DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Each of claims 20-25 claim the fabric being a blend of polyester and polyether-polyurea copolymer. These material limitations are not supported by the disclosure as originally filed.
Oxford dictionary defines elastane as “an artificial material that stretches easily and is used for making underwear, stockings, etc.”, and does not specify that the material inherently includes a blend of polyester and polyether-polyurea copolymer as now claimed. Collins Dictionary has a similar definition, “a synthetic fibre characterized by its ability to revert to its original shape after being stretched” which similarly fails to support the newly added claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 2013/0032502, hereinafter ‘Anderson’) in view of Glazer.
Anderson discloses a system for customizing a carrying bag, comprising a backpack (10), wherein at least one section of the backpack is constructed from a fabric capable of reversibly securing one or more patches (16); where each patch of the one or more patches (18) includes a substrate constructed from hook material (para 0019); allowing for the removal, attachment and rearrangement of the patches on the carrying bag fabric capable of reversibly securing the one or more patches (para 0019); however does not expressly disclose the particular material of the fabric as claimed.
However, Glazer teaches using a brushed fabric as a loop panel recipient for hook fasteners of an attachment device (para 0080) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the brushed fabric taught by Glazer as the loop recipient panel on the backpack taught by Anderson, in order to provide a soft touch as taught by Glazer (para 0080).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the brushed fabric taught by Glazer as the loop recipient panel on the backpack taught by Anderson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 13, the specification does not detail exactly what is meant by the term ‘heavy brushed’ as now claimed. The degree to which a fabric is brushed seems highly variable as a choice made by fabric designers/manufacturers to vary the feel of a fabric or reduce manufacturing costs, etc.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use heavy brushed fabric as the loop recipient panel on the backpack taught by Anderson as modified above, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Insomuch as the limitations of claims 20-22 can be understood based on their lack of explanation in the disclosure as originally filed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a blend of polyester and polyether-polyurea copolymer fabric as the loop recipient panel on the backpack taught by Anderson as modified above, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim(s) 1, 14-19, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 2013/0032502, hereinafter ‘Anderson’) in view of Petiot et al (US 2011/0112453, hereinafter ‘Petiot’).
Anderson discloses a system for customizing a carrying bag, comprising a backpack (10), wherein at least one section of the backpack is constructed from a fabric capable of reversibly securing one or more patches (16); where each patch of the one or more patches (18) includes a substrate constructed from hook material (para 0019); allowing for the removal, attachment and rearrangement of the patches on the carrying bag fabric capable of reversibly securing the one or more patches (para 0019); however does not expressly disclose the particular material of the fabric as claimed.
However, Petiot teaches using a brushed velvet as a loop panel recipient for hook fasteners of an attachment device (para 008) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the brushed velvet fabric taught by Petiot as the loop recipient panel on the backpack taught by Anderson, in order to provide a soft touch as taught by Glazer (para 0080).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the brushed velvet fabric taught by Petiot as the loop recipient panel on the backpack taught by Anderson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claims 16-19, the specification does not detail exactly what is meant by the terms ‘furniture grade’ or ‘heavy brushed’ as now claimed. The degree to which a fabric is brushed seems highly variable as a choice made by fabric designers/manufacturers to vary the feel of a fabric or reduce manufacturing costs, etc.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use heavy brushed or furniture grade fabric as the loop recipient panel on the backpack taught by Anderson as modified above, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Insomuch as the limitations of claims 23-25 can be understood based on their lack of explanation in the disclosure as originally filed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a blend of polyester and polyether-polyurea copolymer fabric as the loop recipient panel on the backpack taught by Anderson as modified above, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
November 2, 2025