DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/26/2025 has been entered. Claim 1, 13-14 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10, 13-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sadri et al. (US 20180254805 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Sadri teaches a method comprising, by a module of a wireless communication device (FIG. 3 shows a single architecture that is capable of using well-known WiFi technology, up converting the analog output to the center frequency of the IF (Intermediate Frequency) used for the input to the mmWave array at the desired operating frequency, [0025]):
receiving, from a wireless modem (modem 310 of Fig. 3) associated with the wireless communication device, intermediate frequency (IF) signals (The first MIMO pair is output by the modem 310 to the frequency converter 340, [0027] and Fig. 3) for k spatial layers to be transmitted, wherein each of the k spatial layers occupies a pre-determined bandwidth, and wherein k is two or more (This first up converted MIMO pair of the streams (here the upper 2 streams output by modem 310) are then output after frequency conversion as IF(1)/IF(2) to the vertical pole radio head 322 and horizontal pole radio head 324, respectively, [0027] and Fig. 4);
converting, prior to transmission via the wireless communication device, the IF signals into radio frequency (RF) signals by converting each of the k spatial layers into each of k orthogonal channel bands, wherein neighboring two channel bands among the k orthogonal channel bands are separated by a pre-determined frequency separation that is large enough to avoid interference between the two channel bands (The second MIMO pair (the lower 2 streams output by modem 310) are similarly up converted by the frequency converter 340 to the IF frequency of the array with additional shifting of the carrier performed by the shifters 330/332 by the bandwidth of the 2×2 system. This exemplary configuration uses an 80 MHz capable WiFi system that effectively can produce 2 streams of 80 MHz channels to map the 4×4 system, [0028]; the frequency converter could alternatively be an IF to RF converter, [0031]; Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) ; and
sending the RF signals to a radio-frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) associated with the wireless communication device, wherein the RFIC transmits the RF signals wirelessly (This first up converted MIMO pair of the streams (here the upper 2 streams output by modem 310) are then output after frequency conversion as IF(1)/IF(2) to the vertical pole radio head 322 and horizontal pole radio head 324, respectively, [0027], module 322, 324, 326 of Fig. 3 and Fig. 8, 812).
Regarding claim 2, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the wireless modem is a baseband modem (modem 310 of Fig. 3; The AFE 812 can be functionally located between the antenna and a digital baseband system in order to convert the analog signal into a digital signal for processing and vice-versa, [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the wireless modem is a system on a chip (SoC) comprising a baseband module and an RF module (A system on a chip (SoC) including any one or more of the above aspects, [0118] and the frequency converter could alternatively be an IF to RF converter, [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the RF signals are 60 GHz signals (The antenna array can operate at any frequency(ies), and in accordance with this aspect is shown as capable of operating at 28 GHz, 39 GHz, 60 GHz and 70 GHz, [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the wireless modem sends control parameters to the RFIC through a control interface (In the FIG. 3 architecture, the modem 310 is also optionally connected to a phase array controller 350 which is capable of performing analog beamforming and can be embodied as a FPGA and/or micro controller (uController). The phase array controller can output a signal (WRI) that can control the radio heads 322-328 and associated respective antenna arrays, [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Sadri teaches a method comprising, by a module of a first wireless communication device (FIG. 3 shows a single architecture that is capable of using well-known WiFi technology, up converting the analog output to the center frequency of the IF (Intermediate Frequency) used for the input to the mmWave array at the desired operating frequency, [0025]):
receiving, from an RFIC associated with the first wireless communication device, RF signals received from a second wireless communication device (The first MIMO pair is output by the modem 310 to the frequency converter 340, [0027] and Fig. 3), wherein the RF signals comprise k orthogonal channel bands, and wherein k is two or more (This first up converted MIMO pair of the streams (here the upper 2 streams output by modem 310) are then output after frequency conversion as IF(1)/IF(2) to the vertical pole radio head 322 and horizontal pole radio head 324, respectively, [0027] and Fig. 4);
converting, prior to transmission via the first wireless communication device, the RF signals into IF signals by converting signals from each of the k orthogonal channel bands into each of k spatial layers (The second MIMO pair (the lower 2 streams output by modem 310) are similarly up converted by the frequency converter 340 to the IF frequency of the array with additional shifting of the carrier performed by the shifters 330/332 by the bandwidth of the 2×2 system. This exemplary configuration uses an 80 MHz capable WiFi system that effectively can produce 2 streams of 80 MHz channels to map the 4×4 system, [0028]; the frequency converter could alternatively be an IF to RF converter, [0031]; Fig. 3 and Fig. 4); and
sending the IF signals to a wireless modem associated with the first wireless communication device, wherein the wireless modem decodes data from each of the k spatial layers (This first up converted MIMO pair of the streams (here the upper 2 streams output by modem 310) are then output after frequency conversion as IF(1)/IF(2) to the vertical pole radio head 322 and horizontal pole radio head 324, respectively, [0027], module 322, 324, 326 of Fig. 3 and Fig. 8, 812).
