DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jadhav et al. US-20210099194-A1 (hereinafter “Jadhav”).
As to claim 1:
Jadhav discloses:
A method of wireless communication by a wireless device, comprising:
tracking sets of radio frequency (RF) exposures separately across a plurality of locations associated with a human body over time; and
“The mobile device 110 also may determine or calculate … the volume of tissue on the user exposed to the RF emissions, and the part or region of the user's body exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, and/or extremities), so that some or all of this data may be used to determine an appropriate RF energy exposure limit for the user at the particular time.” [0022] Jadhav US-20210099194-A1
transmitting a first signal at a first transmit power determined based on a time- averaged RF exposure limit and at least one of the tracked sets of RF exposures.
“If the current time-averaged value 402b exceeds the first threshold 403b, then the subsequent adjustment to the RF components 230 may be a relatively minor reduction in the transmission power or duty cycle, etc.” [0058] Jadhav and
As to claim 2:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein tracking the sets of RF exposures comprises:
tracking a first set of RF exposures across a first set of the locations over time; and
“certain techniques are described below for implementing a dynamic specific absorption rate (SAR) system, including monitoring … RF emitting components within a mobile device over time.” [0017] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)” [0068] Jadhav
tracking a second set of RF exposures across a second set of the locations over time, wherein
“certain techniques are described below for implementing a dynamic specific absorption rate (SAR) system, including monitoring … RF emitting components within a mobile device over time.” [0017] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav
the first set of RF exposures does not contribute to the second set of RF exposures, and
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav
As described above and shown in FIG. 6, each exposure is tracked at a separate time period and calculated separately.
wherein the first set of the locations is different from the second set of the locations.
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav, where:
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As to claim 3:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein:
the first set of the locations corresponds to a first exposure category; and
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601) … the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
the second set of the locations corresponds to a second exposure category.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607) … the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As to claim 4:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 2, further comprising
determining the first transmit power based at least in part on a maximum allowed transmit power that satisfies the time- averaged RF exposure limit in a time interval while
“transmission power is limited by SAR (TX CAPS)” [0026] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)” [0068] Jadhav
considering the first set of RF exposures or the second set of RF exposures.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP … Similarly, the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP” [0068] Jadhav
As to claim 5:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein
tracking the sets of RF exposures further comprises tracking the sets of RF exposures per antenna group among a plurality of antenna groups.
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
As to claim 6:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 5, wherein:
tracking the sets of RF exposures further comprises:
tracking the first set of RF exposures per antenna group among a first set of one or more antenna groups; and
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601) … the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
tracking the second set of RF exposures per antenna group among a second set of one or more antenna groups; and
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607) … the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
the method further comprises determining the first transmit power based at least in part on the sets of RF exposures associated with the first set of one or more antenna groups or the second set of one or more antenna groups.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP … Similarly, the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP” [0068] Jadhav
As to claim 7:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining the first transmit power based at least in part on a first maximum allowed transmit power that satisfies the time-averaged RF exposure limit in a first time interval while
“transmission power is limited by SAR (TX CAPS)” [0026] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)” [0068] Jadhav
taking into account the first set of RF exposures;
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP” [0068] Jadhav
determining a second transmit power based at least in part on a second maximum allowed transmit power that satisfies the time-averaged RF exposure limit in a second time interval while
“transmission power is limited by SAR (TX CAPS)” [0026] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav
taking into account the second set of RF exposures; and
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP … Similarly, the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP” [0068] Jadhav
transmitting a second signal at the second transmit power.
“If the current time-averaged value 402b exceeds the first threshold 403b, then the subsequent adjustment to the RF components 230 may be a relatively minor reduction in the transmission power or duty cycle, etc.” [0058] Jadhav
As to claim 8:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
tracking the sets of RF exposures comprises tracking the sets of RF exposures across a plurality of exposure categories,
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601) … the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
each of the exposure categories is representative of a different location or a different set of locations among the plurality of locations, and
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
each of the exposure categories is mutually exclusive of the other exposure categories in terms of tracking the RF exposures.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav, where:
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As described above and shown in FIG. 6, each exposure is tracked at a separate time period and calculated separately.
As to claim 9:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein the exposure categories include a first exposure category associated with head exposure and a second exposure category associated with non-head exposure.
