DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 04/23/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1, 4, 11, 15, 21, 27, and 33-35 were amended, claims 2-3, 5-6, 16-18, 22-25, 28-29, and 31-32 were previously canceled, and claims 1, 4, 7-15, 19-21, 26-27, 30, and 33-45 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 7-15, 19-21, 26-27, 30, and 33-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 10, 15, 21, 27, 33, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2022/0353877 A1, hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0360311 A1, hereinafter “Sun”) and further in view of Oteri et al. (US 2023/0239852 A1, hereinafter “Oteri”).
As to Claim 1, 15, 21, and 27:
Wang describes a method for modifying uplink precoding parameters after their initial configuration in an uplink configured grant.
Specifically, Wang teaches:
One or more antennas; and a processing system that includes one or more processors, and one or more memories that store code and are coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the UE
Fig. 10 in Wang shows a user equipment (element 1030) which includes a “Radio interface 1037” and “Processing circuitry 1038” which executes a “Client application 1032”.
Receive, from a network node, configuration information for a configured grant, the configuration information indicating one or more uplink transmission precoding parameters for the configured grant
Paragraph 0084 in Wang describes how a UE can “indicate some transmission parameters” in “the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” (Wang, 0084). Paragraph 0113 of Wang also mentions that the terminal obtains a UL grant from a network node.
Transmit, to the network node ... an indication of a requested change to at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter of the one or more uplink transmission precoding parameters for the configured grant
Wang describes a “UE” that “can indicate some transmission parameters (e.g., MCS, PMI, RI, SRI, etc.) in the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” (Wang, 0084). Elsewhere, Wang clarifies that “the terminal device may receive configuration information from the network node” which “can enable ... the terminal device to initiate an adjustment of a transmission parameter” (Wang, 0117).
Here, the “indicat[ed] ... transmission parameters ... in the configured grant” map to “transmit[ting], to the network node ... an indication of a requested change to at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter of the one or more uplink transmission precoding parameters for the configured grant”.
The indication of the requested change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter includes an indication of a set of requested values for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Wang describes a “UE” that “can indicate some transmission parameters (e.g., MCS, PMI, RI, SRI, etc.) in the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” (Wang, 0084). This indication, which requires “confirmation” from the network node, is analogous to a request.
The indication of the requested change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter indicates a change to at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), a transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI), or a rank indicator (RI)
Wang describes a “UE” that “can indicate some transmission parameters (e.g., MCS, PMI, RI, SRI, etc.) in the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” (Wang, 0084). This list includes a “sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI)” and “a rank indicator (RI)” from the list of “at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), a transmit precoder matrix indicator (TPMI), or a rank indicator (RI)”.
Receive, from the network node, an indication of a selected value from the set of requested values for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Wang states that “the gNB” may “confirm reception of the updated parameters” which is analogous to “an indication of a selected value” (Wang, 0084).
Transmit, to the network node, an uplink transmission in a configured grant occasion associated with the configured grant using the selected value
Wang describes a “UE” that “can indicate some transmission parameters (e.g., MCS, PMI, RI, SRI, etc.) in the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” and later adds that “the terminal device may use the adjusted/updated transmission parameter for the newly scheduled initial transmission” (Wang, 0084, 0110).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
The set of requested values for the at least one uplink precoding parameter includes at least one of a plurality of SRI values, a plurality of TPMI values, or a plurality of RI values
The selected value includes at least one of a selected SRI value of the plurality of SRI value, a selected TPMI value of the plurality of TPMI values, or a selected RI value of the plurality of RI values
However, Sun does teach:
The set of requested values for the at least one uplink precoding parameter includes at least one of a plurality of SRI values, a plurality of TPMI values, or a plurality of RI values
Paragraph 0047 of Sun describes “TPMI Capability Reporting”. Specifically, it states that “the UE simultaneously reports all viable TPMI capabilities for other possible RAN (e.g., gNB) configurations” (Sun, 0047). This teaches “a plurality of TPMI values” from the list of “at least one of a plurality of SRI values, a plurality of TPMI values, or a plurality of RI values”.
