DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, FIGs. 2A-2G and claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of all claims would not impose a serious burden on the examiner. Applicant asserts that Species II includes all structural elements recited in Species I. Applicant states that the third and fourth windings in Species II incorporates the complete structure of Species I. In the spirit of compact prosecution, the restriction requirement in the Office action dated 09/03/2025 is hereby withdrawn, and claims 1-20 are fully examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2022, 10/06/2023 and 08/29/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a terminal of the third winding portion is connected to a terminal of the fourth winding portion to couple the third winding portion and the fourth winding portion to the winding structure” as recited in claim 18 and the “compensation inductor connected to the third winding portion and the fourth winding portion” as claimed in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujimoto et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0108939 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Fujimoto et al., hereinafter referred to as “Fujimoto,” teaches a device 10 (FIGs. 1-5) including an inversely coupled inductor structure 20 (FIG. 2 shows inversely coupled inductor 20 with “opposite polarities,” para. [0041]), the device comprising:
a first magnetic core piece 242;
a conductive first winding portion 23A on at least a portion of the first magnetic core piece;
an electrical insulator (“insulating part” of winding portion 23A and or winding portion 23B, not expressly shown, para. [0053]) on at least a portion of the first winding portion;
a conductive second winding portion 23B covering the insulator, wherein at least a portion of the second winding portion overlaps, and is separated by the insulator from, at least an underlying portion of the first winding portion; and
a second magnetic core piece 241, on the second winding portion (paras. [0040], [0041], [0052] and [0053]).
With respect to claim 2, Fujimoto teaches the device of claim 1, wherein a first input node 21A and a second input node 21B are located on a first side (front side closer to wall 50a, annotated FIG. 4 above) of the inversely coupled inductor structure, wherein the first input node is a first switch node terminal (terminal of switch SW1, FIG. 1) and the second input node is a second switch node terminal (terminal of SW2) (paras. [0036] and [0057]).
With respect to claim 3, Fujimoto teaches the device of claim 2, wherein a first output voltage terminal 22A and a second output voltage terminal 22B are located on a second side (side closer to inductor 30) of the inversely coupled inductor structure, and wherein the second side is opposite the first side (para. [0057]).
With respect to claim 12, Fujimoto teaches the device of claim 1, wherein an outer surface of at least one of the first magnetic core piece or the second magnetic core piece is flat (para. [0052]).
With respect to claim 13, Fujimoto teaches a method of fabricating an inversely coupled inductor structure 20 (FIGs. 1-5), the method comprising:
providing a first magnetic core piece 242;
locating a first winding portion 23A in or on the first magnetic core piece;
forming an insulator (“insulating part” of winding portion 23A and or winding portion 23B, not expressly shown, para. [0053]) on at least a portion of the first winding portion;
locating a second winding portion 23B in or on the first magnetic core piece overlapping at least an underlying portion of the insulator and the first winding portion; and
locating a second magnetic core piece 241 on the second winding (paras. [0040], [0052] and [0053]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dadafshar et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2006/0145800 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Dadafshar et al., hereinafter referred to as “Dadafshar,” teaches a Trans-Inductor Voltage Regulator (TLVR) circuit (FIGs. 4a-4c), comprising:
a first magnetic core piece 406;
a first winding portion 409a (annotated FIG. 4a) located on at least a portion of the first magnetic core piece;
an insulator 417 on at least a portion of the first winding portion;
a second winding portion 409b located at least in part on the insulator and overlapping at least an underlying portion of the first winding portion, wherein the first winding portion and the second winding portion form a winding structure having a first end (outer periphery end adjacent to winding portion 409c) and a second end (outer periphery end adjacent to winding portion 409d) opposite the first end;
a third winding portion 409c proximate the first end of the winding structure;
a fourth winding portion 409d proximate the second end of the winding structure; and
a second magnetic core portion 408 located above the winding structure, the third winding portion, and the fourth winding portion (para. [0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto, as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Ji et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0219648 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Fujimoto teaches the device of claim 3. Fujimoto does not expressly teach the first switch node terminal is located substantially across the inversely coupled inductor structure from the second output voltage terminal, and wherein the second switch node terminal is located substantially across the coupled inductor structure from the first output voltage terminal.
