DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers (CHINA 202210377224.9 04/12/2022) required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Currently, no information disclosure statements have been filed in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Recent Innovations) in view of Li (CN 113413752 and corresponding English language machine translation), Lv et al. (J. Cleaner Production) and Zhan et al. (IERI Procedia).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Liu et al. discloses:
A method for wet removal of sulfur dioxide by manganese ore pulp (Fig. 1), comprising the following steps:
S1, treatment of ore waste residue: providing an ore powder (page 8, “5.5. Particle Size”);
S3, preparation of pulp: mixing ore powder in step S1 with liquid (page 6, “5.2. L/S Ratio);
S4, removal of sulfur dioxide: subjecting the pulp in step S3 and flue gas containing sulfur dioxide to a contact reaction, to remove the sulfur dioxide in the flue gas (page 3, “3.1. MnSO4 Production”); and
S5, resource utilization of a desulfurization product: subjecting a reaction product (MnSO4) obtained in step S4 to solid-liquid separation (static settlement)(Fig. 1), impurity removal (removal of Fe, heavy metals, Ca and Mg)(Fig. 1), concentration (filter pressing)(Fig. 1), crystallization (Evaporative crystallization)(Fig. 1) and drying (Centrifugal separation and drying)(Fig. 1).
Claim 1 differs for the following reasons:
i) Step S1 requires crushing, griding and sieving the ore waste residue to obtain the ore powder.
ii) The method includes a step S2, activation and domestication of silicate bacteria: conducting activation on the silicate bacteria in an activation medium, and conducting domestication on activated silicate bacteria in a domestication medium.
iii) Step S3 includes mixing the ore powder obtained in step S1, activated and domesticated silicate bacteria obtained in step S2, nutrients and distilled water to obtain the pulp, conducting culture until the pulp precipitates dissolved silicon, and subjecting the pulp to solid- liquid separation to remove silicon in ore.
With respect to difference i), the reference of Li discloses that it is known in the art when preparing a pulp for desulphurization of a flue gas, to prepare the ore powder by crushing, grinding, and sieving the ore waste residue to obtain an ore powder (page 5, last paragraph, to page 6, 4th paragraph, of the machine translation).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the ore powder of the primary reference using the preparation steps disclosed by the reference of Li for the known and expected result of preparing an ore powder and pulp that are recognized as sufficient for gas/liquid contacting as evidenced by the reference of Li.
With respect to differences ii) and iii), the reference of Lv et al. discloses that it is known in the art to bioleach a manganese ore (EMR) (page 902, col. 1, 4th paragraph) using silicate bacteria. The reference of Zhan et al. discloses that when using silicate bacteria for bioleaching, it is known in the art to activate and domesticate the bacteria using a cultivating medium and bioleaching medium (page 173, “Bacteria strain and culture media).
In view of these teachings and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to active and domesticate silicate bacteria and bioleach the manganese ore of the primary reference using the silicate bacteria for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means for removing impurities from the ore material as is conventional in the art as evidenced by the references of Lv et al. and Zhan et al. for removing impurities and collecting useful products, such as silicon for use as a fertilizer.
The steps resulting from the combination of the references as discussed above would include subjecting the treated pulp to a solid-liquid separation to remove silicon ore while the resulting pulp would be contacted with the flue gas for sulfur dioxide removal.
With respect to claim 2, the reference of Liu et al. discloses the use of manganese oxide ore (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 3, the reference of Liu et al. discloses particle sizes of less than 0.18mm (275um and 75um) can be used (page 8, “5.5. Particle Size”).
With respect to claim 4, the reference of Lv et al. discloses that the silicate bacteria can be Bacillus mucilaginsous (abstract).
With respect to claims 5-7, the reference of Zhan et al. discloses the activation, domestication and/or cultivation mediums required of claims 5-7 (page 173, “Bacteria strain and culture media). Any differences in the specific numbers would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art while optimizing the process conditions using routine experimentation.
With respect to claim 8, the reference of Liu et al. discloses the use of a flue gas. The specific source and/or concentration of sulfur dioxide in the flue gas would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art while maintaining the efficiency of the treatment process.
With respect to claim 9, the reference of Liu et al. discloses that the contact reaction is conducted in a one-stage absorption reaction device (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 10, the reference of Liu et al. discloses that temperatures between 30 and 50 deg. C can be used (page 6, “5.1. Temperature”). With respect to the contact time, while the reference is silent with respect to the contact time, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal contact time through routine experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references of Nie et al.(Sep. and Puri. Tech.) and Jiang et al. (CN 110102170 and corresponding English language machine translation) are cited as prior art which pertains to methods for sulfur dioxide removal using mineral waste pulp.
The reference of Jandieri et al. (J. Inst. Eng. India) is cited as prior art which pertains to bioleaching of manganese materials.
The Second Office Action of The State Intellectual Property Office of People’s Republic of China is cited of record.
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB