DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cote et al. (US 8,318,892) in view of Daikoku et al. (US 2011/0281197) and Hansen (US 2019/0074710).
Regarding claim 1, Cote teaches capped structured organic films with a capping unit, a plurality of segments and a plurality of linkers arranged as a covalent organic framework (Col. 1, Lines 63-67). The segments may have the formula shown below:
The capping units may have one or more functional groups enabling a connection to the segments and, thus allowing for a reaction between the capping unit and the molecular building block (“covalently bonded”) (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). The capping units are further taught to locally terminate/cap an extension of the framework (Col. 5, Lines 30-50). The films may be applied in various electronic devices such as solar cells, radio frequency identification tags, organic light emitting devices, photoresistors and thin film transistors such that the films act as semiconductors between two electrodes (Col. 34, Lines 45-48; Col. 44, Line 65-Col. 46, Line 23).
Cote is silent with respect to the capping units comprising a piperidinium group.
Daikoku teaches an anion-exchange membrane including a quaternary ammonium salt which has high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Daikoku further teaches the quaternary ammonium salt having the structure shown in figure 1 on page 5 recreated below:
In the structure above, R1 and R2 may be hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 may have up to 6 carbon atoms and may be joined together to form a ring structure, which may result in a piperidinium group (Paragraph [0055]).
Hansen teaches capacitor modules comprising a first and second supercapacitor (Paragraph [0005]). The capacitors include an electrode assembly with two electrodes and an electrolyte between the two electrodes (Paragraph [0035]). The electrolyte includes an ionic liquid comprising a cationic species and a counterion wherein the cationic species may have an N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the capping units of the structured films of Cote, which are used between two electrodes in thin film transistors, such that they are a quaternary ammonium salt as illustrated in the structure on page 5, which are taught by Daikoku to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity, and the quaternary ammonium salts are the N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms of Hansen which are taught to be between two electrodes as well.
Cote is silent with respect to the films having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials of the films such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that films formed from the same chemical structure must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the structured organic films must comprise a plurality of segments, linkers, an ionic capping segments being piperidinium groups as required by claim 1.
This is taught by the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen such that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical structures of the structured organic films of Cote/Hansen and those of applicant’s invention would result in the films having identical properties, including having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
Regarding claim 4, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Cote further teaches substantially all segments being bound by 1 or more capping units (“a total concentration of ionic capping segments in the SOF is from about 0.1 to 5.0 molar equivalents based on a total concentration of segments in the SOF”) (Col. 8, Lines 34-48).
Regarding claim 5, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The films may have thicknesses of 20 nm to 10 mm, which overlaps with the instant claims (Col. 9, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Cote further teaches the capping units including hydroxy functional groups in order to form an ether linking group between the segment and the capping unit (Col. 5, Lines 18-39).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cote et al. (US 8,318,892) in view of Daikoku et al. (US 2011/0281197) and Hansen (US 2019/0074710).
Regarding claim 9, Cote teaches capped structured organic films with a capping unit, a plurality of segments and a plurality of linkers arranged as a covalent organic framework (Col. 1, Lines 63-67). The segments may have the formula shown below:
The capping units may have one or more functional groups enabling a connection to the segments and, thus allowing for a reaction between the capping unit and the molecular building block (“covalently bonded”) (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). The capping units are further taught to locally terminate/cap an extension of the framework (Col. 5, Lines 30-50). The films may be applied in various electronic devices such as solar cells, radio frequency identification tags, organic light emitting devices, photoresistors and thin film transistors such that the films act as semiconductors between two electrodes (“ion exchange membrane”) (Col. 34, Lines 45-48; Col. 44, Line 65-Col. 46, Line 23).
Cote is silent with respect to the capping units comprising a piperidinium group.
Daikoku teaches an anion-exchange membrane including a quaternary ammonium salt which has high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Daikoku further teaches the quaternary ammonium salt having the structure shown in figure 1 on page 5 recreated below:
In the structure above, R1 and R2 may be hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 may have up to 6 carbon atoms and may be joined together to form a ring structure, which may result in a piperidinium group (Paragraph [0055]).
Hansen teaches capacitor modules comprising a first and second supercapacitor (Paragraph [0005]). The capacitors include an electrode assembly with two electrodes and an electrolyte between the two electrodes (Paragraph [0035]). The electrolyte includes an ionic liquid comprising a cationic species and a counterion wherein the cationic species may have an N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the capping units of the structured films of Cote, which are used between two electrodes in thin film transistors, such that they are a quaternary ammonium salt as illustrated in the structure on page 5, which are taught by Daikoku to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity, and the quaternary ammonium salts are the N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms of Hansen which are taught to be between two electrodes as well.
