Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Patent No: US20220272783A1), hereinafter, Yang in view of Kim et al. (Patent No : US20240389149A1), hereinafter, Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches
A method, comprising: determining, by a first multilink device (MLD), to use reduced signaling multilink operations (MLO) with a second MLD; -Fig. 2, Paragraph [0070] [0107][0098](Fig. 2 shows two MLD devices (AP MLD and Non-AP MLD (STA)) are communicating in multilink operation (MLO). [0098] recites, “In this embodiment, by allocating the link identifiers and making the link identifiers correspond to the link information, links can be indicated by using the link identifiers. For example, a BA connection is established by using the link identifiers, or communication is established by using the link identifiers, so that signaling overheads can be reduced and transmission efficiency can be improved” [0107] recites, “Specifically, the radio frame may carry a multi-link operating capability indication element. Optionally, the multi-link operating capability indication element includes an element ID field, a length field, an MLO capability list field, and the like…”
and engaging in reduced signaling MLO with the second MLD, comprising: transmitting, to the second MLD, a first set of data frames via a first link of a plurality of links during a first transmission opportunity (TXOP); -Paragraph [0006][0149] ([0006] recites, “A receiving device receives a radio frame sent by a first link device, where the first multi-link device works on a plurality of links, the radio frame includes link information of at least one link in the plurality of links, and link information of one link is used to indicate the link and corresponds to a link identifier of the link;..” [0149] recites, “… the receiving device may first receive the radio frame sent by the first multi-link device. The radio frame includes the multi-link operating capability list field. The multi-link operating capability list field includes the transmit power threshold indicated by the transmit power level field. Then, the first multi-link device may specify the actual transmit power of the first multi-link device in a trigger frame or a transmit opportunity (TXOP) window.” )
receiving, from the second MLD, an acknowledgement frame for the first set of data frames; -Paragraph [0096] ([0096] recites, “The multi-link indexing element may be carried in an add block acknowledgement (ADDBA) communications mechanism request frame and an ADDBA response frame, to support establishment of multi-link BA. A multi-link indexing element may be added to the end of a frame structure of an existing ADDBA request frame or ADDBA response frame. Selected links in the multi-link indexing element of the ADDBA request frame are links on which a sending party expects to establish BA, and selected links in the multi-link indexing element of the ADDBA response frame are a subset of the selected links in the multi-link indexing element of the ADDBA request frame. A receiving party confirms with the sending party that BA is established on the selected links.”)
Yang explicitly does not teach,
and transmitting, to the second MLD, a second set of data frames via the first link during a second TXOP subsequent to the first TXOP without transmitting an initial control frame for the second TXOP.
However, Kim teaches,
and transmitting, to the second MLD, a second set of data frames via the first link during a second TXOP subsequent to the first TXOP without transmitting an initial control frame for the second TXOP. -Fig. 10, 11; Paragraph [0149, 0157] ( [0149] recites, “In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 10, since the eMLSR STAs (e.g., STA1, STA3, STA4) operate in the receiving mode during the rTWT SP, the eMLSR STAs may receive data frames of the AP without receiving an initial control frame.” [0157] recites, “In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 11, the eMLSR STA may operate in the receiving mode in a period from a time of receiving the AP's initial control frame (e.g., MU-RTS trigger frame or BSRP trigger frame) to the end time of the rTWT SP, in a period from a time of transmitting the CTS frame to the end time of the rTWT SP, or during a TXOP configured by the initial control frame. The link on which the eMLSR STA operates in the receiving mode may be the first link on which the initial control frame is transmitted and received. The initial control frame may be a MU-RTS frame or a BSRP frame. The eMLSR STAs operating in the receiving mode may receive the data frames from the AP.” As shown in Fig. 11, second and subsequent set of data frames are transmitted to the second non-AP MLD (STA) in subsequent TXOP within rTWT SP via first link without further transmitting the initial control frame)
