Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filled 09/30/2025 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 1 and 7, the limitation “wherein M and N are integer larger…” should be read “wherein M and N are integers larger…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh(US4612547) in view of BLOEDT(DE102012106938A1).
Regarding claim 1, Itoh discloses
A three-dimensional (3D) radar device, comprising: M transmitting antennae (“The operation of this invention will be described on the assumption that the antenna is in the transmitting state [Itoh Col.3, ll.60-63]) controlled to form beamforming radiation patterns in different transmitting and receiving periods (“In this case, with regard to the vertical radiation plane, radiation beam control can be effected, including the switching of the two radiation beams” [Itoh Col.9, ll.51-54]),wherein the beamforming radiation patterns are formed on a horizontal plane, and the beamforming radiation patterns in the different transmitting and receiving periods scan a vertical plane being orthogonal to the horizontal plane (“two multi-radiation beams are formed in the horizontal plane and the array radiation aperture is formed by arranging, in the vertical direction, 6 horizontal array units each including 8 radiation elements arrayed in the horizontal direction. More particularly, as shown in FIG. 10B, this embodiment comprises horizontal array units 114-1 to 114-6, beam control means 170 including two-output variable power phase shifters 115-1 to 115-6 and a vertical feed circuit 116." [Itoh Col.7, ll.14-22]; […], and a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC), electrically connected to the M transmitting antennae and the N receiving antennae, comprising an antenna phase adjuster to adjust phases of the M transmitting antennae ("In FIG. 10B, horizontal array units 114-1 to 114-6 are connected to corresponding variable power phase shifters 115-1 to 115-6 respectively, while the variable power phase shifters 115-1 to 115-6 are connected to a vertical feed circuit 116" [Itoh Col.8, ll.33-37]),
Itoh does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the phases of the receiving antenna are fixed. BLOEDT discloses the radar device wherein, N receiving antennae (FIG.8, Parts.816-821), forming N receiving radiation patterns at the same time to cover a second plane being orthogonal to the horizontal plane and the vertical plane (FIG.8, Parts.822-827); wherein phases of the N receiving antenna are fixed without beamforming and scanning functions (“According to a first possibility, the signal intensities received by the horn antenna elements 816 - 821 are evaluated in parallel, so that the entire azimuth angle range from φ1 to φ6 can be detected and evaluated simultaneously “ [0057])[…] wherein M and N are integer larger than or equal to 2 (Fig. 10, Parts.1000 & 1003).
Itoh teaches in the same field of endeavor 3d radar devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh with the teachings of BLOEDT to incorporate the features of a receive array wherein the phases are fixed so as to gain the advantage of improving field of view [0006, BLOEDT]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7, Itoh discloses
An angle detection system, comprising: a three-dimensional (3D) radar device, comprising: M transmitting antennae (“The operation of this invention will be described on the assumption that the antenna is in the transmitting state [Itoh Col.3, ll.60-63]) controlled to form beamforming radiation patterns in different transmitting and receiving periods (“In this case, with regard to the vertical radiation plane, radiation beam control can be effected, including the switching of the two radiation beams” [Itoh Col.9, ll.51-54]),wherein the beamforming radiation patterns are formed on a first horizontal, and the beamforming radiation patterns in the different transmitting and receiving periods scan a vertical plane being orthogonal to the horizontal plane (“two multi-radiation beams are formed in the horizontal plane and the array radiation aperture is formed by arranging, in the vertical direction, 6 horizontal array units each including 8 radiation elements arrayed in the horizontal direction. More particularly, as shown in FIG. 10B, this embodiment comprises horizontal array units 114-1 to 114-6, beam control means 170 including two-output variable power phase shifters 115-1 to 115-6 and a vertical feed circuit 116." [Itoh Col.7, ll.14-22]; and a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC), electrically connected to the M transmitting antennae and the N receiving antennae, comprising an antenna phase adjuster to adjust phases of the M transmitting antennae ("In FIG. 10B, horizontal array units 114-1 to 114-6 are connected to corresponding variable power phase shifters 115-1 to 115-6 respectively, while the variable power phase shifters 115-1 to 115-6 are connected to a vertical feed circuit 116" [Itoh Col.8, ll.33-37]), and a microcontroller unit (MCU), electrically connected to the 3D radar device (“processing means for processing output signals from said receiver” [Itoh Col.20, ll.22-23]), calculating a vertical angle and a horizontal angle of a target in respective to the 3D radar device based on RF waves received by the N receiving antennae and reflected from the target (“said plurality of beams are processed in terms of azimuth angle correlation to determine the azimuth of said target" [Itoh Col.18, ll.24-26]).
