DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims 1-20 which are considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated in the rejection below.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hater et al. (USP 7,118,308).
With respect to claim 10, Hater et al. disclose a bio-barrier for reducing stray gas emissions at a target site from the ground into the atmosphere, the bio-barrier comprising: a geocomposite layer (18) extending laterally beneath a top surface of the ground; a first geotextile layer (19) extending laterally beneath the top surface of the ground and positioned above the geocomposite layer, the geocomposite layer and the geotextile layer configured to cause lateral diffusion of the stray gas through at least the geocomposite layer and diffusion of the stray gas through at least the geotextile layer (wherein the claimed layers are disclosed and thus considered to be configured as claimed above and there are no structural limitations in the claim beyond the broad type of material it is constructed from); and a first sediment layer (20) extending laterally beneath and directly contacting the geocomposite layer (see column 1 lines 1-28, wherein the berm is inside layer 18, thus it extends beneath layer 18).
With respect to claim 11, Hater disclose wherein the geocomposite layer is
positioned between 1 and 20 feet beneath the top surface of the ground (see column 5 lines 33-59, wherein the bioreactor is covered with material 24 having a depth of about 5 feet to about 50 feet, wherein when the depth is 5 feet, the geocomposite layer is a depth of about 5 feet which meets the claimed range).
With respect to claim 12, Hater disclose a bio-barrier for reducing stray gas emissions at a target site from the ground into the atmosphere, the bio-barrier comprising: a geocomposite layer (18) extending laterally beneath a top surface of the ground; a first geotextile layer (19) extending laterally beneath the top surface of the ground and positioned above the geocomposite layer (see figure 3), the geocomposite layer and the geotextile layer configured to laterally disperse the stray gas through at least the geocomposite layer (wherein the claimed layers are disclosed and thus considered to be configured as claimed above and there are no structural limitations in the claim beyond the broad type of material it is constructed from and also meets the meaning of the BRI of the term “disperse”); and a first sediment layer (20) extending laterally beneath and directly contacting the geocomposite layer (see column 1 lines 1-28, wherein the berm is inside layer 18, thus it extends beneath layer 18), wherein the first geotextile layer extends along a lateral edge of the geocomposite layer (see figure 3, extends along the top lateral edge) and is configured to inhibit lateral dispersion of the stray gas out of the geocomposite layer (wherein the prior art discloses a geotextile layer which is configured to inhibit lateral dispersion of gas).
With respect to claim 13, Hater disclose further comprising a second geotextile layer (28) extending laterally beneath the top surface of the ground and positioned above and spaced apart from the first geotextile layer (see figure 2).
With respect to claim 15, Hater disclose wherein the bio-barrier is configured to cause conversion of the stray gas to a different gas before entering the atmosphere (wherein Hater disclose the same bio-barrier as set forth in claim 10 and thus it is considered to be configured to case the conversion of the stray gas to a different gas).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hater in view of Aitchison (US 2020/0191549).
With respect to claim 1, Hater disclose a bio-barrier for reducing combustible gas emissions at a target site from the ground into the atmosphere, the bio-barrier comprising: a geocomposite layer (18) extending laterally beneath a top surface of the ground; a first geotextile layer (19) extending laterally beneath the top surface of the ground and positioned above the geocomposite layer, the geocomposite layer and the geotextile layer configured to laterally disperse the combustible gas through at least the geocomposite layer and diffuse the combustible gas through at least the geotextile layer (wherein the claimed layers are disclosed and thus considered to be configured as claimed above and there are no structural limitations in the claim beyond the broad type of material it is constructed from). Hater does not disclose at least one sensor.
Aitchison is analogous art because it is directed to geosyntheics (i.e. geotextile and geocomposite) and described a sensor incorporated in a geotextile or geocomposite to measure variables including at least temperature and water content (i.e. moisture) and describes this is desirable in [0006] one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that these variables would advantageously provide updates on otherwise hidden underground conditions.
It would therefore have been obvious to have modified the geocomposite of Hater to have the sensor within the geocomposite to monitor a parameter indicative of the concentration or oxidation of gas below ground (i.e. temperature is a parameter indicative of oxidation of combustible gas) as claimed.
With respect to claim 2, Hater disclose wherein the geocomposite layer is positioned between 1 and 20 feet beneath the top surface of the ground (see column 5 lines 33-59, wherein the bioreactor is covered with material 24 having a depth of about 5 feet to about 50 feet, wherein when the depth is 5 feet, the geocomposite layer is a depth of about 5 feet which meets the claimed range).
With respect to claim 3, Aitchsison described multiple sensors on the geocomposite, and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Multiple sensors on the geocomposite layer would be at substantially the same level.
With respect to claim 6, Hater in view of Aitchison disclose wherein the at least one sensor includes at least two different ones of a temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, or soil moisture sensor (see paragraph 8, pressure, strain, water content, temperature sensor).