-Fig. 5, Paragraph[0077] [0099] (Fig. 5 shows consecutive data frames (PPDU) transmitted from AP2 to STA2 without initial control frame for the second set of data frames during TXOP. [0099] recites, “According to another embodiment for the scenario in which a non-AP MLD is operating in EMLSR mode and a frame exchange sequence is taking place on one of the enabled links (e.g., the second link) between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, if a TWT schedule/agreement is set up over another link (e.g., the first link) between the same AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, where the TWT SP on the first link overlaps in time with the frame exchange sequence taking place on the second link, and if, based on the previous embodiment, the AP MLD or the non-AP MLD ends the frame exchange sequence on the second link before the TWT SP starts on the first link, then no initial control frame exchange (e.g., the MU-RTS, CTS, etc.) would be required before transmitting frames on the first link during the TWT SP. Instead, at the beginning of the TWT SP, the STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD operating on the first link can start frame exchanges with its associated AP affiliated with the AP MLD without EMLSR initial control frame exchange for that link.” It is shown for one TXOP, however, it is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the behavior follows for second and subsequent TXOP)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Identifier Indication Method, Transceive Capability Indication Method” proposed by Yang with the concept of Kim to include “transmitting, to the second MLD, a second set of data frames via the first link during a second TXOP subsequent to the first TXOP without transmitting an initial control frame for the second TXOP.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improving low-latency communication in a wireless LAN [0007]
Regarding Claim 2, Yang and Kim teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Yang explicitly does not teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first set of data frames comprise a request that the second MLD remain on the first link for at least the second set of data frames durinq the second TXOP; and the acknowledgement frame comprises an acceptance to remain on the first link for the second TXOP.
However, in an analogous invention Kim teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first set of data frames comprise a request that the second MLD remain on the first link for at least the second set of data frames durinq the second TXOP; and the acknowledgement frame comprises an acceptance to remain on the first link for the second TXOP. -Fig. 11; Paragraph [0013-0014, 0095, 0157]( [0013-0014] recites, “receiving a beacon frame including rTWT SP information from the AP, wherein the rTWT SP information may include at least one of information on a start time of the rTWT SP or information on a duration of the rTWT SP, and the rTWT SP may be identified based on the rTWT SP information. The initial control frame may be a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame or a buffer status report poll (BSRP) trigger frame.” [0095] recites, ” The eMLSR STA may receive the MU-RTS trigger frame from the AP, and transmit a CTS frame in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame.”[0157] recites, “ In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 11, the eMLSR STA may operate in the receiving mode in a period from a time of receiving the AP's initial control frame (e.g., MU-RTS trigger frame or BSRP trigger frame) to the end time of the rTWT SP, in a period from a time of transmitting the CTS frame to the end time of the rTWT SP, or during a TXOP configured by the initial control frame.” As recited above and as shown in Fig. 11, non-AP MLD (STA) sends CTS (clear to Send as acknowledgement) to remain in first link for the time duration till the end of rTWT SP upon received initial control frame MU-RTS)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Identifier Indication Method, Transceive Capability Indication Method” proposed by Yang with the concept of Kim to include “the first set of data frames comprise a request that the second MLD remain on the first link for at least the second set of data frames durinq the second TXOP; and the acknowledgement frame comprises an acceptance to remain on the first link for the second TXOP.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improving low-latency communication in a wireless LAN [0007].
Regarding Claim 4, Yang and Kim teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Yang does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein the second set of data frames comprise an indication the first MLD will use a second link, of the plurality of links, for at least a third set of data frames durinq a third TXOP, the method further comprising receivinq a second acknowledgement frame comprising an acceptance to use the second link durinq the third TXOP.
