DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/13/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, ln. 1 should read ---reducing [[the]] a concentration of one or more species---
Claim 4, ln. 8 should read ---hydrocolloids; and [[aliginate]] alginate.---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suschek et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0296655 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suschek discloses (fig. 2) a screen (inner layer 1) for reducing the concentration of one or more species in plasma (¶ 0001, ¶ 0087, ¶ 0236), said screen comprising a hydrogel (¶ 0203, see table).
Regarding claim 2, Suschek discloses wherein the screen reduces the concentration of one or more short lived plasma species from the plasma (hydroxyl radicals, ¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 3, Suschek discloses wherein the screen prevents the passage of one or more plasma species or plasma effects from reaching a target site (¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 4, Suschek discloses wherein the hydrogel is selected from one or more of the group consisting of: gelatin; agarose; hypromellose; Matrigel; extracellular matrix proteins such as fibrin, fibronectin, collagen and collagen derivatives; polysaccharides, such as xanthan gum; sugars; celluloses and modified celluloses such as hydroxypropyl cellulose, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and hydroxyethyl cellulose; polycarboxylic acids; polyethylene oxide; polyvinyl alcohol; polyacrylic acid; polyvinyl pyrrolidone; polyacrylamidomethylpropanesulfonate; polycaprolactone (PCL); polyglycolic acid (and its derivatives); poly(lactide-co-glycolide); poly(hydroxyalkylmethacrylates); polyurethane-foam; hydrocolloids; and aliginate (¶ 0172, ¶ 0176).
Regarding claim 5, Suschek discloses the screen further comprising a therapeutic agent (¶ 0096).
Regarding claim 6, Suschek discloses wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from one or more of the group consisting of antibiotics, antiseptic agents, antihistamines, hormones, steroids, therapeutic proteins, molecules, biologics, antibodies, anti-microbial peptides, oligonucleotides, RNAs, enzymes, growth factors, nucleic acids, wound healing agents, anti-inflammatory agents, anti-bacterial agents, antibiotics, and anti-viral agents (¶ 0097).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hammer (Pub. No.: US 2006/0010843 A1) discloses a screen for treating plasma.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JESSICA ARBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781