DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application (filed on 10/31/2022) does not claim priority to or from any domestic or foreign applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 19-35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 line 8, the term “if” in the phrase “if any one of…” is vague and indefinite. It is vague and indefinite because it is questionable whether said condition using the term “if” should be considered. It is suggested that the term “if” be replaced by terms/phrases such as “when” or “in a case”. Similar problem appears in each of claims 28, 37 and 38.
Claim 24 line 1, the phrase "the other TBTT" has no antecedent basis and is unclear. For example, it is unclear whether it refers to “the TBTT”, the “another TBTT”, or a different TBTT differ from the two above. If it refers to the “another TBTT”, examiner suggests the phrase be changed to “the another TBTT” for avoiding ambiguity. Otherwise, clarification is respectfully requested. Similar problem appears in claim 33.
Claims 20-27 and 29-35, these claims are rejected based on their dependency from the rejected base claims 19 and 28 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 23-28, and 32-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230128915 A1, hereinafter Kim), in view of AHN et al. (US 20220141770 A1, hereinafter AHN).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the processor- executable instructions to cause the apparatus to (in general, see fig. 14A in view of fig. 8 and along with their respective paragraphs 103-107):
determine a next target wakeup time (TWT) based on a current TWT and a TWT wake interval (Kim, see at least para. 103-104 in view of para. 50, “...The TWT agreements may be for a TWT SP 1 and/or a TWT SP 2...; note that “...TWT SP1 320-1 and the TWT SP2 320-2 may correspond to a TWT wake interval for TWT SP1 330...”);
adjust the next TWT if a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) occurs between the current TWT and the next TWT (Kim, see at least para. 105 in view of para. 76, “...The AP 1402 may send/transmit TWT information frame 1410, to the STA 1404, to reschedule the TWT SP 2. The AP 1402 may transmit the TWT information frame 1410 during the TWT SP 1...”; note that “...The AP 810 may send/include a broadcast TWT element (B-TWT information element (IE)) in the beacon frame...” and “...The TBTT may indicate times at which beacon frames may be sent/transmitted...”, in other words, the TWT information frame 1410 is in a beacon frame transmitted in TBTT that is between TWT SP 1 and TWT SP 2);
and
transmit, at the TBTT and via the at least one transceiver, a beacon indicating the adjusted next TWT (Kim, see at least para. 105 in view of para. 76, “...The AP 1402 may transmit the TWT information frame 1410 during the TWT SP 1. A next TWT subfield, of the TWT information frame 1410, may be set to a value (e.g., X) of a TSF. The next TWT subfield may indicate a (new) start time of the TWT SP 2 (e.g., the next TWT SP)...”; note that “...The AP 810 may send/include a broadcast TWT element (B-TWT information element (IE)) in the beacon frame...” and “...The TBTT may indicate times at which beacon frames may be sent/transmitted...”).
Kim does not specifically teach calculate a next target wakeup time (TWT) based on a current TWT and a TWT wake interval.
AHN teaches calculate a next target wakeup time (TWT) based on a current TWT and a TWT wake interval (AHN, see at least para. 205-206, “...For example, the wireless communication terminal may determine the Next TWT value by combining the TWT Wake Interval Mantissa field value and the TWT Wake Interval Exponent field value of the TWT element finally received from the base wireless communication terminal...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate AHN into the apparatus of Kim for improving transmission efficiency (AHN, para. 1)
Regarding claim 23, Kim in view of AHN teaches adjusting the next TWT comprises adjusting the next TWT at at least one of the TBTT or another TBTT. (Kim, see at least para. 105 in view of para. 76, “...The AP 1402 may send/transmit TWT information frame 1410, to the STA 1404, to reschedule the TWT SP 2. The AP 1402 may transmit the TWT information frame 1410 during the TWT SP 1...”; note that “...The AP 810 may send/include a broadcast TWT element (B-TWT information element (IE)) in the beacon frame...” and “...The TBTT may indicate times at which beacon frames may be sent/transmitted...”)
Regarding claim 24, Kim in view of AHN teaches the other TBTT comprises a TBTT configured for a delivery traffic indication message (DTIM) transmission. (AHN, see at least para. 190, “... a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) time point of the DTIM beacon...”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate AHN into the apparatus of Kim for improving transmission efficiency (AHN, para. 1)
Regarding claim 25, Kim in view of AHN teaches negotiate, with a station, the adjustment of the next TWT, wherein adjusting the next TWT is based on the negotiation. (Kim, see at least para. 50, “...A TWT session, for the TWT operation 300, may be negotiated between an AP (e.g., AP 311) and a STA (e.g., STA1 312 or STA2 313). This may configure a TWT SP for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) between the AP and the STA. Any traffic between the AP and the STA may be limited within the negotiated SP. A TWT SP may start at a specific time. The TWT SP may run/continue for the SP duration. The TWT SP may repeat (e.g., every SP interval)...”)
Regarding claim 26, Kim in view of AHN teaches broadcast the adjustment of the next TWT in one or more broadcast frames. (Kim, see at least para. 76 along with para. 105, “...The AP 810 may be a TWT scheduling AP, and the STA1 811 and/or the STA2 812 may be TWT scheduled STAs. The AP 810 may send/broadcast a beacon frame (e.g., to the one or more STAs 811, 812). The AP 810 may send/include a broadcast TWT element (B-TWT information element (IE)) in the beacon frame...”)
Regarding claim 27, Kim in view of AHN teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as an access point. (Kim, see at least para. 76 along with para. 105, “...The AP 810 may be a TWT scheduling AP, and the STA1 811 and/or the STA2 812 may be TWT scheduled STAs. The AP 810 may send/broadcast a beacon frame (e.g., to the one or more STAs 811, 812). The AP 810 may send/include a broadcast TWT element (B-TWT information element (IE)) in the beacon frame...”)
