DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1, 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues cited prior art does not disclose the folding pattern including a regularly repeated straight pattern of lines extending along a first direction. Applicant contends that Examiner asserts that Ai’s circle is a “circular chain of discrete straight lines” and that the discrete lines “would make all angles between 90 and 0”. Applicant claims that Ai is silent as to the circle of fig. 22 being composed of a circular chain of discrete straight lines. Applicant also claims that even if Ai’s circle was composed of a circular chain of discrete straight lines, the reference would still not disclose these discrete straight lines being a regularly repeated straight pattern of lines extending along a first direction.
Examiner agrees. A new embodiment of Ai is used to make obvious the subject matter of amended claims 1 + 11.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KR on 11/8/21. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2021-0152204 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 08/18/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai et al. (US-10020462-B1).
Regarding claim 1, Ai discloses a display device (fig. 1 10, col. 3 lines 10-15) comprising: a pixel substrate including pixels (fig. 6 26, col. 5 lines 35-40, col. 3 lines 57-60); and a cover window disposed on an upper surface of the pixel substrate and including a folding pattern (fig. 5 24 on upper surface of 26 w/ folding pattern 30 shown in fig. 22), wherein the folding pattern makes an angle between 5 degrees and 40 degrees with respect to a folding line of the display device (annotated fig. 22 pattern 30 makes all angles 0-90 w/ respect to FL, col. 7 lines 42-46).
Ai does not disclose the folding pattern includes a regularly repeated straight pattern of lines extending along a first direction, and wherein the first direction makes an angle between 5 degrees and 40 degrees with respect to a folding line of the display device.
Ai discloses a separate embodiment (fig. 23) that uses a regularly repeated straight pattern of lines at a variety of angles with respect to a folding line to create quasi-circular folding patterns (fig. 23 one quasi-circular pattern contains regularly repeated straight pattern of lines 30, multiple potential folding lines present, col. 7 lines 40-50). Ai also discloses the fig. 22 embodiment accommodating deformation along multiple axes resulting in dome shape folding + a desire to add more folding axes (col. 7 lines 40-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct both circular patterns from fig. 22 out of a series of very small discrete regularly repeated straight line patterns arranged in a circle to maximize the number of folding directions using the discrete patterns, such that at least two lines from each circle are straight + extend along a first direction between 5 and 40 degrees with respect to the folding line, and the straight pattern of lines from each circle form all integer angles between 0 and 90 with respect to the folding line (Modified fig. X shows one example, goal is to use maximum possible number of line segments to increase number of folding axes without transitioning to continuous groove circle).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to facilitate construction, removing/creating a series of straight line portions would be easier than removing/creating a continuous circular portion, while still providing a high number of folding axes. Regular repeating lines would further simplify the process. Additionally, making the discrete line segments regular and repeated would allow for easier addition of polymeric filler material (Ai col. 6 lines 45-60) to the grooves due to the consistent spacing and empty volume of each discrete line groove and would help prevent overflow or underfilling.
The circular grooves in fig. 22 are modified to be circular chains of very small regularly repeated straight lines. Each individual straight line pattern makes one angle with a chosen folding line, and all angles are produced by the entire set of straight line patterns/the folding pattern in each circle.
Henceforth, “circle” is to be interpreted as a circular chain of discrete regularly repeated straight lines.
Straight line regions of the folding pattern between the 90° point and 0° point would make all angles between 90° and 0° w/ folding line.
Same reasoning would apply to a folding line that followed a circle (annotated fig. 22a CFL). All angles would still be made.
Modified Fig. X (one rough example of proposed modification)
Annotated fig. 22
Annotated fig. 22a
Regarding claim 2, Ai discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the folding pattern is a concave shape made after predetermined parts are removed in the cover window (figs. 8 + 22 30 concave, col. 5 lines 55-60).
Claim 2 is interpreted as a product-by-process claim.
Regarding claim 3, Ai discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the folding pattern includes a first folding pattern and a second folding pattern (annotated 22b FFP + SFP, respectively), wherein the first folding pattern makes an angle between 5 degrees and 40 degrees with respect to the folding line in a clockwise direction (annotated figs. 22 + 22b outer circle FFP makes all angles 0-90 w/ respect to FL, col. 7 lines 42-46), and wherein the second folding pattern makes an angle between 5 degrees and 40 degrees with respect to the folding line in an anti-clockwise direction (annotated figs. 22 + 22b inner circle SFP makes all angles 0-90 w/ respect to FL, col. 7 lines 42-46).
