DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 11/12/2025. Claims 1 and 5 are currently amended. Claims 1-12 are pending review in this action. The previous objection regarding Claim 5 is withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 5. The previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1, however the previously cited prior art has been upheld as reading on the claims. Updated grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments are detailed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 01/16/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the pair of coupling parts" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Nowhere in Claim 1, upon which Claim 5 depends, is there recitation of “a pair of coupling parts”. The skilled artisan would not be able to easily ascertain what feature is required by “the pair of coupling parts” as written in Claim 5. For purposes of examination, a broad interpretation will be used to consider the above limitation. Claim 6 is also rejected due to its dependency upon Claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 2020/0388799 A1).
The examiner notes that although Oh et al. (US 2020/0388799 A1) shares a common Applicant with the instant application, it qualifies as prior art under as it was published on 12/10/2020 which is before the effective filing date of the instant application (01/14/2022).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh discloses a secondary battery (100) comprising: an electrode assembly (110) including a negative electrode tab (first uncoated portion, 111a) and a positive electrode tab (second uncoated portion, 112a) both horizontally disposed at opposite ends of the electrode assembly (110) in a longitudinal direction (left to right of page in Figure 2A) (Figure 2A, [0049-0050]). Oh further discloses that the secondary battery (100) also comprises a case (140) comprising a bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141), a pair of second side portions (144/145), and a pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143) integrally formed with the bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141) and bent so as to extend from the bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141) (Figures 2A and 3C, [0045-0046]). Oh further discloses a cover part (cap assembly, 150) coupled to the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143) to face the bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141) and comprising a vent (154), the case (140) accommodating the electrode assembly (110) (Figures 2A and 3C, [0046-0047, 0058]). Oh further discloses a pair of cap assemblies (first and second terminals, 120/130) coupled to the cover part (cap assembly, 150) (Figure 2A, [0047]). Oh further discloses that the pair of cap assemblies (first and second terminals, 120/130) consists of a negative-electrode-side cap assembly (first terminal, 120) coupled to an end of the case (140) and a positive-electrode-side cap assembly (second terminal, 130) coupled to an opposite end of the case (140) (Figure 2A, [0059]). Oh further discloses that the negative-electrode-side cap assembly (first terminal, 120) includes a negative electrode terminal (first terminal pillar, 122) electrically connected to the negative electrode tab (first uncoated portion, 111a) via the first collector plate (121), and the positive-electrode-side cap assembly (second terminal, 130) includes a positive electrode terminal (second terminal pillar, 132) electrically connected to the positive electrode tab (second uncoated portion, 112a) via the second collector plate (131) (Figure 2A, [0052,0055]).
The examiner notes that the terms “an end”, “an opposite end” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. From Figure 2A of Oh, it can be seen that the negative electrode terminal (first terminal pillar, 122) and the positive electrode terminal (second terminal pillar, 132) reside in openings formed within the cover part (cap assembly, 150) (see Figure 2A). Likewise, Figure 2A of Oh shows that these openings are located on opposite ends of the cover part (cap assembly, 150) (Figure 2A). Oh further discloses that the case (140) comprises the cover part (cap assembly, 150), as detailed above. Thus, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the pair of cap assemblies (first and second terminals, 120/130) may be considered to be coupled to “open ends” of the case (140) to seal the case (140), and that the pair of cap assemblies (first and second terminals, 120/130) are coupled to opposite ends of the case (140). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2020/0388799 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Minagata et al. (US 2018/0331331 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 08/03/2023).
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that the case (140), and particularly the bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141) and the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143), is formed from a metal plate which has a thickness in the range of 0.1 mm to 10 mm (Figure 3C, [0046, 0064-0065]). Oh further discloses that the cover part (cap assembly, 150) is coupled to the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143) via welding Figure 1, [0058]).
Oh is silent to the thickness of the cover part.
