DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figures 1-5 with claims 1-7 and 9-13 read on Figures 1-5 in the reply filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motomiya et al. [JP 2014-194980A or US 2014/0292468 A1] in view of Mizobata et al. [JP 2021-125596].
Regarding claim 1, Motomiya et al. discloses a multilayer coil component [figures 1-3A-B-C] comprising:
a multilayer body which includes a plurality of non-magnetic layers [1] that are stacked, and which incorporates a coil [figure 2C], wherein the coil is configured by a plurality of coil conductors which are stacked together with the non-magnetic layers and being electrically connected together through vias [3a, 3b, figure 2], the coil conductors each includes an inner end face and an outer end face which face each other in a direction orthogonal to a stacking direction of the multilayer body in a section in a width direction of the coil conductor [figure 2C], the inner end face is on an inner side of the multilayer body in the section in the width direction of the coil conductor, the outer end face is on an outer side of the multilayer body in the section in the width direction of the coil conductor [figure 2C], and at least one end face of the inner end face and the outer end face in at least one of the coil conductors includes a first surface and a second surface which is continuous with the first surface and is different in an angle with respect to a plane perpendicular to the stacking direction from the first surface [figure 3B].
Motomiya et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for an outer electrode on an outer surface of the multilayer body and electrically connected to the coil and the nonmagnetic layer being insulating layer.
Mizobata et al. discloses a multilayer coil component [figures 1-2] comprising:
- a body [2] including a plurality of insulating layers [11, 12] and a coil structure [7] embedded in the body; and
- external electrodes [4, 5] attached to the body and connected to the coil structure.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include external electrodes in Motomiya et al., as suggested by Mizobata et al. for the purpose of providing external connections.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use insulating material for the nonmagnetic layer of Motomiya et al., as suggested by Mizobata et al., for the purpose of improving insulation.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Motomiya et al. further discloses two angles on inner and outer end faces of the conductor [figure 3B], wherein a first angle formed by top surface and first side surface and a second angle formed by first side surface, second side surface and a reference plane, wherein the first angle is not more than 90 degrees and the second angle is less than 90 degrees [figure 3B], wherein the first angle is larger than the second angle.
Regarding claims 5-7, Mizobata et al. discloses a void portion [21] is present between the at least one of the coil conductors that includes the first surface and the second surface and the insulating layer, wherein the coil conductor includes two principal surfaces which face each other in the stacking direction, and the void portion is in contact with either one of the principal surfaces, wherein a width of the void portion is smaller than a width of the coil conductor [figure 2].
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Mizobata et al. discloses a void portion [21] is present between the at least one of the coil conductors that includes the first surface and the second surface and the insulating layer [figure 2].
Regarding claims 3 and 9, the specific angles selection for the first and second angles would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or enhancing inductance and/or coupling. Motomiya et al. discloses the first angle is larger than the second angle.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Mizobata et al. discloses a void portion [21] is present between the at least one of the coil conductors that includes the first surface and the second surface and the insulating layer [figure 2].
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837