*DETAILED ACTION*
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is a continuation of 16/104,517 dated 08/17/2018, which claims benefit
in provisional application 62/546,893 filed on 08/17/2017.
Claim Status
Claims 21-29 are pending. Claims 21, 24, and 27 were amended. Claims 1-20
were canceled. Claims 24-29 are withdrawn. Claims 21-23 are examined.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
All obviousness rejections are withdrawn because claim 21 was amended to require
a diameter range of from about 2 microns to about 10 microns, which is not obvious over the cited references. Applicant’s arguments against these rejections are moot because rejections are withdrawn.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
Necessitated by Amendment
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the
contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and
effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date
of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C.
102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karles (US 2006/0264130 A1 Published November 23, 2006) and Ignatious (US 2006/0083784 Al Published April 20, 2006).
The claim encompasses an electro spun polymer sheet.
The teachings of Karles are related to a fibrous structure composed of electrostatically prepared polysaccharide microfibers and nanofibers which contain active agents such as drugs and/or flavorants encapsulated within the structures. The active agent is rapidly released when the structure is exposed to moisture (Abstract and paragraph 0022). The fibrous structure and/or fiber encapsulates or entrains an active agent (mobile additives or adjuvants) which are quickly
released when the structure is exposed to an activating (releasing) agent which disrupts or dissolves the structure (paragraph 0022). The active agent can be entrained in the fiber structure itself or in the non-woven fibrous structure itself or both (paragraph 0023). The electrospun liquid may be prepared by dissolving or otherwise dispersing the polysaccharide, the active agent and any other ingredients present to form a polymeric fluid. When the fluid is subject to an electroprocessing technique, the solvent or dispersant is evaporated and nanofibers and/or microfibers are produced. The fibers are collected in the form of a non-woven structure having the active agent entrained within the fibers (paragraph 0024). Suitable natural and synthetic polymeric materials which can be electro-co-spun or co-sprayed with polysaccharides include polyethylene oxides. Suitable proportions of polysaccharide and the aforementioned polymeric materials range from about 99-1 wt. % of polysaccharide to about 1-99 wt. % polymeric material (paragraph 0029). Active agents include vasodilators (paragraph 0030). Suitable flavors include eucalyptol, thymol, cumin oil, menthol, wintergreen, mint-flavored oils, citrus-flavored oils, vanilla extracts, lime oil, tobacco extracts, berry extracts, lemon grass, dimethyl pyrazine and the like. The amount of flavorant will vary widely depending on utility and taste requirements. In general, the flavorant would be added in amounts from about 0.25 to about 10% weight/weight of the formulation, preferably 0.50 to about 5%, most preferably about 1 to 3% (paragraph 0033).
Karles does not teach suitable amounts of vasodilator in the fiber.
The teachings of Ignatious are related to electrospun pharmaceutical compositions
(Abstract). One embodiment provides drug particles in their amorphous form, embedded
homogeneously in the electrospun polymeric nanofibers, such that the drug is readily
bioavailable independent of the route of administration (paragraphs 0076 and 0077). An
electrospun composition of a pharmaceutically acceptable polymer in which one or more
pharmaceutically acceptable active agents or drugs are stabilized in their amorphous form is
provided. The homogenous nature of this process produces a quantity of fibers which allow for
nanoparticles of drugs to be dispersed throughout. The size of particle, and quality of dispersion
provide for a high surface area of drug. One use of the increased surface area of drug is improved
bioavailability in the case of a poorly water soluble drug. Other uses would be for decreased
drug-drug or enzymatic interactions (paragraph 0084). The fibers contain high molecular weight
polymeric carriers. These polymers, by virtue of their high molecular weight, form viscous
solutions that can produce nanofibers, when subjected to an electrostatic potential. The nano
fibers spun electostatically may have a very small diameter. The diameter may be as small as 0.1
nanometers, more typically less than 1 micron (paragraph 0094). The delivery rate of the active
agent can be controlled by varying the choice of the polymer used in the fibers, the concentration
of the polymer used in the fiber, the diameter of the polymeric fiber, and/or the amount of the
active agent loaded in the fiber (paragraph 0096). Suitable drugs include vasodilators (paragraph
0097). The relative amount of fiber forming material (primarily the polymeric carrier) and the
active agent that may be present in the resultant fiber may vary. In one embodiment the active
agent comprises from about 1 to about 50% w/w of the fiber when electrospun, preferably from
about 35 to about 45% w/w (paragraph 0102). Two or more polymers can be used in
combination to form the fibers. Such combination may enhance fiber formation or achieve a
desired drug release profile. One suitable combinations of polymers includes polyethyleneoxide
and cellulose derivatives (paragraphs 0116 and 0117). Polyethylene oxide POL YOX WSR 1105 (Union Carbide) is used for experiments (paragraph 0139). The fibers may be cut and processed as a sheet for further administration with agents to form a polymeric film, which may be quick dissolving (paragraph 0135).
The teachings of Karles and Ignatious are related to polymer fiber compositions comprising polyethylene oxide and a vasodilator wherein the compositions are intended to quickly dissolve, and it would have been obvious to have combined their teachings because they are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 21, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill
in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed an electrospun
fibrous web comprising a plurality of polymer fibers electrospun from a solution comprising
a polysaccharide and polyethylene oxide and a pharmaceutical such that the pharmaceutical is dispersed throughout the plurality of fibers, wherein the pharmaceutical comprises a vasodilator, and wherein the plurality of fibers have a diameter ranging from about 1 nm to about 10 microns, with a reasonable expectation of success because Karles teaches a pharmaceutical composition
comprising microfibers, wherein the microfibers are produced by electrospinning a solution
comprising a polymer and a drug, wherein the polymer comprises a polysaccharide and polyethylene oxide and the drug comprises a vasodilator and wherein the diameter of microfibers ranges from about 1 nm to about 10 microns (Karles’ claim 1).
