DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on May 26, 2026. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended; and claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,772,068) in view of Luo (U.S. 2021/0026360).
With regard to claim 1, Liu teaches an apparatus [abstract] comprising at least one processor (Fig. 12, processor 1201) and at least one non-transitory memory (Fig. 12, memory 1203) including computer program code instructions, the computer program code instructions configured to, when executed, cause the apparatus to at least:
aggregate observations ([col. 1, lines 35-50] a probe aggregator configured to construct a trajectory including the one or more probe data points having a same session identifier; [col. 13, lines 20-65] a probe data aggregator 1305…The probe data aggregator may be configured to construct trajectories from the probe data. A trajectory may include one or more probe data points. The probe data points in the trajectory may share a same session identifier) and vehicle paths from sensor data from one or more data sources ([col. 3, lines 30-47] The server 101 may be configured to receive probe data generated by position sensors 109 from the mobile devices 107 through the network 105…the server 101 may be configured to determine a traffic estimate or a navigation instruction for a vehicle; [col. 11, lines 45-65] the communication interface 1105 may form a connection to one or more position sensors or other sensors that are external to the mobile device 107. In another example, the communication interface may form a connection between the mobile device and a vehicle. In this way, the mobile device may send and receive data to the sensors and vehicles external to the mobile device. For example, the mobile device may receive location information from a position sensor that is part of the vehicle), wherein each observation of the observations comprises an identification of an object along the vehicle path and properties associated with the object ([col. 16, lines 31-46] The geographic database 103 may include road segment data records 304 (or data entities) that describe features such as road objects 304(5). The road objects 304(5) may be stored according to location boundaries or vertices. The road objects 304(5) may be stored as a field or record using a scale of values such as from 1 to 100 for type or size. The road objects 304(5) may be stored using categories such as low, medium, or high. Additional schema may be used to describe the road objects 304(5));
determine observation counts for each of the one or more data sources ([col. 2, lines 34-60] By estimating a count of mobile devices in an area, the human (or “general”) population may be estimated…estimating the mobile device count and the population based on the probe data may improve the operation of a processor calculating the estimate);
collapse aggregated vehicle paths to road topology by travel direction ([col. 10, lines 21-47] a traffic estimate or a navigation instruction may be determined based on the number of mobile devices or the population. For example, once the population or count has been determined for a particular path (e.g. a road), a traffic estimate may be determined for the road. A portion or a link of a road topology may be selected);
assign the observation counts to a nearest road topology ([col. 10, lines 21-47] The traffic classification or label may be determined based on historical data. The database may be updated with the traffic classification or label. A request for a traffic report may be received that corresponds to the link or portion of the road topology. The request may be filled by sending the traffic classification or label for the link or portion of the road topology);
project, within a digital map database ([col. 10, lines 21-45] The road topology may be stored in a database. In some cases, the road topology may be retrieved from the database; [col. 16, lines 31-46] The geographic database 103), an observation count for each of the one or more data sources along a predetermined distance unit of the road topology to form observation intervals along the road topology ([col. 10, lines 21-47] a traffic estimate or a navigation instruction may be determined based on the number of mobile devices or the population. For example, once the population or count has been determined for a particular path (e.g. a road), a traffic estimate may be determined for the road. A portion or a link of a road topology may be selected), each observation interval comprising a respective observation count ([col. 10, lines 21-47] once the population or count has been determined for a particular path (e.g. a road), a traffic estimate may be determined for the road. A portion or a link of a road topology may be selected);
iterate over the road topology using the observation intervals to establish, for lengths of the road topology, observation intervals and their respective observation counts ([col. 10, lines 48-67] A navigation instruction may be determined based on the population or mobile device count. A navigation request may be received from a vehicle or mobile device. The request may correspond to one or more links of a road topology. In some cases, the request may include a current position and a destination for the vehicle or mobile device…the population may be associated with one or more links in the road topology); and
determine a value of the sensor data based on lengths of the observation intervals and their respective observation counts ([col. 11, lines 55-66] the communication interface 1105 may form a connection to one or more position sensors or other sensors that are external to the mobile device 107. In another example, the communication interface may form a connection between the mobile device and a vehicle). However, Liu does not specifically teach:
- having an observable location in a position along the vehicle path
- wherein each observation is generated based on the sensor data from sensors of the one or more data sources traveling along the vehicle paths;
Luo teaches an environmental safety system may comprise a plurality of first sensors each located at a predetermined physical location of a traffic intersection and with a predetermined orientation [abstract]. Luo also teaches having an observable location in a position along the vehicle path (Fig. 5A; Fig. 6; [0012] the one or more parameters of the object of interest may comprise a position of the object of interest, a path of the object of interest…the values of the one or more parameters of the object of interest may comprise the position of the object of interest with respect to the traffic intersection; [0044] the values of one or more parameters of an object may include the position of the object, the path of the object and the speed of the object with respect to traffic intersections), wherein each observation is generated based on the sensor data from sensors of the one or more data sources traveling along the vehicle paths ([0033] With a variety of sensors, either equipped on a vehicle or mounted on streets, it is important to have a system or a hub that is capable of collecting all the information from various sensors including from street sensors and vehicle sensors, and sharing data collected from different sources to authorized data receivers (e.g. vehicles, or authorized authorities and/or objects) approaching the street… The values of the one or more parameters of the objects may characterize positions of the objects with respect to the vehicle approaching the street, particularly at the traffic intersection; [0038] Values of one or more parameters of an object for the vehicle may be determined further based on a movement of the vehicle. That is, both the position and the movement of the vehicle may be used to determine the values of the one or more parameters of the object for the vehicle; [0044] In some embodiments, environmental sensor data's 112 characterization of positions of one or more objects in an environment of a traffic intersection may include environmental sensor data 112 including values and/or other data that are indicative and/or descriptive of the positions of objects in the environment of the environmental sensor(s) 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the system of receiving one or more probe data points and having a path of the trajectory as taught by Liu, with the data collected from street sensors including vehicle paths as taught by Luo, to have achieved a system and method for collecting, integrating and sharing data from the streets and presenting probe data points for the path of trajectory.