Regarding claims 28, 32, 33, 34, 35, and 36, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 19, 23, 24, 25, 26, and 27, respectively, except each of these claims is in method claim format.
Regarding claim 37, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 19. To be more specific, Kim in view of AHN also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising means for performing various functions (Kim, see at least fig. 2), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Regarding claim 38, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 19 except this claim is in computer-readable medium claim format.
To be more specific, Kim in view of AHN also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising computer-readable medium (Kim, see at least fig. 2), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Claims 20, 22, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of AHN, as applied to claims 19 and 28 above, and further in view of JIA et al. (US 20220182931 A1, hereinafter JIA).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of AHN teaches to adjust the next TWT, the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to cause the apparatus to adjust the next TWT using time unit (TU). (Kim, see at least para. 105, “...The AP 1402 may transmit the TWT information frame 1410 during the TWT SP 1. A next TWT subfield, of the TWT information frame 1410, may be set to a value (e.g., X) of a TSF...)
Kim in view of AHN differs from the claim, in that, it does not specifically disclose to round the next TWT to a nearest time unit (TU).
JIA, for example, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches to round the next TWT to a nearest time unit (TU) (JIA, see at least para. 34-37 in view of para. 11, “...The AP 110 may then select, from the plurality of candidate TWT durations, a second TWT duration closest to the first TWT duration... For example, if the first TWT duration requested by the client device 120 is 7 ms, the AP 110 may determine the second TWT duration as 8 ms, which is closest to 7 ms among the candidates TWT durations...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JIA into the apparatus of Kim in view of AHN for effectively reducing collisions among different TWT sessions (JIA, para. 13)
Regarding claim 22, Kim in view of AHN teaches a timer synchronization function (TSF) value of the adjusted next TWT is a multiple of the TU. (Kim, see at least para. 105, “...The AP 1402 may transmit the TWT information frame 1410 during the TWT SP 1. A next TWT subfield, of the TWT information frame 1410, may be set to a value (e.g., X) of a TSF...”, JIA, see at least para. 11, “...the AP may set TWT_dur of all TWT sessions to a same value, such as, 10 time units (TU, for example, each time unit is 1 ms...”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JIA into the apparatus of Kim in view of AHN for effectively reducing collisions among different TWT sessions (JIA, para. 13)
Regarding claims 29 and 31, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 20 and 22, respectively, except each of these claims is in method claim format.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner provides response in following sections.
Regarding independent claim 19, applicant argues that (applicant’s emphasis included, if any):
“Applicant respectfully submits each of the cited references fails to disclose at least "adjust the next TWT if a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) occurs between the current TWT and the calculated next TWT" (hereinafter "the adjustment element').
Turning to the cited references, the Examiner relies on paragraphs [0103] - [0105] and FIGs 8 and 14A to disclose the adjustment element. Office Action, page 4. Assuming arguendo that (1) TWT SP 1 of Kim is the same as the current TWT as specified in claim 19 and (2) TWT SP 2 of Kim is the same as the next TWT specified in claim 19, Kim simply fails to disclose a TBTT that occurs between TWT SP 1 and TWT SP 2 as evidenced by none of the figures of Kim shows a TBTT occurs between TWT SP 1 and TWT SP2. See, e.g., Kim, FIGs. 3-4 and 14A. Thus, it follows that Kim also fails to disclose any adjustment of the next TWT (TWT SP 2) if a TBTT occurs between the current TWT (TWT SP 1) and the next TWT (TWT SP 2).” (Remarks, page 8)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim in at least para. 76 discloses, in part, TBTT may indicate times at which beacon frames may be sent/transmitted. For example, a time period between transmissions of successive beacon frames by the AP 810 may be based on a TBTT. The TBTT may be a time interval measured in time units (TUs). In other words, TBTT is in form of a time interval between two beacons. Kim also in this paragraph 73 (or para. 63) discloses TWT element (B-TWT information element (IE)) is in the beacon frame for indicating a start of a TWT SP. In other words, beacons (TWT information) are for indicating TWT SPs. Turning to para. 105 of Kim. Kim in para. 105 discloses AP 1402 may transmit the TWT information frame 1410 (e.g. a beacon, which is sent in a time interval between next beacon, i.e. a TBTT) during the TWT SP 1 to reschedule the TWT SP 2. In other words, TWT information frame 1410 is a beacon in a TBTT sent during TWT SP 1 and prior to TWT SP 2. Hence, Kim indeed teaches or suggests the argued features of “...adjust the next TWT if a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) occurs between the current TWT and the next TWT...”, as recited in claim 19.
Regarding independent claims 28, 37, and 38, the traversal grounds are same or similar as those presented in claim 19 above. Therefore, in view of the response above, examiner also respectfully disagrees and has maintained the rejection as presented.
Accordingly, all pending dependent claims of the independent claims 19, 28, 37, and 38, in view of the response above, the examiner has maintained the rejection as presented and believes all rejections are proper and should be sustained.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claims are allowable:
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 30 would be allowable for the same reasoning as claim 21.
Reasons of allowability:
Regarding claim 21, the prior arts of record, Kim in view of AHN and JIA, combine or alone, do not teach apply a floor function to round the next TWT. JIA may have taught rounding the next TWT using time units; however, it does not teach using a mathematic FLOOR function. At the time of searching performed, examiner did not find prior arts that teach the claim features. Hence, claim 21 is allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEE F LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465