DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 07/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/07/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (JP 2018073551, cited on IDS filed 01/29/24).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses (via annot. fig. 2 below) a battery module (1) comprising a plurality of units (3; see also fig. 3) arranged side by side in a first direction (y-dir.); and a restraint member (bus bar case 2) that restrains the plurality of units in the first direction (per below; see also integral connection of modules 3—and, thus, restraint in y-dir.—¶ 0014; further note that bus bar case 2 wraps around and is fastened to end plate (per below) and, thus, additionally supports in y-dir.), wherein each of the plurality of units includes a plurality of battery cells arranged side by side in the first direction (per below and fig. 3), each of the plurality of battery cells having a prismatic shape (Id.), and a case (4) that accommodates the plurality of battery cells and that supports the plurality of battery cells in the first direction (Id.; because case 4 also includes fixing side walls and end plates (figs. 2 and 3), the case would further seemingly support the cells in the y-dir.).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein the case is compressed in the first direction by the restraint member (necessarily by bus bar case 2’s wrapping around and fastening to end plate, fig. 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Inoue discloses the battery module according to claims 1 and 2, wherein each of the plurality of battery cells has two electrode terminals arranged side by side along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (terminals 30a/b extending in z-dir., figs. 2 and 3), and the case supports the plurality of battery cells in the second direction (by holding the cells (fig. 3), the case would support the cells in the z-dir.).
Regarding claims 5–8, Inoue discloses the battery module according to claims 1–4, further comprising a bus bar (5 of fig. 2) that electrically connects the plurality of battery cells together (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, ¶ 0013, 0026, 0027).
Regarding claims 9–16, Inoue discloses the battery module according to claims 1–8, further comprising a wiring member (detection member 6 with voltage detection wire, figs. 2 and 3) electrically connected to the plurality of units (Id., ¶ 0030 and 0031), wherein the wiring member includes at least one voltage detection wire that detects a voltage (Id.), and the at least one voltage detection wire is disposed in each of the plurality of units (Id.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (JP 2018073551, cited on IDS filed 01/29/24), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yamakawa et al. (JP 2017182969).
Regarding claim 17, Inoue discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein each of the units includes two or more battery cells (figs. 2 and 3). Inoue further desires high output (¶ 0004) but fails to explicitly articulate the value of such and, thus that each of the two or more battery cells has an output density of 8000 W/L or more.
Yamakawa teaches a high-output-density secondary battery (Abstract) with an output density of 40,000 W/L (¶ 0057).
Yamakawa and Inoue are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely battery output characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the claimed invention's effective filing date, that each of Inoue's cells must necessarily exhibit some output density when (dis)charged, and, as demonstrated by Yamakawa, the skilled artisan would find it obvious to incorporate each cell with an output density of 40,000 W/L, falling within ≥ 8000 W/L.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/053132 (reference application, published as US 2023155198). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Ref. claims 1 and 11 together encompass instant claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/053132 (reference application, published as US 2023155198), as applied to claim 1 above in view of Yamakawa et al. (JP 2017182969 A). Ref. claims 1 and 11’s plurality of cells read on instant claim 17 besides articulating an output density for each cell.
Yamakawa teaches a high-output-density secondary battery (Abstract) with an output density of 40,000 W/L (¶ 0057).
Yamakawa and the ref. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely battery output characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the claimed invention's effective filing date, that each of the ref.’s cells must necessarily exhibit some output density when (dis)charged, and, as demonstrated by Yamakawa, the skilled artisan would find it obvious to incorporate each cell with an output density of 40,000 W/L, falling within ≥ 8000 W/L.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/054940 (reference application, published as US 20230155228). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Ref. claim 1 encompasses instant claim 1. Further, ref. claim 6 reads on instant claim 17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2013098982 A1: similar disclosure as Inoue, with battery units connected and anchored by side bands.
US 20230344060 A1: battery modules linked by connecting members on end plates.
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 12/31/2025