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Liu teaches wherein in response to the observation intervals along the road topology overlapping, the apparatus is caused to supersede an observation interval having a lower observation count with an overlapping portion of an observation interval having a higher observation count ([col. 10, lines 25-47] A traffic classification or label may be determined based on the population corresponding to the link or path. In some cases, the population or count may be compared to historical data for the path to determine whether the current traffic (e.g. the current population or number of mobile devices traversing the path) is normal, below normal, or above normal for the path).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Liu teaches wherein causing the apparatus to supersede an observation interval having a lower observation count with an overlapping portion of an observation interval having a higher observation count ([col. 10, lines 25-47] A traffic classification or label may be determined based on the population corresponding to the link or path. In some cases, the population or count may be compared to historical data for the path to determine whether the current traffic (e.g. the current population or number of mobile devices traversing the path) is normal, below normal, or above normal for the path) comprises causing the apparatus to reduce a length of the observation interval having the lower observation count by a length of the overlapping portion ([col. 10, lines 25-47] the population or count may be compared to historical data for the path to determine whether the current traffic (e.g. the current population or number of mobile devices traversing the path) is normal, below normal, or above normal for the path…A request for a traffic report may be received that corresponds to the link or portion of the road topology. The request may be filled by sending the traffic classification or label for the link or portion of the road topology).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Liu teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to determine, for a respective one of the one or more data sources, a value of the sensor data provided by the respective one of the one or more data sources ([col. 3, lines 35-45] The server 101 may be configured to receive probe data generated by position sensors 109 from the mobile devices 107 through the network 105. In some cases, the probe data may be cached or collected by another device (e.g. another server or computer) before being received by the server 101. The server 101 may store the probe data on the database 103… the geographic database may store information including maps and probe data generated by the mobile devices 107 and position sensors 109).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Liu teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to provide for compensation to the respective one of the one or more data sources based on the value of the sensor data ([col. 3, lines 35-45] The server 101 may be configured to receive probe data generated by position sensors 109 from the mobile devices 107 through the network 105. In some cases, the probe data may be cached or collected by another device (e.g. another server or computer) before being received by the server 101. The server 101 may store the probe data on the database 103… the geographic database may store information including maps and probe data generated by the mobile devices 107 and position sensors 109).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Liu teaches wherein causing the apparatus to collapse aggregated vehicle paths to road topology by travel direction comprises causing the apparatus to merge redundant co-directed vehicle paths ([col. 6, lines 50-65] the normalized trajectory duration may be combined with the normalized trajectory areas to normalize a trajectory on the basis of duration and area; [col. 9, lines 44-49] the area may be approximated by a combination of one or more geometric shapes. The area of the shapes may be summed to approximate the area of the trajectory area; [claim 12] wherein the probe data aggregator is configured to order the one or more data points sequentially based on the timestamps, wherein the trajectory includes the probe data points in sequential order).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Liu teaches wherein in response to a respective observation interval of the observation intervals extending through an intersection, cause the apparatus to divide the respective observation count of the respective observation interval between road topology intersecting at the intersection ([col. 5, lines 12-65] the duration of each trajectory is divided by a time bin or observation duration. For example, probe data points within an hour wide observation duration are grouped into trajectories. The duration of a trajectory may be the difference in time between a timestamp of the oldest probe data point in the trajectory and the newest probe data point in the trajectory. The trajectory may be normalized by dividing the trajectory duration by the observation duration… The area 203 may be divided into one or more observation areas 601. The observation areas 601 may correspond to a block, neighborhood, city, state, or country. Additionally or alternatively, the observation areas 601 may have correspond to an area delineated by latitude and longitude. The count or number of mobile devices may be estimated within an observation area 601).
With regard to claim 8, the product claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 1, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 9, the product claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 10, the product claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 11, the product claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 12, the product claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 13, the product claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 14, the product claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 7, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 15, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 1, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 16, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 17, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 18, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 19, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 20, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
In the remarks, Applicant argues that the Liu reference fails to teach an “identification of an object having an observable location in a position along the vehicle path and properties associated with the object, wherein each observation is generated based on the sensor data from sensors of the one or more data sources traveling along the vehicle paths.” While Examiner agrees that the Liu reference fails to teach such limitaitons, an additional reference was brought in. The Luo reference was introduced as it teaches an information object which can refer to a road condition, a status of a static object on the street, and/or a car accident update in which an environmental safety system can transmit and share the information object via a communication network to an authorized sensor data receiver (Figs. 1-8; [0033]). The sensor data receiver can include vehicles approaching the traffic intersection, governmental authorities, or authorized devices [0033]; the environmental safety system can also collect data generated based on sensors of a first vehicle approaching a traffic intersection [0043]. The Luo reference incorporated with the Liu reference, show that the observable location would have included a position along a vehicle path, which is shown in the cited references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171