DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 46-49 and 51-87 are pending. Claims 48, 51-64, 67, 69-75, 77-78 and 80-87 are withdrawn. Claims 46-47, 68, 76 and 79 are rejected. Claims 49 and 65-66 are objected to.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks have overcome the previously presented 35 USC 103 rejection over WO2020097265A1 by Hunt et al.
Although the limitations of claim 55 and 50 of the claim set filed 01/26/2026 were incorporated into claim 46 the claim embraces a method of treating that is generic to other conditions such as cardiomyopathies that are not allowable subject matter. Likewise, the claims embrace methods of treating congenital muscular dystrophies which is subject matter that stands rejected on grounds of nonstatutory double patenting. Therefore, claims 46-47, 68, 76 and 79 are rejected as set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
As per MPEP 803.02, the examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicant’s elected combination appears free of the art. Therefore, according to MPEP 803.02: should the elected species be found allowable, the examination of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If the examination is extended and a non-elected species found not allowable, the Markush-type claim shall be rejected and claims to the non-elected invention held withdrawn from further consideration. The examination of the Markush-type claims has been extended to include the scope of claims 49 and 65-66 as well as the scope of claims 46-47, 49-50, 68, 76 and 79 where the disease is a cardiomyopathy and the compound is as follows:
;
or the disease is a congenital muscular dystrophy and the compound is
or
.
These combinations are not allowable as addressed below. Any subject matter discussed outside this scope was discovered incidental to the expanded search and is presented in the interest of compact prosecution.
As a non-elected species has been found not allowable, the Markush-type claims have been rejected and claims to the nonelected invention are held withdrawn from further consideration. Examination has been limited to claims embracing the elected species which are claims 46-47, 49, 65-66, 68, 76 and 79. Claims 46-47, 49, 65-66, 68, 76 and 79 have been examined to the extent that they are readable on the elected embodiment and the above identified nonelected combination. Since the nonelected combination has not been found allowable, subject matter not embraced by the elected embodiment or the above identified nonelected species is therefore withdrawn from further consideration. Any subject matter discussed beyond this scope is presented in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claims 48, 51-64, 67, 69-75, 77-78 and 80-87 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/178355 A1 by Wagner et al. which claims priority to U.S. Provisional 62/984,010 filed March 2nd, 2020.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
The prior art teaches (title) “new inhibitors for the KEAP1-NRF2 protein-protein interaction” and discloses the following compound on page 37 (page 87 of ‘010):
.
The prior art compound is embraced by instant formula III’ where each Y is C(R3) where R3 is hydrogen, A is absent, R1 is hydrogen, R7 and R8 are absent (n and p are 0), R25 is hydrogen, and R2 is C6 carbocycle substituted by OR10 where R10 is C6 carbocycle substituted by NO2.
Regarding instant claims 46, the prior art discloses that the compound above may administered in a method of treating a metabolic disease wherein the disease is diabetic cardiomyopathy (paragraph [0063]; page 64 of ‘010).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art discloses a method of treating a cardiomyopathy such as diabetic cardiomyopathy but does not disclose that the prior art compound was administered to a subject.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
A person of ordinary skill seeking to treat a subject having a cardiomyopathy such as diabetic cardiomyopathy would have been motivated to administer the prior art compound as taught by Wagner et al. in order to improve therapeutic outcomes.
Claim(s) 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/178355 A1 by Wagner et al. which claims priority to U.S. Provisional 62/984,010 filed March 2nd, 2020. as applied to claim 46 above, and further in view of Borghetti et al. (2018). Diabetic Cardiomyopathy: Current and Future Therapies. Beyond Glycemic Control. Frontiers in physiology, 9, 1514.
Wagner et al. disclose a method of treating a cardiomyopathy such as diabetic cardiomyopathy by administering a compound embraced by instant Formula III’ but do not suggest administration of an additional active agent as required by instant claim 68.
