DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-13,16 and 19-22 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13,16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda et al. (US 20240348378 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230062341 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Freda et al. teaches a method, performed by a terminal device, or, a chip for the terminal device, the method comprising: wherein the at least one DRX configuration comprises a respective DRX configuration corresponding to a respective service (Paragraph 133, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration may be selected or determined based on service type and that monitoring may be mapped to a specific service) or a default DRX configuration for a broadcast based side link (SL) communication (Paragraph 83, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration may depend on broadcast cast type and that broadcast traffic is handled distinctly), and wherein each respective service is a respective groupcast based or broadcast based SL communication (Paragraph 81, 82, 139, These passages explicitly identify broadcast and groupcast (multicast) sidelink services and link DRX configuration to cast type), wherein the first DRX configuration is the default DRX configuration (Paragraph 138, 139, These passages teach that multiple DRX configurations may exist and that one is applied depending on cast/service type, supporting application of a particular DRX configuration), the first message being used for establishing a unicast based communication between the terminal device and the another terminal device (Paragraph 84, 85, These passages explicitly teach that a Direct Communication Request is used to establish a one-to-one (unicast) communication link between two WTRUs) and the first service comprising the unicast based communication (Paragraph 82, 84, These passages teach that unicast traffic is treated as a defined service with associated QoS and link establishment procedures), wherein the first message comprises: a direct communication request (DCR) or a link establishment message (Paragraph 84, 85, These passages explicitly disclose a Direct Communication Request used in a link establishment procedure between two WTRUs).
Freda et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from a network device, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; and receiving, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service according to a first DRX configuration.
However, Zhou et al. teaches receiving, from a network device, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (Paragraph 146, 160, These passages directly teach a UE receiving DRX configuration parameters from a network device via control signaling); and receiving, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service according to a first DRX configuration (Paragraph 169, These passages teach receiving a message from another UE over sidelink under DRX operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from a network device, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; and receiving, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service according to a first DRX configuration as taught by Zhou et al. in the system of Freda et al., so that it would enable the sidelink communication procedures and link establishment messaging of Freda et al. to operate under network-configured DRX behavior for improved power efficiency, coordinated sidelink monitoring, and service-specific management of broadcast, groupcast, and unicast sidelink communications.
Regarding claim 2, Freda et al. teaches each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration comprises one or more of: a wakeup cycle, wakeup duration, or a timer configuration (Paragraph 86, 92, 135, 138, These passages disclose that a DRX configuration includes a DRX cycle (wakeup periodicity), an on-duration timer (wakeup duration), and multiple DRX-related timers (e.g., inactivity, retransmission, HARQ RTT)).
Regarding claim 3, Freda et al. teaches information about each service corresponding to the at least one DRX configuration comprises one or more of: a service identifier, or, a data packet (Paragraph 82, 83, 133, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration is determined per service type and cast type (service identifier such as L2 ID), and that service-related information includes per-packet characteristics (data packets tagged with QoS)).
Regarding claim 4, Freda et al. teaches a method, performed by a network device, or a chip for the network device, the method comprising: wherein the at least one DRX configuration comprises a respective DRX configuration corresponding to a respective service (Paragraph 133, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration may be selected or determined based on service type and that monitoring may be mapped to a specific service) or a default DRX configuration for a broadcast based side link (SL) communication (Paragraph 83, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration may depend on broadcast cast type and that broadcast traffic is handled distinctly), and wherein each respective service is a respective groupcast based or broadcast based SL communication (Paragraph 81, 82, 139, These passages explicitly identify broadcast and groupcast (multicast) sidelink services and link DRX configuration to cast type), the first message being used for establishing a unicast based communication between the terminal device and the another terminal device (Paragraph 84, 85, These passages explicitly teach that a Direct Communication Request is used to establish a one-to-one (unicast) communication link between two WTRUs) and the first service comprising the unicast based communication (Paragraph 82, 84, These passages teach that unicast traffic is treated as a defined service with associated QoS and link establishment procedures), wherein the first message comprises: a direct communication request (DCR) or a link establishment message (Paragraph 84, 85, These passages explicitly disclose a Direct Communication Request used in a link establishment procedure between two WTRUs).
Freda et al. does not explicitly teach sending at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; and wherein the default DRX configuration is used for a terminal device to receive, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service.
However, Zhou et al. teaches sending at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (Paragraph 146, 160, These passages teach transmitting DRX configuration parameters from a network device to UEs via signaling channels); and wherein the default DRX configuration is used for a terminal device to receive, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service (Paragraph 137-138, 144, 169, These passages teach that configured DRX parameters govern when a UE wakes and receives data/messages from other UEs over sidelink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; and wherein the default DRX configuration is used for a terminal device to receive, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service as taught by Zhou et al. in the system of Freda et al., so that it would enable sidelink devices establishing unicast communications through DCR or link establishment messaging to reliably monitor for and receive initial service establishment messages under predefined DRX wake-up behavior while reducing unnecessary power consumption and improving coordination of sidelink communications across broadcast, groupcast, and unicast services.