However, in an analogous invention Kim teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the second set of data frames comprise an indication the first MLD will use a second link, of the plurality of links, for at least a third set of data frames durinq a third TXOP, -Paragraph [0064-0065] ([0064-0065] recites, “…One frequency band (e.g., one channel) used by the MLD may be defined as one link. Alternatively, a plurality of links may be configured in one frequency band used by the MLD. For example, the MLD may configure one link in the 2.4 GHz band and two links in the 6 GHz band. The respective links may be referred to as a first link, a second link, and a third link. The MLD (e.g., AP MLD and/or non-AP MLD) may configure a multi-link by performing an access procedure and/or a negotiation procedure for a multi-link operation. In this case, the number of links and/or link(s) to be used in the multi-link may be configured. The non-AP MLD (e.g., STA) may identify information on band(s) capable of communicating with the AP MLD. ”)
the method further comprising receivinq a second acknowledgement frame comprising an acceptance to use the second link durinq the third TXOP. -Fig. 11; Paragraph[0013-0014, 0095, 0157]([0013-0014] recites, “receiving a beacon frame including rTWT SP information from the AP, wherein the rTWT SP information may include at least one of information on a start time of the rTWT SP or information on a duration of the rTWT SP, and the rTWT SP may be identified based on the rTWT SP information. The initial control frame may be a multi-user (MU)-request-to-send (RTS) frame or a buffer status report poll (BSRP) trigger frame.” [0095] recites, ” The eMLSR STA may receive the MU-RTS trigger frame from the AP, and transmit a CTS frame in response to the MU-RTS trigger frame.”[0157] recites, “ In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 11, the eMLSR STA may operate in the receiving mode in a period from a time of receiving the AP's initial control frame (e.g., MU-RTS trigger frame or BSRP trigger frame) to the end time of the rTWT SP, in a period from a time of transmitting the CTS frame to the end time of the rTWT SP, or during a TXOP configured by the initial control frame.” From the above description it can be easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that, although Fig 11. is showing communication is Link 1, for reconfiguration or for multi-link support (as suggested in [0064-0065] above) communication can be done over Link 2 and in response to MU-RTS a second acknowledgement CTS can be sent over second link and third set of data over second link)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Identifier Indication Method, Transceive Capability Indication Method” proposed by Yang with the concept of Kim to include “the second set of data frames comprise an indication the first MLD will use a second link, of the plurality of links, for at least a third set of data frames durinq a third TXOP, the method further comprising receivinq a second acknowledgement frame comprising an acceptance to use the second link durinq the third TXOP” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improving low-latency communication in a wireless LAN [0007].
Regarding Claim 5, Yang and Kim teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Yang explicitly does not teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein engaging in reduced signaling MLO with the second MLD comprises: negotiating a target wake time (TWT) agreement with the second MLD, wherein the TWT agreement indicates to use an indicated TWT link for the first set of data frames at a target time during the first TXOP; and transmitting the first set of data frames at the target time using the indicated TWT link without transmitting an initial control frame for the first set of data frames during the first TXOP.
However, in an analogous invention, Kim teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein engaging in reduced signaling MLO with the second MLD comprises: negotiating a target wake time (TWT) agreement with the second MLD, wherein the TWT agreement indicates to use an indicated TWT link for the first set of data frames at a target time during the first TXOP; -Paragraph [0092] ([0092] recites, “an eMLSR STA may negotiate with an AP a rTWT that restricts transmission of other STA(s) except member STA(s) in a specific service period (SP). A STA1, STA3, and STA4 may be eMLSR STAs. The eMLSR STA may obtain, from the AP, an identifier (ID) of a rTWT, a delivery time of a beacon frame indicating a start time of the rTWT SP, and/or a traffic ID (TID) of low-latency data through a negotiation procedure with the AP on one link (e.g., first link) of a multi-link. The eMLSR STA may receive the beacon frame at the delivery time of the beacon frame, and obtain rTWT SP information included in the beacon frame. The rTWT SP information may include information on the start time of the rTWT SP and/or information on a duration of the rTWT SP.”)
