interval field is used to indicate to the AP how often a non sub 1 GHz (non-S1G) STA in power save mode wakes to listen to Beacon frames);
Yet, Kwon does not explicitly teach in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determining, by the AP, a common detection time period for detecting signals based on a maximum beacon interval among beacon intervals of the at least two links; and determining, by the AP, connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Cariou explicitly teaches in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determining, by the AP, a common detection time period for detecting signals based on a maximum beacon interval among beacon intervals of the at least two links; (Fig. 3-4 & Abstract - Each link between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD is between an AP of the AP MLD and a corresponding STA of the non-AP MLD. Each STA provides a listen and WNM sleep interval. The listen intervals are the same and are converted by the AP MILD into units of the maximum beacon frame interval among the APs to determine whether a STA is awake to receive a particular beacon. ¶0058 - The non-AP MLD may wake up at any link to receive the Beacon frame if the non-AP MLD selects the link to follow MLD operation. Please also see ¶0061);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cariou to the teaching of Kwon. The motivation would be because the invention relates to communication security and, more particularly, to multi-link device (MLD) parameters and an MLD capability indication (¶0002, Cariou);
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach determining, by the AP, connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches determining, by the AP, connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0039 - In particular, process 400 provides an example quickly detecting a failed link. This is accomplished by base station 305 counting the number of packets that are in a frame that fail to receive responses from mobile station 301. Please also see ¶0043-¶0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Re. Claim 2, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 1.
Yet, Kwon does not explicitly teach determining the common detection time period further comprises: determining, by the AP, a length of the maximum beacon interval as a length of the common detection time period; and determining, by the AP, one of target beacon transmission times of the at least two links as a start time of the common detection time period.
However, in the analogous art, Cariou explicitly teaches determining the common detection time period further comprises: determining, by the AP, a length of the maximum beacon interval as a length of the common detection time period; (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0061 - Option 2: indicates a single listen interval. In this case, the listen interval is determined in units of the beacon interval. … In some cases, the unit may be of the maximum beacon interval among all APs … In one example of this, if AP1 has a beacon interval=100 TUs, AP2 has a beacon interval=150 TUs, and the non-AP provides a value of 1, this value is translated as 150 TUs—that is, as above the maximum beacon interval among all of the beacon intervals of the APs in the AP MLD is used as the base unit of value for the listen interval);
and determining, by the AP, one of target beacon transmission times of the at least two links as a start time of the common detection time period (¶0049 - When Beacon frames are sent by an AP, the AP decides the Beacon interval, which is the time between two target beacon transmissions time. ¶0050 - the AP also has to determine DTIM interval, which is the interval between the consecutive target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) of beacons containing a DTIM. ¶0061 - In this case, AP2 may expect the STA of the non-AP MLD to wake up every AP2 beacon (and perhaps provide some response/interaction with the AP MLD)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cariou to the teachings of Kwon and Liu. The motivation would be because the invention relates to communication security and, more particularly, to multi-link device (MLD) parameters and an MLD capability indication (¶0002, Cariou).
Re. Claim 3, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 1.
Kwon further teaches transmitting detection signals in the at least two links comprises: and transmitting, by the AP, a detection signal according to the at least one beacon interval in each of the at least two links (Fig. 3, 6, 11-12 & (¶0066 - At every beacon interval, the AP shall assemble a partial virtual bitmap containing the buffer status per destination for STAs in the PS mode and shall send this out in the traffic indication map (TIM) element of the Beacon frame. ¶0068 - A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a traffic indication map (TIM) element (hereinafter TIM bit) that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD. When a non-AP MLD makes a multi-link setup with an AP MLD, one association ID (AID) is assigned to the non-AP MLD across all links);
Yet, Kwon does not explicitly teach determining, by the AP, at least one beacon interval for each of the at least two links during the common detection time period;
However, in the analogous art, Cariou explicitly teaches determining, by the AP, at least one beacon interval for each of the at least two links during the common detection time period; (Fig. 3-4 & Abstract - Each link between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD is between an AP of the AP MLD and a corresponding STA of the non-AP MLD. ¶0049 - Each AP affiliated with an AP MLD sends a Beacon frame to support legacy devices. When Beacon frames are sent by an AP, the AP decides the Beacon interval, which is the time between two target beacon transmissions time. ¶0055 - For all APs in the same AP MLD, the Beacon interval indication may be different—specifically, the Beacon interval indication in each Beacon frame transmitted by an AP in AP MLD are independent and thus may be different).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cariou to the teachings of Kwon and Liu. The motivation would be because the invention relates to communication security and, more particularly, to multi-link device (MLD) parameters and an MLD capability indication (¶0002, Cariou).
