Applicant’s Reply
Applicant's response of 09/15/25 has been entered. The examiner will address applicant's remarks at the end of this office action. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
With respect to claim 12 and the issue of claiming language that invokes 112f, the amendment to the claim now requires a “data platform”, where the term “data” is considered to be a structural modifier to the term platform, that is now claiming a technological system to collect, store, and process data. The term “data platform” is considered to be claiming recognized structure to a recognized type of computer system and is not found to be invoking 112f. This is in contrast to the previous version of the claim that simply recited a platform, which was found to be invoking 112f. The examiner makes this statement for clarification on the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. § 112 contains a written description requirement that is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement. AriadPharms., Inc. v. EliLilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1340 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63 (Fed. Cir.1991). Specifically, the specification must describe the claimed invention in a manner understandable to a person of ordinary skill in the art and show that the inventor actually invented the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, 935 F.2d at 1562-63; Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351. The written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph applies to all claims including original claims that are part of the disclosure as filed. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349. As stated by the Federal Circuit, "[a]lthough many original claims will satisfy the written description requirement, certain claims may not." Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349; see also LizardTech, Inc. v. Earth Res. Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1343-46 (Fed.Cir. 2005); Regents of the University of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997). For instance, generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. See Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1350; Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification did not satisfy the written description requirement because it failed to support the scope of the genus claimed); Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1170 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (rejecting the argument that "only similar language in the specification or original claims is necessary to satisfy the written description requirement"). In addition, original claims may fail to satisfy the written description requirement when the invention is claimed and described in functional language but the specification does not sufficiently identify how the invention achieves the claimed function. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349 ("[A]n adequate written description of a claimed genus requires more than a generic statement of an invention's boundaries.") (citing Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568).
The independent claims 1, 12, and 16 recite that the performance of a business is rated using qualification criteria to generate a rating quotient, and that market opportunities are determined based on the performance ratings. Upon a review of the specification for guidance as to how these steps are being performed, it is noted that there is no actual discussion of how the invention is rating the performance of the business to generate a rating quotient, and does not disclose how the resulting market opportunities are being determined. On pages 25-26 of the specification it is disclosed that an evaluator is used to analyze business data and to determine a rating quotient. Nothing is disclosed about the manner in which the rating quotient is being determined. The term “rating quotient” is used in the specification to indicate data per se that is representative of the performance of an organization, where the term quotient is interpreted as being a magnitude or amount for a given characteristic. Page 26 teaches that the system uses a quotient system where business profiles are rated and subsequently ranked as potential investment grade or non-investment grade companies. The rating quotient is not disclosed as being the division of two numbers to arrive at a mathematical quotient. The specification does not disclose how the rating of the performance of the business is performed such that one can generate a rating quotient. Nothing specific is disclosed beyond the functional end result that is being claimed as far as analyzing business data to arrive at a rating quotient, in a non-limiting manner. This is especially important for claim 16 that recites the generation of the rating quotient as being performed by a processor executing a set of instructions. There is no disclosure as to how the processor is going about the act of rating the performance of the business to generate a rating quotient. Again, this is claimed in a purely functional manner that is reciting the function end result to be achieve, not how that functional end result is caused to occur. It is not clear how the rating quotient is arrived at. The applicant has not provided an adequate written description of the invention such that one of skill in the art would find that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 8, 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claims 8, 20, it is not clear what it means to recite “gamifying the performance ratings”. The performance ratings are just static data in the form of a rating. To gamify means that one is making an activity more like a game in order to make it more engaging or enjoyable. Keeping that in mind, what does it mean to gamify a rating? This does not appear to make any sense and is considered to be indefinite. One can gamify an activity but it is not clear what it means to gamify a rating. Prior art cannot be applied to this claim due to it indefiniteness. The specification does not provide any further guidance that makes it clear what this language is trying to claim. The applicant has failed to address this grounds of rejection in the most recent reply of 09/15/25; consequently, this rejection is being maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims recite a method, a system, and a platform that comprises a processor and memory to store instructions; therefore, the claims pass step 1 of the eligibility analysis.
