Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicant’s amendment which was filed on 12/18/2025 and has been entered. Claims 1, 18 and 19 have been amended. Claim 9 has been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-8, 10-21 are pending in this application, with claims 1, 10 and 19 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 with regards to claims 1, 18 and 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Amendments to claims 1 and 18 recite “perform learning to generate a modified SIM selection system based on the selected SIM component and the SIM selection criterion”. Alan discloses a feedback-based SIM selection process in which prior SIM selections and conditions associated with those selections are reused to improve future SIM selection decisions ([0036]). Indurkur further teaches dynamically modifying SIM selection procedure based on network condition and operational feedback (col. 3). Indurkar improves SIM selection of Alan by modifying the selection process based on the learned feedback.
Amendment to claim 19 recites wherein the respective selection criterion comprises at least one of a time-based selection criterion or a location-based criterion. Alan discloses para. [0032] “the data that may be collected, tracked, monitored, and/or otherwise analyzed for a given asset may include outputs of sensors within the asset, locations of the asset, and/or the like” which corresponds to the claimed location-based criterion.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of claim 10 has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Publication No. 2016/0295550 (“Sharma et al.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2023/0189354 (“Alan”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,140,543 (“Indurkar”).
Regarding claim 1, Alan discloses a work vehicle ([0032] vehicle or drone), comprising: a propulsion system; a steering system (propulsion and steering are inherent on a vehicle); a set of work functionality ([0032] assets such as a fleet of vehicles); and
a telecommunication system ([0032] telematics device 100), comprising:
a plurality of subscriber identification module (SIM) components ([0005] multi SIM telematic device);
a modem (fig. 1 wireless interface 160); and
a SIM selection system that detects a SIM selection criterion and selects a SIM component, of the plurality of SIM components, as a selected SIM component based on the SIM selection criterion and automatically connects the selected SIM component to the modem ([0040] software configured to select the SIM profile from a plurality of available SIM profiles prior to the attempt. The sequence or priority of SIM profiles to be used for selection in subprocess 220 may be predefined by a developer and/or configurable by an operator; Fig. 2, connection attempt with selected SIM at task 230).
Alan discloses a feedback-based SIM selection process in which prior SIM selections and conditions associated with those selections are reused to improve future SIM selection decisions ([0036]) corresponding to “a SIM selection learning system configured to receive a learning input indicative of the selected SIM component and the SIM selection criterion. In a similar field of endeavor, Indurkar additionally discloses a system for managing eSIM profiles on a device. The monitoring process serves as the data collection for the learning loop by gathering information on how well the currently selected eSIM profile performs. The server uses the analysis as feedback to dynamically updated the communication-selection configurations and modifying selection rules corresponding to the claimed “perform learning to generate a modified SIM selection system based on the selected SIM component and the SIM selection criterion”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Indurkar with Alan to apply adaptive policy modification to improve SIM selection efficiency and responsiveness to network conditions.
Regarding claim 2, Alan discloses the work vehicle of claim 1 wherein the SIM selection system processes a carrier availability signal indicative of whether cellular service is available at the telecommunication system using the selected SIM component ([0028] two or more SIM slots 170A and 170B hold respective SIM cards, the cellular communications interface may be configured to use the SIM profile of either SIM card to perform cellular communications, and switch between the SIM profiles to be used for cellular communications under control of processor).
Regarding claim 3, Alan discloses the work vehicle of claim 2 wherein the SIM selection system comprises: a time-based selection system that aggregates, as an aggregated time value, a time during which the carrier availability signal indicates that the cellular service is unavailable to the telecommunication system and generates a SIM selection output based on the aggregated time value ([0038] The retry scale represents the scale or unit of time of the retry interval. For example, the value of the retry scale may indicate seconds, minutes, hours, days, or the like. A default value of the retry scale may be predefined by a developer and may be configurable by an operator of telematic device 100, selection of the SIM changes when the connection attempt fails).