and transmitting the first set of data frames at the target time using the indicated TWT link without transmitting an initial control frame for the first set of data frames during the first TXOP. -Fig. 10; Paragraph [0149] (Fig. 10 shows AP MLD sending first set of data frames over TWT link (link 1) without transmitting the initial control frame. [0149] recites, “In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 10, since the eMLSR STAs (e.g., STA1, STA3, STA4) operate in the receiving mode during the rTWT SP, the eMLSR STAs may receive data frames of the AP without receiving an initial control frame.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Identifier Indication Method, Transceive Capability Indication Method” proposed by Yang with the concept of Kim to include “negotiating a target wake time (TWT) agreement with the second MLD, wherein the TWT agreement indicates to use an indicated TWT link for the first set of data frames at a target time during the first TXOP; and transmitting the first set of data frames at the target time using the indicated TWT link without transmitting an initial control frame for the first set of data frames during the first TXOP.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improving low-latency communication in a wireless LAN [0007].
Regarding Claim 6, Yang and Kim teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Yang explicitly does not teach
The method of claim 1, wherein engaging in reduced signaling MLO with the second MLD comprises: transmitting, to the second MLD and prior to transmitting the first set of data frames, a first initial control frame for the first TXOP indicating: the first link, a first duration of time of the first TXOP on the first link, and a second duration of time beyond the first TXOP for which the first MLD will remain on the first link.
However, Kim teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein engaging in reduced signaling MLO with the second MLD comprises: transmitting, to the second MLD and prior to transmitting the first set of data frames, a first initial control frame for the first TXOP indicating: the first link, a first duration of time of the first TXOP on the first link, and a second duration of time beyond the first TXOP for which the first MLD will remain on the first link. -Fig. 11; Paragraph[0151] ([0151] recites, “As shown in FIG. 11, an eMLSR STA may negotiate with an AP a rTWT that restricts transmission of other STA(s) except member STA(s) in a specific SP. A STA1, STA3, and STA4 may be eMLSR STAs. The eMLSR STA may obtain, from the AP, an ID of a rTWT, a delivery time of a beacon frame indicating a start time of the rTWT SP, and/or a TID of low-latency data through a negotiation procedure with the AP on one link (e.g., first link) of a multi-link. The eMLSR STA may receive the beacon frame at the delivery time of the beacon frame, and obtain rTWT SP information included in the beacon frame. The rTWT SP information may include information on the start time of the rTWT SP and/or information on a duration of the rTWT SP. “ The first control frame (beacon frame) contains rTWT information. The rTWT time duration is the time duration during which first MLD (AP) will remain on link 1 and may transmit data frames to the second MLD (STA) as shown in Fig. 11)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Identifier Indication Method, Transceive Capability Indication Method” proposed by Yang with the concept of Kim to include “transmitting, to the second MLD and prior to transmitting the first set of data frames, a first initial control frame for the first TXOP indicating: the first link, a first duration of time of the first TXOP on the first link, and a second duration of time beyond the first TXOP for which the first MLD will remain on the first link.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improving low-latency communication in a wireless LAN [0007].
Regarding Claim 7, Yang and Kim teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Yang does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein the reduced signaling MLO comprises transmitting fewer initial control frames to the second MLD, as compared to standard signaling MLO.
However, Kim teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the reduced signaling MLO comprises transmitting fewer initial control frames to the second MLD, as compared to standard signaling MLO. -Paragraph [0023-24] ([0023-0024] recites, “A station (STA), according to a third exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure for achieving the above-described objective, may comprise: a processor, and the processor may cause the STA to perform: identifying a restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP) configured by an access point (AP); and receiving a data frame from the AP within the rTWT SP without receiving an initial control frame of the AP. The STA may operate in a receiving mode or a listening mode, the STA operating in the receiving mode may receive the data frame without receiving the initial control frame” As explained above, within the rTWT SP, the second MLD (STA) can receive data from AP MLD without initial control frame thereby reducing the signaling overhead, where, in standard signaling MLO it requires control frame before data frame.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Identifier Indication Method, Transceive Capability Indication Method” proposed by Yang with the concept of Kim to include “reduced signaling MLO comprises transmitting fewer initial control frames to the second MLD, as compared to standard signaling MLO.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improving low-latency communication in a wireless LAN [0007].
