DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to Claim(s) 1 and 17, filed 04/06/2024, are acknowledged and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see Pages 7-11, filed 04/06/2024, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 17 under 35 USC § 102 and claim(s) 1-16 under 35 USC § 103, have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, since the Applicant is arguing the newly amended claims. The newly amended claims are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al., (Yu hereafter) (US 11,042,071).
With respect to Claim 1, Yu discloses a flexible display device (Figure 2), comprising: a display area (310, 320, 200, 510, Figure 2); a thin-film transistor (TFT) array substrate (200, Figure 2); a cover film (400, Figure 2); an electronic ink layer (310, Figure 2) located between the TFT array substrate (200, Figure 2) and the cover film (400, Figure 2) along a vertical direction from the thin-film transistor array substrate (200, Figure 2) to the cover film (400, Figure 2); an edge sealant (optically clear adhesive (OCA) can be disposed under the display medium layer 310 and adhere the display medium layer 310 and the driving substrates 200, column 4, lines 42-47) located between the TFT array substrate (200, Figure 2) and the cover film (400, Figure 2) along the vertical direction, and surrounding (column 4, lines 42-47) the electronic ink layer (310, Figure 2), wherein the edge sealant (OCA, column 4, lines 42-47) defines a packaging area (see annotated Figure 2) that overlaps the edge sealant (OCA, column 4, lines 42-47) along the vertical direction (see annotated Figure 2); an electrode layer (320, Figure 2) located on the electronic ink layer (300, Figure 2); and a reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2) disposed along the packaging area (see annotated Figure 2), wherein the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2) surrounds the display area (310, 320, 200, 510, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 2, Yu further discloses wherein the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2) is located on the cover film (400, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 3, Yu further discloses wherein a material of the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2) is polyimide (PI), polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (column 4, lines 25-29), resin, or metal.
With respect to Claim 17, Yu discloses a flexible display device (Figure 2), comprising: a thin-film transistor (TFT) array substrate (200, Figure 2); a cover film (400, Figure 2), wherein a vertical direction (see annotated Figure 2) is from the thin-film transistor array substrate (200, Figure 2) to the cover film (400, Figure 2); an electronic ink layer (310, Figure 2) located between the TFT array substrate (200, Figure 2) and the cover film (400, Figure 2); an edge sealant surrounding the electronic ink layer (310, Figure 2); an electrode layer (320, Figure 2) located on the electronic ink layer (310, Figure 2); and a reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2) overlapping the edge sealant (OCA, column 4, lines 42-47) along the vertical direction (see annotated Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yu et al., Yu (US 11,042,071) in further view of Wu et al., (Wu hereafter) (US 2016/0116817 A1), of record.
With respect to Claim 4, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2) and the electrode layer (320, Figure 2).
Yu fails to teach wherein the reinforcement layer is located on a top surface of the electrode layer.
Yu teaches a waterproof display apparatus and Wu teaches an electronic-ink display device.
Wu teaches wherein the reinforcement layer (150, Figure 1) is located on a top surface of the electrode layer (142, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display with the teachings of Wu having the reinforcement layer is located on a top surface of the electrode layer for the purpose of preventing moisture from invading the display device, ¶[0018].
With respect to Claim 5, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 4 and the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2).
Yu fails to teach a first optical adhesive located on the electrode layer and the reinforcement layer.
Yu teaches a waterproof display apparatus and Wu teaches an electronic-ink display device.
Wu teaches first optical adhesive (130, Figure 1) located on the electrode layer (142, Figure 2) and the reinforcement layer (150, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display with the teachings of Wu having a first optical adhesive located on the electrode layer and the reinforcement layer for the purpose of facilitating in displaying a clear picture by the device, ¶[0022].
With respect to Claim 7, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2), the electrode layer (320, Figure 2), and the edge sealant (OCA, column 4, lines 42-47).
Yu fails to teach wherein the reinforcement layer is located between the electrode layer and the edge sealant.
Yu teaches a waterproof display apparatus and Wu teaches an electronic-ink display device.
