DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
`The term “substantially equal” in claims 1 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially equal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination “substantially equal” will be applied as equal or greater distance between adjacent current collectors of different polarities .
With regards to claim 8, the claim requires an exterior resin layer that is arranged in an outer perimeter of the conductive layer on the abutment surface, and the conductive layer on the abutment surface is larger in area than the resin layer on the abutment surface. It is therefore unclear how the resin layer can be arranged on an outer perimeter of the conductive layer and have a smaller area than the conductive area. As illustrated in figure 4 of the instant specification resin layer (61) arranged on an outer perimeter of conductive (metal) layer (62) would have a larger area.
For examination purposes two distinct resin layers will be applied laminating the metal layer as shown in figure 4 of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyser et al. (US2019/0081313A1), in view of Tura et al.(US5,419,982).
As to claim 1 and 9, Wyser discloses a battery cell (Accumulator Abstract, ¶ 0069, Preferably, the accumulator can be a rechargeable lithium or lithium-ion battery.) a power generation element (accumulator) that comprises a plurality of current collectors (¶ 0107, positive contact terminals 7a, 8a, fig. 1, and ¶ 0108, negative straight contact terminal 9a fig. 2) comprising:
a terminal is extended in a stacking direction of the current collectors (¶ 0108, external contact 12 constitutes the negative pole, fig. 2) and is electrically connected to the current collectors (contact terminals of positive electrode (7) and negative electrode (9) contact device (20) which comprises pin (3) and element (6), where pin 3 comprises bore (3c) into which an external contact 12 is press-fitted ¶ 0106-0108, fig. 2)… (¶ 0107, The external contact 12 is electrically connectable to the (not shown) device in which the accumulator according to the invention is installed), Requiring external contact 12 to have electrical connection to the current collectors to supply the electrical connection to the device).;
a first distance holder (¶ 0108, contacting element 6 in the form of a sleeve) is arranged between the current collectors (¶ 0108, alternating arrangement of a contacting element 6 in the form of a sleeve, and a negative straight contact terminal 9a) and around the abutment parts of the current collectors that abut the terminal (¶ 0108, the sleeve contacting element 6 would surround the external contact 12 which constitutes the negative pole of the accumulator fig. 2),
at each end portion in the stacking direction, a second distance holder (contacting element 6 ) is arranged between the current collector and the exterior (¶ 0108, At the uppermost end of the stack 30 contacting element (6) located above straight contact terminal (9a) fig. 2) and around an abutment part of the current collector that abuts on the terminal (sleeve of contacting element (6) surrounds the abutment part of current collector that abuts external contact (12) connected to pin (3)), fig. 2) and
at least one of the second distance holders is smaller in thickness than the first distance holder in the stacking direction (third exemplary embodiment is distinguished from the first exemplary embodiment, in that the height h of a contacting element 6 is now doubled ¶0109 see annotated fig. 3),
the at least one of the second distance holders, which is smaller in thickness than the first distance holder in the stacking direction, has a thickness that is substantially equal to a distance between the current collectors arranged adjacent to each other and having different polarities. (see annotated fig. 3) Where the thickness of the second distance holder is substantially equal to the distance between the collectors).
(Wyser, annotated partial fig. 3)
Wyser discloses an exterior that stores the power generation element (¶ 0113, housing receptacle 1), but does not explicitly disclose, the exterior comprises, on both sides in the stacking direction, holes into which the terminal is inserted both end portions of the terminal in the stacking direction are extended outside the exterior,
In the same field of endeavor Tura discloses a battery cell (Abstract) and teaches, element (cathode terminal of battery (600)) that comprises a plurality of current collectors (multiple cathode current collectors [C8L50-56]);
wherein the exterior (vacuum sealed bag (611)) comprises, on both sides in the stacking direction, holes (through-holes [C9L5-8]) into which the terminal (fastener 615 has been standardized to accommodate either the cathode or anode terminal [C9L57-59]) is inserted (The plates 607a and 607b are secured together by fasteners 615 shown in FIG. 6) [C9L1-3]), both end portions of the terminal in the stacking direction are extended outside the exterior (fig. 6),
Tura further teaches, the result is a composite battery with increased voltage and energy [C11L15-16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modified Wyser with the terminals of Tura to increase the voltage and energy of the battery.
As applied to claim 9, with regard to the limitation among the plurality of current collectors, two current collectors respectively disposed at opposite ends in the stacking direction have different polarities. (It has been held that if a claimed invention reads on the prior art except with regard to the position of a component of a device, the invention is unpatentable if switching the position of the component would have not modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, switching the positions of the current collectors would not modify the operation of the battery to provide energy.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyser et al. (US2019/0081313A1), in view of Tura et al.(US5,419,982) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Takagi et al. (US2009/0047580A1).