Regarding Claim 8, Yang and Kim teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Yang does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining to use reduced signaling MLO with the second MLD comprises at least one of:(i) determining that a current traffic pattern with the second MLD satisfies defined frequency criteria;(ii) determining that the current traffic pattern with the second MLD satisfies defined size criteria;(iii) determining that the current traffic with the second MLD is latency-sensitive; or (iv) determining that a total air time used, by the first MLD, for MLO initial control frames satisfies defined criteria.
However, Kim teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining to use reduced signaling MLO with the second MLD comprises at least one of: (i) determining that a current traffic pattern with the second MLD satisfies defined frequency criteria;
(ii) determining that the current traffic pattern with the second MLD satisfies defined size criteria;
(iii) determining that the current traffic with the second MLD is latency-sensitive; -Paragraph [0092, 0100] ([0092] recites, “The eMLSR STA may obtain, from the AP, an identifier (ID) of a rTWT, a delivery time of a beacon frame indicating a start time of the rTWT SP, and/or a traffic ID (TID) of low-latency data through a negotiation procedure with the AP on one link (e.g., first link) of a multi-link.” )
or (iv) determining that a total air time used, by the first MLD, for MLO initial control frames satisfies defined criteria.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Identifier Indication Method, Transceive Capability Indication Method” proposed by Yang with the concept of Kim to include “determining that the current traffic with the second MLD is latency-sensitive.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improving low-latency communication in a wireless LAN [0007].
Claim 9 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Yang further teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing computer program code that, when executed by operation of one or more computer processors, performs an operation -Paragraph [0029] ([0029] recites, “an embodiment provides a first multi-link device, including a processor, a memory, and a communications bus. The communications bus is configured to implement connection and communication between the processor and the memory. The processor executes programs stored in the memory, to implement steps ”)
Claim 10 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 2 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2. Claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim 11 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 4 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim 12 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 5 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Claim 13 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Claim 14 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 7 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 7. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Claim 15 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 8 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 8. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 8.
Claim 16 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Yang further teaches
A system, comprising: one or more computer processors; and a memory containing a program which when executed by the one or more computer processors performs an operation - Paragraph [0029] ([0029] recites, “an embodiment provides a first multi-link device, including a processor, a memory, and a communications bus. The communications bus is configured to implement connection and communication between the processor and the memory. The processor executes programs stored in the memory, to implement steps ”)
Claim 17 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 2 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim 18 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 4 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim 19 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 5 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Claim 20 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kim and further in view of YUCHEN et al. (Patent No: WO2022042268A1), hereinafter, YUCHEN.
Regarding Claim 3, Yang does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of data frames comprise an indication that the first MLD will remain on the first link for at least the second set of data frames during the second TXOP.
However, in an analogous invention, YUCHEN teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of data frames comprise an indication that the first MLD will remain on the first link for at least the second set of data frames during the second TXOP. -Paragraph [0052-0053] ([0052-0053] recites, “In an implementation manner of any of the above aspects, the first frame is a data frame, and the link indication information can be carried in an aggregation control (A-control) field of a media access control header (MAC Header) of the data frame. This solution can carry link indication information through data frames to indicate one or more second links, so that the non-AP MLD can open the second link after receiving data from the AP MLD, so that the AP MLD can use multiple links for data transmission, thereby improving the peak transmission rate and reducing the delay.” It is easily understandable to ordinary person of skill in the art that multiple data frames can be transmitted using second link)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Identifier Indication Method, Transceive Capability Indication Method” proposed by Yang with the concept of YUCHEN to include “transmitting, to the second MLD, a second set of data frames via the first link during a second TXOP subsequent to the first TXOP without transmitting an initial control frame for the second TXOP.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve peak transmission rate and reducing the delay [0053].
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475