DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The reply filed 04/06/2026 is filed. Claims 1, 4, 6-8, and 13 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claim 8, filed 04/06/2026, has overcome the claim objection set forth in the Non-Final Rejection 10/08/2025. Therefore, the claim objection to claim 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 6 and 13, filed 04/06/2026, have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection set forth in the Non-Final Rejection 10/08/2025. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 6 and 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 13, filed 04/06/2026, have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth in the Non-Final Rejection 10/08/2025. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-7 and 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed 04/06/2026, with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks regarding Yan U.S. 2021/0398104 and Kurian et al. U.S. 2019/0303939, alone or in combination, not disclosing or suggesting a smart code module that is able to communicate with or have knowledge of other digital wallets within a device on pg. 10, the currently claimed invention is not claiming a smart code module communicating with or having knowledge of other digital wallets within a device. The limitation “analyzing, by the digital wallet select module, the organized parsed result to determine a digital wallet of a plurality of digital wallets of the first computing entity for processing the digital asset-based interaction” is claiming a smart code module that is analyzing information to determine a digital wallet, not a smart code module that is communicating with other digital wallets or a smart code module that has knowledge of other digital wallets of the first computing entity. Furthermore, the Non-Final Rejection 10/08/2025 has presented the teachings of Yan in view of Kurian and how it reads on the current claim language on pgs. 9-10. The remarks have failed to provide any adequate arguments regarding the combination itself or the specific citations used in Yan and Kurian to teach the claim limitations. Therefore, there are on further remarks that need to be addressed. For purposes of brevity, please see below for the mappings and rationale.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the determined the digital wallet the determined the digital wallet” should be “the determined , the determined Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan U.S. 2021/0398104 in view of Kurian et al. U.S. 2019/0303939 (herein referred to as “Kurian”).
Re Claim 1, Yan discloses a method comprises:
initiating, by a digital asset-based interaction interface of a digital asset-based interaction asset management unit of a first computing entity of a digital asset-based interaction system (Fig. 3A - interface of digital asset application), a digital asset-based interaction with a second computing entity ([0071] – payer-initiated transactions, [0141] – payer/user/cardholder using UNode, i.e. the computing entity, for scanning code to send currency, i.e. amount of digital assets, to recipient/merchant, i.e. second computing entity), wherein the digital asset-based interaction interface is associated with a digital asset-based interaction computing entity of the digital asset-based interaction system ([0041], Fig. 3A - interface is displayed on a UNode, Fig. 4A – UNode 502 (cardholder 11) associated with blockchain transacting network);
Instant specification [0245] - “modules,” as defined in the instant specification, are directed to the specific functions that are being performed. The instant specification discloses in [0102] that more or less modules are possible as long as the functionality is included in other features and/or components. Therefore, under the broadest, most reasonable interpretation, a UNode is analogous to a smart module that can encompass a plurality of sub-modules to carry out the functions.
detecting, by a code capturing module of a smart code module of the digital asset-based interaction interface, a scannable code regarding the digital asset-based interaction [0193] – “provides to the cardholder 11 one or more transaction code(s) such as a QR code, bar code, etc…associated with a given transaction such that the cardholder 11 my scan (e.g. via a camera linked to their digital wallet interface)”;
capturing, via a scanning device of the first computing entity, the scannable code ([0136], [0193] – camera to scan barcode, QR code, etc.);
digitizing, by the code capturing module, the scannable code to produce a digitized code ([0193] – cardholder can scan the transaction code via a camera or application, [0194] – obtaining the information from using the camera to scan the transaction code is reasonably interpreted to be analogous to digitizing the code to produce a digitized code because the obtained information is analogous to a digitized code, i.e. code/information in a digital format);
scanning, by a code parser of the smart code module, the digitized code to produce a string of tokens ([0194] – distinguishing the different information included in the transaction code, such as an identifier associated with foreign and/or domestic bank, fiat currency amount etc. is analogous to scanning the obtained information, i.e. digitized code, to produce the distinct information elements, i.e. a string of tokens);
parsing, by the code parser of the smart code module, the string of tokens to produce an organized parsed result ([0141] - “the wallet address, transaction value (i.e. an amount), currency (i.e. digital asset type), recipient name (i.e. second computing entity information), and other additional information may be prefilled within the create transaction page,” the details may be obtained “by any mechanism referred to herein (e.g. scanning a QR code),” prefilling the transaction page with the obtained details is analogous to “parsing” because the details are divided, or analyzed, into different parts, such that the categories of information can be filled out with the appropriate, obtained detail, i.e. organized parsed result – see Fig. 3B - “wallet address,” “transaction value,” “currency,” etc.);