Regarding claim 4, Alan discloses the work vehicle of claim 3 wherein the time-based selection system comprises: a comparison system that compares the aggregated time value to a threshold time value to obtain a comparison result and generates the SIM selection output based on the comparison result ([0038] the threshold result corresponding to the retry interval).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Alan discloses the work vehicle of claim 2 wherein the carrier availability signal is indicative of cellular signal strength ([0036] An iteration of algorithm 200 may be performed in response to a determination to establish a connection to a wireless communication network using a SIM profile. This determination may be triggered a determination that the new connection is preferable based on one or more performance characteristics e.g., received signal strength indicator (RSSI), etc.), wherein the SIM selection system comprises: a signal strength-based selection system that generates a SIM selection output based on the cellular signal strength ([0036] algorithm 200 may be initiated in response to a determination to switch from a first SIM profile to a second SIM profile).
Regarding claim 19, Alan discloses a computer implemented method of controlling a telecommunication system on a work vehicle, comprising:
detecting a respective selection criterion for each subscriber identification module (SIM) component of a plurality of SIM components on the telecommunication system ([0040] The sequence or priority of SIM profiles to be used for selection in subprocess 220 may be predefined by a developer and/or configurable by an operator), wherein the respective selection criterion comprises at least one of a time-based selection criterion or a location-based criterion ([0032] The data that may be collected, tracked, monitored, and/or otherwise analyzed for a given asset may include outputs of sensors within the asset, locations of the asset, and/or the like);
selecting a SIM component, of the plurality of SIM components on the telecommunication system, as a selected SIM component based on the comparison ([0040] software configured to select the SIM profile from a plurality of available SIM profiles prior to the attempt); automatically connecting the selected SIM component to a modem; and performing communication using the selected SIM component fig. 2, connection attempt with selected SIM at task 230).
Alan does not specify “performing a comparison comparing the respective selection criterions of the plurality of SIM components”. In a similar field of endeavor, Indurkar discloses a system for managing eSIM profiles on a device. The monitoring process serves as the data collection for the learning loop by gathering information on how well the currently selected eSIM profile performs. The server uses the analysis as feedback to select [a different] optimal eSIM profile from the pool of available options corresponding to the claimed learning process (fig. 2 and corresponding description in col. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Indurkar with Alan because the continuous feedback loop allows the SIM selection to generate improved SIM selection process over time through learning.
Regarding claim 20, Alan in view of Indurkar discloses the computer implemented method of claim 19 and further comprising:
performing an operation with the work vehicle (Alan, [0045] algorithm for attempting a connection to a wireless communication network, in a multi-SIM telematic device includes adjustments, corresponding to claimed learning);
updating detection of the respective selection criterion for each SIM component of the plurality of SIM components on the telecommunication system to obtain an updated respective selection criterion for each SIM component of the plurality of SIM components on the telecommunication system; automatically updating selection of a SIM component, of the plurality of SIM components on the telecommunication system, as an updated selected SIM based on the comparison; automatically connecting the updated selected SIM component to a modem; and performing communication using the updated selected SIM component (Indurkar, Fig. 2, the processing of block 204 may comprise looking up an eSIM profile identity based on the system operating environment by the eSIM profile adapter application. The processing of block 204 may comprise a server selecting an identity of a suitable eSIM profile based on the system operating environment. The server may then send the identity of the eSIM profile to the eSIM profile adapter application. At block 206, the method 200 comprises activating the selected eSIM profile on the eUICC by the eSIM profile adapter application.)
Regarding claim 21, Alan discloses the computer implemented method of claim 19, wherein the selection criterion comprises signal strength (Alan, [0036] An iteration of algorithm 200 may be performed in response to a determination to establish a connection to a wireless communication network using a SIM profile. This determination may be triggered a determination that the new connection is preferable based on one or more performance characteristics e.g., received signal strength indicator (RSSI), etc.), wherein the SIM selection system comprises: a signal strength-based selection system that generates a SIM selection output based on the cellular signal strength ([0036] algorithm 200 may be initiated in response to a determination to switch from a first SIM profile to a second SIM profile).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2023/0189354 (“Alan”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,140,543 (“Indurkar”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0358798 (“Okawa et al.”).
Regarding claim 7, Alan discloses tracking information for a fleet of vehicles attempting a connection to a wireless communication network but does not specify wherein the SIM selection system comprises: a location-based selection system that obtains location-based SIM selection criteria and generates a SIM selection output based on the location-based SIM selection criteria.
