DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2026 and 06/09/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cote et al. (US 8,318,892) in view of Daikoku et al. (US 2011/0281197) and Hansen (US 2019/0074710).
Regarding claim 1, Cote teaches capped structured organic films with a capping unit, a plurality of segments and a plurality of linkers arranged as a covalent organic framework (Col. 1, Lines 63-67). The segments may have the formula shown below:
The capping units may have one or more functional groups enabling a connection to the segments and, thus allowing for a reaction between the capping unit and the molecular building block (“covalently bonded”) (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). The films may be applied in various electronic devices such as solar cells, radio frequency identification tags, organic light emitting devices, photoresistors and thin film transistors such that the films act as semiconductors between two electrodes (Col. 34, Lines 45-48; Col. 44, Line 65-Col. 46, Line 23).
Cote is silent with respect to the capping units comprising a piperidinium group.
Daikoku teaches an anion-exchange membrane including a quaternary ammonium salt which has high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Daikoku further teaches the quaternary ammonium salt having the structure shown in figure 1 on page 5 recreated below:
In the structure above, R1 and R2 may be hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 may have up to 6 carbon atoms and may be joined together to form a ring structure, which may result in a piperidinium group (Paragraph [0055]).
Hansen teaches capacitor modules comprising a first and second supercapacitor (Paragraph [0005]). The capacitors include an electrode assembly with two electrodes and an electrolyte between the two electrodes (Paragraph [0035]). The electrolyte includes an ionic liquid comprising a cationic species and a counterion wherein the cationic species may have an N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the capping units of the structured films of Cote, which are used between two electrodes in thin film transistors, such that they are a quaternary ammonium salt as illustrated in the structure on page 5, which are taught by Daikoku to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity, and the quaternary ammonium salts are the N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms of Hansen which are taught to be between two electrodes as well.
Cote is silent with respect to the films having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials of the films such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that films formed from the same chemical structure must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the structured organic films must comprise a plurality of segments, linkers, an ionic capping segments being piperidinium groups as required by claim 1.
This is taught by the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen such that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical structures of the structured organic films of Cote/Hansen and those of applicant’s invention would result in the films having identical properties, including having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
Regarding claim 4, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Cote further teaches substantially all segments being bound by 1 or more capping units (“a total concentration of ionic capping segments in the SOF is from about 0.1 to 5.0 molar equivalents based on a total concentration of segments in the SOF”) (Col. 8, Lines 34-48).
Regarding claim 5, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The films may have thicknesses of 20 nm to 10 mm, which overlaps with the instant claims (Col. 9, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Cote further teaches the capping units including hydroxy functional groups in order to form an ether linking group between the segment and the capping unit (Col. 5, Lines 18-39).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cote et al. (US 8,318,892) in view of Daikoku et al. (US 2011/0281197) and Hansen (US 2019/0074710).
Regarding claim 9, Cote teaches capped structured organic films with a capping unit, a plurality of segments and a plurality of linkers arranged as a covalent organic framework (Col. 1, Lines 63-67). The segments may have the formula shown below:
The capping units may have one or more functional groups enabling a connection to the segments and, thus allowing for a reaction between the capping unit and the molecular building block (“covalently bonded”) (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). The films may be applied in various electronic devices such as solar cells, radio frequency identification tags, organic light emitting devices, photoresistors and thin film transistors such that the films act as semiconductors between two electrodes (“ion exchange membrane”) (Col. 34, Lines 45-48; Col. 44, Line 65-Col. 46, Line 23).
Cote is silent with respect to the capping units comprising a piperidinium group.
Daikoku teaches an anion-exchange membrane including a quaternary ammonium salt which has high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Daikoku further teaches the quaternary ammonium salt having the structure shown in figure 1 on page 5 recreated below:
In the structure above, R1 and R2 may be hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 may have up to 6 carbon atoms and may be joined together to form a ring structure, which may result in a piperidinium group (Paragraph [0055]).
Hansen teaches capacitor modules comprising a first and second supercapacitor (Paragraph [0005]). The capacitors include an electrode assembly with two electrodes and an electrolyte between the two electrodes (Paragraph [0035]). The electrolyte includes an ionic liquid comprising a cationic species and a counterion wherein the cationic species may have an N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the capping units of the structured films of Cote, which are used between two electrodes in thin film transistors, such that they are a quaternary ammonium salt as illustrated in the structure on page 5, which are taught by Daikoku to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity, and the quaternary ammonium salts are the N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms of Hansen which are taught to be between two electrodes as well.
Cote is silent with respect to the films having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials of the films such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that films formed from the same chemical structure must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the structured organic films must comprise a plurality of segments, linkers, an ionic capping segments being piperidinium groups as required by claim 1.