determining, by the code parser, to communicate the organized parsed result to a digital wallet select module of the smart code module ([0141] – “a digital wallet application may include a create transaction page 302,” the transaction details that populate the fields may be obtained by scanning a QR code. The digital wallet application receives the parsed details, therefore, the parsed details, i.e. organized parsed result, is communicated to the digital wallet application);
analyzing, by the digital wallet select module, the organized parsed result to determine a digital wallet […] for processing the digital asset-based interaction ([0124] – “The digital wallet application (of a UNode) may…intelligently (i.e. analyze) select the best payment method (e.g. select among a plurality of optional token based payment cards and/or fiat based payment cards) for a given transaction,” thereby suggesting the digital wallet application may select based on the type of currency, i.e. based on analyzing the organized parsed result, which includes digital asset type. Examiner is interpreting a digital payment as taught in Yan to be analogous to a digital wallet as required by the claims since one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a digital wallet can contain one digital payment);
selecting, by the digital asset select module, the digital wallet to process the digital asset-based interaction [0124] – “The digital wallet application (of a UNode) may…intelligently select the best payment method (e.g. select among a plurality of optional token based payment cards and/or fiat based payment cards) for a given transaction”; and
providing, by the smart code module, one or more of the scannable code and the organized parsed result to the determined digital wallet ([0141] – “a digital wallet application may include a create transaction page,” details for the transaction may be obtained by “scanning a QR code” using the UNode, i.e. smart code module, to prefill the page with transaction details, therefore, the QR code and prefilled details are provided to the digital wallet application).
Yan discloses determining a digital payment for processing the digital asset-based interaction. However, Yan does not expressly disclose that such digital payment is
a digital wallet of a plurality of digital wallets of the first computing entity.
Kurian discloses a cryptocurrency storage distribution. Specifically, Kurian discloses
a digital wallet of a plurality of digital wallets of the first computing entity Fig. 4, [0080] – “The smart digital wallets 410a-410e may contain different cryptocurrencies and/or may correspond to user accounts designated for particular purposes,” “For example, the index or key may indicate that smart digital wallet 410a stores a first cryptocurrency “B1” designated for general use.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan’s system and method for transaction processing with the teachings of providing a plurality of digital wallets for particular purposes in Kurian. One would be motivated to make this combination to improve the user’s budgeting and organization of funds by allowing a user to have multiple digital wallets to transact with for different purposes Kurian, [0020].
Re Claim 2, Yan in view of Kurian teach the method of claim 1, and Yan in view of Kurian further teach further comprises:
determining, by code parser module, that the organized parsed result indicates that the digital asset-based interaction can be processed by the digital asset-based interaction asset management unit (Yan, [0124] – “The digital wallet application (of a UNode) may…intelligently select the best payment method (e.g. select among a plurality of optional token based payment cards and/or fiat based payment cards) for a given transaction,” selecting the best payment method for a given transaction, i.e. organized parsed result indicates, implies that the transaction can be processed by the digital wallet application);
communicating, by the code parser, interaction information of the organized parsed result to an interaction module of the smart code module, wherein the interaction information includes a digital asset type for the digital asset-based interaction, second computing entity information, and an amount of the digital asset-based interaction (Yan, [0141] - “the wallet address, transaction value (i.e. an amount), currency (i.e. digital asset type), recipient name (i.e. second computing entity information), and other additional information may be prefilled within the create transaction page,” [0195] – transaction details are provided to the UNode); and
facilitating, by the digital asset-based interaction interface, the digital asset-based interaction using a real-time digital asset-based interaction process and a non-real time digital asset-based interaction process (Yan, [0196] – “the amount of tokens may be transferred (in real-time or near real-time, i.e. non-real time),” [0197] – “cardholder may be authenticated by the blockchain…(in real-time or near real time).” Authentication and transferring of tokens are separate steps, since each of the steps occur and can be performed in real-time or near real-time, i.e. non-real time, the entire transaction process can reasonably encompass both real-time interaction and non-real time interaction processes).
Re Claim 3, Yan in view of Kurian teach the method of claim 1, and Yan in view of Kurian further teach wherein the organized parsed result includes a type of the scannable code (Yan, [0193] – “one or more transaction code(s) such as a QR code, bar code…associated with a given transaction,” the parsed transaction details are analogous to an organized parsed result [0141], and since they can be obtained via a scannable code, the organized parsed result therefore includes a type of scannable code).