Regarding claim 5, Freda et al. teaches each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration comprises one or more of: a wakeup cycle, wakeup duration, or a timer configuration (Paragraph 86, 92, 135, 138, These passages disclose that a DRX configuration includes a DRX cycle (wakeup periodicity), an on-duration timer (wakeup duration), and multiple DRX-related timers (e.g., inactivity, retransmission, HARQ RTT)).
Regarding claim 6, Freda et al. teaches information about each service corresponding to the at least one DRX configuration comprises one or more of: a service identifier, or, a data packet (Paragraph 82, 83, 133, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration is determined per service type and cast type (service identifier such as L2 ID), and that service-related information includes per-packet characteristics (data packets tagged with QoS)).
Regarding claim 7, Freda et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising at least one processor, coupled with a memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute a computer program stored in the memory, to cause the apparatus to perform: wherein the at least one DRX configuration comprises a respective DRX configuration corresponding to a respective service (Paragraph 133, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration may be selected or determined based on service type and that monitoring may be mapped to a specific service) or a default DRX configuration for a broadcast based side link (SL) communication (Paragraph 83, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration may depend on broadcast cast type and that broadcast traffic is handled distinctly), and wherein each respective service is a respective groupcast based or broadcast based SL communication (Paragraph 81, 82, 139, These passages explicitly identify broadcast and groupcast (multicast) sidelink services and link DRX configuration to cast type); wherein the first DRX configuration is the default DRX configuration (Paragraph 138, 139, These passages teach that multiple DRX configurations may exist and that one is applied depending on cast/service type, supporting application of a particular DRX configuration), the first message being used for establishing a unicast based communication between the apparatus or a terminal device including the apparatus and the another terminal device (Paragraph 84, 85, These passages explicitly teach that a Direct Communication Request is used to establish a one-to-one (unicast) communication link between two WTRUs) and the first service comprising the unicast based communication (Paragraph 82, 84, These passages teach that unicast traffic is treated as a defined service with associated QoS and link establishment procedures), wherein the first message comprises: a direct communication request (DCR) or a link establishment message (Paragraph 84, 85, These passages explicitly disclose a Direct Communication Request used in a link establishment procedure between two WTRUs).
Freda et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from a network device, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; and receiving, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service according to a first DRX configuration.
However, Zhou et al. teaches receiving, from a network device, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (Paragraph 146, 160, These passages directly teach a UE receiving DRX configuration parameters from a network device via control signaling); and receiving, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service according to a first DRX configuration (Paragraph 169, These passages teach receiving a message from another UE over sidelink under DRX operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from a network device, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; and receiving, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service according to a first DRX configuration as taught by Zhou et al. in the system of Freda et al., so that it would enable the sidelink communication procedures and link establishment messaging of Freda et al. to operate under network-configured DRX behavior for improved power efficiency, coordinated sidelink monitoring, and service-specific management of broadcast, groupcast, and unicast sidelink communications.
Regarding claim 8, Freda et al. teaches each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration comprises one or more of: a wakeup cycle, wakeup duration, or a timer configuration (Paragraph 86, 92, 135, 138, These passages disclose that a DRX configuration includes a DRX cycle (wakeup periodicity), an on-duration timer (wakeup duration), and multiple DRX-related timers (e.g., inactivity, retransmission, HARQ RTT)).
Regarding claim 9, Freda et al. teaches information about each service corresponding to the at least one DRX configuration comprises one or more of: a service identifier, or, a data packet (Paragraph 82, 83, 133, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration is determined per service type and cast type (service identifier such as L2 ID), and that service-related information includes per-packet characteristics (data packets tagged with QoS)).
Regarding claim 10, Freda et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising at least one processor, coupled with a memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute a computer program stored in the memory, to cause the apparatus to perform: wherein the at least one DRX configuration comprises a respective DRX configuration corresponding to a respective service (Paragraph 133, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration may be selected or determined based on service type and that monitoring may be mapped to a specific service) or a default DRX configuration for a broadcast based side link (SL) communication (Paragraph 83, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration may depend on broadcast cast type and that broadcast traffic is handled distinctly), and wherein each respective service is a respective groupcast based or broadcast based SL communication (Paragraph 81, 82, 139, These passages explicitly identify broadcast and groupcast (multicast) sidelink services and link DRX configuration to cast type), the first message being used for establishing a unicast based communication between the terminal device and the another terminal device (Paragraph 84, 85, These passages explicitly teach that a Direct Communication Request is used to establish a one-to-one (unicast) communication link between two WTRUs) and the first service comprising the unicast based communication (Paragraph 82, 84, These passages teach that unicast traffic is treated as a defined service with associated QoS and link establishment procedures), wherein the first message comprises: a direct communication request (DCR) or a link establishment message (Paragraph 84, 85, These passages explicitly disclose a Direct Communication Request used in a link establishment procedure between two WTRUs).