This is taught by the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen such that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical structures of the structured organic films of Cote/Hansen and those of applicant’s invention would result in the films having identical properties, including having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
Regarding claim 10, Cote teaches the films formed as ion exchange membranes as discussed above. Cote further teaches the films being formed as free-standing (Col. 27, Lines 4-22).
Claims 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cote et al. (US 8,318,892) in view of Daikoku et al. (US 2011/0281197) and Hansen (US 2019/0074710).
Regarding claim 11, Cote teaches capped structured organic films with a capping unit, a plurality of segments and a plurality of linkers arranged as a covalent organic framework (Col. 1, Lines 63-67). The segments may have the formula shown below:
The capping units may have one or more functional groups enabling a connection to the segments and, thus allowing for a reaction between the capping unit and the molecular building block (“covalently bonded”) (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). The films may be applied in various electronic devices such as solar cells, radio frequency identification tags, organic light emitting devices, photoresistors and thin film transistors such that the films act as semiconductors between two electrodes (Col. 34, Lines 45-48; Col. 44, Line 65-Col. 46, Line 23).
Cote is silent with respect to the capping units comprising a piperidinium group.
Daikoku teaches an anion-exchange membrane including a quaternary ammonium salt which has high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Daikoku further teaches the quaternary ammonium salt having the structure shown in figure 1 on page 5 recreated below:
In the structure above, R1 and R2 may be hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 may have up to 6 carbon atoms and may be joined together to form a ring structure, which may result in a piperidinium group (Paragraph [0055]).
Hansen teaches capacitor modules comprising a first and second supercapacitor (Paragraph [0005]). The capacitors include an electrode assembly with two electrodes and an electrolyte between the two electrodes (Paragraph [0035]). The electrolyte includes an ionic liquid comprising a cationic species and a counterion wherein the cationic species may have an N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the capping units of the structured films of Cote, which are used between two electrodes in thin film transistors, such that they are a quaternary ammonium salt as illustrated in the structure on page 5, which are taught by Daikoku to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity, and the quaternary ammonium salts are the N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms of Hansen which are taught to be between two electrodes as well.
Cote is silent with respect to the films having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials of the films such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that films formed from the same chemical structure must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the structured organic films must comprise a plurality of segments, linkers, an ionic capping segments being piperidinium groups as required by claim 1.
This is taught by the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen such that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical structures of the structured organic films of Cote/Hansen and those of applicant’s invention would result in the films having identical properties, including having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
Regarding claim 13, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 11. Cote further teaches substantially all segments being bound by 1 or more capping units (“a total concentration of ionic capping segments in the SOF is from about 0.1 to 5.0 molar equivalents based on a total concentration of segments in the SOF”) (Col. 8, Lines 34-48).
Regarding claim 14, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 11. The films may have thicknesses of 20 nm to 10 mm, which overlaps with the instant claims (Col. 9, Lines 1-4).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cote et al. (US 8,318,892) in view of Daikoku et al. (US 2011/0281197) and Hansen (US 2019/0074710).
Regarding claim 16, Cote teaches capped structured organic films with a capping unit, a plurality of segments and a plurality of linkers arranged as a covalent organic framework (Col. 1, Lines 63-67). The segments may have the formula shown below:
The capping units may have one or more functional groups enabling a connection to the segments and, thus allowing for a reaction between the capping unit and the molecular building block (“covalently bonded”) (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). The films may be applied in various electronic devices such as solar cells, radio frequency identification tags, organic light emitting devices, photoresistors and thin film transistors such that the films act as semiconductors between two electrodes (Col. 34, Lines 45-48; Col. 44, Line 65-Col. 46, Line 23).
Cote is silent with respect to the capping units comprising a piperidinium group.
Daikoku teaches an anion-exchange membrane including a quaternary ammonium salt which has high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Daikoku further teaches the quaternary ammonium salt having the structure shown in figure 1 on page 5 recreated below:
In the structure above, R1 and R2 may be hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 may have up to 6 carbon atoms and may be joined together to form a ring structure, which may result in a piperidinium group (Paragraph [0055]).
Hansen teaches capacitor modules comprising a first and second supercapacitor (Paragraph [0005]). The capacitors include an electrode assembly with two electrodes and an electrolyte between the two electrodes (Paragraph [0035]). The electrolyte includes an ionic liquid comprising a cationic species and a counterion wherein the cationic species may have an N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the capping units of the structured films of Cote, which are used between two electrodes in thin film transistors, such that they are a quaternary ammonium salt as illustrated in the structure on page 5, which are taught by Daikoku to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity, and the quaternary ammonium salts are the N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms of Hansen which are taught to be between two electrodes as well.
