Priority
The instant application was effectively filed on 11/03/2022, but claims priority to a US provisional patent (App. No.: 63/277,747) filed on 11/10/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 claims the compound of claim 1, wherein Ar1 and Ar5 each represent phenyl. Ar5 is not defined by Formula 1 or within the specification therefore it is unclear which portion of the compound Ar5 refers to. Only Ar1 and Ar3 are represented by Formula 1, so the claim will be interpreted as referring to Ar1 and Ar3 each representing phenyl.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 6 will be interpreted as Ar1 and Ar3 each representing phenyl instead of Ar1 and Ar5 each representing phenyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hatakeyama et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0301629 A1, hereafter Hatakeyama).
Regarding Claim 1, Hatakeyama teaches compounds 1-476 [pg. 26], 1-2624 [pg. 28], and 1-2691 [pg. 37] which read on Applicants’ Formula 1 (shown below)
wherein:
X1 and X2 are each N,
Y, Y1a, Y4a, Y5a, Y9a, Y10a, Y1b, Y2b, Y3b, Y4b, Y5b, Y6b, Y7b, Y8b, Y9b, and Y10b are each C,
L1 and L2 are each no bond, L3 and L4 are each a linking atom (C) substituted with two R substituents (methyl),
Ar1 and Ar3 are each phenyl,
R is an alkyl (methyl), R1 and R2 are each either an alkyl (methyl) or a hydrogen, R3– R5 are each hydrogen.
wherein:
X1 and X2 are each N,
Y, Y1a, Y4a, Y5a, Y9a, Y10a, Y1b, Y2b, Y3b, Y4b, Y5b, Y6b, Y7b, Y8b, Y9b, and Y10b are each C,
L1–L4 are each no bond,
Ar1 is a carbazole, Ar3 is a phenyl,
R is not present, R1– R5 are each hydrogen.
wherein:
X1 and X2 are each N,
Y, Y1a, Y4a, Y5a, Y9a, Y10a, Y1b, Y2b, Y3b, Y4b, Y5b, Y6b, Y7b, Y8b, Y9b, and Y10b are each C,
L1, L3, and L4 are each no bond, L2 is a linking atom (O),
Ar1 and Ar3 are each phenyl,
R is not present, R1– R5 are each hydrogen.
Regarding Claims 2 and 4, 1-476 reads on Applicants’ limitation since L1 and L2 are each no bond while L3 and L4 are each a linking atom (C).
Regarding Claim 3 and 5, 1-2691 reads on Applicants’ limitation since L1, L3, and L4 are each no bond while L2 is a linking atom (O).
Regarding Claim 6, as stated above in the 112(b) rejection, Ar5 is not defined in Formula 1. However, Ar3 is defined. Therefore claim 6 will be interpreted as Ar1 and Ar3 each representing phenyl. 1-476 reads on Applicants’ limitations since Ar1 and Ar3 each represent phenyl.
Regarding Claim 7, 1-2624 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Ar1 represents carbazole.
Regarding Claim 8, 1-2624 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Ar1 is represented by a carbazole (shown below), wherein U represents NR8 with R8 representing an aryl.
Regarding Claim 9, 1-2624 reads on Applicants’ limitation since Ar3 is represented by a phenyl (shown below).
Regarding Claim 10, 1-476 reads on Applicants’ limitation since it is represented by the structure shown below, wherein Y3 and Y4 are CR6R7, and R6–R7 are each an alkyl (methyl).
Regarding Claim 11, 1-2691 reads on Applicants’ limitation since it is represented by the structure shown below,
wherein Y2 is O, while Ar1 and Ar3 are represented by the structures below, respectively.
Regarding Claim 12, 1-476 reads on Applicant’s limitation since 1-476 and the structure below are identical wherein R1, R2, R6, and R7 are each an alkyl (methyl).
Regarding Claim 13, 14, and 15, Hatakeyama teaches an organic electroluminescent element comprising a pair of electrodes composed of a positive electrode and a negative electrode and a light emitting layer disposed between the pair of electrodes, in which the light emitting layer comprises at least one of a polycyclic aromatic compound represented by the following general formula (1) and a polycyclic aromatic compound multimer having a plurality of structures represented by the following general formula (1), and an anthracene-based compound represented by the following general formula (3) [0009] -– [0010]. Hatakeyama’s Formula (1) describes compounds 1-476 [pg. 26], 1-2624 [pg. 28], and 1-2691 [pg. 37]. As discussed above, those compounds read on Applicants’ Formula 1, therefore satisfying the limitation of claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, Hatakeyama further teaches an anthracene-based compound represented by general formula (3) functions as a host [0127], reading on Applicants’ limitation of claim 14.
Regarding Claim 15, Hatakeyama teaches an organic electroluminescent element having a light emitting layer containing a polycyclic aromatic compound or a multimer thereof as a dopant material and a specific anthracene-based compound as a host material, and a display apparatus and a lighting apparatus using the same [0001]. The polycyclic aromatic compound is defined by Hatakeyama’s Formula (1), which describes compounds 1-476 [pg. 26], 1-2624 [pg. 28], and 1-2691 [pg. 37]. Therefore, Hatakeyama teaches a formulation of a compound that reads on Applicants’ Formula 1 and an anthracene-based compound, satisfying Applicants’ limitation of claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hatakeyama2 (US 2015/0236274 A1) teaches compounds that read on Applicants’ Formula 1.
Hatakeyama3 (US 2018/0094000 A1) teaches compounds that read on Applicants’ Formula 1.
Hatakeyama4 (US 2019/0058124 A1) teaches compounds that read on Applicants’ Formula 1.
Joo et al. (US 2020/0161552 A1) teaches compounds that read on Applicants’ Formula 1.
/J.R.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789