The selected value includes at least one of a selected SRI value of the plurality of SRI value, a selected TPMI value of the plurality of TPMI values, or a selected RI value of the plurality of RI values
Paragraph 0047 of Sun describes several possible scenarios where a gNB can configure the UE with one of “the viable TPMI capabilities” (Sun, 0047), teaching “a selected TPMI value of the plurality of TPMI values” from the list of “at least one of a selected SRI value of the plurality of SRI value, a selected TPMI value of the plurality of TPMI values, or a selected RI value of the plurality of RI values”.
Sun also teaches the following limitation more clearly than Wang:
Receive, from the network node, an indication of a selected value from the set of requested values for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Again, paragraph 0047 of Sun describes several “possible situations” for different TPMI configurations a gNB can assign to a UE.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s method for modifying uplink transmission parameters with Sun’s method for a UE to report its capability information to a base station. If a base station does not know a UE’s capabilities or assigns it with unusable parameters, the UE can benefit from signaling its capabilities to escape an invalid configuration.
The combination of Wang and Sun also does not explicitly disclose:
Transmit, to a network node, UE capability information indicating a capability of the UE to determine an updated uplink beam when beam blocking occurs without channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) reception
Transmit, to the network node and based at least in part on the UE capability information, an indication
However, Oteri does describe a method for a UE to indicate to a base station that it can adjust its beamforming to overcome beam failure without a CSI-RS.
Specifically, Oteri teaches:
Transmit, to a network node, UE capability information indicating a capability of the UE to determine an updated uplink beam when beam blocking occurs without channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) reception
Oteri teaches that a UE may “generate a capability message signal ... indicating that the UE is capable of processing more than one TCI state for a particular CORESET”, later explaining that “the UE is capable of quickly adapting to new TCI states despite narrower beams or an increased number of beams, without the need for CSI-RS based beam failure recovery” (Oteri, 0006, 0069).
Here, the “capability message signal” that “indicat[es] that the UE is capable of processing more than one TCI state” so the UE can “quickly adapt[] to new TCI states ... without the need for CSI-RS based beam failure recover” maps to “transmit, to a network node, UE capability information indicating a capability of the UE to determine an updated uplink beam when beam blocking occurs without channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) reception”.
Transmit, to the network node and based at least in part on the UE capability information, an indication
Oteri teaches that a UE may “generate a capability message signal ... indicating that the UE is capable of processing more than one TCI state for a particular CORESET”, adding that “the configuration signal indicates a number of TCI states included in the plurality of TCI states” (Oteri, 0006-0007).
Here, the “signal” including a “number of TCI states” maps to “transmit[ting], to the network node and based at least in part on the UE capability information, an indication”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Oteri’s method for signaling a UE’s capabilities into Wang’s method for a UE to request modified uplink precoding parameters. As Oteri explains, this allows the UE to “quickly adapt[] to new TCI states ... without the need for CSI-RS based beam failure recovery” (Oteri, 0069).
Claim 15 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 from the perspective of the base station.
Claim 21 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of a method claim.
Claim 27 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of a method from the base station’s perspective.
As to Claim 4, 33, and 40:
The combination of Wang and Sun does not explicitly disclose:
The UE capability information further indicates a capability of the UE to determine an analog or digital uplink beam over time
However, Oteri does teach:
The UE capability information further indicates a capability of the UE to determine an analog or digital uplink beam over time
Oteri teaches that a UE may “generate a capability message signal ... indicating that the UE is capable of processing more than one TCI state for a particular CORESET”, later explaining that “the UE is capable of quickly adapting to new TCI states despite narrower beams or an increased number of beams, without the need for CSI-RS based beam failure recovery” (Oteri, 0006, 0069).
Here, “more than one TCI state” maps to “a capability of the UE to determine an analog or digital uplink beam over time”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Oteri’s method for signaling a UE’s capabilities into Wang’s method for a UE to request modified uplink precoding parameters. As Oteri explains, this allows the UE to “quickly adapt[] to new TCI states ... without the need for CSI-RS based beam failure recovery” (Oteri, 0069).
Claim 33 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 4 from the perspective of the base station.
Claim 40 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 4 in the form of a method claim.
As to Claim 8:
Wang teaches:
The selected value indicates an updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Paragraph 0084 in Wang describes how a UE can “indicate some transmission parameters” in “the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” followed by the base station “confirm[ing] reception of the updated parameters” (Wang, 0084).