Recall modification from claim 1 rejection, the circular grooves in fig. 22 are modified to be circular chains of very small straight lines. Each individual straight line pattern makes one angle with the folding line, and all angles are produced by the entire set of straight line patterns/the folding pattern in each circle.
FFP and SFP are considered distinct folding patterns due to their difference in size.
All angles are made regardless of direction (clockwise/anti-clockwise).
Annotated fig. 22b
Regarding claim 5, Ai discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein a unit pattern of the first folding pattern and a unit pattern of the second folding pattern have different lengths (annotated fig. 22b FFP circumferential length different from SFP circumferential length).
FFP “unit pattern” is entire FFP circle. Same for SFP.
Regarding claim 6, Ai discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the folding pattern makes an angle between 10 degrees and 15 degrees or between 30 degrees and 35 degrees with respect to the folding line.
All angles 0-90 are made between folding pattern and folding line. See claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 8, Ai discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein a single pattern of the folding pattern includes a first area and a second area (annotated fig. 22d outer circle 30 includes semicircles FA and SA, separated by short dashed lines), and wherein the first area and the second area each make a different acute angle in a same direction with a folding line of the display device (annotated fig. 22d each half circle FA/SA can make any angle 0-90 w/ FL, see claim 1 rejection + annotated fig. 22).
Annotated fig. 22d angle 1 does not equal angle 2. Angles 1+2 are copied over to folding line to show relationship to folding line. Angles are in same direction. Angles are acute.
Annotated fig. 22d
Regarding claim 9, Ai discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein each acute angle is between 10 degrees and 15 degrees.
All angles 0-90 are made between FA/SA and folding line. See claim 1 + claim 8 rejections.
Regarding claim 10, Ai discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the folding pattern includes a curve, and wherein the curve makes an angle between 10 degrees and 15 degrees with respect to the folding line of the display device (fig. 22 after claim 1 modification, consider total continuous set of straight lines in groove, this total continuous set will form a curve/non-straight line/circle made of discrete straight line units).
All angles 0-90 are made between folding pattern and folding line. See claim 1 rejection.
def. curve – any line that is not a straight line, esp. [but not necessarily] one which smoothly deviates from being straight for some or all of its length (Oxford English Dictionary def. 2a)
Regarding claim 11, Ai discloses a display device (fig. 1 10, col. 3 lines 10-15) comprising: a pixel substrate including pixels (fig. 6 26, col. 5 lines 35-40, col. 3 lines 57-60); and a cover window disposed on an upper surface of the pixel substrate and including a folding pattern (fig. 5 24 on upper surface of 26 w/ folding pattern 30 shown in fig. 22), wherein the folding pattern comprises a first folding pattern and a second folding pattern (annotated 22b FFP + SFP, respectively), wherein the first direction and the second direction each make a different acute angle in a same first direction with a folding line of the display device (annotated figs. 22 + 22b FFP + SFP each make all angles 0-90 in same direction w/ respect to FL, col. 7 lines 42-46).
Ai does not disclose the first folding pattern includes a regularly repeated straight pattern of first lines extending along a first direction, the second folding pattern includes a regularly repeated straight pattern of second lines extending along a second direction, and wherein the first direction+second direction each make a different acute angle in same first direction between 5 degrees and 40 degrees with respect to a folding line of the display device.
Ai discloses a separate embodiment that uses a regularly repeated straight pattern of lines at a variety of angles with respect to a folding line to create quasi-circular folding patterns (fig. 23 one quasi-circular pattern contains regularly repeated straight pattern of lines 30, multiple potential folding lines present, col. 7 lines 40-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct both circular patterns from fig. 22 out of a series of very small discrete regularly repeated straight line patterns arranged in a circle, such that at least two lines from each circle are straight + extend along a first direction between 5 and 40 degrees with respect to the folding line, and the straight pattern of lines from each circle form all integer angles between 0 and 90 with respect to the folding line.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to facilitate construction, removing/creating a series of straight line portions would be easier than removing/creating a continuous circular portion. Additionally, regularly repeated lines would result in more predictability of angles during folding.