For step 2A, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea of analyzing business information to rate the performance of a business so that market opportunities can be offered, such as education or training or grants (see claim 6 that is evidence of the scope of the claim in this regard).
Using claim 1 as a representative example that is applicable to claim 16, the abstract idea is defined by the elements of:
generating a business profile for a business;
connecting a business profile to a platform;
receiving business information from live and historical sources, including financial transactions, demographic records, and performance analytics, for the business profile;
measuring performance of segments of the business;
determining qualification criteria for performance of the segments of the business;
rating the performance of the business utilizing the qualification criteria to generate a rating quotient;
determining market opportunities for the business based on performance ratings for the business; and
distributing resources to the business for acceptance in response to the market opportunities
For claim 12 the abstract idea is defined by the elements of:
establish a business profile for a business in response to input from one or more users,
receive business information associated with the business,
measures performance of segments of the business, applies algorithmic qualification criteria to determines performance of the segments of the business, rates the performance of the business, determines market opportunities for the business based on performance ratings for the business, and distributes resources to the business for acceptance in response to the market opportunities
The above limitations are reciting a process by which business information is analyzed in an effort to help support businesses, where the received business information is analyzed, performance of the business is being measured and rated so that market opportunities can be offered to the business. This is claiming the concept of operations research by analyzing the performance of a business so that improvements can be made and so that investment opportunities may materialize. This is considered to be a certain method of organizing human activities type of abstract idea that is reciting a commercial interaction. Businesses analyze their operations to improve, and this known in the field as being “operations research”. Additionally, the claimed steps are fully capable of being performed by people, so the claim is reciting human activity. A person can receive a profile for a business and can analyze the received information to arrive at a rating and so that market opportunities can be offered. The claimed elements that define the abstract idea can be practiced manually be people, with no technology at all.
For claim 1 the additional elements are the recitation to “a data platform” that includes one or more processors and that communicates with one or more networks, and the use of the network to receive the business data (the receiving step is part of the abstract idea, the network is the additional element).
For claim 12, the additional elements are the plurality of electronic devices executing a data application, and a data platform that is accessible to the electronic devices and that is claimed as performing the steps/functions that define the abstract idea.
For claim 16, the additional elements are the recited platform that is defined by a processor and memory that stores instructions to perform the steps that define the abstract idea.
For claims 1, 12, 16, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (2nd prong of eligibility test for step 2A) because the additional elements of the claim when considered individually and in combination, amount to the use of computing device(s) (data platform, user devices, processor with memory, network) that are being used as a tool to execute the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using a generically recited platform, user device, and/or with a processor with memory that connects to a network, to perform steps that define the abstract idea. This does not amount to more than a mere instruction to implement the abstract idea on a computer connected via a network and that includes a user device. This is indicative of the fact that the claim has not integrated the abstract idea into a practical application and therefore the claim is found to be directed to the abstract idea identified by the examiner.
For step 2B, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not amount to more than simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using a generically recited data platform that comprises computing device with a processor and memory, a network for data communication, and/or a user device to perform steps that define the abstract idea. This does not render the claims as being eligible. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The rationale set forth for the 2nd prong of the eligibility test above is also applicable to step 2B in this regard so no further comments are necessary. This is consistent with the PEG found in the MPEP 2106.
For claim 2, the claimed registering of the profile is considered to be reciting more about the same abstract idea of claim 1. The association (registration) of a device to a business profile is part of the abstract idea. The claim does not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claim(s) is/are not considered to be eligible.
For claims 3, 17, the presentation of financing options is considered to be part of the abstract idea, as far as this is an economic concept that simply serves to further define the abstract idea of claim 1. The claims do not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claims are not considered to be eligible.
For claims 4, 18, the business data , what it represents, and the fact it comes from different sources is part of the abstract idea of the claim. This is just describing information per se that is part of the abstract idea. The claims do not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claims are not considered to be eligible.