Freda et al. does not explicitly teach sending at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; and wherein the default DRX configuration is used for a terminal device to receive, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service.
However, Zhou et al. teaches sending at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (Paragraph 146, 160, These passages teach transmitting DRX configuration parameters from a network device to UEs via signaling channels); and wherein the default DRX configuration is used for a terminal device to receive, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service (Paragraph 137-138, 144, 169, These passages teach that configured DRX parameters govern when a UE wakes and receives data/messages from other UEs over sidelink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; and wherein the default DRX configuration is used for a terminal device to receive, from another terminal device, a first message of a first service as taught by Zhou et al. in the system of Freda et al., so that it would enable sidelink devices establishing unicast communications through DCR or link establishment messaging to reliably monitor for and receive initial service establishment messages under predefined DRX wake-up behavior while reducing unnecessary power consumption and improving coordination of sidelink communications across broadcast, groupcast, and unicast services.
Regarding claim 11, Freda et al. teaches each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration comprises one or more of: a wakeup cycle, wakeup duration, or a timer configuration (Paragraph 86, 92, 135, 138, These passages disclose that a DRX configuration includes a DRX cycle (wakeup periodicity), an on-duration timer (wakeup duration), and multiple DRX-related timers (e.g., inactivity, retransmission, HARQ RTT)).
Regarding claim 12, Freda et al. teaches information about each service corresponding to the at least one DRX configuration comprises one or more of: a service identifier, or, a data packet (Paragraph 82, 83, 133, 139, These passages teach that DRX configuration is determined per service type and cast type (service identifier such as L2 ID), and that service-related information includes per-packet characteristics (data packets tagged with QoS)).
Regarding claim 13, Freda et al. teaches establishing the unicast based communication between the terminal device and the another terminal device based on the first message (Paragraph 82, 84, 85, These passages teach that a first message (e.g., a Direct Communication Request) initiates and forms the basis for establishing a one-to-one (unicast) link between two WTRUs through negotiation and mutual authentication).
Regarding claim 16, Freda et al. teaches establishing the unicast based communication between the apparatus and the another terminal device based on the first message (Paragraph 82, 84, 85, These passages teach that a first message (e.g., a Direct Communication Request) initiates and forms the basis for establishing a one-to-one (unicast) link between two WTRUs through negotiation and mutual authentication).
Regarding claim 19, Freda et al. teaches the first message is a broadcast message (Paragraph 81, 83, These passages expressly identify broadcast traffic as a supported traffic type and describe broadcast traffic in terms of individual messages).
Regarding claim 20, Freda et al. teaches the first message is a broadcast message (Paragraph 81, 83, These passages expressly identify broadcast traffic as a supported traffic type and describe broadcast traffic in terms of individual messages).
Regarding claim 21, Freda et al. teaches the first message is a broadcast message (Paragraph 81, 83, These passages expressly identify broadcast traffic as a supported traffic type and describe broadcast traffic in terms of individual messages).
Regarding claim 22, Freda et al. teaches the first message is a broadcast message (Paragraph 81, 83, These passages expressly identify broadcast traffic as a supported traffic type and describe broadcast traffic in terms of individual messages).
Allowable Subject Matter
The applicant could consider adding concepts directed to the two-level indication framework, such as explicitly reciting that the terminal device obtains first indication information indicating at least one receiving periodicity and at least one non-receiving periodicity, and second indication information indicating receiving and non-receiving time units within the receiving periodicity, for example via L1 and L2 indication fields or a two-level bitmap mapping that defines time-domain wakeup and sleep locations. The claim could further incorporate determining to monitor signaling and/or data only within a first time unit of a first periodicity and to enter a sleep state in a second periodicity and/or second time unit, thereby explicitly tying the DRX configuration to controlled wakeup/sleep behavior for sidelink communication. Additional concepts could include associating the indication information and/or DRX configuration with a specific resource pool, service configuration, cell, or resource allocation mode, and monitoring or transmitting only on resources within the resource pool corresponding to the indicated time units. The applicant might also add the matching/mismatching mechanism, such as determining whether a service configuration or resource pool configuration matches a first DRX configuration based on a correspondence between a DRX cycle and a service cycle, and, if mismatched, determining a second DRX configuration by adjusting a time-domain location of a wakeup time period according to one or more time-domain adjustment amounts. Further refinements could include reciting switching indications that trigger switching between a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration, constraining the adjusted wakeup time period to lie within a wakeup window of the service configuration, or specifying that the default DRX configuration is a broadcast-dedicated DRX configuration having a smallest DRX cycle among a plurality of predefined broadcast-dedicated DRX configurations and being used to receive or send signaling originally associated with multiple broadcast-dedicated DRX configurations, thereby more fully capturing the power-consumption and reliability balancing improvements described in the specification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 20220232664 A1)
Murray et al. (US 20220191793 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464