It would have been obvious to have formed the fibers to comprise the drug in a
concentration of 1-50 wt. % of the fiber when electrospun because it was known from Ignatious that 1-50 wt. % is a suitable concentration range of a drug such as a vasodilator in electrospun fibers intended for drug delivery. Concentration of the drug relative to the polymer is described in Ignatious’ examples. Example 4 teaches using 400 mg of carvediol HBr monohydrate and 600 mg of POL YOX WSR 1105 (paragraph 0157). The concentration of drug relative to the polymer is 67 wt. % ((400/600)*100). Carvediol HBr monohydrate is a known vasodilator and POL YOX WSR 1105 is poly(ethylene oxide).
It would have been further obvious to have formulated the fibers into a sheet intended for
oral administration because Ignatious teaches the fibers may be formulated into a sheet and
teaches administering the fibers orally (paragraph 0087).
It would have been reasonable to expect the drug to be dispersed throughout the plurality
of fibers because Karles teaches that the fibers were formed from a solution where the polymer and the drug were homogeneously mixed (paragraph 0035).
The claimed drug concentration is obvious because it encompasses 67 wt.%.
The claimed diameter range is obvious because it overlaps a range from about 1 nm to
about 10 microns.
Claim 23 is a product by process claim that describes the form of the drug prior to being
placed into solution and electrospun. Karles and Ignatious do not state whether or not the drug is in crystal or oil form prior to being placed in solution and electrospun, however the claim would have been obvious over the combination of references because the claim is a product by process claim and the physical form of the drug prior to electrospinning would have been irrelevant. The specification was reviewed and there is no evidence that the form the vasodilator prior to processing is critical.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karles and Ignatious as applied to claims 21 and 23 above, and further in view of Pearce (US 2004/0247746 Al Published December 9, 2004) as evidenced by Roman (US 2011/0229446 Al Published September 22, 2011).
Claim 22 further defines the dimensions of the polymer sheet.
The teachings of Karles and Ignatious are relied upon as summarized above. They do not teach dimensions that are suitable for the polymer fiber webs or sheets.
The teachings of Pearce are related to orally soluble films intended to carry medications
and have a pleasant taste (Abstract). Medications include aspirin (paragraph 0122). Film may be
in any desired thickness, length, or width. For example, the thickness may range from less than
about 0.0005 inches to more than about 0.1 inches. The length and width may be chosen so that
the film fits on a human tongue with or without folding, such as less than about 1.5 inches in
width or length (paragraph 0175).
It would have been obvious to have formed Karles’ polymer fiber web as modified by Ignatious for oral administration because Ignatious teaches that fiber sheets may be formulated as a quick dissolving sheet intended for oral administration and Karles teaches that webs are suitable for oral administration (paragraphs 0031 and 0041). It would have been obvious to have formed the sheet to easily fit the human tongue and have a width and length of less than 1.5 inches and a thickness in the range of 0.0005-0.1 inches, with a reasonable expectation of success because Pearce teaches thin films for oral administration where the thin film has dimensions suitable for placement on the tongue where the thickness is in the range of 0.0005-0.1 inches (equivalent to 0.0127-2.54 mm), and length and width in the range of less than 1.5 inches (equivalent to less than 38.1 mm). The selection of known dimensions based on their suitability for their intended use supports obviousness. The claimed length range is obvious because it overlaps with the range that spans less than 38.1 mm. The claimed width range is obvious because it overlaps with the range that spans less than 38.1 mm. The claimed thickness range is obvious because it overlaps with 0.0127-2.54 mm. The specification was reviewed and there is no evidence that claimed dimension ranges are critical.
Combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results
supports obviousness.
Alternative rejection for claim 23, it would have been obvious to have formed Karles'
sheet with a flavoring agent in a concentration of 0.1-30 wt.%, with a reasonable expectation of
success because Ignatious teaches that the electrospun composition further comprises a flavoring
agent (paragraph 0133). It would have been obvious to have selected peppermint oil as the
flavoring agent with a reasonable expectation of success because it was known from Pearce that
peppermint oil is useful as a flavoring agent in thin oral films intended for delivering a drug such
as aspirin (paragraph 0045) where the flavoring agent is present in a concentration of 0.1-30 wt.
% (paragraph 0046). As evidenced by Roman, peppermint oil is a vasodilator (paragraph 0021).
Karles' composition modified to contain 0.1-30 wt.% peppermint oil renders the claimed
invention obvious because peppermint oil is a known vasodilator and it is an oil. Therefore,
incorporating peppermint oil would have met the claimed embodiment that requires the
pharmaceutical to be in the form of an oil. It would have been reasonable to expect peppermint
oil to remain in the form of an oil after electrospinning into a fiber. Karles' fiber contains 600
mg of polymer and 400 mg of drug, thus adding up to 30 wt. % peppermint oil would added up
to 400 mg of peppermint oil, which is about 67 wt. % relative to the weight of the polymer.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALMA PIPIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617