DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/10/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent Publication Number 2016/0004136 A1) in view of Yang (US Patent Publication Number 2013/0208343 A1 and in further view of Lin (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0339563 A1).
Li teaches, as in claim 1, an electro-optic display device comprising an electro-optic material layer (10), the electro-optic material layer (10) comprising a plurality of microcells (11), the plurality of microcells (11) being separated from each other by partition walls (11a), the partition walls of each microcell (11a) having a surface area (¶0037 “wall area (11a) and bottom area”), each microcell of the plurality of microcells including electrophoretic medium (12), the electrophoretic medium comprising charged pigment particles in a non-polar fluid (¶0054 “electrophoretic fluid may be non-polar solvents”), Li fails to teach the microcell opening having a surface area and a Fill Factor. In a related art, Yang teaches an electro-optic display device comprising a plurality of microcells (Fig. 1-4) of the plurality of microcells having a microcell opening ), the microcell opening having a surface area and a Fill Factor (¶0040), the plurality of microcells comprising more than five types of microcells1, each microcell of a type of microcells having a Fill Factor that is different from the Fill Factors of all microcells of other types of microcells2 (¶0039 “the fill factor of the altered microcup-based film cannot be altered by more than 30% of that of the original microcup-based”). The equation is, the Fill Factor of a microcell being determined by Equation 1, Fill Factor = A1/(A1+A2) (¶0040)), microcells having a different Fill Factor microcells (the fill factor would change for each of the microcells because the Area A and Area W of each microcell in Figure 5 would be different because of the different dimensions of each microcell, also ¶0039 “the fill factor of the altered microcup-based film cannot be altered by more than 30% of that of the original microcup-based”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, with the microcells, as taught by Yang for the purpose of providing an electrophoretic display film comprises microcups wherein all microcups have individually different shapes (¶0024).
Li and Yang fail to teach the electro-optic display device having a viewing side, a side opposite to the viewing side, and a watermark being formed by halftone images from the plurality of microcells. In a related art, Lin teaches a display device having a viewing side (“viewing side”), a side opposite to the viewing side (opposite side of display), and a watermark being formed by halftone images from the plurality of microcells (¶0051 “a grey-scale-like image for the watermark”), wherein each type of microcell of the plurality of microcells (see annotated figure below) is characterized by a partition wall (layer in between two cells) having a width that is different from the partition walls width of all other types of microcells (See the width of the layers in between cells 1-6 labeled in the annotated figure below and ¶0050 and 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li and Yang, with the microcells, as taught by Lin, for the purpose of providing a way to create a different optical effect in the watermark area to cause it to be distinguished from the non-watermark area (¶0052).
Li fails to teach, as in claim 2, wherein the plurality of microcells comprises more than six types of microcells, each microcell of a type of microcells having a Fill Factor that is different from the Fill Factors of all microcells of other types of microcells. In a related art, Yang teaches wherein the plurality of microcells comprises more than six types of microcells, each microcell of a type of microcells having a Fill Factor that is different from the Fill Factors of all microcells of other types of microcells (¶0041).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, with the microcells, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of providing an electrophoretic display film comprises microcups wherein all microcups have individually different shapes (¶0024).
Li teaches, as in claim 3, wherein the electro- optic display device comprises microcells of a type of microcells having the same Fill Factor, different partition wall heights (¶0039).
Li teaches, as in claim 4, wherein the electro- optic display device comprises microcells of a type of microcells having the same Fill Factor, but different microcell shapes (Fig. 5a “randomized shapes”).
Claims 5-9, 11, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent Publication Number 2016/0004136 A1) in view of Yang (US Patent Publication Number 2013/0208343 A1) and in further view of Lin (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0339563 A1), and even further view Liang (US Patent Publication Number 2004/0165252 A1).
Li, Yang and Lin fail to teach, as in claim 5, wherein the partition walls are transparent. In a related art, Laing teaches wherein the partition walls are transparent (¶0065).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin with the partition walls, as taught by Liang, for the purpose of providing a way to allow enough light or radiation to reach the bottom of the microcups to assure proper physicomechanical properties of the microcups and their adhesion to the substrate underneath (¶0066).
Li, Yang and Lin fail to teach, as in claim 6, wherein the partition walls are opaque. In a related art, Liang teaches wherein the partition walls are opaque (¶0065).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the partition walls, as taught by Liang, for the purpose of providing a way to allow enough light or radiation to reach the bottom of the microcups to assure proper physicomechanical properties of the microcups and their adhesion to the substrate underneath (¶0066).
Li, Yang and Lin fail to teach, as in claim 7, wherein the electro-optic display device comprises at least two types of partition walls, a first type and a second type of partition walls, wherein the first type and the second type of partition walls have different colors. In a related art, Liang teaches wherein the electro-optic display device comprises at least two types of partition walls, a first type and a second type of partition walls (transparent and opaque), wherein the first type and the second type of partition walls have different colors (¶0068).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the partition walls, as taught by Liang, for the purpose of providing a way to allow enough light or radiation to reach the bottom of the microcups to assure proper physicomechanical properties of the microcups and their adhesion to the substrate underneath (¶0066).
Li, Yang and Lin fail to teach, as in claim 8, further comprising a first light-transmissive electrode layer and a second electrode layer, wherein the electro-optic material layer is disposed between the first light-transmissive electrode layer and the second electrode layer. In a related art, Liang teaches further comprising a first light-transmissive electrode layer (10) and a second electrode layer (11), wherein the electro-optic material layer (12) is disposed between the first light-transmissive electrode layer and the second electrode layer.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the electrodes, as taught by Liang, for the purpose of providing away to allow enough light or radiation to reach the bottom of the microcups to assure proper physicomechanical properties of the microcups and their adhesion to the substrate underneath (¶0066).