Re. Claims 4 and 14, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claims 1 and 11.
Kwon further teaches the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise power save polling (PS-Poll) frames (Fig. 3, 6, 11-12 & ¶0087 - However, for a non-AP MLD that multi-link is setup with an AP MLD, as the non-AP MLD's PS-Poll/Trigger frame transmission can happen on any of setup links … ¶0114 - When the non-AP MLD identifies that the corresponding bit is equal to 1 in the virtual bitmap of the TIM element, STAs on one or more links (within the pair of links) are supposed to send a PS-Poll frame or a U-APSD trigger frame to the serving AP(s) to indicate that the one or more STAs are awake and ready to receive the buffered BU).
Re. Claim 5, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 1.
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise acknowledgement frames is received in each of the at least two links.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise acknowledgement frames is received in each of the at least two links (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0045 - Further, for HARQ packets, both ACK and NACK messages are considered responses from mobile station 301).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Re. Claim 6, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 1.
Kwon further teaches determining the power mode of each of the plurality of links comprises: receiving, by the AP from the station, a power management indication in each of the plurality of links; (Fig. 3-5, 11-12 & ¶0129 - when an AP MLD receives a trigger frame on the link from the non-AP MLD, wherein the trigger frame indicates that the non-AP MLD switched to the Awake state on other link(s), ¶0130 - when an AP MLD receives a trigger frame on the link from the non-AP MLD, wherein the trigger frame indicates if the non-AP MLD is not in the Awake state on other link(s), ¶0131 - The indication if the non-AP MLD is in the Awake state or not on the other link(s) among a set of links is included in a MAC header part of the trigger frame. In one embodiment, the indication is a link bitmap, wherein each different bit in the link bitmap indicates if a link corresponding to the bit is in the Awake state or not. In another embodiment, the size of the indication is one bit, and the indication is set to a state (e.g., “1”) if the non-AP MLD is in the Awake state on the other link within a NSTR link pair);
and in response to determining that a power management indication of a first link comprises a first value, determining that the first link is in the power save mode (Fig. 9 & ¶0162 - if the SR MLD is in Active mode on one link, the state of the PS mode on other link is the Doze state; ¶0191 - the first frame includes a link bitmap, wherein each bit in the link bitmap indicates the power save state of the SR MLD on corresponding link, wherein a first bit corresponding to the first link is set to a value indicating a Doze state and a second bit corresponding to the second link is set to a value indicating an Awake state).
Re. Claim 7, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 6.
Kwon further teaches determining the power save mode of each of the plurality of links further comprises: in response to determining that a power management indication of a second link comprises a second value, determining that the second link is in a non-power save mode (Fig. 3, 10-12 & ¶0191 - the first frame includes a link bitmap, wherein each bit in the link bitmap indicates the power save state of the SR MLD on corresponding link, wherein a first bit corresponding to the first link is set to a value indicating a Doze state and a second bit corresponding to the second link is set to a value indicating an Awake state).
Re. Claim 8, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 1.
