DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the RCE filed on 1/22/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon (US 8287313).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) an electrical contact pad, comprising: a conductive component (100) including at least one surface discontinuity (see surface discontinuity near 110) configured to enhance an electrical connection therewith (i.e. surface discontinuity near 110 is capable of enhancing an electrical connection; column 5, lines 9 – 17).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 1, wherein the conductive component (100) has a planar section (see figure 8) with the at least one surface discontinuity (surface discontinuity near 110).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 1, wherein the at least one surface discontinuity (surface discontinuity near 110) includes one or more structurally-vulnerable portions (150) configured to serve as focused points of contact during an establishment of the electrical connection (i.e. 150 is a point of contact during establishment of the electrical connection).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 3, wherein the one or more structurally-vulnerable portions (150) are configured to physically yield during the establishment of the electrical connection (i.e. 150 is capable of physically yielding during establishment of the electrical connection; see figure 7, showing 150 yielding towards 304).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 1, wherein the at least one surface discontinuity (surface discontinuity near 110) includes one or more edges (see figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 1,
wherein the at least one surface discontinuity (surface discontinuity near 110) includes a rim (see rim where 144 is extending from).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 1, wherein the at least one surface discontinuity (surface discontinuity near 110) is a machined portion of the conductive component (100) that is configured to receive an electric current (i.e. column 22, lines 34 – 41).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 1, wherein the at least one surface discontinuity (surface discontinuity near 110) is an opening (see opening near 110 in figure 8) in a surface of the conductive component (100).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 8, wherein the opening (see opening near 110a in figure 10) is a recess (i.e. 120a; Definition of recess in Google “the term recess in the context of connector structures and architectural/mechanical design refers to an indentation, inset, hollow, or set-back area.”).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 9, wherein the recess (120a) is a dimple (i.e. 120a is an upward protruding part, 134a is considered a dimple).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 8, wherein the opening (see opening near 110 in figure 8) is a through hole (opening near 110 is a through hole) in the conductive component (100).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 8, wherein the opening (see opening near 110 in figure 8) has a shape of a circle (see circular shape in figure 8).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 1, wherein the at least one surface discontinuity (surface discontinuity near 110) is a chamfer (160a) on a surface of the conductive component (100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 8287313).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon teaches (figures 8 – 10) the electrical contact pad of claim 12, wherein the circle has a diameter between 0.3 mm to 0.5 mm.
Although Kwon does not expressly disclose that the circle has a diameter between 0.3 mm to 0.5 mm, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the diameter of the circular opening in O’Neil to be between 0.3 mm to 0.5 mm as a matter of routine optimization depending on design requirements such as structural integrity. The selection of a specific dimension from a finite range of sizes would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the results of such modification are predictable (MPEP § 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim(s) 1 – 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834