Wu teaches wherein the reinforcement layer (150, Figure 1) is located between the electrode layer (142, Figure 2) and the edge sealant (180, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display with the teachings of Wu having the reinforcement layer is located between the electrode layer and the edge sealant for the purpose of increasing the adhesive force between layers, ¶[0031].
With respect to Claim 10, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2), the electrode layer (320, Figure 2).
Yu fails to teach a first optical adhesive located on the electrode layer; and a functional layer located on the first optical adhesive, wherein the reinforcement layer is located between the functional layer and the electrode layer.
Yu teaches a waterproof display apparatus and Wu teaches an electronic-ink display device.
Wu teaches a first optical adhesive (130, Figure 1) located on the electrode layer (142, Figure 2); and a functional layer (160, Figure 1) located on the first optical adhesive (130, Figure 1), wherein the reinforcement layer (150, Figure 1) is located between the functional layer (160, Figure 1) and the electrode layer (142, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display with the teachings of Wu having a first optical adhesive located on the electrode layer; and a functional layer located on the first optical adhesive, wherein the reinforcement layer is located between the functional layer and the electrode layer for the purpose of facilitating in displaying a clear picture by the device, ¶[0022].
With respect to Claim 11, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, and the cover film (400, Figure 2).
Yu fails to teach a first optical adhesive located on the electrode layer; a functional layer located on the first optical adhesive; and a second optical adhesive located between the functional layer and the cover film.
Yu teaches a waterproof display apparatus and Wu teaches an electronic-ink display device.
Wu teaches a first optical adhesive (130, Figure 1) located on the electrode layer (142, Figure 2); a functional layer (160, Figure 1) located on the first optical adhesive (130, Figure 1); and a second optical adhesive (second transparent glue layer, not shown; see ¶[0024]) located between the functional layer (160, Figure 1) and the cover film (141, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display with the teachings of Wu having a first optical adhesive located on the electrode layer; a functional layer located on the first optical adhesive; and a second optical adhesive located between the functional layer and the cover film for the purpose of making the display device to be lighter and thinner, ¶[0024].
With respect to Claim 14, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, wherein the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2) has an inner portion (see Figure 2).
Yu fails to teach a thickness of the inner portion is gradually decreased form the edge sealant to the electronic ink layer such that the inner portion has an inclined surface.
Yu teaches a waterproof display apparatus and Wu teaches an electronic-ink display device.
Wu teaches the reinforcement layer (150, Figure 1) has a thickness (¶[0024]) of the inner portion (interior of 150, Figure 1; see also ¶[0020]) is gradually decreased (0.4 mm to 0.2 mm, see ¶[0020]) form the edge sealant (180, Figure 1) to the electronic ink layer (143, Figure 2) such that the inner portion (interior of 150, Figure 1; see also ¶[0020]) has an inclined surface (0.4 mm to 0.2 mm, see ¶[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display with the teachings of Wu having a thickness of the inner portion is gradually decreased form the edge sealant to the electronic ink layer such that the inner portion has an inclined surface for the prevention of peeling.
With respect to Claim 16, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 1.
Yu fails to teach a bottom protection layer.
Yu teaches a waterproof display apparatus and Wu teaches an electronic-ink display.
Wu teaches a bottom protection layer (110, Figure 1)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display device with the teachings of Wu having a bottom protection layer for the purpose of making the device lighter and thinner, ¶[0024].
Yu in view of Wu disclose the claimed invention except for the duplication of an optical adhesive layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate an optical adhesive layer, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate an optical adhesive layer for the purpose of stability of the flexible display components. It would have been obvious to modify the flexible display device of Yu in view of Wu and have a third optical adhesive located between the bottom protection layer (110, Figure 1, of Wu) and the TFT array substrate (200, Figure 2, of Yu) for additional protection of the flexible display components.
Claims 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yu (US 11,042,071), as applied to claim 5, above, and in further view of Chang et al., (Chang) (US 2016/0224069 A1), of record.
With respect to Claim 6, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 5 and the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2).