As to claim 2, modified Wyser discloses an exterior (Tura, vacuum sealed bag (611)) that comprises a hole into which the terminal (through-holes which respective rivets (fasteners)is inserted [Tura, C9L7-9]) fastener 615 has been standardized to accommodate either the cathode or anode terminal [Tura, C9L57-59]) is inserted (Tura, [Tura, C9L7-9], fig. 6),
Wyser teaches that the relative diameters of spacer elements and the pin can vary including the pin having an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the spacing elements (¶ 0033). Wyser does not teach that the configuration includes bent portions formed at the abutment between the pin and the current collectors. Wyser acknowledges that a larger diameter object inserted into a smaller diameter orifice results in a press fit ( ¶0034).
In a similar field of endeavor, Takagi teaches a battery cell (¶ 0006) comprising a plurality of positive and negative current collectors that are stacked (¶ 0007). As seen in Figs. 7 and 8, Takagi teaches that the battery comprises a terminal (51) that includes a contact piece (52) that extends in a stacking direction of the current collectors and is electrically connected to the current collectors (fig. 8, | 0058-0063). Takagi teaches that the insertion of the contact piece provides a cleavage site (¶ 0061) in the metal foil current collectors which provides sure contact (abutment) between the current collector and the contact which can increase contact area and enhance current collection efficiency ( ¶ 0014-0015). As demonstrated in the close up image of an alternative embodiment fig. 5B) the cleavage of the metal foil current collectors will necessarily cause a bending of the current collectors at the cleavage site.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized a similar cleavage insertion method of Takagi in Wyser to ensure improved contact between the layered electrodes and the pin as both Wyser and Takagi relate to stacked battery cells in which a contact pin extends in the stacking direction through holes in the electrode material presenting a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 3, modified Wyser discloses bent portions (corner) are formed at abutment parts of end surfaces of the holes in the exterior that abut on the terminal (Wyser, fig.2).
As to claim 4, Wyser shows that at the lowermost and uppermost electrode portions there are two bends in order to arrive at the pin and thus the amount of bending at the corner (a single bend) is smaller than an amount of bending (two bends) in the current collector.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyser et al. (US2019/0081313A1), in view of Tura et al.(US5,419,982), in further view of Takagi et al. (US2009/0047580A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of An et al. (KR101805232B1).
As to claim 5, Wyser discloses one of the end portions of the terminal (external contact (12)) in the stacking direction that is arranged outside the exterior is larger in diameter than the terminal arranged within the exterior (fig. 2 [0108]), and a lead terminal or a gap filler is arranged between the end portion of the terminal and the exterior. Wyser teaches that a sealing material (gap filler) can be located in the region in which the housing is clamped between the external contact (12) and the flange (3b). fig. 1, [0107]). An teaches a similar arrangement to that of Wyser in which a riveted pin extends through a hole in a stacking direction. An teaches a sealing material (130) location includes between the rivet head and the exterior of the cell (Fig. 2, 3) to prevent electrolyte leakage [0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included a sealing material at the location as Wyser is silent with respect to the specific location prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art, and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Wyser with the sealing material of An on both terminals of Wyser to prevent electrolyte leakage.
As to claim 6, modified Wyser teaches the end portion of the terminal and the lead terminal or the gap filler are fitted together with any one of a concavo-convex portion, a screw shape and a rivet (riveted connection (4) [0108] fig. 2).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyser et al. (US2019/0081313A1), in view of Tura et al.(US5,419,982), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ozawa et al. (US2004/0224227A1).
As to claim 7, Wyser and Tura disclose a battery, comprising an exterior that stores the power generation element and the terminal therewithin however Wyser and Tura do not explicitly disclose the exterior comprises a conductive layer on an abutment surface that abuts on a stacking end surface of the power generation element.
Ozawa, in similar field of endeavor, discloses a battery, and demonstrates that it was known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to include a metal casing (2b, fig. 2) for batteries that abuts a stacking end surface (7a, fig. 2) of the power generation element (fig. 2, aluminum foil middle layer 2b [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize a similar casing as Wyser and Tura are silent prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Enomoto et al.(US2010/0028769A1) Collectors with binding member.
Kusukawa et al.(US2012/0244423A1) Laminated cell.
Ahn et al. (US2011/0129711A1) Terminal extending through exterior.
Hirokou et al. (US5,871,861) Battery spacers separating electrodes.
Fujiya et al. (US2010/0173194A1) Terminal connection structure perpendicular to stack.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728