DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on September 11, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-7 and 9-16 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacoby et al (US 2021/0024739 A1) in view of Minagawa (JPH11343366 A), as evidenced by PubChem (Compound: Triethylene Glycol, 2005, National Library of Medicine).
Regarding Claims 1 and 9: Jacoby teaches a pretreated silica that has been surface treated with an organosilane and a polyethylene glycol (para. 0036).
However, Jacoby is silent to the molecular weight of the polyethylene glycol.
Minagawa teaches a silica filler that has been pre-treated with a polyethylene glycol having a weight-average molecular weight of 800 or less (para. 0018), such as triethylene glycol (para. 0023), which has a molecular weight of 150.17 g/mol (PubChem). Minagawa teaches that a PEG with this molecular weight reduces the Mooney viscosity of the resulting rubber composition (para. 0023) and improves workability and processability (para. 0013). Minagawa and Jacoby are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely rubber compositions containing pretreated silica.
Regarding Claim 2: Jacoby teaches precipitated silica.
Regarding Claims 5-7: Jacoby teaches that a suitable silane is an organoalkoxysilyl polysulfide (para. 0036), which reads on the limitations of claims 5-6. Jacoby further teaches 3,3′-bis(trimethoxy or triethoxy silylpropyl) polysulfide (para. 0029) as an example of the organoalkoxysilyl polysulfide, which reads on the bis(trialkoxysilylalkyl) polysulfides of claim 7.
Regarding Claims 10-11 and 13-14: Jacoby teaches a composition comprising 100 phr of a blend of polybutadiene and styrene-butadiene rubber, 100-150 phr of the pretreated silica, carbon black (para. 0009), a processing additive such as a resin (para. 0044), and a cure package comprising a sulfur vulcanizing agent (para. 0044) and a vulcanization accelerator (para. 0045).
Regarding Claim 12: Jacoby does not teach fillers other than the pretreated silica and the carbon black.
Regarding Claim 15: Jacoby teaches an antioxidant and antiozonant (para. 0044).
Regarding Claim 16: Jacoby teaches that the rubber composition may be used in a tire tread (para. 0002).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacoby et al (US 2021/0024739 A1) in view of Minagawa (JPH11343366 A), as evidenced by PubChem (Compound: Triethylene Glycol, 2005, National Library of Medicine) and Solvay (Zeosil Premium: The new High Surface Silica technology for Tires).
Jacoby and Minagawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. Jacoby does not explicitly teach the CTAB surface area of the silica; however, Jacoby teaches Zeosil 1165MP as an example of a suitable silica (para. 0035), which has a CTAB specific surface area of 160 m2/g (Solvay, p.3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacoby et al (US 2021/0024739 A1) in view of Minagawa (JPH11343366 A) and Kahner et al (US 2025/0018745 A1), as evidenced by PubChem (Compound: Triethylene Glycol, 2005, National Library of Medicine).
Jacoby and Minagawa teach the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Jacoby and Minagawa are silent to the silica being derived from rice husk ash.
Kahner teaches a silica derived from rice husk ash, which desirable because it is sourced from a renewable raw material and improves the rolling resistance and tear properties of rubber tires (para. 0029). Kahner and Jacoby are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely silica-filled rubber compositions for use as tire treads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silica particles derived from rice husk ash in the pretreated silica material taught by Sandstrom in order to make a sustainable material that improves the rolling resistance and tear properties of rubber tires.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on September 11, 2025 with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767