Kwon further teaches further comprising: in response to determining that a third link of the plurality of links is in a non-power save mode, performing transmissions in the at least one link; (Fig. 10-12 & ¶0177 - if an SR MLD is in Active mode on a link, the SR MLD shall transmit a UL frame on the link only; ¶0180 - FIG. 10 illustrates another operation example of UL TX. An SR MLD is in Active mode on link 1 1010 (STA1 in Active mode) and in a PS mode Doze state on link 2 1040 (STA2 in PS Doze mode). When the SR MLD monitors link 1 1010 for UL transmission at T0, the link is busy 1011. The SR MLD switches its link to link 2 1040 (STA2 in Active mode and STA1 in PS Doze mode) and initiates UL transmission 1041 on link 2 1040);
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach counting a number of continuously failed transmissions; in response to determining that the number of the continuously failed transmissions exceeds a predefined threshold, determining that the third link is failed.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches counting a number of continuously failed transmissions; in response to determining that the number of the continuously failed transmissions exceeds a predefined threshold, determining that the third link is failed (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0039 - In particular, process 400 provides an example quickly detecting a failed link. This is accomplished by base station 305 counting the number of packets that are in a frame that fail to receive responses from mobile station 301. Upon reaching a certain number of lost packets, base station 305 invokes a link maintenance process. ¶0052 - Frame 3 is sent by base station 305 that contains a MAC management message that requires a response from mobile station 301 within time T(1,3). When no response is received, counter n is incremented by 1 and is now set at 2. Packets requiring responses are sent in the next 8 frames by base station 305 and in each case, timers T(1,4) to T(1,11) expire without receiving a response from mobile station 301. Further, counter n is incremented by 1 each time and after the expiration of timer T(1,11), counter n=10. In this example, the number of lost packets is set at N=10 and thus base station 305 ceases transmitting data to mobile station 301 and invokes the link maintenance process …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Re. Claim 10, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 8.
Kwon further teaches and transmitting, by the AP to the station, buffered data in the one link (Fig. 3, 6, 11 & ¶0114 - …STAs on one or more links (within the pair of links) are supposed to send a PS-Poll frame or a U-APSD trigger frame to the serving AP(s) to indicate that the one or more STAs are awake and ready to receive the buffered BU. Please also see Fig. 12 & ¶0198);
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach further comprising: determining that one link of the plurality of links is not failed;
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches further comprising: determining that one link of the plurality of links is not failed; (Fig. 5 & ¶0006 - A frame that includes a packet that requires a response is sent by the access node to the wireless device. A counter is initialized and a timer for each frame is initiated. The method continues with the access node determining if the response associated with the packet is received before the expiration of the timer. If the response is received prior to the expiration of the timer, the counter and the timer are reset. Fig. 4 & ¶0043 - Each time a response is received at base station 305, base station 305 resets n to 0, discards any tracking data, restarts the tracking from the next frame (Steps 404, 405, & 406).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Re. Claim 11, Kwon teaches an access point (AP) comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions to cause the at least one processor to: (Fig. 1 & ¶0055);
determine a power save mode of each of a plurality of links established between the AP and a station; (Fig. 3, 11 & ¶0090 - the Listen Interval field is used to indicate to the AP MLD how often at least a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD wakes to listen to Beacon frames if all STAs affiliated with the non-AP MLD and associated with the multi-link (re)setup are in power save mode. ¶0099 - a non-AP MLD indicates a listen interval value of one or more links to an AP MLD, and when the non-AP MLD is in power save mode on the one or more links, the non-AP MLD listens to Beacon frames of the AP MLD of any link that indicates the information of the one or more links at least once in the listen interval value. Fig. 12 & ¶0198 - The SR MLD is in PS mode on both links 1210 and 1240);
transmit detection signals in the at least two links during the common detection time period to the station, wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; (¶0066 - At every beacon interval, the AP shall assemble a partial virtual bitmap containing the buffer status per destination for STAs in the PS mode and shall send this out in the traffic indication map (TIM) element of the Beacon frame. ¶0068 - A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a traffic indication map (TIM) element (hereinafter TIM bit) that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD. When a non-AP MLD makes a multi-link setup with an AP MLD, one association ID (AID) is assigned to the non-AP MLD across all links. ¶0085 - In a second option, an AP MLD sets a TIM bit corresponding to a non-AP STA to 1 if conditions for setting the TIM bit to 1 on any link for the non-AP STA are satisfied. The TIM bit is set to 1 if the following conditions for a link are met on any link within a set of links that multi-link has setup for the non-AP STA: the AP MLD has buffered BU … ¶0087 - The Listen Interval field is used to indicate to the AP how often a non sub 1 GHz (non-S1G) STA in power save mode wakes to listen to Beacon frames);
Yet, Kwon does not explicitly teach in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determine a common detection time period for detecting signals based on a maximum beacon interval among beacon intervals of the at least two links; and determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Cariou explicitly teaches in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determine a common detection time period for detecting signals based on a maximum beacon interval among beacon intervals of the at least two links; (Fig. 3-4 & Abstract - Each link between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD is between an AP of the AP MLD and a corresponding STA of the non-AP MLD. Each STA provides a listen and WNM sleep interval. The listen intervals are the same and are converted by the AP MILD into units of the maximum beacon frame interval among the APs to determine whether a STA is awake to receive a particular beacon. ¶0058 - The non-AP MLD may wake up at any link to receive the Beacon frame if the non-AP MLD selects the link to follow MLD operation. Please also see ¶0061);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cariou to the teaching of Kwon. The motivation would be because the invention relates to communication security and, more particularly, to multi-link device (MLD) parameters and an MLD capability indication (¶0002, Cariou);
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0039 - In particular, process 400 provides an example quickly detecting a failed link. This is accomplished by base station 305 counting the number of packets that are in a frame that fail to receive responses from mobile station 301. Please also see ¶0043-¶0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Re. Claim 12, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 11.
