DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 2/9/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and additionally do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation below necessitated by Applicant’s arguments.
Upon further consideration and review of the references and the calculations applied below, the amendments do not overcome the prior art relied on as explained below. Further, Applicant’s arguments to the alleged criticality of the claimed ranges have been considered but are not persuasive as no optimization rejections are relied on’ the prior discloses the claimed ranges. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive and additionally do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation below necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, the term “cauterizes and sterilizes inflammatory factors” is indefinite as it is unclear what an inflammatory factor is, and how a factor is cauterized. As best understood by the Examiner the term is interpreted to mean tissues or the like. Clarification is required.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, the term “a high frequency current” is indefinite as it is unclear which current the term refers to; specifically, the first current, second current or another current. Clarification is required.
All other claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taft et al (US 9131597 B2) as evidenced by Calculator Academy (“Hz to Amps Calculator”).
Regarding claim 1, Taft et al discloses a treatment device (Fig. 2) that passes a high frequency current through a bone defect or a root apex lesion (see abstract, citations below; configured to be applied to the bone or root apex lesion if desired), the treatment device comprising: a holder (710) that holds an electrode (716a) to be located in the bone defect or the root apex lesion (configured to be placed as desired); a power circuit (726/732) configured to pass a first high frequency current through the electrode (see citations below); and a control circuit (728) configured to control a frequency of the first high frequency current to be passed through the electrode from the power circuit, wherein the control circuit is further configured to control the frequency of the first high frequency current to be passed through the electrode to be within a range of 7.751+- 2 MHz (see abstract, col 5, lines 42-50; col 6, lines 30-46; col 11, line 50 through col 12, line 5; col 13, lines 50-65; col 17, lines 40-45; col 18, lines 20-28; col 19, lines 20-22; col 21, line 28 through col 23, line 3) and a current value of the first high frequency current to be passed through the electrode to be 10 to less than 20 milliamps (e.g. Taft discloses a frequency in the range recited, a voltage from 5V to 1000V and an inductance of 10 microH to 50,000 microH, see col 19, lines 25-50; as shown in attached Hz to Amps Calculator, using a inductance of 10 microH, a voltage of 5V and a frequency of 7MHz, all supported by Taft’s disclosure, results in a current of 11.36 mA, meeting the limitations of the claims), the first high frequency current configured to promote bone regeneration in the bone defect of the root apex lesions (configured to be used as such; see citations above; additionally the Examiner notes that the prior art teaches the same application parameters of the instant invention and therefore would be capable of promoting bone regeneration, at least to some degree).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taft et al in view of Livaditis (US 6319007 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Taft et al does not explicitly teach that the control circuit is configured to control a waveform passed to the electrode, which is sinusoidal as required.
Livaditis, however, teaches a similar treatment device for soft and/or hard tissues wherein the controller applies a sinusoidal wave to treat the tissue (see col 6, lines 45-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Taft to include Livaditis’ teaching of providing the sinusoidal wave, as such modification would provide parameters of the electric signal and current effective to provide desired treatment (see Livaditis, abstract and citations above), thereby controlling treatment of the dental pulp.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taft et al in view of Livaditis in view of Perdomini et al (US 6482008 B2), as evidenced by RapidTables (“Watts/Volts/Amps/Ohms Calculator”).
Regarding the above claims, Taft/Livaditis, as combined above does not teach wherein the control circuit is configured to switch between a first control mode of passing the first high frequency current through the electrode and a second control mode of passing a second high frequency current having a frequency controlled to be within a second range of 300 to 1000 kHz through the electrode and a current of 20mA to less than 200 mA, and the second high frequency current cauterizes and sterilizes inflammatory factors; wherein the control circuit is further configured to divide one energization period that passes a high frequency current through the electrode into a plurality of periods, wherein the one period includes, a first period passing the second high frequency current through the electrode, and a second period of passing the first high frequency current through the electrode and wherein the control circuit is configured to vary a frequency of the first or second high frequency current and vary a current value of the first or second high frequency current as required.
Livaditis, however, teaches a similar treatment device for soft and/or hard tissues having a controller which applies a high frequency current having a frequency controlled to be within of 300 to 1000 kHz through the electrode (22) and a current of 20mA to less than 200 mA, and the second high frequency current cauterizes and sterilizes inflammatory factors (see abtract, Fig. 3 and col 9, line 55 through col 10, line 60). The Examiner notes that Livaditis discloses the use of 500kHz, with a 100 ohm resistance and 3 Watts of power, which can be used to calculate a current of 173.2 mA (as evidenced by RapidTables), which meets the limitations of the claims. Further, Livaditis discloses that the second high frequency current cauterizes and sterilizes inflammatory factors (e.g. tissues, as best understood, see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Taft/Livaditis, as combined above, to further include Livaditis’ teaching of applying the high frequency current at the second range, as such modification would allow for use of the device in cauterizing and sterilizing tissues, improving efficiency and versatility during use of the device at the surgical site.
Perdomini et al, however, additionally discloses a similar treatment device used for treating dental tissue (abstract) comprising a control circuit (e.g. circuitry associated with various mode control buttons and programming) configured to switch between a first control mode of passing a high frequency current through the electrode (e.g. use in devitalizing mode, see abstract, col 5, lines 5-40) and a second control mode of passing a high frequency current having a frequency controlled within a second range different from the first range (e.g. measuring mode, see col 4, lines 42 through line 66). Perdomini additionally discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to divide one energization period that passes a high frequency current through the electrode into a plurality of periods, the one energization period (devitalization period then to measurement period, see col 4, lines 63-67) includes: a first period of passing a high frequency current having a frequency controlled to be within a second range (e.g. time period of measurement function), and a second period of passing a high frequency current having a frequency controlled to be within the first range (e.g. devitalization treatment period; see citations above); and wherein the control circuit is configured to vary a frequency of the current within a first range or the second range and vary a current value within a range set in accordance with the first or second range (e.g. Perdomini, citations above; additionally both frequency and current would be varied at least on and off (e.g. 0 to a particular value) in order to perform the recited treatment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Taft/Livaditis, as combined above, to include Perdomini’s teachings of providing control switching between different modes of operation, including setting first and second periods of passing the different frequencies to the electrode and varying the frequency and current, as such modification would allow for additional functionality achievable with electrode system, improving treatment efficiency, and additionally would allow for optimization of treatment parameters for a particular treatment location or patient.
The Examiner notes that should the device of Taft/Livaditis, as combined above, be modified with the teachings of Perdomini, as combined above, the controller would be provided with operability to switch (Perdomini) between the first (Taft) and second (Livaditis) modes of operation, with the energization period (use period) being divided into different periods for applying the different treatments (Perdomini), and the frequency and current to be varied as needed or desired (Perdomini).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772