DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings received on 04/13/2026 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0108939 A1) in view of Yan et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2022/0044861 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Fujimoto et al., hereinafter referred to as “Fujimoto,” teaches a device 10 (FIGs. 1-5) including an inversely coupled inductor structure 20 (FIG. 2 shows inversely coupled inductor 20 with “opposite polarities,” para. [0041]), the device comprising:
a first magnetic core piece 242;
an electrically conductive first winding portion 23A on at least a portion of the first magnetic core piece;
an electrical insulator (“insulating part” of winding portion 23A and or winding portion 23B, not expressly shown, para. [0053]) on at least a portion of the conductive first winding portion;
an electrically conductive second winding portion 23B covering the electrical insulator, wherein at least a portion of the second winding portion overlaps, and is separated by the insulator from, at least an underlying portion of the first winding portion; and
a second magnetic core piece 241 on the conductive second winding portion (paras. [0040], [0041], [0052] and [0053]).
Fujimoto does not expressly teach
wherein the electrical insulator continuously extends from a proximal edge of a first end portion to a proximal edge of a second end portion of the first magnetic core piece and extends between a first raised portion and a second raised portion of the first magnetic core piece.
Yan et al., hereinafter referred to as “Yan,” teaches a device 100 (FIG. 2),
wherein the electrical insulator 156 continuously extends from a proximal edge of a first end portion 116 to a proximal edge of a second end portion 118 of the first magnetic core piece 104 and extends between a first raised portion (front or back raised portion 122) and a second raised portion (the other of front or back raised portion 122) of the first magnetic core piece (paras. [0032], [0040] and [0044]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical insulator as taught by Yan to the device of Fujimoto to provide the desired magnetic coupling while providing improved short circuiting prevention between the first and second winding portions (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 2, Fujimoto in view of Yan teaches the device of claim 1, wherein a first input node 21A and a second input node 21B are located on a first side (front side closer to wall 50a, annotated FIG. 4 above) of the inversely coupled inductor structure, wherein the first input node is a first switch node terminal (terminal of switch SW1, FIG. 1) and the second input node is a second switch node terminal (terminal of SW2) (Fujimoto, paras. [0036] and [0057]).
With respect to claim 3, Fujimoto in view of Yan teaches the device of claim 2, wherein a first output voltage terminal 22A and a second output voltage terminal 22B are located on a second side (side closer to inductor 30) of the inversely coupled inductor structure, and wherein the second side is opposite the first side (para. [0057]).
With respect to claim 12, Fujimoto in view of Yan teaches the device of claim 1, wherein an outer surface of at least one of the first magnetic core piece or the second magnetic core piece is flat (Fujimoto, para. [0052]).
With respect to claim 13, Fujimoto teaches a method of fabricating an inversely coupled inductor structure 20 (FIGs. 1-5), the method comprising:
providing a first magnetic core piece 242;
locating an electrically conductive first winding portion 23A in or on the first magnetic core piece;
forming an insulator (“insulating part” of winding portion 23A and or winding portion 23B, not expressly shown, para. [0053]) on at least a portion of the conductive first winding portion;
locating an electrically conductive second winding portion 23B in or on the first magnetic core piece overlapping at least an underlying portion of the insulator and the conductive first winding portion; and
locating a second magnetic core piece 241 on the conductive second winding portion (paras. [0040], [0052] and [0053]).
Fujimoto does not expressly teach
wherein the insulator continuously extends from a proximal edge of a first end portion to a proximal edge of a second end portion of the first magnetic core piece and extends between a first raised portion and a second raised portion of the first magnetic core piece.
Yan teaches a method of fabricating a coupled inductor structure 100 (FIG. 2),
wherein the insulator 156 continuously extends from a proximal edge of a first end portion 116 to a proximal edge of a second end portion 118 of the first magnetic core piece 104 and extends between a first raised portion (front or back raised portion 122) and a second raised portion (the other of front or back raised portion 122) of the first magnetic core piece (paras. [0032], [0040] and [0044]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical insulator as taught by Yan to the method of Fujimoto to provide the desired magnetic coupling while providing improved short circuiting prevention between the first and second winding portions (para. [0044]).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Yan, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0219648 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Fujimoto in view of Yan teaches the device of claim 3. Fujimoto in view of Yan does not expressly teach the first switch node terminal is located substantially across the inversely coupled inductor structure from the second output voltage terminal, and wherein the second switch node terminal is located substantially across the inversely coupled inductor structure from the first output voltage terminal.
Ji et al., hereinafter referred to as “Ji,” teaches a device (FIGs. 3 and 4), wherein the first switch node terminal 51 is located substantially across the inversely coupled inductor structure from the second output voltage terminal 53, and wherein the second switch node terminal 52 is located substantially across the inversely coupled inductor structure from the first output voltage terminal 54 (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the switch node terminals and output terminals as taught by Ji to the device of Fujimoto in view of Yan to increase distance between the switch node terminals and output terminals to reduce short circuiting.