For claim 5, describing the business as being minority owned or disadvantaged is simply describing the business in subjective terms and is part of the abstract idea. Every business would arguably say that they are disadvantaged and this is not defining anything further to the claimed method. The claim does not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claim(s) is/are not considered to be eligible.
For claim 6, the market opportunities that includes education/training, grants, debt, and equity, are all elements that serve to define more about the abstract idea. This is just the offerings that are being made to the business and includes offering a loan. This is part of the abstract idea of the claims. The claim does not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claim(s) is/are not considered to be eligible.
For claims 7, 14, 19, the presentation of information through a dashboard is taken as being a further embellishment of the abstract idea. This can be the presentation on paper in the form of a dashboard. The claims do not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claims are not considered to be eligible.
For claims 8, 20, the claimed gamifying the performance ratings is the act of making something more engaging to incentive participation, which is a further embellishment of the same abstract idea as found for claim 1. The claims do not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claims are not considered to be eligible.
For claims 9, 15, the listing of the business on an exchange for inventors to buy and sell stock is itself reciting a fundamental economic practice, that is listing companies for a public offering where the buying and sale of shares of companies occurs, such as is done on Wall Street. This is an abstract idea in and of itself.
For claims 10, 11 the presenting of suggestions or applying for a number of grants is considered to be more about the same abstract idea. A person can perform the claimed steps/functions. The claims do not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claims are not considered to be eligible.
For claim 13, the claimed one or more financial institutions and the claimed business data of financial transactions, demographic records, and performance analytics is reciting more about the abstract idea of claim 12. The claimed server for the electronic devices is claiming another instruction for one to practice the invention using generic computing technology. Claiming that the electronic devices include servers is claiming computer implementation for the abstract idea and does not represent more than a server being used as a tool to execute the abstract idea. This is not sufficient to provide for integration into a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons set forth for claim 12 with respect to the electronic devices. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite any additional elements that provide for integration at the 2nd prong or that provide significantly more at step 2B. Therefore the claim(s) is/are not considered to be eligible.
Therefore, for the above reasons, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strutt et al. (20020133368).
For claims 1, 12, 16, Strutt discloses a system and method for analyzing business information to assess the performance of a business and/or its organizations. This is disclosed as being done so that business’ can make informed decisions about how to run their organization. See paragraphs 002, 009, 013 for a general overview of the invention of Stutt. Strutt teaches the claimed use of a business profile that is generated and connected to a platform. The system (platform) is 100 and is computer implemented such that the business profile information is connected to the platform. The claimed business profile is the information that is used to define the business and its operations, for example see paragraph 165 where a sales analysis tool is disclosed that analyzes information about a business. The information of the business that is being analyzed is considered to satisfy the claimed business profile because the information about the business and its operations defines a profile of the business. This includes receiving information about the business from information sources as claimed. The naming of the sources does not define anything to the step of receiving the business information. Paragraph 415 discloses that the claimed financial transaction information is received. Paragraphs 238, 973, 1018, 1028, disclose the use of customer demographics that have been received as claimed. The claimed performance analytics is satisfied by any of the performance data that indicates something about a business, such as is taught in paragraphs 266, 541, and 661. Various different types of data regarding a business (that will always depend on the type of business and what they do) is used by the system of Strutt, and satisfies the claimed business data that is received. The claimed measuring of the performance of segments of the business is taught by Strutt because Strutt is measuring many different types of variables about a business to provide performance measures and ratings (rankings). For example, see paragraph 054 where it is disclosed that the system measures the performance of an organization. Also see paragraph 166 where a sales performance analysis is disclosed. Paragraphs 171, 172, 173, 179 disclose that the output of the system includes information such as rankings for sales offices, or rankings for sales representatives, or rankings for sales across offices. Strutt teaches that the performance of an organization (a business) is measured and used to rank various aspects or variables of a business and its operation. This satisfies the claimed measuring of performance and rating the performance. The claimed rating quotient is defined in the claim as being the act of rating the performance of a business. This is satisfied by Strutt. The claimed rating quotient is broadly recited and can be any data that expresses a quantity or amount of something. The term “rating quotient” is used in the specification to indicate data per se that is representative of the performance of an organization. This is satisfied by Strutt. Strutt additionally teaches that the analysis provides businesses with information needed to make informed decisions, which is considered to satisfy the broadly recited determining market opportunities for the business.