Li, Yang and Lin fail to teach, as in claim 9, wherein the second electrode layer is light-transmissive. In a related art, Liang teaches wherein the second electrode layer is light-transmissive (¶0127).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the electrodes, as taught by Liang, for the purpose of providing away to allow enough light or radiation to reach the bottom of the microcups to assure proper physicomechanical properties of the microcups and their adhesion to the substrate underneath (¶0066).
Li teaches, as claimed in claim 11, further comprising a sealing layer (13), the sealing layer spanning the opening of each microcell of the plurality of microcells, the sealing layer (13) being disposed between the electro-optic material layer (120) and the second electrode layer (18).
Li, Yang and Lin fail to teach, as in claim 13, wherein the sealing layer is colored. In a related art, Liang teaches wherein the sealing layer is colored (¶0079).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the sealing layer as taught by Liang, for the purpose of providing away to allow enough light or radiation to reach the bottom of the microcups to assure proper physicomechanical properties of the microcups and their adhesion to the substrate underneath (¶0066).
Li teaches, as claimed in claim 14, wherein the electro-optic display device further comprises an adhesive layer (17) disposed between the sealing layer (13) and the second electrode layer (18).
Li, Yang and Lin fail to teach, as claimed in claim 16, wherein the adhesive layer is colored. In a related art, Liang teaches wherein the adhesive layer is colored (¶0118 “oligomers”).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the adhesive, as taught by Liang, for the purpose of providing away to allow enough light or radiation to reach the bottom of the microcups to assure proper physicomechanical properties of the microcups and their adhesion to the substrate underneath (¶0066).
Li teaches, as claimed in claim 20, wherein the electro-optic display device is used as part of a product, a document, or a currency bill for anti-counterfeiting purpose (¶0033).
Claims 10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent Publication Number 2016/0004136 A1) in view of Yang (US Patent Publication Number 2013/0208343 A1) and in further view of Lin (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0339563 A1), and even further view Gu (US Patent Publication Number 2020/0057348 A1).
Li, Yang and Lin, fail to teach as in claim 10, wherein the second electrode layer is colored. In a related art, Gu teaches wherein the second electrode layer is colored (¶0057)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the second electrode, as taught by Gu, for the purpose of providing movement of the pigments can cause change in optical state of the electrophoretic material (¶0054).
Li, Yang and Lin, fail to teach as in claim 17, further comprising a piezoelectric layer comprising piezoelectric material. In a related art, Gu teaches further comprising a piezoelectric layer comprising piezoelectric material (108).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the piezoelectric material, as taught by Gu, for the purpose of providing movement of the pigments can cause change in optical state of the electrophoretic material (¶0054).
Li, Yang and Lin, fail to teach as in claim 18, wherein the piezoelectric layer is located adjacent to the electro-optic material layer. In a related art, Gu teaches wherein the piezoelectric layer (108) is located adjacent to the electro-optic material layer (106).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the piezoelectric material, as taught by Gu, for the purpose of providing movement of the pigments can cause change in optical state of the electrophoretic material (¶0054).
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent Publication Number 2016/0004136 A1) in view of Yang (US Patent Publication Number 2013/0208343 A1) and in further view of Lin (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0339563 A1), and even further view Akagawa (US Patent Publication Number 2014/0367661 A1).
Li, Yang and Lin, fail to teach as in claim 13, wherein the sealing layer is colored. In a related art, Akagawa teaches wherein the sealing layer is colored (¶0170).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the sealing, as taught by Akagawa, for the purpose of providing a way to strongly suppress the infiltration of moisture and oxygen into the light emitting element (¶0033).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent Publication Number 2016/0004136 A1) in view of Yang (US Patent Publication Number 2013/0208343 A1) and in further view of Lin (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0339563 A1), and even further view Telfer (US Patent Publication Number 2017/0160556 A1).
Li, Yang and Lin, fail to teach as in claim 15, wherein the adhesive layer is transparent. In a related art, Telfer teaches wherein the adhesive layer is transparent (¶0040).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the adhesive layer, as taught by Telfer, for the purpose of providing a way to for the modulating element (may be a separate sheet of electrophoretic material ) to be attached to the waveguide (¶0071).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent Publication Number 2016/0004136 A1) in view of Yang (US Patent Publication Number 2013/0208343 A1) and in further view of Lin (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0339563 A1), and even further view Telfer (US Patent Publication Number 2020/0295222 A1).
Li, Yang and Lin, fail to teach as in claim 19, further comprising a photovoltaic layer. In a related art, Telfer teaches further comprising a photovoltaic layer (150).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the electro-optic display device as taught by Li, Yang and Lin, with the photovoltaic layer, as taught by Telfer, for the purpose of providing a way to collect energy to, for example, charge a battery or capacitor that provides switching power for later state transitions (¶0071).
Conclusion
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
17 November 2025
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1Yang teaches in ¶0041 that the sizes and the shapes of the microcups are randomized. In randomizing the shape, each of the apex points (P) of the hexagons may be independently shifted within a defined area. Fig. 5c shows more than 5 different types microcups based off the different sizes and shapes.
2 the fill factor would change for each of the microcells because the Area A and Area W of each microcell in Figure 5 would be different because of the different dimensions of each microcell