-DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the papers filed October 17, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claims 24-25 and 27-31) in the reply filed on 10/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 and 14-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/2025. No claims have been canceled, amended or newly added.
Therefore, claims 24-25 and 27-31 are examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed provisional application 63/378,092 filed 10/03/2022 and 63/274,763 filed 11/02/2021under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is November 02, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper."
For example, there is no copy or IDS submitted for the multiple references listed in para. 0005 of the instant specification.
Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claim 24-25 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites “and/or” in lines 4 and 6. It is unclear as to what the metes and bounds of this term are, as “and” could be interpreted to include only a promoter or only and enhancer, or all promoters and enhancers, or, “or” would imply that the promoter and enhancer are in the alternative.
Claims 24 and 25 recite the phrase “a gene selectively or specifically expressed by glial progenitor cells”. The term " selectively or specifically " in claims 24 and 25 renders the claim indefinite. The term " selectively or specifically " is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if the genes expressed by glial progenitor cells result from transcriptional activation of a tissue specific promoter or enhancer, the genes are unique to glial progenitor cells, and others. Appropriate action is required.
Claim 29 recites that the gene construct “is in association with” a fusogen or moiety. It is unclear as to what the metes and bounds of this term are as an “association” could either be physically in a composition, or mental association. If the gene construct or composition comprising the construct further comprises a fusogen or moiety, it should be reflected in the claims as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
As independent claim 24 is indefinite, all subsequent dependent claims and independent claim 31 which encompasses the same limitation are additionally rejected as being indefinite.
Therefore, claims 24-25 and 27-31 are rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-25 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pol (Experimental Neurology, Volume 247, September 2013, Pages 694-702) in view of Ye (Nature Neuroscience volume 12, pages 829–838 (2009); IDS Reference) as evidenced by Megason (Development (2002) 129 (9): 2087–2098) and Zhang (Feb 2021, The Journal of Neuroscience, 41(8):1650–1664; IDS Reference).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Pol teaches a lentiviral vector with a SOX10 enhancer known as MCS5, which directs reporter expression to oligodendrocyte lineage cells in mouse and zebrafish (i.e. enhancer for a gene selectively or specifically expressed by glial progenitor cells) which dynamically identifies live human oligodendrocyte precursor cells (OPCs). Pol teaches Sox10-MCS5 reporter GFP expression in human fetal brain cells (Abstract, Fig 1a).
However, Pol does not teach a nucleic acid molecule encoding the TCF7L2.
Ye teaches an expression vector called pCIG comprising a gene construct which has a nucleic acid molecule encoding a transcription factor 7-like 2 protein (TCF7L2; TCF4) (Online Methods). As evidenced by Fig 1a of Megason (reference 50 of Ye) below, the pCIG expression vector comprises a beta actin promoter.
Ye further identifies TCF7L2 as being an oligodendrocyte lineage–specific transcription factor and Pdgfra and NG2 as oligodendrocyte precursor cell (OPC) markers (p. 837, 1st column; p. 830, 2nd column). The instant specification describes examples of glial precursor cells as oligodendrocyte precursor/progenitor cells (para. 0070).
Moreover, Zhang teaches promoting oligodendrocyte (OL) differentiation represents a promising option for remyelination therapy for treating the demyelinating disease multiple sclerosis (MS) and that TCF7L2 has a mechanism which promotes OL differentiation by repressing autocrine BMP4 signaling. (Abstract, p. 1650)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to substitute a nucleic acid encoding TCF7L2 as taught by Ye for nucleic acid encoding a GFP of Pol with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would have been motivated to do so as Ye and Zhang teach that expression of TCF7L2 promotes OL differentiation which leads to a promising option for remyelination therapy.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, the combination of Pol, Ye and Zhang render obvious claim 24. Moreover, Pol teaches the vector utilized is a lentiviral vector (Abstract, Fig 1a).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, the combination of Pol, Ye and Zhang render obvious claim 24. The limitation “in association with a glial progenitor cell-selective surface-binding moiety” is interpreted to be associated with or related to. As Pol teaches such moieties like CD140a in the human OPCs targeted by the SOX10 enhancer (Abstract, p. 695, 1st column), it is determined in Pol’s genetic construct is “in association” with CD140a.
Regarding claims 31, the combination of Pol, Ye and Zhang render obvious claim 24. Moreover, Pol teaches the vector within OPCs (i.e. host cell, see instant specification para. 105) (Abstract, Fig 1a).
Therefore, the invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALEXANDRA F CONNORS/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634