With respect to claim 11, Fujimoto in view of Yan and Ji teaches the device of claim 4, wherein at least one of the first switch node terminal, the second switch node terminal, the first output voltage terminal, or the second output voltage terminal is bent to enable to the inversely coupled inductor structure to be assembled in a surface mount device (Fujimoto, para. [0057]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Yan and Ji, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0323709 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Fujimoto in view of Yan and Ji teaches the device of claim 4. Fujimoto in view of Yan and Ji does not expressly teach a first gap and a second gap formed between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the first gap and the second gap are substantially parallel to each other.
Chen teaches a device (FIG. 6), comprising:
a first gap 505A and a second gap 505B formed between the first magnetic core piece 503 and the second magnetic core piece 501, wherein the first gap and the second gap are substantially parallel to each other (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second gaps as taught by Chen to the device of Fujimoto in view of Yan and Ji to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 6, Fujimoto in view of Yan, Ji and Chen teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the first gap spans a width (distance in into the page direction) of the inversely coupled inductor structure (magnetic core and coil structure) between the first side and the second side (front and back side) of the inversely coupled inductor structure between the first switch node terminal and the second output voltage terminal, and wherein the second gap spans a width of the inversely coupled inductor structure between the second switch node terminal and the first output voltage terminal (Chen, para. [0047]). The combination of the cited references would have the claimed features.
With respect to claim 7, Fujimoto in view of Yan, Ji and Chen n teaches the device of claim 5, wherein an inverse coupling between the conductive first winding portion and the conductive second winding portion of the inversely coupled inductor structure is present with a strength based on a thickness of at least one of the first gap or the second gap (Chen, para. [0047]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Yan and Ji, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Xiong et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0113058 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Fujimoto in view of Yan, Ji and Chen teaches the device of claim 5. Fujimoto in view of Yan, Ji and Chen does not expressly teach
a third gap and a fourth gap formed between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the third gap is located on one of the first side or the second side, and the fourth gap is located on the other of the first side or the second side, and wherein the third gap and the fourth gap are substantially parallel to each other.
Xiong et al., hereinafter referred to as “Xiong,” teaches a device (FIGs. 2A-5) comprising:
a third gap 404a (FIG. 5) and a fourth gap 404b formed between the first magnetic core piece 401 and the second magnetic core piece 403, wherein the third gap is located on one of the first side (left side)
With respect to claim 9, Fujimoto in view of Yan, Ji, Chen and Xiong teaches the device of claim 8, wherein a level of saturation current of the inversely coupled inductor structure is based on a thickness of at least one of the third gap or the fourth gap (Xiong, para. [0030]).
With respect to claim 10, Fujimoto in view of Yan, Ji, Chen and Xiong teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the first magnetic core piece is affixed to the second magnetic core piece (Fujimoto, para. [0052]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Yan, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chen.
With respect to claim 14, Fujimoto in view of Yan teaches the method of claim 13. Fujimoto in view of Yan does not expressly teach
forming a first gap and a second gap between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the first gap and the second gap are substantially parallel to each other, to establish an inverse coupling of the inversely coupled inductor structure having a strength that is based on a thickness of at least one of the first gap or the second gap.
Chen teaches a method of fabricating an inversely coupled inductor structure (FIG. 6), comprising:
forming a first gap 505A and a second gap 505B between the first magnetic core piece 503 and the second magnetic core piece 501, wherein the first gap and the second gap are substantially parallel to each other, to establish an inverse coupling of the inversely coupled inductor structure having a strength that is based on a thickness of at least one of the first gap or the second gap (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second gaps as taught by Chen to the method of Fujimoto in view of Yan to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 15, Fujimoto in view of Yan teaches the method of claim 13. Fujimoto in view of Yan does not expressly teach
forming a first gap and a second gap between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the first gap is located on a first end of the inversely coupled inductor structure and wherein the second gap is located on a second end of the inversely coupled inductor structure opposite the first end such that the first gap and the second gap are parallel to each other.
Chen teaches a method of fabricating an inversely coupled inductor structure (FIG. 6), comprising:
forming a first gap 505A and a second gap 505B between the first magnetic core piece 503 and the second magnetic core piece 501, wherein the first gap is located on a first end (left end) of the inversely coupled inductor structure and wherein the second gap is located on a second end (right end) of the inversely coupled inductor structure opposite the first end such that the first gap and the second gap are parallel to each other (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second gaps as taught by Chen to the method of Fujimoto in view of Yan to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Yan, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Xiong.
With respect to claim 16, Fujimoto in view of Yan the method of claim 13. Fujimoto in view of Yan does not expressly teach
forming a third gap and a fourth gap between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the third gap is located on a first side of the inversely coupled inductor structure and the fourth gap is located on a second side of the inversely coupled inductor structure opposite the first side such that the third gap and the fourth gap are parallel to each other.
