DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 11/03/2022. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The cancellation of Claim(s) 1-15 and the addition of claims 16-32, filed 11/03/2022, are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 – line 13, Claim 29 – line 15, Claim 31 – lines 13, 20 and 23, all state the limitation “and/or”. This limitation needs further clarification if it will be “and” or “or”. For examination purposes, “and/or” will be taken as “or”.
Claims 17-28 depend from Claim 16, claim 30 depends from claim 29, and claim 32 depends from claim 31 and all inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim 23 states the limitation “in each case”. The term “in each case” in claim 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “in each case” is not defined by the claim, the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, “in each case” will be taken as “in each segment”.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the rotational movement” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, “the rotational movement” will be taken as “a rotational movement”.
Claim 32 states the limitation “step element”. The term “step element” in claim 32 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “step element” is not defined by the claim, the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, “step element” will be taken as “element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al., (hereafter Hu) (US 2022/0244785 A1) in further view of Alfredsson et al., (hereafter Alfredsson) (US 3,715,965), as best understood.
With respect to Claim 16, Hu teaches an adjustable stop for an optical beam path, the adjustable stop comprising: a plurality of stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B), each stop element being movable (movably connected, ¶[0179]) in a stop plane (z, x, y planes – see Figure 22B) that extends laterally from a through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) of the adjustable stop (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B), wherein portions of a periphery (3-1114, 3-1115, Figure 23C) of each stop element (each of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) delimit an aperture (size of opening controls to adjust the size of the aperture, ¶[0182]) around the through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) based on a respective current set position (position sensor 3-1166 sets the position, Figure 22B; see also ¶[0168]) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B); and one or more drives (3-1150, drives movable portion 3-1120, ¶[0167]) configured for setting the respective current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B), wherein each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) is rotatable about an axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) of rotation aligned substantially parallel to the through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B); wherein each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) has a number of differently shaped (see Figure 22B) peripheral segments (see the peripheral area of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) so that the current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) configured to be selected to set a selected size (size of the opening may be controlled to adjust the size of the aperture (¶[0181]) and/or shape of the aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]), such that a desired peripheral segment (see the peripheral area of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) forms a portion of the delimitation (recesses, ¶[0182]) of the aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]).
Hu fails to teach wherein each stop element is embodied in the form of a cam disk or of a sector of a cam disk, wherein the peripheral segments of the stop elements include a chamfer; and wherein a radial distance of the peripheral segments of a stop element increases over an angular range of the stop element toward the axis of rotation.
Alfredsson teaches a diaphragm for interchangeable lenses of a camera (title and abstract) wherein each stop element (25, Figure 2) is embodied in the form of a cam disk (25 is a cam disc, Figure 2) or of a sector of a cam disk; wherein the peripheral segments (outer area of 25, Figure 2) of the stop elements include a chamfer (outer area of 25 includes a chamfer, Figure 2), and wherein a radial distance (smallest and greatest radius, column 4, lines 33-37 and lines 50-55) of the peripheral segments (outer area of 25, Figure 2) of a stop element (25, Figure 2) increases over an angular range (up to 270°, column 4, lines 50-55) of the stop element (25, Figure 2) toward the axis of rotation (rotatable shaft 22, Figure 1, is the axis of rotation).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Alfredsson having the form of a cam disk for the purpose of limiting movement of the attached elements for preset aperture value whereafter the shutter exposes, column 3, lines 59-65.
With respect to Claim 17, Hu teaches the adjustable stop according to claim 16.
Hu fails to teach wherein the angular range is at least 90°.
Alfredsson teaches a diaphragm for interchangeable lenses of a camera (title and abstract) wherein the angular range is at least 90° (up to 270°, column 4, lines 50-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Alfredsson having the angular range at least 90° for the purpose of limiting movement of the attached elements for preset aperture value whereafter the shutter exposes, column 3, lines 59-65.
With respect to Claim 18, Hu teaches the adjustable stop according to claim 16.
Hu fails to teach wherein the angular range is at least 180°.
Alfredsson teaches a diaphragm for interchangeable lenses of a camera (title and abstract) wherein the angular range is at least 180° (up to 270°, column 4, lines 50-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Alfredsson having the angular range at least 180° for the purpose of limiting movement of the attached elements for preset aperture value whereafter the shutter exposes, column 3, lines 59-65.
With respect to Claim 19, Hu teaches the adjustable stop according to claim 16.
Hu fails to teach wherein the angular range is at least 270°.