In a similar field of endeavor, Okawa et al. discloses the telematics control unit 512 switches one or more SIM interfaces to connect the navigation device 500 to a network such as a mobile phone network using any of several SIM interfaces ([0105]). The SIM selecting unit 602 receives the information specifying a location, and specifies a communication service for which the location is included in the service area. Specifically, the operation processing unit 501 overlaps the input location with the map information stored in the storage device 503 to determine whether the input location is overlapped with the communication area information of various communication services ([0111]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use vehicle location as SIM selection criteria as disclosed by Okawa et al. because service coverage is directly affected by device location, thus a SIM card having a restriction in an available situation is included as a selection target, the SIM card may not actually be in an available situation, and as a result, the selected SIM card may not be appropriate.
Regarding claim 8, Alan in view of Okawa discloses the work vehicle of claim 7 wherein the location-based selection system comprises: a coverage map processor that receives, as the location-based SIM selection criteria, a location indicator indicative of a geographic location of the work vehicle, accesses a coverage map to identify a SIM component, of the plurality of SIM components, to select based on the geographic location of the work vehicle, and generates a SIM selection output based on the identified SIM component (Okawa, Fig. 10, [0096] a data structure of a service area storing unit 600 with information of an approximate latitude longitude 600A considered as approximating a predetermined representative spot on the map and a spot around that predetermined representative spot, and an available service 600B in the approximate latitude longitude 600A are associated and stored. The location of the vehicle at each spot included in a predetermined range centered on the location specified by the latitude and longitude specified by the approximate latitude longitude 600A is assigned the available service and thus the corresponding SIM selection).
Claims 10-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2023/0189354 (“Alan”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,140,543 (“Indurkar”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0295550 (“Sharma et al.”).
Regarding claim 10, Alan discloses a telecommunication system on a work vehicle ([0032] telematics device 100) on a vehicle), comprising:
a plurality of subscriber identification module (SIM) components ([0005] multi SIM telematic device);
a modem (fig. 1 wireless interface 160);
a location sensor that detects a location of the work vehicle ([0025] Telematic device 100 may comprise one or a plurality of sensors 140, which can include a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receiver to identify the location (e.g., coordinates comprising latitude, longitude, and elevation) of telematic device 100);
a SIM selection system that detects a SIM selection criterion ([0040] The sequence or priority of SIM profiles to be used for selection in subprocess 220 may be predefined by a developer and/or configurable by an operator) and selects a SIM component, of the plurality of SIM components, as a selected SIM component based on the SIM selection criterion ([0040] software configured to select the SIM profile from a plurality of available SIM profiles prior to the attempt) and automatically connects the selected SIM component to the modem; fig. 2, connection attempt with selected SIM at task 230).
Alan does not specify “a SIM selection learning system configured to receive a learning input indicative of the selected SIM component and the SIM selection criterion and performs learning to generate a modified SIM selection system”. In a similar field of endeavor, Indurkar discloses a system for managing eSIM profiles on a device. The monitoring process serves as the data collection for the learning loop by gathering information on how well the currently selected eSIM profile performs. The server uses the analysis as feedback to select [a different] optimal eSIM profile from the pool of available options corresponding to the claimed learning process. For example, if the device reports poor connectivity with profile A in a particular location, the server may learn to select Profile B for the same or similar location in the future (fig. 2 and corresponding description in col. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Indurkar with Alan because the continuous feedback loop allows the SIM selection to generate improved SIM selection process over time through learning.
Alan in view of Indurkar does not specify “a map learning system that generates a map that indicates the SIM selection criterion and the selected SIM component corresponding to the location of the work vehicle.”
In the same field of endeavor, Sharma et al. discloses a system of creating the mapping table between the serving cells of the second SIM to a cell of the first SIM. The mapping table is created by the DSDS device 302 based on a historic mobility pattern associated with the first SIM or the second SIM illustrated in Fig. 5 and Table 1 ([0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mapping techniques of Sharma et al. with Alan and Indurkar in order to improve the efficiency and accuracy of the SIM selection method by utilizing historical data on association between location, selection criterion and selected SIM.
Regarding claim 11, Alan discloses the work vehicle wherein the SIM selection system processes a carrier availability signal indicative of whether cellular service is available at the telecommunication system using the selected SIM component ([0028] two or more SIM slots 170A and 170B hold respective SIM cards, the cellular communications interface may be configured to use the SIM profile of either SIM card to perform cellular communications, and switch between the SIM profiles to be used for cellular communications under control of processor).