Not expressly taught by Strutt is that resources are distrusted to the business. With respect to the language reciting “for acceptance in response to the market opportunities” is reciting intended use language of the distributing step and does not define anything to the claim. The examiner notes that in paragraphs 313, 374, 376 that Strutt discloses and recognizes that business’ use financing. Paragraph 374 teaches that financing is being requested.
While not disclosed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Strutt with the ability to distribute resources to the business such as when a business obtains financing they can disperse the funds to various parts of the business to improve operations. Performing analysis of the performance of a business and disturbing resources in a broad and non-limiting manner is something that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
For claim 2, the one or more devices are satisfied by the user devices 20, see figure 2.
For claims 3, 17, as best understood by the examiner due to 112b indefiniteness concerns, the presenting of financing options to the business is satisfied by the above obviousness rejection. It follows that if financing is requested by a business, the financing operations are going to be presented. Flowing from what was stated for claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to present the financing options to the business so they can make a decision of whether or not they want to take the offer.
For claims 4, 18, the business data is just data and reciting where it came from as far as from being from different sources does not further define anything to the business data itself. Strutt teaches many different types of business data that comes from different sources, and satisfies what is claimed.
For claim 5, the business is not part of the claim scope. Defining the business as a minority owned business or a disadvantages business is reciting non-functional descriptive material that does not serve as a limitation.
For claims 6, 18, the receipt and request for financing in Strutt satisfies the claimed limitation of debt for the claimed resources.
For claims 7, 14, 19, the claimed dashboard is considered to be satisfied by the user interface of Strutt that displays the results of the business analysis, for example see figure 26. The display that shows the results of the analysis is a dashboard.
For claims 9, 15, while not disclosed by Strutt, the examiner takes official notice of the stock market and the fact that companies offer stock for sale to individual investors. The applicant is claiming that the business is listed for investors to buy and sell stock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the business’ in Strutt with listings on the stock exchange so that investors can buy and sell stock in the various businesses.
For claim 10, not disclosed by Strutt expressly is that suggestions are presented. The intended use being to qualify for capital investment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the business in Strutt with suggestions, which is why the analysis is occurring in the first place, namely to analyze the business and made adjustments as necessary based on performance results. This would yield the predictable result of helping the business grow and prosper.
For claim 11, not expressly disclosed is the claimed applying for grants. A grant is well known in the art as being free money given to a business to help the business grow and expand. The examiner takes official notice of such. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the business’ in Strutt with the ability to apply for a grant to help their business. This would yield the predictable result of helping the business grow and prosper.
For claim 13, defining the electronic devices as servers is still just defining an electronic device(s), which is satisfied by Strutt. The recitation to the association of the serves to a financial institution is noted, but is not defining anything to the system or method itself and is directed to non-functional descriptive material. The claimed business data has been addressed with claim 12 and is taught by Strutt.
Response to arguments
The traversal of the 35 USC 112a rejection on page 8 of the reply is not persuasive. The applicant has argued that the claims have been amended to recite that a business profile is connected to a data platform including one or more processors and communicating with a network. The applicant argues that the specification provides support for the argued claim elements that recites that the platform executes the claimed steps/functions. This is not persuasive and is not addressing the issue at hand in the 112a rejections. The amendment and the arguments fail to address the issue at hand which is that there is no actual discussion of how the invention is rating the performance of the business to generate a rating quotient as claimed. The specification does not disclose how the resulting market opportunities are being determined. This is the issue that has been set forth in the 112a rejection and that has not been addressed. The rejection is being maintained.
