DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 05/13/2026 responsive to the Office Action filed 01/15/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 9-16 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1 and 3-17 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 05/13/2026 in pages 7-10, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Taruno discloses that the apparatus includes belts 48c and 49c that are fixed relative to each other, i.e., the positional relationship between the belts 48c and 49c and the pressed surface fc of the body 7 is maintained. (Paragraph [0026]). Taruno does not disclose that belt 48c or 49c move relative to each other to adjust the distance between the belts.” (pages 8-9)
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
Taruno does not explicitly teach that belts 48c and 49c are fixed relative to each other as Applicant alleged. Taruno teaches, in the paragraph which Applicant cited, that “Here, the pressed surface fc of the body portion 7 is formed in a range outside the position of the body portion 7 where the circularity is smallest, so that the cross-sectional shape of the pressed surface fc of the body portion 7 is prevented from deviating from a circular shape. Therefore, when the belt portion 48c is moved relative to the belt portion 49c, the positional relationship between the belt portions 48c, 49c and the pressed surface fc of the body portion 7 is maintained.” That is, Taruno teaches the position of the pressed surface fc of the body portion 7 being formed in a range outside the position of the body portion 7 where the circularity is smallest, but does not teach that belts 48c and 49c are fixed. Even though Taruno’s teaching might mean that the position of belts 48c and 49c are fixed during the preliminary peeling process for the container body 3, but does not teach away adjusting the relative position of belts 48c and 49c between one preliminary peeling process for one container body and next preliminary peeling process for another container body. Taruno further teaches that “Therefore, the pressed surface fc is pressed uniformly in the circumferential direction by the belt portions 48c, 49c, and as a result, the inner bag 14 is peeled off uniformly in the circumferential direction from the inner surface of the outer shell 12.” (Pa [0026]). Thus, one would have found it obvious to adjust the distance between the belt portions 48c and 49c as long as the belt portions do not contact the position of the body portion of each container body where the circularity is smallest in order to uniformly peel off the inner bag in the circumferential direction from the inner surface of the outer shell in the preliminary peeling process for each container.
Applicant further argues that “Taruno also does not disclose or suggest that the "outer containers each have an outer wall forming an outermost wall of the containers, the outer containers each including an at least partially open pinch seam at the base of the outer wall, in which a welded base seam of the inner bags is held, said at least partially open pinch seam having an opening extending through the outer wall of the outer container to an interior space of the outer containers, the opening allowing air to pass through the outer wall and enter a gap between the inner bags and the outer containers" as now recited in amended claim 1.” (page 9)
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
It is noted that this limitation is an intended use since the apparatus taught by the prior art is capable of using the claimed containers. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 05/13/2026 in page 10, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive because Taruno (JP20200007036A) does not teach the bottom seal protrusion 27, namely, the reference which Applicant cites in page 10 is not the reference which was not cited in the previous rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taruno (JP20200007036A-Machine Translation).
With respect to claim 1, Taruno teaches a system for detaching foldable inner bags from inner walls of associated rigid outer containers of containers (“manufacturing apparatus”), the system comprising:
co-extruders (“an extrusion device”) that form inner bags and wherein the outer containers each have an outer wall forming an outermost wall of the containers (“in the container body molding process, a molten laminated parison having a laminated structure corresponding to the container body 3 to be manufactured is extruded from an extrusion device”, Pa [0021]; “The container body 3 includes an outer shell 12 and an inner bag 14”, Pa [0012]); and
a conveyor track for upright containers, which is constituted by a horizontal, rotating first conveyor belt (“a conveying means 30”), a second conveyor belt (“belt portion 48c”) that rotates in a same direction as the first conveyor belt (“The conveying means 30 is a belt conveyor, and has the function of conveying the container body 3 in the direction of arrow A… the belt portion 48c moves in the direction of arrow A by rotating at least one of the pair of support columns 48e”, Pa [0023]), wherein the second conveyor belt (“belt portion 48c”) is on a first side of the first conveyor belt, and a vertical, fixed belt (“he belt portion 49c is stationary”, Pa [0026]) is on a second side of the first conveyor belt that is opposite to the first side (Fig. 4A), wherein a distance between the second conveyor belt and the fixed belt is smaller than an outer diameter of the upright containers so that the upright containers rotate about a vertical axis when the upright containers pass between the rotating second conveyor belt and the fixed vertical belt and are laterally compressed so that the inner bags abruptly separate from the outer containers solely due to the lateral compression between the second conveyor belt and the fixed vertical belt (“The belt portions 48c and 49c press against the circumferential surface of the body portion 7.”, Pa [0024]; “the pressed surface fc is pressed uniformly in the circumferential direction by the belt portions 48c, 49c, and as a result, the inner bag 14 is peeled off uniformly in the circumferential direction from the inner surface of the outer shell 12”, Pa [0026]).