Ji et al., hereinafter referred to as “Ji,” teaches a device (FIGs. 3 and 4), wherein the first switch node terminal 51 is located substantially across the inversely coupled inductor structure from the second output voltage terminal 53, and wherein the second switch node terminal 52 is located substantially across the coupled inductor structure from the first output voltage terminal 54 (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the switch node terminals and output terminals as taught by Ji to the device of Fujimoto to increase distance between the switch node terminals and output terminals to reduce short circuiting.
With respect to claim 11, Fujimoto in view of Ji teaches the device of claim 4, wherein at least one of the first switch node terminal, the second switch node terminal, the first output voltage terminal, or the second output voltage terminal is bent to enable to the inversely coupled inductor structure to be assembled in a surface mount device (Fujimoto, para. [0057]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto, in view of Ji, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0323709 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Fujimoto in view of Ji teaches the device of claim 4. Fujimoto in view of Ji does not expressly teach a first gap and a second gap formed between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the first gap and the second gap are substantially parallel to each other.
Chen teaches a device (FIG. 6), comprising:
a first gap 505A and a second gap 505B formed between the first magnetic core piece 503 and the second magnetic core piece 501, wherein the first gap and the second gap are substantially parallel to each other (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second gaps as taught by Chen to the device of Fujimoto in view of Ji to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 6, Fujimoto in view of Ji and Chen teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the first gap spans a width (distance in into the page direction) of the inversely coupled inductor structure (magnetic core and coil structure) between the first side and the second side (front and back side) of the inversely coupled inductor structure between the first switch node terminal and the second output voltage terminal, and wherein the second gap spans a width of the inversely coupled inductor structure between the second switch node terminal and the first output voltage terminal (Chen, para. [0047]). The combination of the cited references would have the claimed features.
With respect to claim 7, Fujimoto in view of Ji and Chen teaches the device of claim 5, wherein an inverse coupling between the first winding portion and the second winding portion of the inversely coupled inductor structure is present with a strength based on a thickness of at least one of the first gap or the second gap (Chen, para. [0047]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Ji and Chen, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Xiong et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0113058 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Fujimoto in view of Ji and Chen teaches the device of claim 5. Fujimoto in view of Ji and Chen does not expressly teach
a third gap and a fourth gap formed between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the third gap is located on one of the first side or the second side, and the fourth gap is located on the other of the first side or the second side, and wherein the third gap and the fourth gap are substantially parallel to each other.
Xiong et al., hereinafter referred to as “Xiong,” teaches a device (FIGs. 2A-5) comprising:
a third gap 404a (FIG. 5) and a fourth gap 404b formed between the first magnetic core piece 401 and the second magnetic core piece 403, wherein the third gap is located on one of the first side (left side)
With respect to claim 9, Fujimoto in view of Ji, Chen and Xiong teaches the device of claim 8, wherein a level of saturation current of the inversely coupled inductor structure is based on a thickness of at least one of the third gap or the fourth gap (Xiong, para. [0030]).
With respect to claim 10, Fujimoto in view of Ji, Chen and Xiong teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the first core piece is affixed to the second core piece (Fujimoto, para. [0052]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto, as applied to claim 13 above, in view of Chen.
With respect to claim 14, Fujimoto teaches the method of claim 13. Fujimoto does not expressly teach
forming a first gap and a second gap between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the first gap and the second gap are substantially parallel to each other, to establish an inverse coupling of the inversely coupled inductor structure having a strength that is based on a thickness of at least one of the first gap or the second gap.