Regarding claim 12, Alan discloses the work vehicle of claim 2 wherein the SIM selection system comprises: a time-based selection system that aggregates, as an aggregated time value, a time during which the carrier availability signal indicates that the cellular service is unavailable to the telecommunication system and generates a SIM selection output based on the aggregated time value ([0038] The retry scale represents the scale or unit of time of the retry interval. For example, the value of the retry scale may indicate seconds, minutes, hours, days, or the like. A default value of the retry scale may be predefined by a developer and may be configurable by an operator of telematic device 100, selection of the SIM changes when the connection attempt fails).
Regarding claim 13, Alan discloses the work vehicle wherein the time-based selection system comprises: a comparison system that compares the aggregated time value to a threshold time value to obtain a comparison result and generates the SIM selection output based on the comparison result ([0038] the threshold result corresponding to the retry interval).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Alan discloses the work vehicle wherein the carrier availability signal is indicative of cellular signal strength ([0036] An iteration of algorithm 200 may be performed in response to a determination to establish a connection to a wireless communication network using a SIM profile. This determination may be triggered a determination that the new connection is preferable based on one or more performance characteristics e.g., received signal strength indicator (RSSI), etc.), wherein the SIM selection system comprises: a signal strength-based selection system that generates a SIM selection output based on the cellular signal strength ([0036] algorithm 200 may be initiated in response to a determination to switch from a first SIM profile to a second SIM profile).
Regarding claim 18, Alan discloses a feedback-based SIM selection process in which prior SIM selections and conditions associated with those selections are reused to improve future SIM selection decisions ([0036]) corresponding to “a SIM selection learning system configured to receive a learning input indicative of the selected SIM component and the SIM selection criterion. In a similar field of endeavor, Indurkar additionally discloses a system for managing eSIM profiles on a device. The monitoring process serves as the data collection for the learning loop by gathering information on how well the currently selected eSIM profile performs. The server uses the analysis as feedback to dynamically updated the communication-selection configurations and modifying selection rules corresponding to the claimed “perform learning to generate a modified SIM selection system based on the selected SIM component and the SIM selection criterion”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Indurkar with Alan to apply adaptive policy modification to improve SIM selection efficiency and responsiveness to network conditions.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2023/0189354 (“Alan”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,140,543 (“Indurkar”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0295550 (“Sharma et al.”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0358798 (“Okawa et al.”).
Regarding claim 16, Alan discloses tracking information for a fleet of vehicles attempting a connection to a wireless communication network but does not specify wherein the SIM selection system comprises: a location-based selection system that obtains location-based SIM selection criteria and generates a SIM selection output based on the location-based SIM selection criteria.
In a similar field of endeavor, Okawa et al. discloses the telematics control unit 512 switches one or more SIM interfaces to connect the navigation device 500 to a network such as a mobile phone network using any of several SIM interfaces ([0105]). The SIM selecting unit 602 receives the information specifying a location, and specifies a communication service for which the location is included in the service area. Specifically, the operation processing unit 501 overlaps the input location with the map information stored in the storage device 503 to determine whether the input location is overlapped with the communication area information of various communication services ([0111]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use vehicle location as SIM selection criteria as disclosed by Okawa et al. because service coverage is directly affected by device location, thus a SIM card having a restriction in an available situation is included as a selection target, the SIM card may not actually be in an available situation, and as a result, the selected SIM card may not be appropriate.
Regarding claim 17, Alan in view of Okawa discloses the work vehicle wherein the location-based selection system comprises: a coverage map processor that receives, as the location-based SIM selection criteria, a location indicator indicative of a geographic location of the work vehicle, accesses a coverage map to identify a SIM component, of the plurality of SIM components, to select based on the geographic location of the work vehicle, and generates a SIM selection output based on the identified SIM component (Okawa, Fig. 10, [0096] a data structure of a service area storing unit 600 with information of an approximate latitude longitude 600A considered as approximating a predetermined representative spot on the map and a spot around that predetermined representative spot, and an available service 600B in the approximate latitude longitude 600A are associated and stored. The location of the vehicle at each spot included in a predetermined range centered on the location specified by the latitude and longitude specified by the approximate latitude longitude 600A is assigned the available service and thus the corresponding SIM selection).
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693