DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner appreciates the time and effort of the Applicant in the compact prosecution of this case. The Applicant argues that Kangasvieri fails to disclose “an anti-interference path passing through the bearing plate between the first port and the second port, the anti-interference path configured to cancel interference caused by coupling between the first radiation arm and the second radiation arm.” The Examiner disagrees. Kangasvieri discloses an anti-interference path passing the bearing plate defined by the path along the slot and the slot itself creating the necessary isolation between the first and the second radiation arm as shown in the Specification in Para. 0013 of this application. Para. 0013 states “The first antenna part and the second antenna part are disposed together to form the antenna assembly, and interference caused by low isolation between antennas is canceled through the anti-interference path, so that performance of the antenna is not affected in a case of the low isolation. This helps miniaturize a wireless access device or deploy more antennas.”
If further efforts are made to clarify and fully define the invention, Applicant is advised to consider referencing specific paragraphs, column and line numbers, and/or figures from the cited prior art. While the citations provided are representative and mapped to individual claim limitations, other portions of the references may also be relevant. Incorporating such disclosures may assist the Applicant in preparing a more complete response to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kangasvieri et al. (US 20030193437).
Kangasvieri et al. disclose;
Regarding claim 1:
(in Figs. 3c and 3d) an antenna assembly (1), comprising: a first port (32); a first radiation arm (30) and a first ground point (34) corresponding to the first port (32); a second port (42); a second radiation arm (40) and a second ground point (44) corresponding to the second port (42); and a bearing plate (16); the first port (32), the first radiation arm (30), the first ground point (34), and a first bearing part (12) of the bearing plate (16) forming a first antenna part (defined by 22, 122), and the second port (42), the second radiation arm (40), the second ground point (44), and a second bearing part (14) of the bearing plate (16) forming a second antenna part (defined by 24, 124); the first radiation arm (30) is configured to radiate a radio frequency signal received by the first port (32) and transmit a received radio frequency signal to the first port (32); the second radiation arm (40) is configured to radiate a radio frequency signal received by the second port (42) and transmit a received radio frequency signal to the second port (42); and an anti-interference path (20) passing through the bearing plate (16) between the first port (32) and the second port (42), the anti-interference path (20) configured to cancel interference caused by coupling between the first radiation arm (30) and the second radiation arm (40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangasvieri et al. (US 20030193437) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20130050057).
Regarding claim 2:
Kangasvieri et al. disclose the first radiation arm (30) is disposed on a first side of the bearing plate (16), a part of the first radiation arm (30) is connected to the bearing plate (16), a first antenna gap (defined by the height) exists between the first radiation arm (30) and the bearing plate (16), the first port (32) is disposed on a second side of the bearing plate (16), and the first ground point (34) is disposed on a third side of the bearing plate (16); and the second radiation arm (40) is disposed on the third side of the bearing plate (16), a part of the second radiation arm (40) is connected to the bearing plate (16), a second antenna gap (defined by the height) exists between the second radiation arm (40) and the bearing plate (16), the second port (42) is disposed at a position on a fourth side of the bearing plate (16) opposite to the first port (32), and the second ground point (44) is disposed on the first side of the bearing plate (16)
Kangasvieri et al. are silent on that the first side is opposite to the third side, and the second side is opposite to the fourth side.
Hayashi et al. disclose the first side is opposite to the third side, and the second side is opposite to the fourth side (See Figs. 6-10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the and arrange the antenna plate having the first side is opposite to the third side, and the second side is opposite to the fourth side as taught by Hayashi et al. into the device of Kangasvieri et al. for the benefit of improving the mounting efficiency of electronic apparatuses and circuit modules per unit area by effectively using the mounting space (Para. 0041, Lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 3:
Kangasvieri et al. are silent on that the first antenna part further comprises a third radiation arm corresponding to the first port, the third radiation arm being disposed on the second side of the bearing plate; the second antenna part further comprises a fourth radiation arm corresponding to the second port, the fourth radiation arm being disposed on the fourth side of the bearing plate; and wherein the first radiation arm and the second radiation arm are configured to radiate a low-frequency radio frequency signal, and the third radiation arm and the fourth radiation arm are configured to radiate a high-frequency radio frequency signal.
Hayashi et al. disclose (in Fig. 7) the first antenna part (8A) further comprises a third radiation arm (81) corresponding to the first port (5A), the third radiation arm (81) being disposed on the second side of the bearing plate (7); the second antenna part (8B) further comprises a fourth radiation arm (83) corresponding to the second port (5B), the fourth radiation arm (83) being disposed on the fourth side of the bearing plate (7); and wherein the first radiation arm (82) and the second radiation arm (85) are configured to radiate a low-frequency radio frequency signal, and the third radiation arm (81) and the fourth radiation arm (83) are configured to radiate a high-frequency radio frequency signal.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first antenna part further comprises a third radiation arm corresponding to the first port and the second antenna part further comprises a fourth radiation arm corresponding to the second port as taught by Hayashi et al. into the device of Kangasvieri et al. for the benefit of operating the antenna system in dual bands (Para. 0020, Lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 4:
Kangasvieri et al. disclose the first bearing part (12) and the second bearing part (14) are integrally formed to form the bearing plate (16), and the first port (32), the first radiation arm (30), the third radiation arm, and the first ground point are disposed on the first bearing part (12), and the second port (42), the second radiation arm (40), the fourth radiation arm, and the second ground point (44) are disposed on the second bearing part (14).
