Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ communication filed on 12/01/2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-22 and 24-30 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 20-22 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 2023/0143360 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 2022/0217654 A1) and Gao. et al. (WO 2023/133754 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 Yao teaches the limitations "An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: (see abstract and par. 0043);
receive, from a network node, to 102, after a PL corresponding to updated PL-RS parameter information takes effect, or after a beam state corresponding to updated beam state information takes effect, relevant parameters of closed-loop power control are reset.”
reset or maintain a CLPC adjustment state in response to receiving the indication of the CLPC reset information in the MAC-CE or the DCI (see par. 0039 “a parameter resetting device is also provided, which may include: a resetting module, configured to reset relevant parameters of closed-loop power control after the PL corresponding to the updated PL-RS parameter information takes effect, or after the beam state corresponding to the updated beam state information takes effect.”).
However, Yao does not explicitly disclose the newly added limitation that the indication to reset CLPC is “expressly” reset, nor that the express reset is included in DCI.
Kang teaches a method for reporting power information in a wireless communication system and a device therefor. In detail, the method, performed by a terminal, comprises the steps of: receiving power report configuration information from a base station; and reporting power information to the base station on the basis of the power report configuration information, wherein the terminal comprises a plurality of panels, and the power information can comprise power headroom information regarding the plurality of panels and maximum transmission power information regarding the plurality of panels (see abstract). Further Kang shows “if the base station indicates DL RS and/or CLPC via a panel change message (e.g., via MAC-CE), the UE may be configured to maintain the previous PC parameter value for the remaining PC parameters (not included in the indication), apply a default PC parameter (e.g. SSB and/or CSI-RS selected for PRACH transmission (or initial access) may be set as DL RS for PL estimation) defined by a separate configuration or rule, or reset CLPC (+DLRS for PL) only (e.g., if CL PC is 1_0, CLPC loop 1_0 is maintained but reset to 0) (see par. 0531). Also see par. 0542. Here, the message includes express CLPC reset.
Gao teaches a system and method for determining a beam state of a downlink signal in a link recovery procedure where closed loop power control index is reset based upon information included in downlink control information (see abstract and pg. 4, first par. “The method comprising determining, by the wireless communication device, the closed-loop index according to a specific value, wherein at least one of: the specific value is zero, a lowest or first value, or a highest or last value, the closed loop index of UL signal is determined according to group information associated with the uplink signal or the type of control resource sets (CORESETs) of the uplink signal, a value of a closed loop associated with the closed-loop index is reset, or the value of the closed loop associated with the closed-loop index is determined according to at least one of: a ramp-up value of a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission, a transmit power control (TPC) command in a downlink control information (DCI) signalling carrying the response for link recovery, or a TPC command in a DCI signalling associated with the uplink signal.” (Emphasis added).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expressly reset as taught by Kang and to include the reset information in DCI as taught by Gao in the system of Yao, in order to increase transmission power while compensating for increased traffic on the network (see par. 0003 of Kang) and to increase communicatin robustness in beam forming (see par. 0003 of Gao).
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 2 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication of the CLPC reset information includes at least one identifier for at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a sounding resource signal (SRS)" (see par. 0022-0023 “In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the updated PL-RS parameter information is carried through one of the following signaling: the RRC signaling, the MAC CE signaling, and the physical layer signaling. In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the uplink transmissions include at least one of the following: PUSCH transmission, PUCCH transmission, and SRS transmission.”
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 3 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CLPC adjustment state includes at least two CLPC adjustment states respectively associated with at least two CLPC indices, and wherein the indication of CLPC reset information indicates, via at least one of the at least two CLPC indices, at least one of the at least two CLPC adjustment states to be reset" (see fig. 3 and par. 0095 “At S302, updated PL-RS parameter information is received, the updated PL-RS parameter information including at least one of the following information: a first PL-RS parameter and a second PL-RS parameter; and for predetermined uplink transmissions, the first PL-RS parameter is replaced by the second PL-RS parameter.”).
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 5 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the CLPC reset information includes at least one of: a serving cell index; a bandwidth part (BWP) identifier; respective identifiers for one or more of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a sounding resource signal (SRS); or a CLPC index" (See par. 0031 “ the BWPs to which the uplink transmission corresponding to the updated PL-RS parameter information belongs include: BWPs related to the transmission resources of the updated PL-RS information and activated BWPs.” Also par. 0225 “The configured cells (group) refer to a cell index assigned by the base station to the UE, or information related to a cell index list, which is used for indicating the cell to which the uplink transmission corresponding to the updated PL-RS parameter information belongs.”).
Regarding Claim 6 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI includes the indication of the CLPC reset information; and wherein to reset the CLPC adjustment state, the at least one processor is configured to reset the CLPC adjustment state after a period of time subsequent to a last symbol of the DCI" (This limitation follows an alternate parent limitation (i.e. the MAC-CE or DCI in parent claim 1). Yao shows MAC CE as shown above and in that scenario Yao meets this limitation as DCI is not required. This claim further limits an alternative limitation. Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to necessitate DCI in addition to MAC CE to further limit the claim). Yao further shows “when a communication beam between a base station and UE changes, the beam state may be updated through the MAC CE. For the uplink transmission, the path loss value for determining the transmission power is measured by a downlink RS” (i.e. DCI).