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As described above and shown in FIG. 6, each exposure is tracked at a separate time period and calculated separately; which indicates each body part can be chosen separately.
As to claim 10:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein the exposure categories include:
a first exposure category associated with head exposure;
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
a second exposure category associated with trunk exposure; and
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
a third exposure category associated with extremity exposure.
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
As to claim 11:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining the first transmit power based on the time-averaged RF exposure limit for a time window and the at least one of the tracked sets of RF exposures for the same time window.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As described above and shown in FIG. 6, each exposure is tracked at a separate time period and calculated separately for each body type exposure.
As to claim 12:
Jadhav discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitted first signal is associated with an RF exposure distribution, and
“the initial transmission power (TXpower) … the initial transmission cap (TX CAP)” [0067] Jadhav
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
wherein the method further comprises determining a subset of the plurality of locations which experience RF exposure based on the distribution and an output of one or more sensors of the wireless device.
“the initial transmission power (TXpower) … the initial transmission cap (TX CAP)” [0067] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav, where:
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav which indicates the distribution “TX CAP … exposure type” and an output of one or more sensors “TXpower”
As to claim 13:
Jadhav discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and
FIG. 8 Jadhav
a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured to:
FIG. 8 Jadhav
track sets of radio frequency (RF) exposures separately across a plurality of locations associated with a human body over time, and
“The mobile device 110 also may determine or calculate … the volume of tissue on the user exposed to the RF emissions, and the part or region of the user's body exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, and/or extremities), so that some or all of this data may be used to determine an appropriate RF energy exposure limit for the user at the particular time.” [0022] Jadhav
output a first signal for transmission at a first transmit power determined based on a time-averaged RF exposure limit and at least one of the tracked sets of RF exposures.
“If the current time-averaged value 402b exceeds the first threshold 403b, then the subsequent adjustment to the RF components 230 may be a relatively minor reduction in the transmission power or duty cycle, etc.” [0058] Jadhav
As to claim 14:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein to track the sets of RF exposures, the processor is further configured to:
track a first set of RF exposures across a first set of the locations over time; and
“certain techniques are described below for implementing a dynamic specific absorption rate (SAR) system, including monitoring … RF emitting components within a mobile device over time.” [0017] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)” [0068] Jadhav
track a second set of RF exposures across a second set of the locations over time, wherein
“certain techniques are described below for implementing a dynamic specific absorption rate (SAR) system, including monitoring … RF emitting components within a mobile device over time.” [0017] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav
the first set of RF exposures does not contribute to the second set of RF exposures, and wherein
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav
As described above and shown in FIG. 6, each exposure is tracked at a separate time period and calculated separately.
the first set of the locations is different from the second set of the locations.
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav, where:
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As to claim 15:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein:
the first set of the locations corresponds to a first exposure category; and
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601) … the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
the second set of the locations corresponds to a second exposure category.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607) … the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As to claim 16:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the first transmit power based at least in part on a maximum allowed transmit power that satisfies the time-averaged RF exposure limit in a time interval while
“transmission power is limited by SAR (TX CAPS)” [0026] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)” [0068] Jadhav
considering the first set of RF exposures or the second set of RF exposures.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP … Similarly, the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP” [0068] Jadhav
As to claim 17:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein
to track the sets of RF exposures, the processor is further configured to track the sets of RF exposures per antenna group among a plurality of antenna groups.
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
As to claim 18:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to:
track the first set of RF exposures per antenna group among a first set of one or more antenna groups;
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601) … the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
track the second set of RF exposures per antenna group among a second set of one or more antenna groups; and
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607) … the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
determine the first transmit power based at least in part on the sets of RF exposures associated with the first set of one or more antenna groups or the second set of one or more antenna groups.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP … Similarly, the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP” [0068] Jadhav
As to claim 19:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine the first transmit power based at least in part on a first maximum allowed transmit power that satisfies the time-averaged RF exposure limit in a first time interval while
“transmission power is limited by SAR (TX CAPS)” [0026] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)” [0068] Jadhav
taking into account the first set of RF exposures,
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP” [0068] Jadhav
determine a second transmit power based at least in part on a second maximum allowed transmit power that satisfies the time-averaged RF exposure limit in a second time interval while
“transmission power is limited by SAR (TX CAPS)” [0026] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav
taking into account the second set of RF exposures, and
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP … Similarly, the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as … the ratio of the TX power to the TX CAP” [0068] Jadhav
output a second signal for transmission at the second transmit power.