Alfredsson teaches a diaphragm for interchangeable lenses of a camera (title and abstract) wherein the angular range is at least 270° (rotates counterclockwise up to 270°, column 4, lines 50-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Alfredsson having the angular range at least 270° for the purpose of limiting movement of the attached elements for preset aperture value whereafter the shutter exposes, column 3, lines 59-65.
With respect to Claim 20, Hu further teaches wherein at least two of the stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) are coupled together (¶[0181]), with the result that their rotations (3-1120 rotates 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144 in specific directions, ¶[0182]) and set positions (position sensor 3-1166, Figure 22B) are brought about by the respectively selected coupling conditions (3-1120 rotates the guiding portions (3-1121-3-1124) to move 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144 in specific directions, ¶[0182]).
With respect to Claim 21, Hu further teaches wherein each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) is rotatable independently of the other stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) about the axis of rotation (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) that is aligned substantially parallel to the through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B).
With respect to Claim 22, Hu teaches the adjustable stop according to claim 16.
Hu fails to teach wherein the radial distance increases continuously over the angular range.
Alfredsson teaches a diaphragm for interchangeable lenses of a camera (title and abstract) wherein the radial distance increases continuously over the angular range (rotates up to 270°, column 4, lines 50-55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Alfredsson having the radial distance increases continuously over the angular range for the purpose of limiting movement of the attached elements for preset aperture value whereafter the shutter exposes, column 3, lines 59-65.
With respect to Claim 23, Hu further teaches wherein the peripheral segments (see the peripheral area of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) are embodied in each case as line portions (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144 are arranged in a rectangle portion, see Figure 22B).
With respect to Claim 24, Hu further teaches wherein, in addition to a rotational movement (rotatable about an axis of rotation (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B)), at least one of the stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) is shiftable in the respective stop plane (z, x, y planes – see Figure 22B) in a controlled manner (inherent on being stop elements).
With respect to Claim 25, Hu further teaches wherein the peripheral segments (see the peripheral area of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) form an outer contour (see the longer edge of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B; see annotated Figure 22) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B).
With respect to Claim 26, Hu further teaches wherein the peripheral segments (see the peripheral area of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) form an inner contour of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B).
With respect to Claim 27, Hu further teaches wherein the stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) are arranged in at least two stop planes (z, x, y planes – see Figure 22B) that extend laterally in the direction from the through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B).
With respect to Claim 28, Hu further teaches wherein the stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) of adjacent stop planes (z, x, y planes – see Figure 22B) rest laterally against each another (see Figure 22B) and the resulting contact faces are provided with a glide coating (nonmental material such as plastic or resin, ¶[0176]).
Claim(s) 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 2022/0244785 A1) in view of Alfredsson (US 3,715,965) and Chang et al., (hereafter Chang) (US 10,151,585 B1), as best understood.
With respect to Claim 29, Hu teaches an optical system for shaping and guiding radiation (camera, ¶[0165]), the optical system comprising: optical elements (3-1230, Figure 21A) for imaging the radiation (visible light, ¶[0165]) into an intermediate image plane (y-x plane, Figure 22B); an adjustable stop (3-1100, Figure 22B) located in the intermediate image plane, the adjustable stop including: a plurality of stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B), each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) being movable in a stop plane (z, x, y planes – see Figure 22B) that extends laterally from a through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) of the adjustable stop (3-1100, Figure 22B), wherein portions of a periphery of each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) delimit an aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]) around the through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) based on a respective current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B); and one or more drives (3-1150, drives movable portion 3-1120, ¶[0167]) configured for setting the respective current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B), which is rotatable about an axis of rotation (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) aligned substantially parallel (each of the elements are “stacked” along the optical axis, see Figure 22B) to the through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B), wherein each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) has a number of differently shaped peripheral segments (see the peripheral area of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) so that the current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) configured to be selected to set a selected size (size of the opening may be controlled to adjust the size of the aperture¶[0181]) and/or shape of the aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]), such that a desired peripheral segment of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) forms a portion of the delimitation (recesses, ¶[0182]) of the aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]),
Hu fails to teach wherein each stop element is embodied in the form of a cam disk or of a sector of a cam disk, wherein the peripheral segments of the stop elements include a chamfer, and wherein a radial distance of the peripheral segments of a stop element increases over an angular range of the stop element toward the axis of rotation.