Yu fails to teach wherein a Young's modulus of the reinforcement layer is greater than a Young's modulus of the first optical adhesive.
Yu teaches waterproof display apparatus and Chang teaches a bendable glass element that can be used in the waterproof display apparatus.
Chang teaches a bendable glass element (title and abstract) wherein the a Young's modulus (10 GPa, ¶[0064]) of the reinforcement layer (50, Figure 1) is greater than a Young's modulus (1 GPa, ¶[0064]) of the first optical adhesive (pressure-sensitive adhesive, ¶[0064]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display with the teachings of Chang having a Young's modulus of the reinforcement layer is greater than a Young's modulus of the first optical adhesive for the purpose of the reinforcement layer being puncture resistant (¶[0064]) and the adhesive layer not cracking (well-known in the art for higher Young's modulus of adhesives).
With respect to Claim 9, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 7 and the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2).
Yu fails to teach wherein a Young's modulus of the reinforcement layer is in a range from 10 GPa to 500 GPa.
Chang teaches a bendable glass element (title and abstract) wherein a Young's modulus (10 GPa, ¶[0064]) of the reinforcement layer (50, Figure 1) is in a range from 10 GPa to 500 GPa.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu having the flexible display with the teachings of Chang having a Young's modulus of the reinforcement layer is greater than a Young's modulus of the first optical adhesive for the purpose of the reinforcement layer being puncture resistant (¶[0064]).
Claims 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yu (US 11,042,071), as applied to claims 7 and 1, above.
With respect to Claim 8, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 7 and the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2).
Yu discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the reinforcement layer has a plurality of segments that are separated from each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the reinforcement layer has a plurality of segments that are separated from each other, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in art. One would have been motivated to make the elements separable for the purpose of to block off the adhesive, (¶[0020]). A modified Yu discloses the reinforcement layer has a plurality of segments that are separated from each other and a portion of the edge sealant (180, Figure 1) extends to a position between the segments (¶[0020]). In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
With respect to Claim 15, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 1 and a thickness of the reinforcement layer (100, Figure 2).
Yu discloses the claimed invention except for a thickness of the reinforcement layer is in a range from 15 mm to100 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to since the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties and further being motivated to have a thickness of the reinforcement layer is in a range from 15 mm to100 mm for the purpose of the prevention of overflow of adhesive, ¶[0020]. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yu (US 11,042,071) in view of Wu (US 2016/0116817 A1), of record, as applied to claim 11, above, in further view Sato et al., (hereafter Sato) (US 2017/0355216 A1), of record.
With respect to Claim 12, Yu teaches the flexible display device of claim 11, the packaging area (see annotated Figure 2, of Yu), and the cover film (400, Figure 2, of Yu) and the second optical adhesive (second transparent glue layer, not shown; see ¶[0024], of Wu).
Yu in view of Wu fail to teach a decorative ink layer.
Yu in view of Wu teach the flexible display and Sato teaches a luminescent sheet that can be used in the display.
Sato teaches a decorative ink layer (recess filled with pigment, 3, Figure 10; see also ¶[0098]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu in view of Wu having the flexible display with the teachings of Sato having the decorative ink layer for the purpose of user observation of colors.
With respect to Claim 13, Yu in view of Wu teach the flexible display device of claim 12 and the second optical adhesive (second transparent glue layer, not shown; see ¶[0024], of Wu).
Yu in view of Wu fail to teach wherein a Young's modulus of the decorative ink layer is greater than a Young's modulus of the second optical adhesive.
Yu in view of Wu teach the flexible display and Sato teaches a luminescent sheet that can be used in the display.
Sato teaches wherein a Young's modulus of the decorative ink layer (200 GPa, ¶[0099]) is greater than a Young's modulus of the second optical adhesive (2 GPa, ¶[0099]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu in view of Wu having the flexible display with the teachings of Sato having a Young's modulus of the decorative ink layer is greater than a Young's modulus of the second optical adhesive for the purpose of not stressing the inner component of the flexible display device, ¶[0099].
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872