DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to an AMENDMENT entered on December 18, 2025 for patent application 18/052,396 filed on November 3, 2022.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
Double Patenting
Claims 7-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,974,410. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim while the one or more flanges are received in the one or more circumferential slots, rotation of the external connector causes the one or more flanges to slide within the one or more circumferential slots into a retained position of the external connector, in which conductors of the external connector, having a fixed disposition relative to the one or more flanges, are connected to the conductors.
Instant case:
7. (Original) The electronic device claim 5, wherein the enclosure further defines a recess from the external surface, the recess having one or more circumferential slots that extend to the opening formed in the external surface and that receive one or more flanges of the external connector, and wherein, while the one or more flanges are received in the one or more circumferential slots, rotation of the external connector causes the one or more flanges to slide within the one or more circumferential slots into a retained position of the external connector, in which a second plurality of conductors of the external connector, having a fixed disposition relative to the one or more flanges, are connected to the first plurality of conductors.
8. (Original) The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the second plurality of conductors are in a linear disposition, wherein the first plurality of conductors includes one or more arcuate conductors that connect to a corresponding one or more of the second plurality of conductors for a range of rotational positions of the external connector including the retained position.
9. (Original) The electronic device of claim 8, wherein the first plurality of conductors is in a concentric disposition.
10. (Original) The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the first plurality of conductors comprises a central conductor and a plurality of arcuate conductors.
Patent No. 11,974,410
1. An electronic device comprising: an enclosure that defines an internal volume, a plurality of external surfaces, and a recess from an external surface of the plurality of external surfaces, the recess having one or more circumferential slots that extend to the external surface and that receive one or more flanges of an external connector; one or more electronic components disposed in the internal volume; and a connector interface connected with the one or more electronic components, the connector interface comprising one or more first conductors that are exposed at the recess, wherein, while the one or more flanges are received in the one or more circumferential slots, rotation of the external connector causes the one or more flanges to slide within the one or more circumferential slots into a retained position of the external connector, in which one or more second conductors of the external connector, having a fixed disposition relative to the one or more flanges, are connected to the one or more first conductors, wherein the one or more second conductors comprise a plurality of second conductors in a linear disposition, wherein the one or more first conductors include one or more arcuate conductors that connect to a corresponding one or more of the plurality of second conductors for a range of rotational positions of the external connector including the retained position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0034826) in view of McWethy (Pub. No.: US 2017/0199799) and Suryadi et al. (Pat. No.: US 12,432,540).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an electronic device comprising: an enclosure that defines an internal volume and a plurality of external surfaces (Fig. 1, element 12, paras. [0019]-[0026]); a connector interface comprising a first plurality of conductors that are exposed at an external surface of the plurality of external surfaces, or through an opening formed in the external surface, wherein the electronic device supports the connection of any one of a plurality of different types of external devices to the connector interface (Fig. 1, element 22, para. [0025]); a memory disposed in the internal volume (Fig. 1, element 28, para. [0023]); and one or more computer processors disposed in the internal volume (Fig. 1, element 16, para. [0020]) and configured to: receive a signal, when one of the plurality of different types of external devices is currently connected to the connector interface, at a first conductor of the first plurality of conductors, wherein the signal distinguishes which one of the plurality of different types of external devices is currently connected to the connector interface (Figs. 5 and 6, para. [0044]); access, based on the received signal, a data structure in a storage of the memory that identifies at least one of a plurality of different communication protocols to use based on which one of the plurality of different types of external devices is currently connected to the connector interface according to the received signal (para. [0099]).
It could be argued that Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more computer processors disposed in the internal volume is configured to assign one or more second conductors of the first plurality of conductors to communicate according to the at least one identified communication protocol, wherein the one or more second conductors are operated differently when different ones of the plurality of communication protocols are used. However, in analogous art, McWethy discloses a “universal smart connection pad allows a slave device, such as a mobile electronic device, to be conveniently connected to a host device, such as a computer. Orientation of a connector of the slave upon the pad may be assisted by magnetization. Through the pad, the host may provide services needed by the slave, such as power and communication. The host may adapt the connection to accommodate changing needs of the slave (para. [0005]),” wherein the host may receive “a request from the slave through the pad specifying a change in communication needs of the slave device (claim 17),” and the host may transmit “to the slave through the pad a change in communication assignments of adapter pins (claim 17),” wherein “the change assigns more adapter pins to some communication task (claim 18).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to allow for the one or more computer processors disposed in the internal volume to be configured to assign one or more second conductors of the plurality of conductors to communicate according to the at least one identified communication protocol, wherein the one or more second conductors are operated differently when different ones of the plurality of communication protocols are used. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the device to properly accommodate a wide range of different devices.