Cote is silent with respect to the films having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials of the films such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that films formed from the same chemical structure must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the structured organic films must comprise a plurality of segments, linkers, an ionic capping segments being piperidinium groups as required by claim 1.
This is taught by the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen such that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical structures of the structured organic films of Cote/Hansen and those of applicant’s invention would result in the films having identical properties, including having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
Regarding claim 10, Cote teaches the films formed as ion exchange membranes as discussed above. Cote further teaches the films being formed as free-standing (Col. 27, Lines 4-22).
Claims 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cote et al. (US 8,318,892) in view of Daikoku et al. (US 2011/0281197) and Hansen (US 2019/0074710).
Regarding claim 11, Cote teaches capped structured organic films with a capping unit, a plurality of segments and a plurality of linkers arranged as a covalent organic framework (Col. 1, Lines 63-67). The segments may have the formula shown below:
The capping units may have one or more functional groups enabling a connection to the segments and, thus allowing for a reaction between the capping unit and the molecular building block (“covalently bonded”) (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). The capping units are further taught to locally terminate/cap an extension of the framework (Col. 5, Lines 30-50). The films may be applied in various electronic devices such as solar cells, radio frequency identification tags, organic light emitting devices, photoresistors and thin film transistors such that the films act as semiconductors between two electrodes (Col. 34, Lines 45-48; Col. 44, Line 65-Col. 46, Line 23).
Cote is silent with respect to the capping units comprising a piperidinium group.
Daikoku teaches an anion-exchange membrane including a quaternary ammonium salt which has high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Daikoku further teaches the quaternary ammonium salt having the structure shown in figure 1 on page 5 recreated below:
In the structure above, R1 and R2 may be hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 may have up to 6 carbon atoms and may be joined together to form a ring structure, which may result in a piperidinium group (Paragraph [0055]).
Hansen teaches capacitor modules comprising a first and second supercapacitor (Paragraph [0005]). The capacitors include an electrode assembly with two electrodes and an electrolyte between the two electrodes (Paragraph [0035]). The electrolyte includes an ionic liquid comprising a cationic species and a counterion wherein the cationic species may have an N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the capping units of the structured films of Cote, which are used between two electrodes in thin film transistors, such that they are a quaternary ammonium salt as illustrated in the structure on page 5, which are taught by Daikoku to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity, and the quaternary ammonium salts are the N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms of Hansen which are taught to be between two electrodes as well.
Cote is silent with respect to the films having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials of the films such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that films formed from the same chemical structure must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the structured organic films must comprise a plurality of segments, linkers, an ionic capping segments being piperidinium groups as required by claim 1.
This is taught by the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen such that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical structures of the structured organic films of Cote/Hansen and those of applicant’s invention would result in the films having identical properties, including having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
Regarding claim 13, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 11. Cote further teaches substantially all segments being bound by 1 or more capping units (“a total concentration of ionic capping segments in the SOF is from about 0.1 to 5.0 molar equivalents based on a total concentration of segments in the SOF”) (Col. 8, Lines 34-48).
Regarding claim 14, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 11. The films may have thicknesses of 20 nm to 10 mm, which overlaps with the instant claims (Col. 9, Lines 1-4).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cote et al. (US 8,318,892) in view of Daikoku et al. (US 2011/0281197) and Hansen (US 2019/0074710).
Regarding claim 16, Cote teaches capped structured organic films with a capping unit, a plurality of segments and a plurality of linkers arranged as a covalent organic framework (Col. 1, Lines 63-67). The segments may have the formula shown below:
The capping units may have one or more functional groups enabling a connection to the segments and, thus allowing for a reaction between the capping unit and the molecular building block (“covalently bonded”) (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). The capping units are further taught to locally terminate/cap an extension of the framework (Col. 5, Lines 30-50). The films may be applied in various electronic devices such as solar cells, radio frequency identification tags, organic light emitting devices, photoresistors and thin film transistors such that the films act as semiconductors between two electrodes (Col. 34, Lines 45-48; Col. 44, Line 65-Col. 46, Line 23).
Cote is silent with respect to the capping units comprising a piperidinium group.
Daikoku teaches an anion-exchange membrane including a quaternary ammonium salt which has high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Daikoku further teaches the quaternary ammonium salt having the structure shown in figure 1 on page 5 recreated below:
In the structure above, R1 and R2 may be hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 may have up to 6 carbon atoms and may be joined together to form a ring structure, which may result in a piperidinium group (Paragraph [0055]).
Hansen teaches capacitor modules comprising a first and second supercapacitor (Paragraph [0005]). The capacitors include an electrode assembly with two electrodes and an electrolyte between the two electrodes (Paragraph [0035]). The electrolyte includes an ionic liquid comprising a cationic species and a counterion wherein the cationic species may have an N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the capping units of the structured films of Cote, which are used between two electrodes in thin film transistors, such that they are a quaternary ammonium salt as illustrated in the structure on page 5, which are taught by Daikoku to have high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity, and the quaternary ammonium salts are the N-spirobicyclic structure which is illustrated in the figure on page 4 wherein the cyclic portions may be piperidinium groups having 5 carbon atoms of Hansen which are taught to be between two electrodes as well.