Yet, Kwon does not explicitly teach the instructions to determine the common detection time period further comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: determine a length of the maximum beacon interval as a length of the common detection time period; and determine one of target beacon transmission times of the at least two links as a start time of the common detection time period.
However, in the analogous art, Cariou explicitly teaches the instructions to determine the common detection time period further comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: determine a length of the maximum beacon interval as a length of the common detection time period; (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0061 - Option 2: indicates a single listen interval. In this case, the listen interval is determined in units of the beacon interval. … In some cases, the unit may be of the maximum beacon interval among all APs … In one example of this, if AP1 has a beacon interval=100 TUs, AP2 has a beacon interval=150 TUs, and the non-AP provides a value of 1, this value is translated as 150 TUs—that is, as above the maximum beacon interval among all of the beacon intervals of the APs in the AP MLD is used as the base unit of value for the listen interval);
and determine one of target beacon transmission times of the at least two links as a start time of the common detection time period (¶0050 - the AP also has to determine DTIM interval, which is the interval between the consecutive target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) of beacons containing a DTIM. ¶0061 - In this case, AP2 may expect the STA of the non-AP MLD to wake up every AP2 beacon (and perhaps provide some response/interaction with the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cariou to the teachings of Kwon and Liu. The motivation would be because the invention relates to communication security and, more particularly, to multi-link device (MLD) parameters and an MLD capability indication (¶0002, Cariou).
Re. Claim 13, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 11.
Kwon further teaches the instructions to transmit detection signals in the at least two links comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: and transmit the detection signal according to the at least one beacon interval in each of the at least two links (Fig. 3, 6, 11-12 & (¶0066 - At every beacon interval, the AP shall assemble a partial virtual bitmap containing the buffer status per destination for STAs in the PS mode and shall send this out in the traffic indication map (TIM) element of the Beacon frame. ¶0068 - A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a traffic indication map (TIM) element (hereinafter TIM bit) that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD. When a non-AP MLD makes a multi-link setup with an AP MLD, one association ID (AID) is assigned to the non-AP MLD across all links);
Yet, Kwon does not explicitly teach determine at least one beacon interval for each of the at least two links during the common detection time period;
However, in the analogous art, Cariou explicitly teaches determine at least one beacon interval for each of the at least two links during the common detection time period; (Fig. 3-4 & Abstract - Each link between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD is between an AP of the AP MLD and a corresponding STA of the non-AP MLD. ¶0049 - Each AP affiliated with an AP MLD sends a Beacon frame to support legacy devices. When Beacon frames are sent by an AP, the AP decides the Beacon interval, which is the time between two target beacon transmissions time. ¶0055 - For all APs in the same AP MLD, the Beacon interval indication may be different—specifically, the Beacon interval indication in each Beacon frame transmitted by an AP in AP MLD are independent and thus may be different).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cariou to the teachings of Kwon and Liu. The motivation would be because the invention relates to communication security and, more particularly, to multi-link device (MLD) parameters and an MLD capability indication (¶0002, Cariou).
Re. Claim 15, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 11.