The combination of Chen and McWethy does not explicitly disclose wherein the computer processor is configured to access, based on the received signal, a data structure in a storage of the memory that identifies at least one sensor application type based on which one of the plurality of different types of external devices is currently connected to the connector interface according to the received signal, nor process further signals encoding sensor data that are received at the one or more second conductors according to the at least one identified sensor application type. However, in analogous art, Suryadi discloses using modular sensors to augment tag devices, by “[r]ecognizing the sensors attached on the Tag device or other devices, and detecting its capabilities (col. 4, ln. 19-20),” while “the disclosure may utilize modular sensor stack to trigger emergency alert, by: Identifying and registering the types of sensor modules attached on the Tag device or other devices[;] Initiating Emergency mode when a trigger is received, such as a pressed button[;] Sending START command to trigger data acquisition and encoding from sensor module[;] Starting data acquisition to process and encode the data according to the type of sensors[;] Sending STOP command to stop data acquisition once the data is sufficient (col. 4, ln. 29-40).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and McWethy to allow for the computer processor to be configured to access, based on the received signal, a data structure in a storage of the memory that identifies at least one sensor application type based on which one of the plurality of different types of external devices is currently connected to the connector interface according to the received signal, and process further signals encoding sensor data that are received at the one or more second conductors according to the at least one identified sensor application type. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would enhance the identification process of Chen by allowing sensors to also be identified, which could increase the functionality of, and potentially increase user satisfaction with, the system of Chen.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chen, McWethy and Suryadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more computer processors are further configured to: retrieve, from the storage, one or more drivers for the at least one identified communication protocol; and enable the one or more drivers to communicate with the external device using the one or more second conductors (Chen, para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen, McWethy and Suryadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more computer processors are further configured to perform processing of the received signal, and wherein accessing the data structure comprises performing a lookup in the data structure using a result of the processing (Chen, Fig. 7, paras. [0062] and [0063]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chen, McWethy and Suryadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the data structure comprises: at least a first record that identifies a single protocol to use based on a value of a signal characteristic field for the received signal; and at least a second record that identifies multiple protocols to use based on the value of the signal characteristic field (Chen, Fig. 8, paras. [0071]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chen, McWethy and Suryadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one sensor application type includes one or more of: a temperature application type, a vibration application type, an atmospheric pressure application type, a break-beam application type, and a humidity application type (Suryadi, col. 13, ln. 22-51; Accelerometers measure vibrations. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0034826) in view of McWethy (Pub. No.: US 2017/0199799), Suryadi et al. (Pat. No.: US 12,432,540) and Tu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0179603).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen, McWethy and Suryadi discloses the electronic device of claim 3, but it could be argued that Chen, McWethy and Suryadi do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing comprises measuring a voltage of the received signal. However, in analogous art, Tu discloses “identifying an attached device as a USB typed or an MHL typed device by turning on a switch connected to a differential data pin and measuring a voltage level at the differential data pin, wherein a conductive path is formed from a voltage-supply node, through a resistor-detecting module and the switch, to the differential data pin when the switch is turned on, wherein the attached device is a USB typed device when the voltage level at the differential data pin is less than a pre-defined voltage level and the device is an MHL typed device if the voltage level at the differential data pin is not less than the pre-defined voltage level (para. [0007]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen, McWethy and Suryadi to allow for the processing to comprise measuring a voltage of the received signal. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for a well-known device identifying technique to be utilized.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0034826) in view of McWethy (Pub. No.: US 2017/0199799), Suryadi et al. (Pat. No.: US 12,432,540) and Jeong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0002079).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen, McWethy and Suryadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but it could be argued that Chen, McWethy and Suryadi do not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the signal from the external device is responsive to an external connector of the external device being connected to the connector interface. However, in analogous art, Jeong discloses that “there is provided a mobile terminal for controlling charging, including a connection unit configured to connect with a charger via a cable; a controller configured to, upon detecting a connection to the charger, apply a voltage to the charger, to transmit a signal for requesting charging to the charger, and to switch to a charging mode; and a power supply unit configured to charge power received from the charger according to the charging mode (para. [0014]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen, McWethy and Suryadi to allow for receiving the signal from the external device is responsive to an external connector of the external device being connected to the connector interface. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the system to operate in a well-known fashion; i.e. allow for signals to be sent once a physical connection is made.
Regarding claim 6, the combination as stated above discloses the electronic device of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the one or more computer processors are further configured to: supply, responsive to the external connector being connected to the connector interface, electrical power to the external device using one or more third conductors of the first plurality of conductors (Jeong, Fig. 3, para. [0054]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow for dedicated conductors to supply power. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed December 18, 2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 112 rejection of claims 7-10, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112 rejection of claims 7-10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-6, 11 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection in view of Suryadi.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 are rejected. Claims 7-10 are objected to. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joshua D Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 February 3, 2026