Claim 24 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 7 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI includes the indication of the CLPC reset information; and wherein to reset the CLPC adjustment state, the at least one processor is configured to reset the CLPC adjustment state after a period of time subsequent to a start of a next slot after a last symbol of the DCI" (This limitation follows an alternate parent limitation (i.e. the MAC-CE or DCI in parent claim 1). Yao shows MAC CE as shown above and in that scenario Yao meets this limitation as DCI is not required. This claim further limits an alternative limitation. Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to necessitate DCI in addition to MAC CE to further limit the claim). Yao further shows “when a communication beam between a base station and UE changes, the beam state may be updated through the MAC CE. For the uplink transmission, the path loss value for determining the transmission power is measured by a downlink RS” (i.e. DCI).
Claim 25 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 8 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI includes the indication of the CLPC reset information; and wherein to reset the CLPC adjustment state, the at least one processor is configured to reset the CLPC adjustment state after a period of time subsequent to a last symbol of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) transmission responsive to the DCI" (This limitation follows an alternate parent limitation (i.e. the MAC-CE or DCI in parent claim 1). Yao shows MAC CE as shown above and in that scenario Yao meets this limitation as DCI is not required. This claim further limits an alternative limitation. Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to necessitate DCI in addition to MAC CE to further limit the claim). Yao further shows “when a communication beam between a base station and UE changes, the beam state may be updated through the MAC CE. For the uplink transmission, the path loss value for determining the transmission power is measured by a downlink RS” (i.e. DCI).
Claim 26 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 9 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI includes the indication of the CLPC reset information; and wherein to reset the CLPC adjustment state, the at least one processor is configured to reset the CLPC adjustment state after a period of time subsequent to a start of a next slot after a last symbol of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) transmission responsive to the DCI" (This limitation follows an alternate parent limitation (i.e. the MAC-CE or DCI in parent claim 1). Yao shows MAC CE as shown above and in that scenario Yao meets this limitation as DCI is not required. This claim further limits an alternative limitation. Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to necessitate DCI in addition to MAC CE to further limit the claim). Yao further shows “when a communication beam between a base station and UE changes, the beam state may be updated through the MAC CE. For the uplink transmission, the path loss value for determining the transmission power is measured by a downlink RS” (i.e. DCI).
Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 10 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI includes the indication of the CLPC reset information; and wherein the DCI is: a unicast downlink DCI that is scheduling or non-scheduling; a unicast uplink DCI that is scheduling or non-scheduling; or a group-common DCI, wherein the indication of CLPC reset information is configured for the UE and for at least one additional UE" (This limitation follows an alternate parent limitation (i.e. the MAC-CE or DCI in parent claim 1). Yao shows MAC CE as shown above and in that scenario Yao meets this limitation as DCI is not required. This claim further limits an alternative limitation. Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to necessitate DCI in addition to MAC CE to further limit the claim). Yao further shows “when a communication beam between a base station and UE changes, the beam state may be updated through the MAC CE. For the uplink transmission, the path loss value for determining the transmission power is measured by a downlink RS” (i.e. DCI).
Regarding Claim 11 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the limitations "The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the indication of the CLPC reset information is at least one radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the DCI" (see par. 0203 “The base station ensures that the number of activated PL-Rs is not greater than the predetermined value. For example, there are four activated PL-Rs identified by PL-RS IDs 1 to 4” where the path loss reference signal ID identifies the network). Also as above, this limitation follows an alternate parent limitation (i.e. the MAC-CE or DCI in parent claim 1). Yao shows MAC CE as shown above and in that scenario Yao meets this limitation as DCI is not required. This claim further limits an alternative limitation. Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to necessitate DCI in addition to MAC CE to further limit the claim). Yao further shows “when a communication beam between a base station and UE changes, the beam state may be updated through the MAC CE. For the uplink transmission, the path loss value for determining the transmission power is measured by a downlink RS” (i.e. DCI) (see par. 0151).
Regarding Claim 12 Yao, Kang and Gao teach the apparatus of claim 1 , wherein to reset the CLPC adjustment state, the at least one processor is configured to reset the CLPC adjustment state to zero or to a fixed, non-zero value.”
Kang teaches if the base station indicates DL RS and/or CLPC via a panel change message (e.g., via MAC-CE), the UE may be configured to maintain the previous PC parameter value for the remaining PC parameters (not included in the indication), apply a default PC parameter (e.g. SSB and/or CSI-RS selected for PRACH transmission (or initial access) may be set as DL RS for PL estimation) defined by a separate configuration or rule, or reset CLPC (+DLRS for PL) only (e.g., if CL PC is 1_0, CLPC loop 1_0 is maintained but reset to 0) (see par. 0531).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reset the CLPC state to a zero value as taught by Kang in the system of Yao, in order to increase transmission power while compensating for increased traffic on the network (see par. 0003 of Kang).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-19 and 28-30 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: A search was conducted with regard to applicant's claims defining “An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a network node, information for closed loop power control (CLPC) at the UE, wherein the information for the CLPC indicates that a CLPC adjustment state is unaffected during at least one of a configuration for open loop power control (OLPC) or a random-access at the UE; and maintain the CLPC adjustment state at the UE, during at least one of OLPC configuring or a random-access procedure at the UE, based on the information for the CLPC received from the network node.”
Examiner has found prior art in the same field of endeavor in Yao (see rejection above).
The system of Yao do not teach “wherein the information for the CLPC indicates that a CLPC adjustment state is unaffected during at least one of a configuration for open loop power control (OLPC) or a random-access at the UE; and maintain the CLPC adjustment state at the UE, during at least one of OLPC configuring or a random-access procedure at the UE, based on the information for the CLPC received from the network node.”
Furthermore, claims 14-19 and 28-20 would not be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art considering the prior art on record and therefore involve an inventive step. When incorporating all the limitations in combination, none of the prior art discloses the features as claimed.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID BILODEAU whose telephone number is (571)270-3192. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 6:00am-4:00pm Eastern Standard Time. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/David Bilodeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648