Even though Turano does not explicitly teach that the inner bag has a rough surface with microscopically small protuberances and recesses, one having ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that the extruded polymeric material layer inherently has a rough surface with microscopically small protuberances and recesses. Besides, it is noted that the limitation “the inner bag having… a rough surface with microscopically small protuberances and recesses” is an intended use since the apparatus taught by the prior art is capable of forming the claimed inner bag. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Furthermore, even though Turano does not explicitly teach that the outer containers each includes an at least partially open pinch seam at the base of the outer wall, in which a welded base seam of the inner bags is held, said at least partially open pinch seam having an opening extending through the outer wall of the outer container to an interior space of the outer containers, the opening allowing air to pass through the outer wall and enter a gap between the inner bags and the outer containers, it is noted that this limitation is an intended use since the apparatus taught by the prior art is capable of using the claimed containers. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Taruno does not explicitly teach first conveyor belt attached to a frame, a second conveyor belt that is movably attached to the frame, and the second conveyor belt is movable relative to the vertical fixed belt to adjust a distance between the second conveyor belt and the fixed belt.
Firstly, even though Taruno is silent to the frame, one would have found it obvious to provide a frame with the apparatus in order to hold and support the structures taught by Taruno.
Secondly, Taruno further teaches that the belt portions 48c and 49c contact the peripheral surface of the tapered portion 7A and press against the tapered portion 7A, but the belt portions 48c and 49c do not contact the position of the body portion 7 where the circularity is smallest (Pa [0024]), and the pressed surface fc is pressed uniformly in the circumferential direction by the belt portions 48c, 49c, and as a result, the inner bag 14 is peeled off uniformly in the circumferential direction from the inner surface of the outer shell 12 (Pa [0026]).
Thus, one would have found it obvious to adjust the distance between the belt portions 48c and 49c as long as the belt portions do not contact the position of the body portion of each container body where the circularity is smallest in order to uniformly peel off the inner bag in the circumferential direction from the inner surface of the outer shell in the preliminary peeling process for each container.
With respect to claim 3, even though Taruno as applied to claim 1 does not explicitly teach that the second conveyor belt runs at the same speed as the horizontal conveyor belt, it is noted that the limitation is an intended use since the apparatus of Taruno is capable of the claimed operation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962).
With respect to claim 4, Taruno as applied to claim 1 further teaches an individual drive device provided for the rotating second conveyor belt (“the belt portion 48c moves in the direction of arrow A by rotating at least one of the pair of support columns 48e, or by providing a separate drive shaft that engages with the belt portion 48c and rotating the drive shaft.”, Pa [023]).
With respect to claim 7, Taruno as applied to claim 1 further teaches that the rotating conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt run at a speed so that the upright containers rotate at least once through 360° against the second conveyor belt (“the pressed surface fc is pressed uniformly in the circumferential direction by the belt portions 48c, 49c, and as a result, the inner bag 14 is peeled off uniformly in the circumferential direction from the inner surface of the outer shell 12. “, Pa [0026] and Fig. 4A).
With respect to claim 8, Taruno as applied to claim 1 further teaches that the first conveyor belt is arranged adjacent to or below the blow mold of an associated coextrusion blowing machine (“The manufacturing method of this embodiment includes a container body molding step and a preliminary peeling step”, Pa [0020]; “a molten laminated parison having a laminated structure corresponding to the container body 3 to be manufactured is extruded from an extrusion device, and this molten laminated parison is set in a split mold for blow molding… Thereafter, the split mold is opened and the blow-molded product (corresponding to the container body 3) is taken out”, Pa [0021]; “the container body 3 moves in one direction (the direction of arrow A) while rotating. Therefore, a large number of container bodies 3 can be processed continuously, making it suitable for incorporation into a manufacturing line.”, Pa [0027]).
With respect to claim 17, Taruno as applied to claim 1 does not explicilty teach that a height of at least one of the rotating second conveyor belt and the fixed belt is adjustable. However, Taruno further teaches that the pressed surface fc of the body 7 is part or all of the circumferential surface of the tapered portion 7A, and the pressed surface fc of the body 7 is off the position of the body 7 where the circularity is smallest (Pa [0024]), and as long as the belt portions 48c, 49c are not in contact with the position of the body portion 7 where the circularity is smallest, the belt portions 48c, 49c may be in contact with the flat portion 7B (Pa [0025]). One would have found it obvious to adjust the height of at least one of the belt portions 48c, 49c in order to allow the belt portions 48c, 49c to be in contact with the tapered portion 7A and/or the flat portion 7B as long as the belt portions 48c, 49c are not in contact with the position of the body portion 7 where the circularity is smallest.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taruno (JP20200007036A-Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN210944771U-Machine Translation).
With respect to claim 5, Taruno as applied to claim 1 above is silent to the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt consisting of fabric or rubber.
In the same field of endeavor, blow molding equipment, Wang teaches that the utility model of a pressure-resistant device comprises the conveyor belt 2 being a rubber conveyor belt (Pa [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Taruno with the teachings of Wang and provide the rubber conveyor belt as the first conveyor belt and the second conveyor belt for the purpose of transferring, while rotating, the container body in one direction, since it has been held that Where the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)) and Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taruno (JP20200007036A-Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cao (CN2321613Y-Machine Translation).
With respect to claim 6, Taruno as applied to claim 1 above is silent to the fixed, vertical belt consisting of an aluminum alloy or steel.
In the same field of endeavor, fully automatic pre-heating blank-drawing blow-moulding formation machine, Cao teaches the machine comprises a stainless steel conveyor belt 7 (Pa [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Taruno with the teachings of Cao and provide the stainless steel conveyor belt as the fixed, vertical belt since it has been held that Where the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)) and Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Conclusion
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742