The circular grooves in fig. 22 are modified to be circular chains of very small regularly repeated straight lines. Each individual straight line pattern makes one angle with a chosen folding line, and all angles are produced by the entire set of straight line patterns/the folding pattern in each circle.
Henceforth, “circle” is to be interpreted as a circular chain of discrete straight lines.
Straight line regions of the folding pattern between the 90° point and 0° point would make all angles between 90° and 0° w/ folding line.
Same reasoning would apply to a folding line that followed a circle (annotated fig. 22a CFL). All angles would still be made.
See claim 1 + claim 8 rejections.
Regarding claim 12, Ai discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the folding pattern is a concave form made after certain parts are removed in the cover window.
Claim 12 is interpreted as a product-by-process claim.
Claim 12 is rejected for the reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, Ai discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein a unit-pattern of the first folding pattern and a unit-pattern of the second folding pattern have different lengths.
Claim 13 is rejected for the reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, Ai discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the first folding pattern and the second folding pattern each make an angle between 10 degrees and 15 degrees or between 30 degrees and 35 degrees with the folding line.
All angles 0-90 are made between annotated figs. 22/22b FFP/SFP and folding line. See claim 1 rejection. SFP possesses the same angular properties as FFP.
Claim(s) 7,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai in view of Sun (CN-104466007-A, machine translation “Sun_English1” cited + included herewith).
Regarding claim 7, Ai discloses the display device of claim 6.
Ai does not disclose wherein a pixel pattern of the pixels makes at least one angle among 0 degree, 45 degree and 90 degree with respect to the folding line.
Sun discloses a display device with a pixel pattern that makes an angle of 45 degrees with respect to the horizontal of the device (annotated fig. 5 Pixel Angle makes 45 degree angle w/ Horizontal, lines 628-631).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the pixel pattern of Sun with an angle of 45 degrees with respect to the horizontal in the device of Ai.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increase FMM technique precision, produce a higher resolution image, increase the brightness of the pixels, and prolong the life of the display (Sun lines 631-635).
The horizontal of the device is parallel to the folding axis in Ai, therefore, the pixel pattern in the modified device will make an angle of 45 degrees with both the horizontal of the device and the folding axis.
Annotated fig. 5
Regarding claim 17, Ai, as modified by Sun, discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein a pixel pattern of the pixels makes at least one angle among 0 degree, 45 degrees and 90 degrees with respect to the folding line.
Claim 17 is rejected for the reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 7.
Claim(s) 4,14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai in view of Koo et al. (US-20190132947-A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ai discloses the display device of claim 3.
Ai does not disclose wherein at least one of the first folding pattern and the second folding pattern has two or more unit-patterns each having a different length.
Koo discloses a flexible display unit with a first folding pattern that has two or more unit-patterns each having a different length (annotated fig. 11 pattern 1 consists of two separate unit-patterns of holes 214’ w/ two different unit-pattern lengths, Abstract, Claim 11, (0155)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first folding pattern in Ai consist of two separate unit-patterns each having a different circumferential length.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to decrease the regularity/increase the randomness in the folding pattern and help prevent optical interference effects from creating visible artifacts on the display (Ai col. 7 lines 32-35).
Regarding claim 14, Ai discloses the display device of claim 11.
Ai does not disclose wherein the folding pattern further comprises a third folding pattern, and wherein the third folding pattern makes an acute angle with the folding line in an opposite direction to the first direction.
Koo discloses a flexible display unit with three separate folding patterns in a folding area (annotated fig. 11 pattern 1 (214’), 2 (214’), 3 (212’), Abstract, Claim 11, (0155)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a third circular pattern oriented concentrically around the first two folding patterns in Ai (fig. X additional region 30 with outer dashed line boundary).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to cover even more area in a folding region with an additional third pattern of grooves to further facilitate bending within the display (Ai col. 4 lines 26-29, col. 5 lines 55-60).
Pattern 1 consists of 2 separate unit-patterns of holes 214’.
Annotated fig. 11
Fig. X
Regarding claim 15, Ai, as modified by Koo, discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein a unit pattern of the first folding pattern and a unit pattern of the third folding pattern have different lengths (annotated fig. 22b FFP circumferential length different from annotated fig. 11 TFP circumferential length).
Each of the first folding pattern and third folding pattern is composed of a single unit pattern.
Conclusion
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828