Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Applicants Arguments/Remarks”, filed May 12th, 2026, with respect to claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Smith (US 20200206947 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Smith discloses a gripping device (14; see Fig. 1A) comprising a chassis (10; see Fig. 1A) on which a plurality of grippers (30, 32, 34; see Fig. 1A) are mounted, the plurality of grippers comprising a first gripper (30; see Fig. 1A), a second gripper (32; see Fig. 1A) and a third gripper (34; see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 12, Smith discloses the gripping device according to claim 10, wherein the
first gripper comprising a first actuated finger (30; see Fig. 1A), the second gripper comprising a second actuated finger (32; see Fig. 1A), the first actuated finger is articulated relative to the first plate about a fifth axis (see annotated Fig. 5 below) and the second actuated finger is articulated relative to the second plate about a sixth axis (see annotated Fig. 5 below), the fifth axis and the sixth axis being substantially orthogonal to the first axis (see annotated Fig. 5 below), and wherein, a rotation of the first finger relative to the first plate about the fifth axis and a rotation of the second finger relative to the second plate about the sixth axis are actuated using a second actuation device (42; see Para. 0038) provided with a unique third actuator (46; see Fig. 8 for the actuator).
Regarding claim 14, Smith discloses the gripping device according to claim 12, wherein the second actuation device (42; see Para. 0038) is arranged so that the rotational movements of the first finger (30) and of the second finger (32) are performed in opposite rotational ways (fingers can be rotated in both ways; grab or release).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are allowed over the prior art of Smith (US 20200206947 A1). Regarding claims 1-9, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included a four-bar linkage including an actuator comprised in the second phalanx. The closest prior art of record Smith (US 20200206947 A1) teaches a four-bar linkage and an actuator disposed on the palm, but fails to disclose a four-bar linkage including a linear actuator, and the linear actuator connected to the second phalanx.
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 15-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651