Cote and Hansen are silent with respect to the piperidinium group being 3-methanol-6-Azoniaspiro[5.5]undecane (MeASU). However, the final product of claim 6 appear to be ASU bonded to the segment via an ether linkage such that when the capping unit is joined to the segment, the hydroxide group of the methanol forms an ether group between the ASU and the segment (See Instant Specification; Pg. 13).
As discussed above, Daikoku and Hansen teach the cationic species being an N-spirobicyclic compound which may be a compound as shown below:
The cyclic portions are piperidinium groups with 5 carbon atoms and the structure to the right may have R1 and R2 being hydrogen atoms and R3 and R4 be connected with up to 6 carbon atoms.
Cote further teaches the capping units including hydroxy functional groups in order to form an ether linking group between the segment and the capping unit (Col. 5, Lines 18-39). As discussed above with respect to claim 1, the segments may have the structure of:
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Cote is silent with respect to the films having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials of the films such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that films formed from the same chemical structure must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the structured organic films must comprise a plurality of segments, linkers, an ionic capping segments being piperidinium groups as required by claim 1.
This is taught by the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen such that the final product of the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen would be the segments illustrated in claim 1 above with the N-spirobicyclic salt compound having an ether linkage between the two which appears to be the final product of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical structures of the structured organic films of Cote/Hansen and those of applicant’s invention would result in the films having identical properties, including having an ion exchange capacity of from about 0.25 mEq/g to about 5.0 mEq/g.
Regarding claim 17, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 16. As discussed above, the segments may have the structure illustrated above.
Regarding claim 18, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 16. Cote further teaches substantially all segments being bound by 1 or more capping units (“a total concentration of ionic capping segments in the SOF is from about 0.1 to 5.0 molar equivalents based on a total concentration of segments in the SOF”) (Col. 8, Lines 34-48).
Regarding claim 19, Cote teaches the films as discussed above with respect to claim 16. The films may have thicknesses of 20 nm to 10 mm, which overlaps with the instant claims (Col. 9, Lines 1-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments have been addressed in the Advisory Action dated 09/09/2026 and are recreated below.
On pages 5-7, applicant argues that the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen fails to render the limitations of “wherein at least one or more of the ionic capping segments comprises a piperidinium group” and “wherein one or more of the plurality of ionic capping segments closes off or terminates a branch of a segment of the structured organic film” as obvious. Applicant specifically argues that while Cote teaches a generic capping unit molecule which bonds to a segment, Cote fails to teach this capping unit being a piperidinium group as required by claims 1 and 11, and further an MeASU group as required by claim 16. Daikoku and Hansen fail to teach this combination of limitations as well such that while they teach MeASU, they fail to teach this group as a capping segment which closes off or terminates a branch of a segment of the structured film.
The examiner is unpersuaded by applicant’s arguments such that the combination of Cote further in view of Daikoku and Hansen would ultimately teach this combination of limitations.
As indicated in the Final Rejection dated 06/16/2026, Cote teaches the structures required by claims 1, 11 and 16. This structure includes the capping units which are further described to interrupt the framework of the structured films. “For example, in embodiments, the capping units may comprise only a single suitable or complementary functional group (as described above) that participates in a chemical reaction to link together segments during the SOF forming process and thus cannot bridge any further adjacent molecular building blocks (until a building block with a suitable or complementary functional group is added, such as when an additional SOF is formed on top of a capped SOF base layer and a multilayer SOF is formed).” (Col. 5, Lines 30-39). Cote further teaches the capping units being selected in order to tune the properties of the structural films. Therefore, Cote teaches the amendments to the claims regarding the capping units/segments terminating branches of the framework of the films and further appreciates the units/segments being selected in order to adjust properties of the resulting films.
The rejection then turns to Daikoku and Hansen which provides the motivation to use a piperidinium, or an MeASU, group to adjust these properties. Daikoku teaches the use of these groups to provide high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity (Paragraphs [0010]; [0037]). Hansen further supports the use of these groups such that they are useful in an electrolyte liquid composition (Paragraphs [0035]; [0037]).
As such, the combination aims to teach the capping units, which are already taught to close off or terminate a branch of a segment of the structured organic film, to be the MeASU groups in order to adjust the properties of the films towards high ion-exchange capacity and high hydroxide ion conductivity and for use in electrolyte liquid compositions. Therefore, the amendment does not overcome the combination of Cote, Daikoku and Hansen.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783