Transmit the uplink transmission using the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Paragraph 0084 of Wang states that the UE” can “apply” the “updated parameters” after sending them to the BS.
As to Claim 10 and 41:
Wang teaches:
Transmit uplink control information (UCI) that indicates the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Paragraph 0084 in Wang describes how a UE can “indicate some transmission parameters” in “the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” (Wang, 0084).
Claim 41 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 10 in the form of a method claim.
Claim(s) 7, 34, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0353877 A1) in view of Sun (US 2022/0360311 A1) and Oteri (US 2023/0239852 A1) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0141852 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”).
As to Claim 7, 34, and 39:
Wang teaches:
The set of requested values for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Paragraph 0084 in Wang describes how a UE can “indicate some transmission parameters” in “the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” (Wang, 0084).
The combination of Wang, Sun, and Oteri does not explicitly disclose:
Transmit the indication of ... the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter in an uplink channel state information (CSI) report
However, Zhang does describe methods for a UE to adjust uplink precoding parameters to avoid self-interference during full duplex operation.
Specifically, Zhang teaches:
Transmit the indication of ... the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter in an uplink channel state information (CSI) report
Paragraph 0130 of Zhang describes “the FD CSI report from the UE” which “may consist of DL RI ... and a corresponding UL TRI/TPMI” (Zhang, 0130).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s method for a UE to request different precoding parameters with Zhang’s method for sending precoding parameters in a CSI report. A CSI report is an uplink message that can readily transmit additional information from a UE to a base station.
Claim 34 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 7 from the perspective of the base station.
Claim 39 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 39 in the form of a method claim.
Claim(s) 9, 19-20, 26, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0353877 A1) in view of Sun (US 2022/0360311 A1) and Oteri (US 2023/0239852 A1) and further in view of Baskaran et al. (US 2021/0242999 A1, hereinafter “Baskaran”).
As to Claim 9, 19, 26, and 30:
Wang teaches:
The indication of the requested change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
“[A] UE can indicate some transmission parameters (e.g., MCS, PMI, RI, SRI, etc.) in the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI) to improve transmission efficiency” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “indicate some transmission parameters (e.g., RI, SRI, etc.)” maps to “the indication of the requested change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter”.
The combination of Wang, Sun, and Oteri does not explicitly disclose:
Transmit the uplink transmission using the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter after an activation time duration from the indication
However, Baskaran does describe a method for indicating a BWP, including precoding information, to a user equipment.
Specifically, Baskaran teaches:
Transmit the uplink transmission using the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter after an activation time duration from the indication
Paragraph 0029 of Baskaran describes “a delay for updating a precoder” after a base station receives capability information from a UE (Baskaran, 0029).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the activation delay described in Baskaran into Wang’s method for updating precoding values. The activation delay ensures that the start time for using new precoding parameters is synchronized between the base station and the UE.
Claim 19 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 9 from the perspective of the network node.
Claim 26 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 9 in the form of a method claim.
Claim 30 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 9 in the form of a method claim from the perspective of the network node.
As to Claim 20:
Wang teaches:
Receive uplink control information (UCI) that indicates the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Paragraph 0084 in Wang describes how a UE can “indicate some transmission parameters” in “the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI)” (Wang, 0084).
Claim(s) 11-13, 35-37, and 42-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0353877 A1) in view of Sun (US 2022/0360311 A1) and Oteri (US 2023/0239852 A1) and further in view of Mukherjee et al. (US 11,088,741 B1, hereinafter “Mukherjee”).
As to Claim 11, 35, and 42:
The combination of Wang, Sun, and Oteri does not explicitly disclose:
Receive, from the network node, a configuration of periodic uplink resources for transmitting the UCI that indicates the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
However, Mukherjee does describe a method for a UE to modify a configured grant to account for changing channel conditions.
Specifically, Mukherjee teaches:
Receive, from the network node, a configuration of periodic uplink resources for transmitting the UCI that indicates the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Mukherjee teaches that “periodicity” is “configured by RRC signaling” for “Type 2 CG-PUSCH transmission (Mukherjee col. 22, lines 48-52). This transmission can occur using “the reduced number of layers and/or using changed precode matrix via Uplink Control Information (UCI)” (Mukherjee, col. 23 lines 28-30).
