DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. Claims 7-20 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claims 1 and 4 overcome the claim objections and the claim objections are therefore withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Suschek fails to disclose each and every element of claim 1. Applicant argues that Suschek’s disclosure of plasma is not part of the claimed invention, nor do they disclose plasma-based wound treatment. Applicant argues that Suschek does not disclose plasma exposure, plasma treatment or plasma delivery. However, such recitation of “plasma” in claim 1 and its dependents does not explicitly recite a plasma source as a part of the claimed invention. Rather, the claimed invention claims a screen to be used in conjunction with a plasma source.
Applicant argues that the radical trapping system of Suschek is not a hydrogel. However, as discussed in the rejection below and reiterated herein, Suschek discloses that the radical trapping system can be present in the inner layer (¶ 0087) and that the inner layer can be a hydrogel (¶ 0203, see table).
Accordingly, claim 1 and its dependents, claims 2-6, remain anticipated by Suschek.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suschek et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0296655 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suschek discloses (fig. 2) a screen (inner layer 1) for reducing the concentration of one or more species in plasma (¶ 0001, ¶ 0087, ¶ 0236), said screen comprising a hydrogel (¶ 0203, see table).
Regarding claim 2, Suschek discloses wherein the screen reduces the concentration of one or more short lived plasma species from the plasma (hydroxyl radicals, ¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 3, Suschek discloses wherein the screen prevents the passage of one or more plasma species or plasma effects from reaching a target site (¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 4, Suschek discloses wherein the hydrogel is selected from one or more of the group consisting of: gelatin; agarose; hypromellose; Matrigel; extracellular matrix proteins such as fibrin, fibronectin, collagen and collagen derivatives; polysaccharides, such as xanthan gum; sugars; celluloses and modified celluloses such as hydroxypropyl cellulose, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and hydroxyethyl cellulose; polycarboxylic acids; polyethylene oxide; polyvinyl alcohol; polyacrylic acid; polyvinyl pyrrolidone; polyacrylamidomethylpropanesulfonate; polycaprolactone (PCL); polyglycolic acid (and its derivatives); poly(lactide-co-glycolide); poly(hydroxyalkylmethacrylates); polyurethane-foam; hydrocolloids; and aliginate (¶ 0172, ¶ 0176).
Regarding claim 5, Suschek discloses the screen further comprising a therapeutic agent (¶ 0096).
Regarding claim 6, Suschek discloses wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from one or more of the group consisting of antibiotics, antiseptic agents, antihistamines, hormones, steroids, therapeutic proteins, molecules, biologics, antibodies, anti-microbial peptides, oligonucleotides, RNAs, enzymes, growth factors, nucleic acids, wound healing agents, anti-inflammatory agents, anti-bacterial agents, antibiotics, and anti-viral agents (¶ 0097).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uenishi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0210664 A1) discloses a plasma source.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 30 April 2026