Regarding claim 5:
Kangasvieri et al. disclose the first radiation arm (30) is disposed on an end of the bearing plate (16), close to the first port (32), and the third radiation arm is disposed on an end of the bearing plate (16), away from the first radiation arm (30); and the second radiation arm (40) is disposed on an end of the bearing plate (16), close to the second port (42), and the fourth radiation arm is disposed on an end of the bearing plate (16), close to the second radiation arm (40).
Regarding claim 10:
Kangasvieri et al. disclose the bearing plate (16) is a conductor part, and the conductor part comprises a metal part or a metal plating part (Para. 0065, Lines 18-20).
Regarding claim 11:
Kangasvieri et al. disclose (in Figs. 1 and 4) a wireless access device (200), comprising: a mainboard (230); an antenna assembly (1), comprising: a first port (32); a first radiation arm (30) and a first ground point (34) corresponding to the first port (32); a second port (42); a second radiation arm (40) and a second ground point (44) corresponding to the second port (42); and a bearing plate (16); the first port (32), the first radiation arm (30), the first ground point (34), and a first bearing part (12) of the bearing plate (16) forming a first antenna part (22); the second port (42), the second radiation arm (40), the second ground point (44), and a second bearing part (14) of the bearing plate (16) forming a second antenna part (24); the first radiation arm (30) configured to radiate a radio frequency signal received by the first port (32) and transmit a received radio frequency signal to the first port (32); the second radiation arm (40) configured to radiate a radio frequency signal received by the second port (42) and transmit a received radio frequency signal to the second port (42); and an anti-interference path (20) passing through the bearing plate (16) between the first port (32) and the second port (42), the anti-interference path (20) configured to cancel interference caused by coupling between the first radiation arm (30) and the second radiation arm (40) and a feed ground end (10) on the mainboard (230) is connected to the first ground point (34) and the second ground point (44) of the antenna assembly (1).
Kangasvieri et al. are silent on that at least two radio frequency chipsets, a radio frequency output end of each radio frequency chipset is connected to the first port and to the second port of the antenna assembly.
Hayashi et al. disclose (in Fig. 1) at least two radio frequency chipsets (5A and 5B), a radio frequency output end (2) of each radio frequency chipset (5A and 5B) is connected to the first port (at 5A) and to the second port (at 5B) of the antenna assembly (1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the at least two radio frequency chipsets, a radio frequency output end of each radio frequency chipset is connected to the first port and to the second port of the antenna assembly as taught by Hayashi et al. into the device of Kangasvieri et al. for the benefit of operating the antenna system in dual bands (Para. 0020, Lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 12:
Kangasvieri et al. disclose the antenna assembly (1) fits the mainboard (230), and the antenna assembly (1) is located at a position close to an edge of the mainboard (230; See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13:
Kangasvieri et al. are silent on that the radio frequency chipset comprises a first radio frequency chipset and a second radio frequency chipset, the first radio frequency chipset is disposed on a first surface of the mainboard, and the second radio frequency chipset is disposed on a second surface of the mainboard.
Hayashi et al. disclose the radio frequency chipset (5A and 5B) comprises a first radio frequency chipset (5A) and a second radio frequency chipset (5B), the first radio frequency chipset (5A) is disposed on a first surface (1a along 6A) of the mainboard (1), and the second radio frequency chipset (5B) is disposed on a second surface (1a along 6B) of the mainboard (1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the radio frequency chipset comprises a first radio frequency chipset and a second radio frequency chipset, the first radio frequency chipset is disposed on a first surface of the mainboard, and the second radio frequency chipset is disposed on a second surface of the mainboard as taught by Hayashi et al. into the device of Kangasvieri et al. for the benefit of operating the antenna system in dual bands (Para. 0020, Lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 15:
Kangasvieri et al. disclose (in Fig. 3c) the wireless access device (200) comprises a first antenna assembly (defined by 22, 24) and a second antenna assembly (122, 124), and a distance between the first antenna assembly (defined by 22, 24) and the second antenna assembly (defined by 122, 124) is greater than a preset distance value.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize such combinations of features in embodiments (in Figs. 1, 3c and 4) especially since combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Boston Sci. Scimed, 554 F.3d at 991.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangasvieri et al. (US 20030193437) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20130050057) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Fujio et al. (US 20070001911).
Regarding claim 6:
Kangasvieri as modified are silent on a sum of a length of the first radiation arm and a width of the first antenna gap is ¼ of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave corresponding to a first resonant frequency, and the first radiation arm is configured to receive or radiate a radio frequency signal having the first resonant frequency; and a length of the third radiation arm is ¼ of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave corresponding to a second resonant frequency, and the third radiation arm is configured to receive or radiate a radio frequency signal having the second resonant frequency.
