DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 & 5 are amended. Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10, 12, 14, 16 & 18 are canceled. Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 & 19-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the metal layer" and “the polymer layer” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the above cited limitations are respectively read as “a metal layer” and “a polymer layer” as this appears to be applicant’s intent.
Claims 5, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 & 19-20 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (CN 208433464 U, as cited in the IDS on 11/02/2022).
Regarding claims 1 & 19-20, Yu teaches a lithium ion battery comprising a current collector comprising two units each comprising a polymer layer, a first metal layer (72) disposed on an upper surface of the polymer layer (71) and a second metal layer (73) disposed on a lower surface of the polymer layer; wherein the first metal layer and/or the second metal layer in at least one unit comprises a tab (74) connection region and a non-tab connection region such that a thickness of the tab connection region is greater than that of the non-tab connection region (fig. 23 & see annotated fig. 24 below); and wherein the first metal layer and/or the second metal layer in another unit comprises a metal layer connection region and a non-metal layer connection region such that a thickness of the of the metal layer connection region is greater than that of the non-metal connection region (see annotated fig. 24 below). While Yu does not explicitly teach the battery being a lithium-ion battery, Yu discloses the use of an electrolyte comprising a lithium salt such as LiPF6 dissolved in an organic solvent which is a well-known electrolyte system used in lithium-ion batteries.
Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches wherein the current collector comprises 2 units, wherein one of the first metal layer and the second metal layer in at least one unit comprises the tab connection region and the non-tab connection region, and the other of the first metal layer and the second metal layer comprises a metal layer connection region and a non-metal layer connection region, wherein a thickness of the metal layer connection region is greater than that of the non-metal layer connection region (see annotated fig. 24 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 11, 13 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 208433464 U).
Regarding claims 7, 11, 13 & 15, Yu teaches a thickness of a portion of the metal layer corresponding to the tab connection region (i.e sum of the thickness of first metal layer which is 1 micron in some embodiments and half of the thickness of the polymer layer which is 3 microns in some embodiments such that a total thickness of the tab connection region is 1 micron + (3 microns / 2) = 2.5 microns) is 2.5 times to that of a portion of the metal layer corresponding to the non-tab connection region (i.e thickness of the first metal layer which is 1 micron in some embodiments) (Page 4; and annotated fig. 24 above). Yu also teaches a thickness of a portion of the metal layer corresponding to the metal layer connection region (i.e sum of the thickness of first metal layer which is 1 micron in some embodiments and half of the thickness of the polymer layer which is 3 microns in some embodiments such that a total thickness of the metal layer connection region is 1 micron + (3 microns / 2) = 2.5 microns) is 2.5 times to that of a portion of the metal layer corresponding to the non-metal layer connection region (i.e thickness of the first metal layer which is 1 micron in some embodiments) (Page 4; and annotated fig. 24 above).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 208433464 U) in view of Kogetsu (US 2012/0088136 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Yu teaches the current collector of claim 1 but is silent as to a welding strength of a tab being greater than or equal to 0.4 N/mm. Kogetsu teaches a current collector having a tab welding strength of 3 N/mm to 50 N/mm ([0040]-[0041] & [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to optimize the welding strength of the tab to a range of 3 N/mm to 50 N/mm in view of improving the rigidity and the internal stress generated at the tab which can lead to partial separation or breakage as taught by Kogetsu ([0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s arguments that Yu does not teach the subject matter of claim 1, as presently amended, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Applicant argues that Yu does not fairly teach or suggest the claimed tab connection region and non-tab connection as well as the claimed metal layer connection region and the non-metal layer connection region. However, as noted in the above updated rejection of claim 1 which incorporates an annotated version of fig. 24 of Yu, it is clear the claimed tab connection region, non-tab connection, metal layer connection region and non-metal layer connection region with the claimed thickness limitations of claims 1, 7, 11, 13 & 15 are anticipated by Yu. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 & 19-20 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727