Transmit the UCI in an uplink resource of the periodic uplink resources
Mukherjee teaches that “periodicity” is “configured by RRC signaling” for “Type 2 CG-PUSCH transmission (Mukherjee col. 22, lines 48-52). This transmission can occur using “the reduced number of layers and/or using changed precode matrix via Uplink Control Information (UCI)” (Mukherjee, col. 23 lines 28-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the uplink control information described in Mukherjee to request a change to uplink precoding parameters, as taught in Wang. Uplink control information is a common message format used to send requests uplink.
Claim 35 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 11 from the perspective of the network device.
Claim 42 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 11 in the form of a method claim.
As to Claim 12, 36, and 43:
The combination of Wang, Sun, and Oteri does not explicitly disclose:
The configuration of the periodic uplink resources is included in the configuration information for the configured grant
A periodicity of the periodic uplink resources is a periodicity of the configured grant
However, Mukherjee does teach:
The configuration of the periodic uplink resources is included in the configuration information for the configured grant
Mukherjee teaches that “periodicity” is “configured by RRC signaling” for “Type 2 CG-PUSCH transmission (Mukherjee col. 22, lines 48-52).
A periodicity of the periodic uplink resources is a periodicity of the configured grant
Mukherjee teaches that “periodicity” is “configured by RRC signaling” for “Type 2 CG-PUSCH transmission (Mukherjee col. 22, lines 48-52).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the uplink control information described in Mukherjee to request a change to uplink precoding parameters, as taught in Zander. Uplink control information is a common message format used to send requests uplink.
Claim 36 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 12 from the perspective of a network device.
Claim 43 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 12 in the form of a method claim.
As to Claim 13, 37, and 44:
Wang teaches:
The requested change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
Paragraph 0084 of Wang describes a UE requesting changes to precoding parameters such as RI or SRI.
The combination of Wang, Sun, and Oteri does not explicitly disclose:
The indication of the ... change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter further indicates that the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter is to be applied to multiple configured grant occasions associated with the configured grant
However, Mukherjee does teach:
The indication of the ... change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter further indicates that the updated value for the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter is to be applied to multiple configured grant occasions associated with the configured grant
Mukherjee describes configuring the “periodicity” and “number of repetitions” for a CG-PUSCH grant (Mukherjee, col. 22, lines 48-52), and later clarifies that this may entail using “reduced number of layers and/or using changed precode matrix” (Mukherjee col. 23, lines 28-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the uplink control information described in Mukherjee to request a change to uplink precoding parameters, as taught in Wang. Uplink control information is a common message format used to send requests uplink.
Claim 37 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 13 from the perspective of the base station.
Claim 44 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 13 in the form of a method claim.
Claim(s) 14, 38, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0353877 A1) in view of Sun (US 2022/0360311 A1) and Oteri (US 2023/0239852 A1) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0244613 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
As to Claim 14, 38, and 45:
Wang teaches:
The indication of the requested change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter
“[A] UE can indicate some transmission parameters (e.g., MCS, PMI, RI, SRI, etc.) in the configured grant-uplink control information (CG-UCI) to improve transmission efficiency” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “indicate some transmission parameters (e.g., RI, SRI, etc.)” maps to “the indication of the requested change to the at least one uplink transmission precoding parameter”.
The combination of Wang, Sun, and Oteri does not explicitly disclose:
The change ... indicates that the updated value for the at least one ... parameter is to be applied to multiple grants configured for the UE
However, Liu dies describe a method for a terminal to update a CG PUSCH configuration stored at a terminal.
Specifically, Liu teaches:
The change ... indicates that the updated value for the at least one ... parameter is to be applied to multiple grants configured for the UE
Liu describes updating “beam information” for “multiple CG PUSCH configurations” (Liu, 0039).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Wang’s method for modifying a configured CG grant to change multiple CG grants, as taught in Liu. If a user device is configured with multiple CG grants, allowing it to simultaneously modify all of the grants is more efficient than modifying them one at a time.
Claim 38 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 14 from the perspective of the base station.
Claim 45 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 14 in the form of a method claim.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477