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise acknowledgement frames is received in each of the at least two links.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches the responses whose receipt by the at least two links was lacking comprise acknowledgment frames (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0045 - Further, for HARQ packets, both ACK and NACK messages are considered responses from mobile station 301).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Re. Claim 16, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 11.
Kwon further teaches the instructions to determine the power mode of each of the plurality of links further comprise instructions to cause the at least one processor to: receive, by the AP from the station, a power management indication in each of the plurality of links; (Fig. 3-5, 11-12 & ¶0129 - when an AP MLD receives a trigger frame on the link from the non-AP MLD, wherein the trigger frame indicates that the non-AP MLD switched to the Awake state on other link(s), ¶0130 - when an AP MLD receives a trigger frame on the link from the non-AP MLD, wherein the trigger frame indicates if the non-AP MLD is not in the Awake state on other link(s), ¶0131 - The indication if the non-AP MLD is in the Awake state or not on the other link(s) among a set of links is included in a MAC header part of the trigger frame. In one embodiment, the indication is a link bitmap, wherein each different bit in the link bitmap indicates if a link corresponding to the bit is in the Awake state or not. In another embodiment, the size of the indication is one bit, and the indication is set to a state (e.g., “1”) if the non-AP MLD is in the Awake state on the other link within a NSTR link pair);
and in response to determining that a power management indication of a first link comprises a first value, determine that the first link is in the power save mode (Fig. 9 &¶0162 - if the SR MLD is in Active mode on one link, the state of the PS mode on other link is the Doze state; ¶0191 - the first frame includes a link bitmap, wherein each bit in the link bitmap indicates the power save state of the SR MLD on corresponding link, wherein a first bit corresponding to the first link is set to a value indicating a Doze state and a second bit corresponding to the second link is set to a value indicating an Awake state).
Re. Claim 17, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 16.
Kwon further teaches the instructions to determining the power save mode of each of the plurality of links further comprise further instructions to cause the at least one processor to: in response to determining that a power management indication of a second link comprises a second value, determine that the second link is in an non-power save mode (Fig. 3, 10-12 & ¶0191 - the first frame includes a link bitmap, wherein each bit in the link bitmap indicates the power save state of the SR MLD on corresponding link, wherein a first bit corresponding to the first link is set to a value indicating a Doze state and a second bit corresponding to the second link is set to a value indicating an Awake state).
Re. Claim 18, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 11.
Kwon further teaches the memory further stores instructions to cause the at least one processor to: in response to determining that a third link of the plurality of links is in an non-power save mode, perform transmissions in the at least one link; (Fig. 10-12 & ¶0177 - if an SR MLD is in Active mode on a link, the SR MLD shall transmit a UL frame on the link only; ¶0180 - FIG. 10 illustrates another operation example of UL TX. An SR MLD is in Active mode on link 1 1010 (STA1 in Active mode) and in a PS mode Doze state on link 2 1040 (STA2 in PS Doze mode). When the SR MLD monitors link 1 1010 for UL transmission at T0, the link is busy 1011. The SR MLD switches its link to link 2 1040 (STA2 in Active mode and STA1 in PS Doze mode) and initiates UL transmission 1041 on link 2 1040);
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach count a number of continuously failed transmissions; in response to determining that the number of the continuously failed transmissions exceeds a predefined threshold, determine that the third link is failed.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches count a number of continuously failed transmissions; in response to determining that the number of the continuously failed transmissions exceeds a predefined threshold, determine that the third link is failed (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0039 - In particular, process 400 provides an example quickly detecting a failed link. This is accomplished by base station 305 counting the number of packets that are in a frame that fail to receive responses from mobile station 301. Upon reaching a certain number of lost packets, base station 305 invokes a link maintenance process. ¶0052 - Frame 3 is sent by base station 305 that contains a MAC management message that requires a response from mobile station 301 within time T(1,3). When no response is received, counter n is incremented by 1 and is now set at 2. Packets requiring responses are sent in the next 8 frames by base station 305 and in each case, timers T(1,4) to T(1,11) expire without receiving a response from mobile station 301. Further, counter n is incremented by 1 each time and after the expiration of timer T(1,11), counter n=10. In this example, the number of lost packets is set at N=10 and thus base station 305 ceases transmitting data to mobile station 301 and invokes the link maintenance process …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Re. Claim 20, Kwon teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which, when executed by an access point (AP), cause the apparatus to: (Fig. 1 & ¶0201);