Minagata discloses a secondary battery (rechargeable battery, 10) comprising: an electrode assembly (12); a case (11) comprising a bottom part (bottom wall, 13a), a pair of side parts (short side walls, 132b) integrally formed with the bottom part (bottom wall, 13a) and bent so as to extend from the bottom part (bottom wall, 13a), and a cover part (lid, 14) coupled to the pair of side parts (short side walls, 132b) to face the bottom part (bottom wall, 13a) and comprising a vent (pressure relief valve, 17), the case (110 accommodating the electrode assembly (12) (Figure 1, [0036, 0040-0043]). Minagata further discloses a pair of cap assemblies (long side walls, 131b) located on ends of the case (11) and which are integrally formed with the bottom part (bottom wall, 13a) and the pair of side parts (short side walls, 132b), wherein the pair of cap assemblies (short side walls, 132b) serve to help to seal the case (11) (Figure 1, [0043]). Minagata further discloses that the thickness (D1) of the pair of side parts (short side walls, 132b) is greater than the thickness (D) of the cover part (lid, 14) (Figure 3A, [0020]). Minagata further discloses that when the thickness (D1) of the pair of side parts (short side walls, 132b) is greater than the thickness (D) of the cover part (lid, 14), a sufficient weld strength may be achieved within unnecessarily increasing the thickness of the pair of side parts (short side walls, 132b), thus preventing the energy density of the secondary battery (rechargeable battery, 10) from being reduced (Figure 1, [0021]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the thickness of the cover part, a thickness which is greater than the thickness of the side parts in order to provide a sufficient weld strength without increasing the thickness of the side walls, thus preserving the energy density of the battery, as taught by Minagata. Furthermore, it has been held that changes in size/proportion of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Oh as modified by Minagata discloses the secondary battery of Claim 2 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that an opening (vent hole, 151b) is formed through the cover part (cap assembly, 150), and the vent (154) is coupled to the opening (vent hole, 151b) (Figure 2A, [0058]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Oh as modified by Minagata discloses the secondary battery of Claim 2 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that at “side” ends of the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143), coupling parts (extending portions, 142b/143b) are inwardly bent and extend towards each other (Figure 4B, [0073]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Oh as modified by Minagata discloses the secondary battery of Claim 4 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that the second side portions (144/145) may be coupled between the coupling parts (extending portions, 142b/143b), such that sides of the second side portions (144/145) are in contact with and welded to the coupling parts (extending portions, 142b/143b) (Figures 3D, 4B, and 7B, [0094]).
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the cover part is coupled between the pair of coupling parts.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to modify the secondary battery of Oh such that coupling parts are additionally included on the “top” ends of the pair of side plates such that the cover part is coupled to the pair of side plates at the coupling parts by being in contact with and welded to the coupling parts. Such a modification would be obvious to the skilled artisan as Oh teaches that such a coupling configuration is useful for attaching the separate pair of cap assemblies to the pair of side plates, as detailed above. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 7):
Oh as modified by Minagata discloses the secondary battery of Claim 7 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 7, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a side surface of the cover part (cap assembly, 150) and outer surfaces of the pair of coupling parts are welded (Figure 2A, [0094]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Oh as modified by Minagata discloses the secondary battery of Claim 4 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that the coupling parts (extending portions, 142b/143b) are bent to be rounded from the “side” ends of the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143) (Figure 4B, [0073]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Oh as modified by Minagata discloses the secondary battery of Claim 2 as set forth above.
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the cover part comprises, on a side thereof coupled to the pair of side parts, a pair of extension parts that extend parallel to each other.
Minagata further discloses that the cover part (lid, 14) comprises a pair of extension parts (see annotated Figure 3A below) which extend parallel to each other, wherein the pair of extension parts (see annotated Figure 3A below) are formed on a side of the cover part (lid, 14) and are coupled to and between the pair of side parts via welding (short side walls, 132b) (Figure 3A, [0047, 0049]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the cover part of Oh to include on the sides thereof, a pair of extension parts as described by Minagata, such that the pair of extension parts extend parallel to each other and are coupled with and between the side parts via welding. Such a modification would be obvious to the skilled artisan as Minagata teaches that such a coupling configuration is useful for attaching the cover part to the side parts, as detailed above. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
Annotated Figure 3A (Minagata US 2018/0331331 A1)
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 10):
Oh as modified by Minagata discloses the secondary battery of Claim 10 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed in the rejection of Claim 10 above, modified Oh discloses that the cover part (cap assembly, 150) is coupled between the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143) such that the pair of extension parts are in contact with inner surfaces of the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 11):
Oh as modified by Minagata discloses the secondary battery of Claim 11 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed in the rejection of Claim 10 above, modified Oh discloses that an outer surface of the cover part (cap assembly, 150) is coupled to ends of the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143) via welding. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2020/0388799 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Kwak (KR 20120048802 A) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 08/03/2023).
The examiner notes that citations directed to Kwak (KR 20120048802 A) are made in reference to the English translation provided by the Applicant.
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that the pair of cap assemblies (second side portions, 144/145) may be coupled between the coupling parts (extending portions, 142b/143b), such that sides of the second side portions (144/145) are in contact with and welded to the coupling parts (extending portions, 142b/143b) (Figures 3D, 4B, and 7B, [0094]).
Oh is deficient in disclosing 1) that the cover part is coupled to at least partially overlap with outer surfaces of the pair of coupling parts; and 2) that the cover part comprises a pair of steps seated on the pair of coupling parts.
Regarding 1), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to modify the secondary battery of Oh such that coupling parts are additionally included on the “top” ends of the pair of side plates such that the cover part is coupled to the pair of side plates at the coupling parts by being in contact with and welded to the coupling parts. Such a modification would be obvious to the skilled artisan as Oh teaches that such a coupling configuration is useful for attaching the separate pair of second side portions to the pair of side plates, as detailed above. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, the limitation of Claim 5 requiring that the cover part is coupled to at least partially overlap with outer surfaces of the pair of coupling parts, is met.