Regarding claim 14, Sadri teaches one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying software that is operable when executed, by a module of a wireless communication device (FIG. 3 shows a single architecture that is capable of using well-known WiFi technology, up converting the analog output to the center frequency of the IF (Intermediate Frequency) used for the input to the mmWave array at the desired operating frequency, [0025]):
receive, from a wireless modem associated with the wireless communication device, intermediate frequency (IF) signals (The first MIMO pair is output by the modem 310 to the frequency converter 340, [0027] and Fig. 3) for k spatial layers to be transmitted, wherein each of the k spatial layers occupies a pre-determined bandwidth, and wherein k is two or more (This first up converted MIMO pair of the streams (here the upper 2 streams output by modem 310) are then output after frequency conversion as IF(1)/IF(2) to the vertical pole radio head 322 and horizontal pole radio head 324, respectively, [0027] and Fig. 4);
convert, prior to transmission via the wireless communication device, the IF signals into radio frequency (RF) signals by converting each of the k spatial layers into each of k orthogonal channel bands, wherein neighboring two channel bands among the k orthogonal channel bands are separated by a pre-determined frequency separation that is large enough to avoid interference between the two channel bands (The second MIMO pair (the lower 2 streams output by modem 310) are similarly up converted by the frequency converter 340 to the IF frequency of the array with additional shifting of the carrier performed by the shifters 330/332 by the bandwidth of the 2×2 system. This exemplary configuration uses an 80 MHz capable WiFi system that effectively can produce 2 streams of 80 MHz channels to map the 4×4 system, [0028]; the frequency converter could alternatively be an IF to RF converter, [0031]; Fig. 3 and Fig. 4); and
send the RF signals to a radio-frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) associated with the wireless communication device, wherein the RFIC transmits the RF signals wirelessly (This first up converted MIMO pair of the streams (here the upper 2 streams output by modem 310) are then output after frequency conversion as IF(1)/IF(2) to the vertical pole radio head 322 and horizontal pole radio head 324, respectively, [0027], module 322, 324, 326 of Fig. 3 and Fig. 8, 812).
Regarding claim 15, Sadri teaches the media of Claim 14, wherein the wireless modem is a baseband modem (modem 310 of Fig. 3; The AFE 812 can be functionally located between the antenna and a digital baseband system in order to convert the analog signal into a digital signal for processing and vice-versa, [0052]).
Regarding claim 17, Sadri teaches the media of Claim 14, wherein the wireless modem is a system on a chip (SoC) comprising a baseband module and an RF module (A system on a chip (SoC) including any one or more of the above aspects, [0118] and the frequency converter could alternatively be an IF to RF converter, [0033]).
Regarding claim 19, Sadri teaches the media of Claim 14, wherein the RFIC is a 60 GHz RFIC, and wherein the RF signals are 60 GHz signals (The antenna array can operate at any frequency(ies), and in accordance with this aspect is shown as capable of operating at 28 GHz, 39 GHz, 60 GHz and 70 GHz, [0030]).
Claims 7-9, 11-12, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadri in view of Lee et al. (US 20230085553 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 1.
However, Sadri does not teach wherein the module is a part of the wireless modem.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the module is a part of the wireless modem (the first communication processor 212, the second communication processor 214, the first RFIC 222, the second RFIC 224, the fourth RFIC 228, the first RFFE 232, and the second RFFE 234 may form at least a part of the wireless communication module, Lee [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the RFIC of Lee to provide a method and an electronic device capable of minimizing desense by adjusting the frequency band of a reference signal for transmission such that the frequency band of the secondary IMD signal does not overlap the frequency band of the RX RF signal, Lee [0005].
Regarding claim 8, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 1.
However, Sadri does not teach wherein the module is a part of the RFIC.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the module is a part of the RFIC (the first communication processor 212, the second communication processor 214, the first RFIC 222, the second RFIC 224, the fourth RFIC 228, the first RFFE 232, and the second RFFE 234 may form at least a part of the wireless communication module, Lee [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the RFIC of Lee to provide a method and an electronic device capable of minimizing desense by adjusting the frequency band of a reference signal for transmission such that the frequency band of the secondary IMD signal does not overlap the frequency band of the RX RF signal, Lee [0005].
Regarding claim 9, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 1.
However, Sadri does not teach wherein the module is on a printed circuit board (PCB).
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the module is on a printed circuit board (PCB) (mmWave antenna module may include a printed circuit board, a RFIC disposed on a first surface (e.g., the bottom surface) of the printed circuit board, Lee [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the RFIC of Lee to provide a method and an electronic device capable of minimizing desense by adjusting the frequency band of a reference signal for transmission such that the frequency band of the secondary IMD signal does not overlap the frequency band of the RX RF signal, Lee [0005].