Itoh does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the phases of the receiving antenna are fixed. BLOEDT discloses the radar device wherein, N receiving antennae (FIG.8, Parts.816-821), forming N receiving radiation patterns at the same time to cover a second plane being orthogonal to the horizontal plane and the vertical plane (FIG.8, Parts.822-827); wherein phases of the N receiving antenna are fixed without beamforming and scanning functions (“According to a first possibility, the signal intensities received by the horn antenna elements 816 - 821 are evaluated in parallel, so that the entire azimuth angle range from φ1 to φ6 can be detected and evaluated simultaneously“ [0057])[…] wherein M and N are integer larger than or equal to 2 (Fig. 10, Parts.1000 & 1003).
Itoh teaches in the same field of 3d radar devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh with the teachings of BLOEDT to incorporate the features of a receive array wherein the phases are fixed so as to gain the advantage of improving field of view [0006, BLOEDT]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 2, 8, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh(US4612547) as modified by BLOEDT(DE102012106938A1), further in view of Ren(US20230204748)
Regarding claim 2, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the device of claim 2. Ren discloses the device wherein, the antenna phase adjuster is a programmable phase rotator(“transmitter module 23 may include additional processing circuits, such as a digital-to-analog converter (DAC), phase shifter (or phase rotator)” [0020]).
Ren teaches in the same field of endeavor of beamforming radar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Ren to incorporate the features of a programmable phase rotator as antenna phase adjustor so as to gain the advantage of reducing sidelobes [0017, Ren]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the system of claim 8. Ren discloses the system wherein the antenna phase adjuster is a programmable phase rotator(“transmitter module 23 may include additional processing circuits, such as a digital-to-analog converter (DAC), phase shifter (or phase rotator)” [0020]).
Ren teaches in the same field of endeavor of beamforming radar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Ren to incorporate the features of a programmable phase rotator as antenna phase adjustor so as to gain the advantage of reducing sidelobes [0017, Ren]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7. Itoh teaches the detection system wherein, the MCU comprises a digital signal processing unit(“processing means for processing output signals from said receiver” [Itoh Col.20, ll.22-23]).
Itoh as modified by BLOEDT does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the system comprises 2D or 3D fast Fourier transform capable modules. Ren discloses the system wherein, and the digital signal processing unit comprises multiple function modules for performing 2D or 3D fast Fourier transform, range and velocity determination of the target, angle determination of the target and tracking of the target ("a fast-time (range) FFT module 13 and slow-time (Doppler) FFT module 14, thereby generating a three-dimensional range-Doppler map (RDM)"[0024]).