Re Claim 4, Yan in view of Kurian teach the method of claim 1, and Yan in view of Kurian further teach wherein the selecting the determined digital wallet to process the digital asset-based interaction further comprises:
determining, by the digital wallet select module, whether the determined digital wallet is available (Yan, [0157] – “ensure the cardholder has sufficient funds,” i.e. a digital wallet with sufficient funds is “available”); and
when the determined digital wallet is not available:
displaying, by the smart code module, an error message on the display of the first computing entity (Yan, [0187] – “checks the amount of available funds,” “may present an “approved” or “declined” message that the cardholder 11 can view on a display of POS device 41 or cardholder 11’s wallet”).
Re Claim 5, Yan in view of Kurian teach the method of claim 1, and Yan in view of Kurian further teach comprises:
obtaining, by the digital asset-based interaction interface, an indication from the determined digital wallet that the digital asset-based interaction is complete (Yan, [0124] – “A digital wallet can further be configured to receive receipts, enter data, provide confirmations (e.g., signatures), scan codes, and/or receive feedbacks as to whether or not a payment for a proposed transaction was successful or failed”); and
automatically reopening, by the digital asset-based interaction interface, the digital asset-based interaction asset management unit (Yan, [0195] – “the cardholder 11 entering the amount responsive to a prompt triggered at the card holder 11’s UNode 502 upon scanning the transaction code,” thereby suggesting the digital wallet application automatically reopens upon scanning).
Re Claims 8-12, they are the system claims of method claims 1-5, respectively. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 1-5. Therefore, they are rejected for similar reasons above. Furthermore, Yan discloses a computing device Fig. 10, 1000 i.e. user computing device, a display 1012, an interactive interface Fig. 3A, i.e. digital asset-based interaction interface, camera for scanning [0137], i.e. a scanning device, a plurality of payment methods [0124], i.e. a plurality of digital wallets, and a digital wallet application [0124], i.e. a digital asset-based interaction asset management unit. The modules, as defined in [0245] of the instant specification, are functions implemented within a device such as a processor or other hardware. Therefore, the modules are software components defined by the method steps, which are taught above.
Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan U.S. 2021/0398104 in view of Kurian et al. U.S. 2019/0303939 (herein referred to as “Kurian”) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of 20180260867 (herein referred to as “Lin”).
Re Claim 6, Yan in view of Kurian teach the method of claim 1, however, Yan in view of Kurian do not explicitly teach wherein the providing the organized result to the determined digital wallet causes the determined digital wallet to automatically open.
Lin discloses a system for purchasing goods. Specifically, Lin discloses
causes the determined digital wallet to automatically open ([0123] – “send a request for authorization to the main digital wallet,” [0124] – “The request may be sent as a push notification. The main digital wallet may comprise a function to authorize the payment or, alternatively, a reply to the push notification may comprise the authorization,” thereby suggesting the main digital wallet must be opened to reply to the push notification).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan in view of Kurian’s system and method for transaction processing with the teachings of causing a main digital wallet to open in Lin to better inform the user for payment processing efficiency. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. Therefore, the combination of prior art elements according to known methods would yield predictable results and renders the claim obvious.
Re Claim 7, Yan in view of Kurian teach the method of claim 1, however, Yan in view of Kurian do not explicitly teach wherein the selecting the determined digital wallet further comprises: presenting, by the smart code module, a message to a user of the first computing entity, wherein the message presents an option to open the determined digital wallet.
Lin discloses a system for purchasing goods. Specifically, Lin discloses
presenting, by the smart code module, a message to a user of the first computing entity, wherein the message presents an option to open the determined digital wallet ([0123] – “send a request for authorization to the main digital wallet,” [0124] – “The request may be sent as a push notification (i.e. message). The main digital wallet may comprise a function to authorize the payment or, alternatively, a reply to the push notification may comprise the authorization.” A push notification in it of itself is an option to open the corresponding application, i.e. the application will open if one clicks on the push notification, the application will not open if one does not click on the push notification).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan in view of Kurian’s system and method for transaction processing with the teachings of presenting a push notification in Lin to better inform the user for payment processing efficiency. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. Therefore, the combination of prior art elements according to known methods would yield predictable results and renders the claim obvious.
Re Claims 13-14, they are the system claims of method claims 6-7, respectively. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 6-7. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3698