determine a power save mode of each of a plurality of links established between the AP and a station; (Fig. 3, 11 & ¶0090 - the Listen Interval field is used to indicate to the AP MLD how often at least a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD wakes to listen to Beacon frames if all STAs affiliated with the non-AP MLD and associated with the multi-link (re)setup are in power save mode. ¶0099 - a non-AP MLD indicates a listen interval value of one or more links to an AP MLD, and when the non-AP MLD is in power save mode on the one or more links, the non-AP MLD listens to Beacon frames of the AP MLD of any link that indicates the information of the one or more links at least once in the listen interval value. Fig. 12 & ¶0198 - The SR MLD is in PS mode on both links 1210 and 1240);
transmit detection signals in the at least two links during the common detection time period to the station, wherein the detection signals comprise one of an indication that data packets are buffered for the station at the AP or a Quality of Service (QoS) null data frame; (¶0066 - At every beacon interval, the AP shall assemble a partial virtual bitmap containing the buffer status per destination for STAs in the PS mode and shall send this out in the traffic indication map (TIM) element of the Beacon frame. ¶0068 - A bit in a partial virtual bitmap of a traffic indication map (TIM) element (hereinafter TIM bit) that corresponds to a non-AP MLD is set to 1 if any individually addressed BUs for the non-AP MLD are buffered by the AP MLD. When a non-AP MLD makes a multi-link setup with an AP MLD, one association ID (AID) is assigned to the non-AP MLD across all links. ¶0085 - In a second option, an AP MLD sets a TIM bit corresponding to a non-AP STA to 1 if conditions for setting the TIM bit to 1 on any link for the non-AP STA are satisfied. The TIM bit is set to 1 if the following conditions for a link are met on any link within a set of links that multi-link has setup for the non-AP STA: the AP MLD has buffered BU … ¶0087 - The Listen Interval field is used to indicate to the AP how often a non sub 1 GHz (non-S1G) STA in power save mode wakes to listen to Beacon frames);
Yet, Kwon does not explicitly teach in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determine a common detection time period for detecting signals based on a maximum beacon interval among beacon intervals of the at least two links; and determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Cariou explicitly teaches in response to determining that at least two links of the plurality of links are in a power save mode, determine a common detection time period for detecting signals based on a maximum beacon interval among beacon intervals of the at least two links; (Fig. 3-4 & Abstract - Each link between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD is between an AP of the AP MLD and a corresponding STA of the non-AP MLD. Each STA provides a listen and WNM sleep interval. The listen intervals are the same and are converted by the AP MILD into units of the maximum beacon frame interval among the APs to determine whether a STA is awake to receive a particular beacon. ¶0058 - The non-AP MLD may wake up at any link to receive the Beacon frame if the non-AP MLD selects the link to follow MLD operation. Please also see ¶0061);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cariou to the teaching of Kwon. The motivation would be because the invention relates to communication security and, more particularly, to multi-link device (MLD) parameters and an MLD capability indication (¶0002, Cariou);
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches determine connectivity of the at least two links based on responses to the detection signals received from the station, wherein the at least two links are determined to be failed links when each of the at least two links lack receipt of responses to the detection signals (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0039 - In particular, process 400 provides an example quickly detecting a failed link. This is accomplished by base station 305 counting the number of packets that are in a frame that fail to receive responses from mobile station 301. Please also see ¶0043-¶0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, Cariou and Liu, as applied to Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 above, and further in view of Srivastava et al. (US 2013/0272269 A1), Srivastava hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 8.
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach in response to determining that the at least one further link and the at least two links are failed, determining, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; and disassociating, by the AP, the station from the AP.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches in response to determining that the at least one further link and the at least two links are failed, (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0039 - In particular, process 400 provides an example quickly detecting a failed link. This is accomplished by base station 305 counting the number of packets that are in a frame that fail to receive responses from mobile station 301. Upon reaching a certain number of lost packets, base station 305 invokes a link maintenance process. ¶0052 - Frame 3 is sent by base station 305 that contains a MAC management message that requires a response from mobile station 301 within time T(1,3). When no response is received, counter n is incremented by 1 and is now set at 2. Packets requiring responses are sent in the next 8 frames by base station 305 and in each case, timers T(1,4) to T(1,11) expire without receiving a response from mobile station 301. Further, counter n is incremented by 1 each time and after the expiration of timer T(1,11), counter n=10. In this example, the number of lost packets is set at N=10 and thus base station 305 ceases transmitting data to mobile station 301 and invokes the link maintenance process …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Yet, Kwon and Cariou and Liu do not explicitly teach determining, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; and disassociating, by the AP, the station from the AP.