Ren teaches in the same field of endeavor of beamforming radar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Ren to incorporate the features of a 2D or 3D fast Fourier transform capable modules so as to gain the advantage of reducing sidelobes [0017, Ren]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 15, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7. Itoh teaches the detection system comprising, steps of: making the M transmitting antennae (“The operation of this invention will be described on the assumption that the antenna is in the transmitting state [Itoh Col.3, ll.60-63]) of the 3D radar device be configured to generate a xth beamforming radiation pattern to emit RF waves to a target in a xth transmitting and receiving period (“In this case, with regard to the vertical radiation plane, radiation beam control can be effected, including the switching of the two radiation beams” [Itoh Col.9, ll.51-54] […], and making the 3D radar device process signals of the RF waves reflected from the target to generate a xth processed signal(“processing means for processing output signals from said receiver” [Itoh Col.20, ll.22-23]), wherein x is an integer from 1 to k, and k is an integer larger than or equal to 2, wherein the first through kth beamforming radiation patterns and the N receiving radiation patterns are formed on a horizontal plane, the first through kth beamforming radiation patterns in the first through kth transmitting and receiving periods scan a vertical plane being orthogonal to the horizontal plane (“two multi-radiation beams are formed in the horizontal plane and the array radiation aperture is formed by arranging, in the vertical direction, 6 horizontal array units each including 8 radiation elements arrayed in the horizontal direction. More particularly, as shown in FIG. 10B, this embodiment comprises horizontal array units 114-1 to 114-6, beam control means 170 including two-output variable power phase shifters 115-1 to 115-6 and a vertical feed circuit 116." [Itoh Col.7, ll.14-22]);
Itoh does not disclose nor limit wherein the receiving antenna explicitly covers a second plane being orthogonal to the horizontal plane and the vertical plane. BLOEDT discloses the angle detection method wherein, all of the N receiving antennae of the 3D radar device generate the N receiving radiation patterns at the same time to receive the RF waves reflected from the target functions (“According to a first possibility, the signal intensities received by the horn antenna elements 816 - 821 are evaluated in parallel, so that the entire azimuth angle range from φ1 to φ6 can be detected and evaluated simultaneously “ [0057]) […] and the N receiving radiation patterns covers a second plane being orthogonal to the horizontal plane and the vertical plane (FIG.8, Parts.822-827).
Itoh teaches in the same field of 3d radar devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh with the teachings of BLOEDT to incorporate the features of a receiving antenna covering a second plane being orthogonal to the horizontal plane and the vertical plane so as to gain the advantage of improving field of view [0006, BLOEDT]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Itoh as modified by BLOEDT does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method comprises 2D or 3D fast Fourier transform capable modules. Ren discloses the method wherein, calculating a distance, a velocity, a horizontal angle and a vertical angle of the target in respective to the 3D radar device according to the first through kth processed signals ("a fast-time (range) FFT module 13 and slow-time (Doppler) FFT module 14, thereby generating a three-dimensional range-Doppler map (RDM)"[0024]).
Ren teaches in the same field of endeavor of beamforming radar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Ren to incorporate the features of a 2D or 3D fast Fourier transform capable modules so as to gain the advantage of reducing sidelobes [0017, Ren]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 3, 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh(US4612547) as modified by BLOEDT(DE102012106938A1), further in view of Wang(US20220317285A1)
Regarding claim 3, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the device of claim 3. Wang discloses the device wherein, the RFIC further comprises a radio frequency front-end circuit (RFFE) and a digital front-end circuit (DFE) for processing signals of RF waves received by the N receiving antennae (“an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP)” [0021]).
Wang teaches in the same field of endeavor of beamforming radar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Wang to incorporate the features of a radio frequency front-end circuit (RFFE) and a digital front-end circuit (DFE) so as to gain the advantage of improving angle of estimation resolution [0038, wang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 4, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT and further modified by Wang teaches all of the limitations of Claim 3. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the device of claim 4. Wang discloses the device wherein, the RFFE comprises an amplifier(“the signal is transmitted to an intermediate frequency (IF) amplifier" [0025]), a mixer, an oscillator, a variable gain amplifier and a phase locked loop (PLL) “the signal is provided to a mixer, where the signal is mixed with a signal from a phase locked loop (PLL)" [0025]), and the DFE comprises a filter ("the signal is filtered by a digital filter" [0025]) and a down-converter (“a digital signal processor (DSP)”[0021]).
Wang teaches in the same field of endeavor of beamforming radar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Wang to incorporate the features of RFFE and DFE subcomponents so as to gain the advantage of improving angle of estimation resolution [0038, wang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the system of claim 9. Wang discloses the system wherein, the RFIC further comprises a radio frequency front-end circuit (RFFE) and a digital front-end circuit (DFE) for processing signals of RF waves received by the N receiving antennae (“an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital signal processor (DSP)” [0021]).