Cote and Hansen are silent with respect to the piperidinium group being 3-methanol-6-Azoniaspiro[5.5]undecane (MeASU). However, the final product of claim 6 appear to be ASU bonded to the segment via an ether linkage such that when the capping unit is joined to the segment, the hydroxide group of the methanol forms an ether group between the ASU and the segment (See Instant Specification; Pg. 13).
As discussed above, Daikoku and Hansen teach the cationic species being an N-spirobicyclic compound which may be a compound as shown below:
The cyclic portions are piperidinium groups with 5 carbon atoms and the structure to the right may have R1 and R2 being hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 be connected with up to 6 carbon atoms.
Cote further teaches the capping units including hydroxy functional groups in order to form an ether linking group between the segment and the capping unit (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). As discussed above with respect to claim 1, the segments may have the structure of:
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Cote is silent with respect to the films having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials of the films such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that films formed from the same chemical structure must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the structured organic films must comprise a plurality of segments, linkers, an ionic capping segments being piperidinium groups as required by claim 1.
This is taught by the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen such that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical structures of the structured organic films of Cote/Hansen and those of applicant’s invention would result in the films having identical properties, including having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
Regarding claim 17, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 16. As discussed above, the segments may have the structure illustrated above.
Regarding claim 18, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 16. Cote further teaches substantially all segments being bound by 1 or more capping units (“a total concentration of ionic capping segments in the SOF is from about 0.1 to 5.0 molar equivalents based on a total concentration of segments in the SOF”) (Col. 8, Lines 34-48).
Regarding claim 19, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 16. The films may have thicknesses of 20 nm to 10 mm, which overlaps with the instant claims (Col. 9, Lines 1-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 04/01/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting Rejections of claims 1, 11 and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
On pages 5-6, applicant argues that claim 1 of the ‘006 patent fails to teach a piperidinium group or a MeASU group as required by claim 16. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to perform a swap of the cationic species of claim 1 with the piperidinium group.
The examiner concedes in that claim 1 of application ‘006 now requires a specific cationic species, being MTEAH, for a plurality of capping segments. As such, it would not have been obvious to replace this MTEAH material with a piperidinium group. Therefore, the rejection of 01/27/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7, applicant argues that the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen fails to teach piperidinium groups being covalently bonded into a network of the structured organic films. Specifically, Cote fails to teach the use of piperidinium groups and Daikoku and Hansen fail to teach the piperidinium groups being covalently bonded into a network. Furthermore, since the combination fails to teach an identical structure, the property of an IEC being from 0.25 mEq/g to 5.00 mEq/g is not taught as well.
The examiner is unpersuaded by applicant’s arguments. As indicated by the applicant, Cote teaches structured organic films with capping units, segments and linkers arranged in a covalent organic framework (See rejection above). Furthermore, the capping groups are taught to be attached to the molecular building blocks via bonding through an ether linkage (Col. 5, Liens 19-29). As such, Cote teaches each of the limitations with the exception of the capping units being piperidinium groups, or MeASU as required by claim 16, which would ultimately result in the claimed IEC property. Cote further teaches the films being used in electronic devices (Col. 34, Lines 45-48). Daikoku teaches anion-exchange membranes for use in fuel cells (Paragraph [0065]). The membranes include an anion exchange resin which includes an aliphatic hydrocarbon backbone which has a quaternary ammonium salt group attached directly thereto (Paragraph [0015]). As noted in the rejection above, the quaternary ammonium salt may be a piperidinium group and this group is taught to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the quaternary ammonium salts, which are taught to be directly bonded to hydrocarbon chains, may be bonded to the molecular building blocks, which are hydrocarbon chains, of Cote in order to provide the films with high ion exchange capacity when used in electronic devices such as fuel cells. Ultimately, the examiner contends that both the capping units of Cote and the quaternary ammonium salts of Daikoku are directly bonded to hydrocarbon chains which indicates that the capping units may be formed as the quaternary ammonium salts.
Furthermore, the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen teaches identical structures as applicant’s claimed inventions and would, therefore, have identical properties including an IEC being from 0.25 mEq/g to 5.00 mEq/g.
Ultimately, the examiner contends that the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen is proper and teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 11 and 16.
The current rejection is made FINAL.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huo et al. (CN 108383993). Huo teaches fuel cells and quaternary ammonium salts containing ASU for use in anion exchange membranes (Paragraph [0002]). The membranes include polymers modified with ASU providing high alkalinity stability (Paragraph [0016]). The salts include a hydroxide group which are used to form ether linkages (Paragraph [0012]; Page 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783