Regarding claim 11, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 10.
However, Sadri does not teach wherein the control interface is provided with general-purpose input/output (GPIO) pins.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the control interface is provided with general-purpose input/output (GPIO) pins (the above-described components may be coupled mutually and communicate signals (e.g., commands or data) therebetween via an inter-peripheral communication scheme (e.g., a bus, general purpose input and output (GPIO), [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the RFIC of Lee to provide a method and an electronic device capable of minimizing desense by adjusting the frequency band of a reference signal for transmission such that the frequency band of the secondary IMD signal does not overlap the frequency band of the RX RF signal, Lee [0005].
Regarding claim 12, Sadri by Lee teaches the method of Claim 10, Sadri further teaches wherein the control parameters comprise a transmit and receive beam index, a transmit power, or a receive gain index (The modem 310 is also capable of outputting a control signal (CNTL) that can be used by the phase array controller 320 is assist with, for example, beamforming in the array, Sadri [0030]).
Regarding claim 16, Sadri teaches the media of Claim 15.
However, Sadri does not teach wherein the IF signals are analog in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) signals.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the IF signals are analog in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) signals (The first RFIC 222 may convert the preprocessed RF signal into a baseband signal, Lee [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the RFIC of Lee to provide a method and an electronic device capable of minimizing desense by adjusting the frequency band of a reference signal for transmission such that the frequency band of the secondary IMD signal does not overlap the frequency band of the RX RF signal, Lee [0005].
Regarding claim 20, Sadri teaches the media of Claim 14.
However, Sadri does not teach wherein the module is a part of the wireless modem.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the module is a part of the wireless modem (the first communication processor 212, the second communication processor 214, the first RFIC 222, the second RFIC 224, the fourth RFIC 228, the first RFFE 232, and the second RFFE 234 may form at least a part of the wireless communication module, Lee [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the RFIC of Lee to provide a method and an electronic device capable of minimizing desense by adjusting the frequency band of a reference signal for transmission such that the frequency band of the secondary IMD signal does not overlap the frequency band of the RX RF signal, Lee [0005].
Claims 3, 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadri in view of Abbas et al. (US 20200106398 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 2.
However, Sadri does not teach wherein the IF signals are analog in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) signals.
In an analogous art, Abbas teaches wherein the IF signals are analog in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) signals (The communications processor 134 may also include logic to perform in-phase/quadrature (I/Q) operations, such as synthesis, encoding, modulation, demodulation, and decoding. A communications processor 134 may generally be realized as a modem, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the signal transformation of Abbas to provide a method and an electronic device for implementing multiple transformers that can be reconfigured for extended broadband tunability as part of a wireless transceiver as suggested, Abbas [0001].
Regarding claim 5, Sadri teaches the method of Claim 4.
However Sadri does not teach wherein the IF signals are generated by the RF module within the wireless modem.
In an analogous art, Abbas teaches wherein the IF signals are generated by the RF module within the wireless modem (the mixer 130-1 mixes a reference signal produced by a local oscillator (not shown) with the amplified received signal 210-1 to down-convert the received signal 210-1 from one frequency to a lower frequency, such as from a radio frequency (RF) to an intermediate frequency (IF), [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the signal transformation of Abbas to provide a method and an electronic device for implementing multiple transformers that can be reconfigured for extended broadband tunability as part of a wireless transceiver as suggested, Abbas [0001].
Regarding claim 18, Sadri teaches the media of Claim 17.
However, Sadri does not teach wherein the IF signals are generated by the RF module within the wireless modem.
In an analogous art, Abbas teaches wherein the IF signals are generated by the RF module within the wireless modem (the mixer 130-1 mixes a reference signal produced by a local oscillator (not shown) with the amplified received signal 210-1 to down-convert the received signal 210-1 from one frequency to a lower frequency, such as from a radio frequency (RF) to an intermediate frequency (IF), [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal processing of Sadri with the signal transformation of Abbas to provide a method and an electronic device for implementing multiple transformers that can be reconfigured for extended broadband tunability as part of a wireless transceiver as suggested, Abbas [0001].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ketchum et al. (US 20070086536 A1): Channel estimation and spatial processing for a TDD MIMO system. Calibration may be performed to account for differences in the responses of transmit/receive chains at the access point and user terminal. During normal operation, a MIMO pilot is transmitted on a first link and used to derive an estimate of the first link channel response, which is decomposed to obtain a diagonal matrix of singular values and a first unitary matrix containing both left eigenvectors of the first link and right eigenvectors of a second link. A steered reference is transmitted on the second link using the eigenvectors in the first unitary matrix, and is processed to obtain the diagonal matrix and a second unitary matrix containing both left eigenvectors of the second link and right eigenvectors of the first link. Each unitary matrix may be used to perform spatial processing for data transmission/reception via both links.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641