However, in the analogous art, Srivastava explicitly teaches determining, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; and disassociating, by the AP, the station from the AP (Fig. 2, 4 & ¶0033 - Connectivity is often maintained even if connectivity of the uplink signal is lost. ¶0034 - In such an embodiment, a decision to disassociate depends on an access point's own measurements and analysis. Access point 110 measures the uplink or receive signal and, upon meeting a particular threshold, the connected access point 110 will push the client device 105 out of the network or out of connectivity with the first access point. Fig. 5 & ¶0047 - In step 540, the wireless connectivity manager (or access point device) transmits a disassociate message to the client device in response to determining that the at least one parameter meets a predetermined criterion. The disassociate message causes the client device to end the wireless data link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Srivastava to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou and Liu. The motivation would be because the invention discusses techniques that include dynamically commanding Wi-Fi enabled devices to disconnect from a corresponding access point in response to meeting predetermined conditions. A forced disconnect can be based on various criteria such as low-power or lost packet thresholds triggering the forced disconnect (Abstract, Srivastava).
Re. Claim 19, Kwon and Cariou and Liu teach Claim 18.
Yet, Kwon and Cariou do not explicitly teach in response to determining that the at least one further link and the at least two links are failed, determine, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; and disassociate, by the AP, the station from the AP.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly teaches in response to determining that the at least one further link and the at least two links are failed, (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0039 - In particular, process 400 provides an example quickly detecting a failed link. This is accomplished by base station 305 counting the number of packets that are in a frame that fail to receive responses from mobile station 301. Upon reaching a certain number of lost packets, base station 305 invokes a link maintenance process. ¶0052 - Frame 3 is sent by base station 305 that contains a MAC management message that requires a response from mobile station 301 within time T(1,3). When no response is received, counter n is incremented by 1 and is now set at 2. Packets requiring responses are sent in the next 8 frames by base station 305 and in each case, timers T(1,4) to T(1,11) expire without receiving a response from mobile station 301. Further, counter n is incremented by 1 each time and after the expiration of timer T(1,11), counter n=10. In this example, the number of lost packets is set at N=10 and thus base station 305 ceases transmitting data to mobile station 301 and invokes the link maintenance process …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Liu to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou. The motivation would be because maintaining proper link quality reduces delay and latency and improves user experiences. In contrast, when a device is not have properly adjusted wireless links with a network, fundamental operations can be inhibited (¶0004, Liu).
Yet, Kwon and Cariou and Liu do not explicitly teach determine, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; and disassociate, by the AP, the station from the AP.
However, in the analogous art, Srivastava explicitly teaches determine, by the AP, that the station has lost connectivity to AP; and disassociate, by the AP, the station from the AP (Fig. 2, 4 & ¶0033 - Connectivity is often maintained even if connectivity of the uplink signal is lost. ¶0034 - In such an embodiment, a decision to disassociate depends on an access point's own measurements and analysis. Access point 110 measures the uplink or receive signal and, upon meeting a particular threshold, the connected access point 110 will push the client device 105 out of the network or out of connectivity with the first access point. Fig. 5 & ¶0047 - In step 540, the wireless connectivity manager (or access point device) transmits a disassociate message to the client device in response to determining that the at least one parameter meets a predetermined criterion. The disassociate message causes the client device to end the wireless data link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Srivastava to the teachings of Kwon and Cariou and Liu. The motivation would be because the invention discusses techniques that include dynamically commanding Wi-Fi enabled devices to disconnect from a corresponding access point in response to meeting predetermined conditions. A forced disconnect can be based on various criteria such as low-power or lost packet thresholds triggering the forced disconnect (Abstract, Srivastava).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465