Xiong teaches a device (FIGs. 2A-5) comprising:
forming a third gap 404a (FIG. 5) and a fourth gap 404b between the first magnetic core piece 401 and the second magnetic core piece 403, wherein the third gap is located on a first side (left side) of the inversely coupled inductor structure and the fourth gap is located on a second side (right side) of the inversely coupled inductor structure opposite the first side such that the third gap and the fourth gap are parallel to each other (para. [0030]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the third and fourth gaps as taught by Xiong to the method of Fujimoto in view of Yan to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dadafshar et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2006/0145800 A1) in view of Yan.
With respect to claim 17, Dadafshar et al., hereinafter referred to as “Dadafshar,” teaches a Trans-Inductor Voltage Regulator (TLVR) circuit (FIGs. 4a-4c), comprising:
a first magnetic core piece 406;
an electrically conductive first winding portion 409a (annotated FIG. 4a) located on at least a portion of the first magnetic core piece;
an insulator 417 on at least a portion of the conductive first winding portion;
an electrically conductive second winding portion 409b located at least in part on the insulator and overlapping at least an underlying portion of the first winding portion, wherein the first winding portion and the second winding portion form a winding structure having a first end (outer periphery end adjacent to winding portion 409c) and a second end (outer periphery end adjacent to winding portion 409d) opposite the first end;
an electrically conductive third winding portion 409c proximate the first end of the winding structure;
an electrically conductive fourth winding portion 409d proximate the second end of the winding structure; and
a second magnetic core portion 408 located above the winding structure, the conductive third winding portion, and the conductive fourth winding portion (para. [0107]).
Dadafshar does not expressly teach
the insulator continuously extends from a proximal edge of a first end portion of the first magnetic core piece to a proximal edge of a second end portion of the first magnetic core piece, and extends between a first raised portion and a second raised portion of the first magnetic core piece.
Yan teaches a circuit 100 (FIG. 2),
wherein the insulator 156 continuously extends from a proximal edge of a first end portion 116 to a proximal edge of a second end portion 118 of the first magnetic core piece 104 and extends between a first raised portion (front or back raised portion 122) and a second raised portion (the other of front or back raised portion 122) of the first magnetic core piece (paras. [0032], [0040] and [0044]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical insulator as taught by Yan to the method of Dadafshar to provide the desired magnetic coupling while providing improved short circuiting prevention between the first and second winding portions (para. [0044]).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dadafshar in view of Yan, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Katagiri et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0040415 A1).
With respect to claim 18, Dadafshar in view of Yan teaches the TLVR circuit of claim 17. Dadafshar in view of Yan does not expressly teach a terminal of the conductive third winding portion is connected to a terminal of the conductive fourth winding portion to couple the conductive third winding portion and the conductive fourth winding portion to the winding structure.
Katagiri et al., hereinafter referred to as “Katagiri,” teaches a Trans-inductor Voltage Regulator (TLVR) (FIG. 4), wherein a terminal (end) of the conductive third winding portion 32a is connected to a terminal (end) of the conductive fourth winding portion 33a or 32b to couple the conductive third winding portion and the conductive fourth winding portion to the winding structure (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the winding portion coupling as taught by Katagiri to the TLVR circuit of Dadafshar in view of Yan to provide the required output voltage.
With respect to claim 19, Dadafshar in view of Yan teaches the TLVR circuit of claim 17, wherein at least one of the conductive third winding portion or the conductive fourth winding portion has a one-to-one turns ratio with the first winding portion or the second winding portion (Dadafshar, para. [0107]). Dadafshar in view of Yan does not expressly teach the first winding portion and the second winding portion are primary side winding portions, wherein the third winding portion and the fourth winding portion are secondary side winding portions.
Katagiri teaches a Trans-inductor Voltage Regulator (TLVR) circuit (FIG. 4), wherein first winding portion 31a and the second winding portion 31b are primary side winding portions, wherein the third winding portion 32a and or 33a and the fourth winding portion 32b and or 33b are secondary side winding portions (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the primary and secondary sides as taught by Katagiri to the TLVR circuit of Dadafshar in view of Yan to provide the required winding turn ratio.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dadafshar in view of Yan, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Fujimoto.
With respect to claim 20, Dadafshar in view of Yan teaches the TLVR circuit of claim 17. Dadafshar in view of Yan does not expressly teach a compensation inductor connected to the conductive third winding portion and the conductive fourth winding portion.
Fujimoto teaches a Trans-inductor Voltage Regulator 10 (TLVR) (FIG. 2), comprising a compensation inductor 33 or 43 connected to the conductive third winding portion 23A and the conductive fourth winding portion 23B (para. [0050]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the compensation inductor as taught by Fujimoto to the TLVR circuit of Dadafshar in view of Yan to smooth the output of the TLVR circuit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837