Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s newly added features do not overcome the prior art. The button of Rocca is configured to slide which is shown precisely in the figures, meaning applicant’s primary argument of no slide is not persuasive as it is incorrect.
Regarding claim 8, the specification says a spring and an O-Ring; the claim states a spring or an O-ring. This is not consistent and thus the claim is not supported. As there is no further mention of these in the claims or drawing, it is impossible to further interpret it otherwise.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring and O-ring must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 8, the specification says a spring and an O-Ring; the claim states a spring or an O-ring. This is not consistent and thus the claim is not supported.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saladino in view of Rocca (US 2017/0173616).
Regarding claim 1, Saladino discloses a solution dispenser comprising
a magnetic for attachment to a mobile device; [0075-0076, the case and the modules including the solution dispenser are magnetic for attachment to the phone; 0046-0048 also discloses that an adhesive may be used alternatively]
a card holder located between a mobile device surface and a solution dispenser pod, [Case 578 incorporates the card holder/wallet and is located between the dispenser and the phone, see at least figures 16]
and wherein the solution dispenser pod comprises an enclosed pod containing a solution that is a liquid or gel [Fig 16 the bottle and card are affixed between bottom and top flat portions, bottle 586 defines the enclosed pod]
and an outlet port for dispensing the solution from the solution dispenser pod. [Fig. 16, 0068]
as well as attachment prongs [0075]
But does not expressly disclose corner attachment to a hole, or a lever.
Rocca discloses an analogous dispenser attachment system wherein the solution dispenser pod comprises four prongs at each corner configured to snap into corresponding four holes located at each corner of the card holder for securing the solution dispenser pod to the card holder, [0011, 0022]
as well as a spray lever [0048] which is a slide, see figs 9 and 10 which show 3a sliding downward in a straight manner to actuate the spray, which is then indented relative the housing and could be gripped by a hand, and a pressure point is necessarily present as it is activated by pushing. [0056]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a indented sliding lever with a pressure point to have a controlled way to dispense the fluid as needed, and to connect at each corner as this is a notoriously well-known way to attached two things with four corners as it provides even pressure and prevents bending and damage at the corners.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses the solution dispenser of claim 1, wherein the solution is hand sanitizer. [Both references disclose sanitizer dispensers, see Saladino in the TITLE, FIELD OF INVENTION and at least paragraph 0009, as well as throughout the entire document and figures; Further Rocca discloses dispensing of hand sanitizer, in 0033 and 0035] [Also this is not limiting as any liquid or gel would include sanitizer, and using sanitizer as opposed to any other liquid or gel would not change the structure of the invention]
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses the solution dispenser of claim 1, wherein the solution dispenser pod comprises a writing or logo. [printed matter which does not change the function or structure is not limiting and may be disregarded]
2112.01 Composition, Product, and Apparatus Claims [R-10.2019]
III. PRODUCT CLAIMS – NONFUNCTIONAL PRINTED MATTER DOES NOT DISTINGUISH CLAIMED PRODUCT FROM OTHERWISE IDENTICAL PRIOR ART PRODUCT
Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Claim at issue was a kit requiring instructions and a buffer agent. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated by a prior art reference that taught a kit that included instructions and a buffer agent, even though the content of the instructions differed, explaining "[i]f we were to adopt [applicant’s] position, anyone could continue patenting a product indefinitely provided that they add a new instruction sheet to the product."). See also In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385-86, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ( "Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability….[T]he critical question is whether there exists any new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate." ); In re Miller, 418 F.2d 1392, 1396 (CCPA 1969) (finding a new and nonobvious relationship between a measuring cup and writing showing how to "half" a recipe); In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) (matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art); In re Xiao, 462 Fed. App'x 947, 950-51 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (non-precedential) (affirming an obviousness rejection of claims directed to a tumbler lock that used letters instead of numbers and had a wild-card label instead of one of the letters); In re Bryan, 323 Fed. App'x 898, 901 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (non-precedential) (printed matter on game cards bears no new and nonobvious functional relationship to game board).
The court has extended the rationale in the printed matter cases, in which, for example, written instructions are added to a known product, to method claims in which "an instruction limitation" (i.e., a limitation "informing" someone about the existence of an inherent property of that method) is added to a method known in the art. King Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eon Labs, Inc., 616 F.3d 1267, 1279, 95 USPQ2d 1833, 1842 (2010). Similar to the inquiry for products with printed matter thereon, for such method cases the relevant inquiry is whether a new and nonobvious functional relationship with the known method exists. In King Pharma, the court found that the relevant determination is whether the "instruction limitation" has a "new and unobvious functional relationship" with the known method of administering the drug with food. Id. The court held that the relationship was non-functional because "[i]nforming a patient about the benefits of a drug in no way transforms the process of taking the drug with food." Id. That is, the actual method of taking a drug with food is the same regardless of whether the patient is informed of the benefits. Id. "In other words, the ‘informing’ limitation ‘in no way depends on the method, and the method does not depend on the ‘informing’ limitation.’" Id. (citing In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2004)); see also In re Kao, 639 F.3d 1057, 1072-73, 98 USPQ2d 1799, 1811-12 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses the solution dispenser of claim 1, wherein the solution dispenser pod is removably attached to the card holder. [Saladino, Fig. 16]
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saladino in view of Rocca (US 2017/0173616) further in view of Ophardt (0212/0256741 A1)
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses the solution dispenser of claim 1, and while it is implicit if not inherent that there is a spring in the slide of Rocca, it is not expressly stated that a spring is releasing the fluid. Ophardt discloses an analogous device wherein the slide is configured for opening and closing the outlet port with a spring or an O-ring. [0077] Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a spring to bias a slide so that it may properly return to its normal position for reuse.
Conclusion
/LEWIS G WEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699