Chen teaches a method of fabricating an inversely coupled inductor structure (FIG. 6), comprising:
forming a first gap 505A and a second gap 505B between the first magnetic core piece 503 and the second magnetic core piece 501, wherein the first gap and the second gap are substantially parallel to each other, to establish an inverse coupling of the inversely coupled inductor structure having a strength that is based on a thickness of at least one of the first gap or the second gap (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second gaps as taught by Chen to the method of Fujimoto to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 15, Fujimoto teaches the method of claim 13. Fujimoto does not expressly teach
forming a first gap and a second gap between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the first gap is located on a first end of the inversely coupled inductor structure and wherein the second gap is located on a second end of the inversely coupled inductor structure opposite the first end such that the first gap and the second gap are parallel to each other.
Chen teaches a method of fabricating an inversely coupled inductor structure (FIG. 6), comprising:
forming a first gap 505A and a second gap 505B between the first magnetic core piece 503 and the second magnetic core piece 501, wherein the first gap is located on a first end (left end) of the inversely coupled inductor structure and wherein the second gap is located on a second end (right end) of the inversely coupled inductor structure opposite the first end such that the first gap and the second gap are parallel to each other (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second gaps as taught by Chen to the method of Fujimoto to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto, as applied to claim 12 above, in view of Xiong.
With respect to claim 16, The method of claim 13, further comprising:
forming a third gap and a fourth gap between the first magnetic core piece and the second magnetic core piece, wherein the third gap is located on a first side of the inversely coupled inductor structure and the fourth gap is located on a second side of the inversely coupled inductor structure opposite the first side such that the third gap and the fourth gap are parallel to each other.
Xiong teaches a device (FIGs. 2A-5) comprising:
forming a third gap 404a (FIG. 5) and a fourth gap 404b between the first magnetic core piece 401 and the second magnetic core piece 403, wherein the third gap is located on a first side (left side) of the inversely coupled inductor structure and the fourth gap is located on a second side (right side) of the inversely coupled inductor structure opposite the first side such that the third gap and the fourth gap are parallel to each other (para. [0030]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the third and fourth gaps as taught by Xiong to the method of Fujimoto to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dadafshar, as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Katagiri et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0040415 A1).
With respect to claim 18, Dadafshar teaches the TLVR circuit of claim 17. Dadafshar does not expressly teach a terminal of the third winding portion is connected to a terminal of the fourth winding portion to couple the third winding portion and the fourth winding portion to the winding structure.
Katagiri et al., hereinafter referred to as “Katagiri,” teaches a Trans-inductor Voltage Regulator (TLVR) (FIG. 4), wherein a terminal (end) of the third winding portion 32a is connected to a terminal (end) of the fourth winding portion 33a or 32b to couple the third winding portion and the fourth winding portion to the winding structure (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the winding portion coupling as taught by Katagiri to the TLVR circuit of Dadafshar to provide the required output voltage.
With respect to claim 19, Dadafshar teaches the TLVR circuit of claim 17, wherein at least one of the third winding portion or the fourth winding portion has a one-to-one turns ratio with the first winding portion or the second winding portion (para. [0107]). Dadafshar does not expressly teach the first winding portion and the second winding portion are primary side winding portions, wherein the third winding portion and the fourth winding portion are secondary side winding portions.
Katagiri teaches a Trans-inductor Voltage Regulator (TLVR) circuit (FIG. 4), wherein first winding portion 31a and the second winding portion31b are primary side winding portions, wherein the third winding portion 32a and or 33a and the fourth winding portion 32b and or 33b are secondary side winding portions (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the primary and secondary sides as taught by Katagiri to the TLVR circuit of Dadafshar to provide the required winding turn ratio.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dadafshar, as applied to claim 17 above, in view of Fujimoto.
With respect to claim 20, Dadafshar teaches the TLVR circuit of claim 17. Dadafshar does not expressly teach a compensation inductor connected to the third winding portion and the fourth winding portion.
Fujimoto teaches a Trans-inductor Voltage Regulator 10 (TLVR) (FIG. 2), comprising a compensation inductor 33 or 43 connected to the third winding portion 23A and the fourth winding portion 23B (para. [0050]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the compensation inductor as taught by Fujimoto to the TLVR circuit of Dadafshar to smooth the output of the TLVR circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837