Alfredsson teaches a diaphragm for interchangeable lenses of a camera (title and abstract) wherein each stop element (25, Figure 2) is embodied in the form of a cam disk (25 is a cam disc, Figure 2) or of a sector of a cam disk; wherein the peripheral segments (outer area of 25, Figure 2) of the stop elements include a chamfer (outer area of 25 includes a chamfer, Figure 2), and wherein a radial distance (smallest and greatest radius, column 4, lines 33-37 and lines 50-55) of the peripheral segments (outer area of 25, Figure 2) of a stop element (25, Figure 2) increases over an angular range (up to 270°, column 4, lines 50-55) of the stop element (25, Figure 2) toward the axis of rotation (rotatable shaft 22, Figure 1, is the axis of rotation).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Alfredsson having the form of a cam disk for the purpose of limiting movement of the attached elements for preset aperture value whereafter the shutter exposes, column 3, lines 59-65.
Hu in view of Alfredsson fail to teach and at least one optical element configured for imaging an image of the stop into a sample space.
Chang teaches an optical measuring automation system (title and abstract; 40, Figure 6A) wherein at least one optical element (lens of 420, Figure 6A) configured for imaging an image (420 is an image capturing unit, Figure 6A) of the stop (50, Figure 6B) into a sample space (60, Figure 6A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu in view of Alfredsson having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Chang having the imaging of the stop for the purposes of optical measuring.
With respect to Claim 30, Hu further teaches at least one correction unit (inherent on optical image stabilization (OIS) or auto focus (AF), ¶[0164]) configured for compensating imaging errors (inherent on optical image stabilization (OIS) or auto focus (AF), ¶[0164]) caused by the effect of the adjustable stop (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B).
With respect to Claim 31, Hu teaches the method for operating an adjustable stop that includes: a plurality of stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B), each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) being movable in a stop plane (z, x, y planes – see Figure 22B) that extends laterally from a through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) of the adjustable stop, wherein portions of a periphery of each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) delimit an aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]) around the through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B) based on a respective current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B); and one or more drives (3-1150, drives movable portion 3-1120, ¶[0167]) configured for setting the respective current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B), wherein each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) has a number of differently shaped peripheral segments (see the peripheral area of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) so that the current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) configured to be selected to set a selected size (size of the opening may be controlled to adjust the size of the aperture¶[0181]) and/or shape of the aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]), such that a desired peripheral segment (see the peripheral area of 3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) of the stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) forms a portion of the delimitation of the aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]), the method comprising: capturing the current set position (3-1166, Figure 22B) for each stop element (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B); determining a desired shape and size (size of the opening may be controlled to adjust the size of the aperture¶[0181]) and/or position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of the aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]) that is delimited by the stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) around the through axis (3-1500/z-axis, Figure 22B); and moving the stop elements (3-1141, 3-1142, 3-1143, 3-1144, Figure 22B) into predetermined set positions (position sensor 3-1166, Figure 22B) according to the determined desired shape and size (size of the opening may be controlled to adjust the size of the aperture¶[0181]) and/or position (3-1166, Figure 22B) of the aperture (aperture, ¶[0182]).
Hu fails to teach wherein each stop element is embodied in the form of a cam disk or of a sector of a cam disk, wherein the peripheral segments of the stop elements include a chamfer; and wherein a radial distance of the peripheral segments of a stop element increases over an angular range of the stop element toward the axis of rotation.
Alfredsson teaches a diaphragm for interchangeable lenses of a camera (title and abstract) wherein each stop element (25, Figure 2) is embodied in the form of a cam disk (25 is a cam disc, Figure 2) or of a sector of a cam disk; wherein the peripheral segments (outer area of 25, Figure 2) of the stop elements include a chamfer (outer area of 25 includes a chamfer, Figure 2), and wherein a radial distance (smallest and greatest radius, column 4, lines 33-37 and lines 50-55) of the peripheral segments (outer area of 25, Figure 2) of a stop element (25, Figure 2) increases over an angular range (up to 270°, column 4, lines 50-55) of the stop element (25, Figure 2) toward the axis of rotation (rotatable shaft 22, Figure 1, is the axis of rotation).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Alfredsson having the form of a cam disk for the purpose of limiting movement of the attached elements for preset aperture value whereafter the shutter exposes, column 3, lines 59-65.
With respect to Claim 32, Hu in view of Alfredsson teach the method of claim 31.
Hu in view of Alfredsson fail to teach storing, a design as the cam disk of each element.
Chang teaches an optical measuring automation system (title and abstract; 40, Figure 6A) storing (23, column 5, lines 1-12), a design (420, Figure 6A) as the cam disk (50, Figure 6B) of each element (optical measurement).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hu in view of Alfredsson having the adjustable stop with the teachings of Chang having a design as the cam disk of each element for the purposes of monitoring the cam disk for wear.
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872