Wang teaches in the same field of endeavor of beamforming radar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Wang to incorporate the features of a radio frequency front-end circuit (RFFE) and a digital front-end circuit (DFE) so as to gain the advantage of improving angle of estimation resolution [0038, wang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT and further modified by Wang teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the system of claim 10. Wang discloses the system wherein, the RFFE comprises an amplifier(“the signal is transmitted to an intermediate frequency (IF) amplifier" [0025]), a mixer, an oscillator, a variable gain amplifier and a phase locked loop (PLL) “the signal is provided to a mixer, where the signal is mixed with a signal from a phase locked loop (PLL)" [0025]), and the DFE comprises a filter ("the signal is filtered by a digital filter" [0025]) and a down-converter (“a digital signal processor (DSP)”[0021].
Wang teaches in the same field of endeavor of beamforming radar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Wang to incorporate the features of RFFE and DFE subcomponents so as to gain the advantage of improving angle of estimation resolution [0038, wang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 5, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh(US4612547) as modified by BLOEDT(DE102012106938A1), further in view of Pelletti(WO2019075488A1).
Regarding claim 5, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the device of claim 5. Pelletti discloses the device wherein, M is 3, 6, 12 or 24, and N is 4, 8 16 or 32 (“A transmission array structure may be a 4 x 4 array, an 8 x 8 array, a 16 x 16 array, a 32 x 32 array, a 4 x 8 array, a 4 x 16 array, an 8 x 32 array, and so on" [0055] and "Transceiver module 106 coupled to the radiating structure 102 prepares a signal for transmission"[0031]).
Pelletti teaches in the same field of endeavor of radio antenna systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Pelletti to incorporate the features of several alternate antenna modalities so as to gain the advantage of improving antenna directivity [0022, Pelletti]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 11, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the system of claim 11. Pelletti discloses the system wherein, M is 3, 6, 12 or 24, and N is 4, 8 16 or 32 (“A transmission array structure may be a 4 x 4 array, an 8 x 8 array, a 16 x 16 array, a 32 x 32 array, a 4 x 8 array, a 4 x 16 array, an 8 x 32 array, and so on" [0055] and "Transceiver module 106 coupled to the radiating structure 102 prepares a signal for transmission"[0031]).
Pelletti teaches in the same field of endeavor of radio antenna systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh with the teachings of Pelletti to incorporate the features of several alternate antenna modalities so as to gain the advantage of improving antenna directivity [0022, Pelletti]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 14, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the system of claim 14. Pelletti discloses the system wherein, the MCU comprises a control unit, and the control unit comprises multiple control modules for controlling RF waves which the M transmitting antennae to radiate and controlling the antenna phase adjuster (“The impedance matching element 126 and phase control element 128 may be a part of a superelement control module to control the phase and impedance of each superelement" [0025]).
Pelletti teaches in the same field of endeavor of radio antenna systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Pelletti to incorporate the features of a control unit comprising multiple RF controlling modules so as to gain the advantage of improving antenna directivity [0022, Pelletti]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh(US4612547) as modified by BLOEDT(DE102012106938A1), further in view of Hughes(US20170365908A1).
Regarding claim 6, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the device of claim 6. Hughes discloses the device wherein, the N receiving antennae have different antenna lengths (“When the antenna structures have different lengths, the antenna structure radiates (or receives) radiation of different frequencies" [0188]).
Hughes teaches in the same field of endeavor of radio antenna systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Hughes to incorporate the features of a varied antenna lengths. so as to gain the advantage of improving detection range of the device. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Itoh as modified by BLOEDT teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7. Itoh as modified by BLOEDT fails to set forth the system of claim 12. Hughes discloses the system wherein, wherein the N receiving antennae have different antenna lengths(“When the antenna structures have different lengths, the antenna structure radiates (or receives) radiation of different frequencies" [0188]).
Hughes teaches in the same field of endeavor of radio antenna systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itoh as modified by BLOEDT with the teachings of Hughes to incorporate the features of a varied antenna lengths. so as to gain the advantage of improving detection range of the device. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ROHANI(US 20180106896 A1) is considered analogous art to the instant application as it discloses in paragraph [0032] “the system includes a scanning radar, or combination of radars, that scans the surrounding environment in one or more vertical planes at one or more fixed azimuth angles.”
Conclusion
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646