Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Smith et al. (US 20200206947 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smith et al. discloses a gripper (14) comprising a frame (18) and an actuated finger (30, 32, 34), the finger comprising a first distal phalanx (84) and a second proximal phalanx (72) which is articulated on the frame about a first axis (122), the first phalanx and the second phalanx being mechanically linked so as to enable a rotation of the first phalanx about a second axis (126) substantially parallel to the first axis so that the finger could switch from an opening configuration into a clamping configuration when the first phalanx and/or the second phalanx performs a rotation in a first way relative to the frame, wherein: the second phalanx comprises a first bar comprising a first end (see Fig. 7-8) linked to the first phalanx and a second end pivotally mounted on the frame about the first axis, and the second phalanx also comprises a linear actuator (46) comprising a third end (see Fig. 7-8) linked to the first phalanx and a fourth end (see Fig. 7-8) pivotally mounted on the frame, the first bar and the linear actuator being arranged so as to form a first four-bar linkage (Par. 0054) wherein a distance separating the third end from the fourth end can be modified (see Fig. 7-8).
Regarding claim 2, Smith et al. discloses the gripper according to claim 1, wherein the finger comprises a third phalanx (162) linking the first phalanx and the second phalanx.
Regarding claim 3, Smith et al. discloses the gripper according to claim 2, wherein the third phalanx comprises a second bar (see Fig. 13a-13c) comprising a fifth end articulated on the first phalanx and a sixth end articulated on a first connecting rod (170), the third phalanx also comprising a third bar (see Fig. 13a-13c) comprising a seventh end articulated on the first phalanx and an eighth end articulated on the first connecting rod, the first end and the third end being articulated with the first connecting rod (170).
Regarding claim 4, Smith et al. discloses the gripper according to claim 3, wherein an orthogonal projection of the third end on a line connecting the first end and the eighth end (see Fig. 13a – 13c) belongs to a section connecting the first end and the eighth end.
Regarding claim 5, Smith et al. discloses the gripper according to claim 4, wherein the first end is articulated on the sixth end (see Fig. 13a-13c).
Regarding claim 6, Smith et al. discloses the gripper according to claim 1, wherein the second phalanx comprises a first means (42) for biasing the finger towards the opening configuration.
Regarding claim 7, Smith et al. discloses the gripper according to claim 6, wherein the first biasing member comprises an elastic element (Par. 0044).
Regarding claim 8, Smith et al. discloses the gripper according to claim 2 wherein the third phalanx comprises a second biasing member (42) of the finger towards the opening configuration (Par. 0041).
Regarding claim 9, Smith at al. discloses the gripper according to claim 1, comprising a first stop for limiting a first angular stroke of a first rotation of the first phalanx about the second axis in a second way opposite to the first way (Para. 0031).
Regarding claim 10, Smith et al. discloses a gripping device (14) comprising a chassis (10) on which a plurality of grippers (30, 32, 34) are mounted, the plurality of grippers comprising a first gripper (30), a second gripper (32) and a third gripper (34).
Regarding claim 12, Smith et al. discloses a gripping device according to claim 11, wherein the first gripper comprising a first actuated finger (30), the second gripper comprising a second actuated finger (32), the first actuated finger is articulated relative to the first plate about a fifth axis and the second actuated finger is articulated relative to the second plate about a sixth axis, the fifth axis and the sixth axis being substantially orthogonal to the first axis, and wherein, a rotation of the first finger relative to the first plate about the fifth axis and a rotation of the second finger relative to the second plate about the sixth axis are actuated using a second actuation device (42) provided with a unique third actuator (46).
Regarding claim 14, Smith et al. discloses the gripping device according to claim 12, wherein the second actuation device (42) is arranged so that the rotational movements of the first finger (30) and of the second finger (32) are performed in opposite rotational ways.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 15-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651