Regarding 2), Kwak discloses a battery case for a secondary battery, wherein the battery case (case main body, 10) comprises a bottom portion (see annotated Figure 3 below) and a pair of side parts (body, 12) integrally formed with the bottom part (see annotated Figure 3 below) and bent to extend from the bottom part (see annotated Figure 3 below) (Figures 1 and 3, [0009, 0012]). Kwak further discloses that the battery case (case main body, 10) additionally comprises a cover part (lower plate, 20), wherein the cover part (lower plate, 20) has a pair of steps (grooved plate, 21) on opposite ends thereof (Figures 1 and 3, [0012, 0016]). Kwak further discloses that the pair of side parts (body, 12) each comprise a pair of coupling parts (lower end coupling portion, 14), wherein the pair of steps (grooved plate, 21) are seated on the pair of coupling parts (lower end coupling portion, 14) to fasten the cover part (lower plate, 20) to the battery case (case main body, 10) (Figures 1 and 3, [0016]). Kwak further discloses that such a configuration of coupling is beneficial in both cost and ease of manufacturing compared to traditional manufacturing methods [0012].
The examiner notes that terms such as “top” and “bottom” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the secondary battery relative to one another within the secondary battery. The particular orientation of the secondary battery does not provide any structural limitations to the secondary battery itself.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify the cover part of Oh to include a pair of steps as taught by Kwak, as such a feature is known in the art as suitable for forming a sealing connection with a pair of coupling parts on side parts in a battery case, as taught by Kwak. By making such a modification the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a case for a secondary battery which is reliably sealed but is more cost and labor effective in regards to manufacturing, as taught by Kwak. Upon making the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Annotated Figure 3 (Kwak KR 20120048802 A)
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 5):
Oh as modified by Minagata and Kwak discloses the secondary battery of Claim 5 as set forth above. Upon the modifications detailed above in the rejection of Claim 5, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the side surfaces (i.e., the pair of steps) of the cover part (cap assembly, 150) and the outer surfaces of the pair of coupling parts are welded (Figure 2B, [0094]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that amended Claim 1 is not anticipated by Oh et al. (US 2020/0388799 A1).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, Oh discloses a secondary battery (100) comprising: an electrode assembly (110) including a negative electrode tab (first uncoated portion, 111a) and a positive electrode tab (second uncoated portion, 112a) both horizontally disposed at opposite ends of the electrode assembly (110) in a longitudinal direction (left to right of page in Figure 2A) (Figure 2A, [0049-0050]). Oh further discloses that the secondary battery (100) also comprises a case (140) comprising a bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141), a pair of second side portions (144/145), and a pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143) integrally formed with the bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141) and bent so as to extend from the bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141) (Figures 2A and 3C, [0045-0046]). Oh further discloses a cover part (cap assembly, 150) coupled to the pair of side parts (first side portions, 142/143) to face the bottom part (rectangular bottom portion, 141) and comprising a vent (154), the case (140) accommodating the electrode assembly (110) (Figures 2A and 3C, [0046-0047, 0058]). Oh further discloses a pair of cap assemblies (first and second terminals, 120/130) coupled to the cover part (cap assembly, 150) (Figure 2A, [0047]). Oh further discloses that the pair of cap assemblies (first and second terminals, 120/130) consists of a negative-electrode-side cap assembly (first terminal, 120) coupled to an end of the case (140) and a positive-electrode-side cap assembly (second terminal, 130) coupled to an opposite end of the case (140) (Figure 2A, [0059]). Oh further discloses that the negative-electrode-side cap assembly (first terminal, 120) includes a negative electrode terminal (first terminal pillar, 122) electrically connected to the negative electrode tab (first uncoated portion, 111a) via the first collector plate (121), and the positive-electrode-side cap assembly (second terminal, 130) includes a positive electrode terminal (second terminal pillar, 132) electrically connected to the positive electrode tab (second uncoated portion, 112a) via the second collector plate (131) (Figure 2A, [0052,0055]).
The examiner notes that the terms “an end” and “an opposite end” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. From Figure 2A of Oh, it can be seen that the negative electrode terminal (first terminal pillar, 122) and the positive electrode terminal (second terminal pillar, 132) reside in openings formed within the cover part (cap assembly, 150) (see Figure 2A). Likewise, Figure 2A of Oh shows that these openings are located on opposite ends of the cover part (cap assembly, 150) (Figure 2A). Oh further discloses that the case (140) comprises the cover part (cap assembly, 150), as detailed above. Thus, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the pair of cap assemblies (first and second terminals, 120/130) may be considered to be coupled to “open ends” of the case (140) to seal the case (140), and that the pair of cap assemblies (first and second terminals, 120/130) are coupled to opposite ends of the case (140). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724