With respect to claim 7, Hater disclose further comprising a second geotextile layer (28) extending laterally beneath the top surface of the ground and positioned above and spaced apart from the first geotextile layer (see figure 2).
With respect to claim 8, Hater disclose further comprising a sediment layer (20) extending laterally beneath and directly contacting the geocomposite layer (see column 1 lines 1-28, wherein the berm is inside layer 18, thus it extends beneath layer 18).
With respect to claim 9, Hater disclose a bio-barrier for reducing combustible gas emissions at a target site from the ground into the atmosphere, the bio-barrier comprising: a geocomposite layer (18) extending laterally beneath a top surface of the ground; a first geotextile layer (19) extending laterally beneath the top surface of the ground and positioned above the geocomposite layer, the geocomposite layer and the geotextile layer configured to laterally disperse the combustible gas through at least the geocomposite layer (wherein the claimed layers are disclosed and thus considered to be configured as claimed above and there are no structural limitations in the claim beyond the broad type of material it is constructed from); wherein the first geotextile layer extends along a lateral edge of the geocomposite layer and is configured to inhibit lateral dispersion of the combustible gas out of the geocomposite layer (see figure 3, extends along the top lateral edge). Hater does not disclose at least one sensor.
Aitchison is analogous art because it is directed to geosyntheics (i.e. geotextile and geocomposite) and described a sensor incorporated in a geotextile or geocomposite to measure variables including at least temperature and water content (i.e. moisture) and describes this is desirable in [0006] one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that these variables would advantageously provide updates on otherwise hidden underground conditions.
It would therefore have been obvious to have modified the geocomposite of Hater to have the sensor within the geocomposite to monitor a parameter indicative of the concentration or oxidation of gas below ground (i.e. temperature is a parameter indicative of oxidation of combustible gas) as claimed.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hater in view of Aitchison (US 2020/0191549) in further view of Sale et al. (US 2020/0116894).
With respect to claim 4, Hater in view of Aitchison does not disclose two vertically spaced sensors. However, Sale et al. discloses two vertically spaced sensor arrays (see figure 1B) with two sensors at substantially the same horizontal position (see figure 1B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hater in view of Aitchison by including a second vertical sensor as taught by Sale et al. in order to monitor the whole site and provide continuous and real-time monitoring (see paragraphs 25 and 26).
With respect to claim 5, Hater in view of Aitchison disclose wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, or pH sensor (see paragraph 8, pressure, strain, water content, temperature sensor). Hater in view of Aitchson are silent as to a processor. Sale et al. disclose a processor for receiving measurements and storing instructions (see paragraph 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hater in view of Aitchison by including a processor as taught by Sale et al. to receive parameter measurements and monitor conditions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 14, the closest prior art Hater, does not disclose nor would it be obvious to include “a second sediment layer extending laterally between the first and second geotextile layers” in combination with the other limitations of claim 1. Claim 22 depends from claim 14 so is also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Upon further consideration, Hater still reads on the claims as noted above.
With respect to Hater, the Applicant argues that “neither element 18 nor element 19 is described as being configured to cause lateral diffusion of stray gas through the layer”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The layers are geocomposite and geotextile as set forth in the current claims and thus configured to disperse and diffuse gas through the layers. The claims do not set forth any structural difference with the prior art, and it is noted that methods of diffusing and dispersing are not set forth. Furthermore, the claims do not prohibit the use of a pipe as taught by the prior art. With respect to the second argument, the 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn. With respect to the third argument, the rejection now maps the berm (20) to the sediment layer, which is composed of soil or clay (see column 5 lines 1-18). Thus, the layers of Hater anticipate the claim as currently written.
With respect to claim 11, as noted in column 5 lines 33-59, the layer 24 has a depth of 5 feet to 50 feet. When the depth of the layer 25 is 5 feet, the bioreactor starts at a depth of 5 feet which meets the claimed limitation range of 1-20 feet.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, these rejections have been withdrawn as noted above.
With respect to claim 1, Hater teaches the bio-barrier as noted above with rejection to claim 10. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that the combination with Hater and Aitchison is improper. Incorporating a sensor into Hater would not be meaningless as placing a sensor would allow one to monitor a parameter indicative of the concentration or oxidation of gas below ground (i.e. temperature is a parameter indicative of oxidation of combustible gas). Aitchison is considered analogous art as it teaches a geotextile as noted above. In addition, the Office has provided motivation – placing a sensor would allow one to monitor a parameter. The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the motivation is too generic. A person of ordinary skill would have selected Atichison’s sensor as Aitchinson’s sensor is used in a geotextile and Hater has a geotextile layer and this would allow monitoring of the geotextile layer. Monitoring the layer provides fast, accurate and continuous information about the layer allowing detection of damage, displacement or loss of performance of the layer which is all beneficial in a bio-barrier.
With respect to claim 2, please see response to claim 11 above.
In view of this new rejection, this action is hereby made non-final.
Conclusion
/Nicole Coy/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672