Fujio et al. disclose (in Fig. 4b) a sum of a length of the first radiation arm (13) and a width of the first antenna gap (12b) is ¼ of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave corresponding to a first resonant frequency (Para. 0033, Lines 1-3), and the first radiation arm (13) is configured to receive or radiate a radio frequency signal having the first resonant frequency; and a length of the third radiation arm (14) is ¼ of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave corresponding to a second resonant frequency, and the third radiation arm (14) is configured to receive or radiate a radio frequency signal having the second resonant frequency (Para. 0057, Lines 10-11).
Regarding claim 7:
Kangasvieri as modified are silent on a sum of a length of the second radiation arm and a width of the second antenna gap is ¼ of the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave corresponding to the first resonant frequency, and the second radiation arm is configured to receive or radiate the radio frequency signal having the first resonant frequency; and a length of the fourth radiation arm is ¼ of the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave corresponding to the second resonant frequency, and the fourth radiation arm is configured to receive or radiate the radio frequency signal having the second resonant frequency.
Fujio et al. disclose (in Fig. 4b) a sum of a length of the second radiation arm (22) and a width of the second antenna gap (12d) is ¼ of the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave corresponding to the first resonant frequency (Para. 0033, Lines 1-3), and the second radiation arm (22) is configured to receive or radiate the radio frequency signal having the first resonant frequency; and a length of the fourth radiation arm (15) is ¼ of the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave corresponding to the second resonant frequency, and the fourth radiation arm (15) is configured to receive or radiate the radio frequency signal having the second resonant frequency (Para. 0057, Lines 10-11).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a sum of a length of the first radiation arm and a width of the first antenna gap is ¼ of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave corresponding to a first resonant frequency, and the first radiation arm is configured to receive or radiate a radio frequency signal having the first resonant frequency; and a length of the third radiation arm is ¼ of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave corresponding to a second resonant frequency, and the third radiation arm is configured to receive or radiate a radio frequency signal having the second resonant frequency as taught by Fujio et al. into the modified device of Kangasvieri for the benefit of achieving a desired impedance adjustment (Para. 0033, Lines 4-5).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangasvieri et al. (US 20030193437) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20130050057) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Wu et al. (US 20220329677).
Regarding claims 8 and 9:
Kangasvieri et al. are silent on that a top of the first radiation arm, away from the second side, is of an arc-shaped structure, and the top of the first radiation arm, away from the second side, faces the first side as required by claim 8; and a top of the second radiation arm, away from the fourth side, is of an arc-shaped structure, and the top of the second radiation arm, away from the fourth side, faces the third side as required by claim 9.
Wu et al. disclose (in Figs. 6 and 7) a top (61) of the first radiation arm (601), away from the second side (along 2217), is of an arc-shaped structure (2218), and the top of the first radiation arm (601), away from the second side (along 2217), faces the first side (along 2213); a top of the second radiation arm (603), away from the fourth side (along 2211), is of an arc-shaped structure (2216), and the top of the second radiation arm (603), away from the fourth side (2211), faces the third side (2215).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first radiation arm, away from the second side and the second radiation arm, away from the fourth side as taught by Wu et al. into the device of Kangasvieri et al. for the benefit of reducing interference from metal surrounding the antenna to the antenna, thereby ensuring antenna radiation efficiency (Para. 0019, Lines 2-3).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangasvieri et al. (US 20030193437) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20130050057) as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Amari et al. (US 20120176276).
Regarding claim 14:
Kangasvieri as modified are silent on that the wireless access device further comprises a matching circuit, wherein: an input end of the matching circuit is connected to the output end of the radio frequency chipset, and an output end of the matching circuit is connected to the first port or the second port; and the matching circuit is configured to adjust a first port impedance of the first port or a second port impedance of the second port, so that an output end impedance of the output end of the radio frequency chipset is equal to the first port impedance or the second port impedance.
Amari et al. disclose the wireless access device (in Fig. 1) further comprises a matching circuit (defined by 111 and 112), wherein: an input end of the matching circuit (defined by 111 and 112) is connected to the output end of the radio frequency chipset (113), and an output end of the matching circuit (defined by 111 and 112) is connected to the first port (106) or the second port (107); and the matching circuit (defined by 111 and 112) is configured to adjust a first port impedance of the first port (106) or a second port impedance of the second port (107), so that an output end impedance of the output end of the radio frequency chipset (113) is equal to the first port (106) impedance or the second port (107) impedance (Para. 0055, Lines 36-39).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a matching circuit, wherein: an input end of the matching circuit is connected to the output end of the radio frequency chipset, and an output end of the matching
circuit is connected to the first port or the second port; and the matching circuit is configured to adjust a first port impedance of the first port or a second port impedance of the second port, so that an output end impedance of the output end of the radio frequency chipset is equal to the first port impedance or the second port impedance as taught by Amari et al. into the modified device of Kangasvieri for the benefit of shifting the operating frequency of the antenna element (i.e., the frequency at which desired signals are transmitted and/or received) from the changed resonance frequency due to provide isolation frequency (Para. 0055, Lines 21-25).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845