The rejection under 35 USC 112b has been overcome by the amendment to the claims that provides proper antecedent basis for the “rating quotient” that is recited in the dependent claims 3 and 17. The argument on page 9 in this regard is considered to be persuasive in view of the amendment to the claims.
With respect to the 112b rejection for claims 8 and 20, this has not been addressed in any manner by way of an amendment and/or arguments. The rejection is being maintained because the issue still remains that the claims are indefinite for the reasons set forth in the rejection of record.
The traversal of the 35 USC 101 rejection is not persuasive. The applicant argues that the claims are directed to a technological process for processing and distributing business resources. The argued “process for processing and distributing business resources” is what defines the abstract idea. That is not a technological process. The additional element of using a computer (data platform, processor(s), server) is an additional element that is reciting technology; however, the use of the computer simply that of being used as a tool to execute the abstract idea and does not provide for integration into a practical application or significantly more. Se MPEP 2106.05(f). The applicant largely argues the abstract idea as making the claim eligible, which is not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the platform specifies how the platform receives the business data. The examiner notes that the claim recites that the platform receives the data with no further clarification or specificity as to how the information is received. There is not specific manner claimed in which the platform receives the business data as the applicant alleges. The argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claims in this regard.
The applicant argues that the claims are not a mental process or a fundamental economic practice and that the claims result in an improvement to technology. This is not persuasive. The claims are reciting a process by which business information is analyzed in an effort to help support businesses, where the received business information is analyzed, performance of the business is being measured and rated so that market opportunities can be offered to the business. This is claiming the concept of operations research by analyzing the performance of a business so that improvements can be made and so that investment opportunities may materialize. This is considered to be a certain method of organizing human activities type of abstract idea that is reciting a commercial interaction. Businesses analyze their operations to improve, and this known in the field as being “operations research”. The argument that the claims are not a mental process or a fundamental economic practice is not persuasive especially in view of the fact that the examiner has not alleged that the abstract idea is a mental process or a fundamental economic practice. The argument is not persuasive.
With respect to the argument about the claims improving technology, this is not persuasive. The result of the claims does not serve to improve any of the claimed technology in any manner such as the one or more processors of the data platform, a server, the user device, or the network. The argued field of business resource allocation is not technological in nature, and does not represent technology. Analyzing business information and making resources available to businesses does not result in technology being improved and is arguing the abstract idea of the claims. The argument is not persuasive. The 101 rejection is being maintained.
The traversal of the 35 USC 103 rejection is not persuasive. The arguments are moot based on the new grounds of rejection that is necessitated by the amendment to the claims.
Strutt teaches the claimed types of business information being used to analyze a business. The argument that Strutt does not teach the claimed business information is not persuasive for the reasons set forth in the 103 rejection of record.
The claimed rating quotient is also found to be satisfied by Strutt, where this term has been used in the specification in a broad sense to define any data that expresses a quantity or amount of something. The term “rating quotient” is used in the specification to indicate data per se that is representative of the performance of an organization. This is satisfied by Strutt. The argument is not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Strutt does not teach automated diversified resource allocation. It is not clear what element this refers to in the claims because nothing has been claimed about an automated diversified allocation of resources. This broadly worded summary of the invention is not commensurate with the claim scope and is not persuasive for that reason. The applicant also argues that Strutt does not teach the claimed combination of a network based data ingestion, algorithmic rating, and resource distribution performed by a data platform. This is not persuasive and is a general allegation that is not persuasive. Strutt teaches that business information is received (is ingested into the system for analysis) and that aspects of a business can be rated (requires an algorithmic rating process), and that resources can be provided to businesses. Strutt teaches what has broadly been argued as the invention in terms of the claimed combination of a network based data ingestion, algorithmic rating, and resource distribution performed by a data platform. The argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS W RUHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626