“If the current time-averaged value 402b exceeds the first threshold 403b, then the subsequent adjustment to the RF components 230 may be a relatively minor reduction in the transmission power or duty cycle, etc.” [0058] Jadhav
As to claim 20:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein:
to track the sets of RF exposures, the processor is further configured to track the sets of RF exposures across a plurality of exposure categories,
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601) … the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
each of the exposure categories is representative of a different location or a different set of locations among the plurality of locations, and
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
each of the exposure categories is mutually exclusive of the other exposure categories in terms of tracking the RF exposures.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav, where:
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As described above and shown in FIG. 6, each exposure is tracked at a separate time period and calculated separately.
As to claim 21:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the exposure categories include a first exposure category associated with head exposure and a second exposure category associated with non-head exposure.
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As described above and shown in FIG. 6, each exposure is tracked at a separate time period and calculated separately; which indicates each body part can be chosen separately.
As to claim 22:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the exposure categories include:
a first exposure category associated with head exposure;
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
a second exposure category associated with trunk exposure; and
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
a third exposure category associated with extremity exposure.
“The power utilization control engine 220 also may use the sensor data to determine the specific distance of the … particular antennas 235 from the user's skin, and the region/part of the user being exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, extremities, etc.) … the power utilization control engine 220 may use this capability to determine when the user's head is being exposed to the RF emissions, as opposed to the user's body or extremities” [0055] Jadhav
As to claim 23:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the first transmit power based on the time-averaged RF exposure limit for a time window and the at least one of the tracked sets of RF exposures for the same time window.
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
As described above and shown in FIG. 6, each exposure is tracked at a separate time period and calculated separately for each body type exposure.
As to claim 24:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the transmitted first signal is associated with an RF exposure distribution, and
“the initial transmission power (TXpower) … the initial transmission cap (TX CAP)” [0067] Jadhav
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav
wherein the processor is further configured to determine a subset of the plurality of locations which experience RF exposure based on the distribution and an output of one or more sensors of the apparatus.
“the initial transmission power (TXpower) … the initial transmission cap (TX CAP)” [0067] Jadhav
“the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 0 for period 611 may be calculated as TXpower (601)/TX CAP (601)… the SAR budget utilization for Antenna 1 for period 616 may be calculated as TXpower (607)/TX CAP (607)” [0068] Jadhav, where:
“the TX CAP (601) at this point in time for Antenna 0 is based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)… the TX CAP (607) at this point in time for Antenna 1 is similarly based on at least: … the user exposure type (headbody)” [0068] Jadhav which indicates the distribution “TX CAP … exposure type” and an output of one or more sensors “TXpower”
As to claim 25:
Jadhav discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising a transmitter configured to transmit the first signal at the first transmit power.
“The mobile device 110 also may determine … the specific antennas of the RF transmitters” [0022] Jadhav
“the initial transmission power (TXpower)” [0067] Jadhav
“various power-emitting components (e.g., radios, transmitters, antennas, etc.) within a mobile device.” [0078] Jadhav
As to claim 26:
Jadhav discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for tracking sets of radio frequency (RF) exposures separately across a plurality of locations associated with a human body over time; and
“The mobile device 110 also may determine or calculate … the volume of tissue on the user exposed to the RF emissions, and the part or region of the user's body exposed to the RF emissions (e.g., head, body, and/or extremities), so that some or all of this data may be used to determine an appropriate RF energy exposure limit for the user at the particular time.” [0022] Jadhav US-20210099194-A1
means for transmitting a first signal at a first transmit power determined based on a time-averaged RF exposure limit and at least one of the tracked sets of RF exposures.
“If the current time-averaged value 402b exceeds the first threshold 403b, then the subsequent adjustment to the RF components 230 may be a relatively minor reduction in the transmission power or duty cycle, etc.” [0058] Jadhav
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang US-20230012055-A1 teaches a similar setup overall
FARAONE US-20140187281-A1 teaches a similar setup overall
/AHMED K JABER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2472