Borghetti et al. discuss (title) “Diabetic Cardiomyopathy: Current and Future Therapies. Beyond Glycemic Control.” and report (abstract):
…several drugs currently in use can improve cardiac health beyond their ability to control glycemia. GLP-1 receptor agonists and sodium-glucose co-transporter 2 inhibitors have been shown to have a beneficial effect on the cardiovascular system through a direct effect on myocardium, beyond their ability to lower blood glucose levels. In recent years, great improvements have been made toward the possibility of modulating the expression of specific cardiac genes or non-coding RNAs in vivo for therapeutic purpose, opening up the possibility to regulate the expression of key players in the development/progression of diabetic cardiomyopathy.
MPEP 2144.06 states:
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from there having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to treat a subject with diabetic cardiomyopathy would have been motivated to modify the method of Wagner et al. to administer an additional therapeutic agent such as a GLP-1 receptor antagonist taught by Borghetti et al. in order to improve treatment.
Double Patenting
Claims 46-47, 68, 76 and 79 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11236065 in view of National Organization for Rare Disorders. Myotonic Dystrophy. Published 2017. Accessed February 18th, 2026 at https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/dystrophy-myotonic/
Claim 25 of the patent discloses the following compound (Col. 311):
.
The compound is embraced by instant formula I’ where each Y is N, A is NR4 where R4 is hydrogen, R1 is C5 carbocycle, R7 and R8 are absent (n and p are 0), R25 is hydrogen, and R2 is C2 alkyl.
Regarding instant claims 46-47, 76 and 79, claim 30 of the patent discloses that the compound above may be administered in a method of treating a neuromuscular condition such as myotonic dystrophy 1 (Col. 312); however, the patent does not specify that the condition is a congenital muscular dystrophy as required by the instant claims.
The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) provides a disease overview for Myotonic dystrophy and reports (page 2):
Myotonic dystrophy refers to two rare genetic disorders of muscle that actually affect multiple systems of the body. The disorder is abbreviated DM, which is for dystrophia myotonia. This is the Latin name for the disorder. There are two main types DM. DM type 1 (DM1) can be further classified as mild DM1, classic DM1 and congenital DM1.
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill performing the method of treating myotonic dystrophy 1 by administering the compound above could be expected to encounter subjects with congenital myotonic dystrophy and would have been motivated to treat them in the method of the patent.
Regarding instant claim 68, NORD discuss standard therapies for the disease including pain medications such as “anti-inflammatories (NSAIDs), gabapentin, tricyclic antidepressants, mexiletine, and low-doses of glucocorticoids such as prednisone” (page 14). MPEP 2144.06 states:
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from there having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to optimize therapeutic outcomes would have been motivated to administer a secondary agent for the treatment of symptoms such as pain as taught by NORD.
Claims 46-47, 68, 76 and 79 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 12415794 in view of National Organization for Rare Disorders. Myotonic Dystrophy. Published 2017. Accessed February 18th, 2026 at https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/dystrophy-myotonic/
Claim 26 of the patent discloses the following compound (Col. 264):
.
The compound is embraced by instant formula I’ where each Y is N, A is NR4 where R4 is hydrogen, R1 is C5 carbocycle, R7 and R8 are absent (n and p are 0), R25 is hydrogen, and R2 is C2 alkyl.
Regarding instant claims 46-47, 76 and 79, claim 6 of the patent discloses that the compound above may administered in a method of treating a neuromuscular condition such as myotonic dystrophy 1 (Col. 261); however, the patent does not specify that the condition is a congenital muscular dystrophy as required by the instant claims.
The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) provides a disease overview for Myotonic dystrophy and reports (page 2):
Myotonic dystrophy refers to two rare genetic disorders of muscle that actually affect multiple systems of the body. The disorder is abbreviated DM, which is for dystrophia myotonia. This is the Latin name for the disorder. There are two main types DM. DM type 1 (DM1) can be further classified as mild DM1, classic DM1 and congenital DM1.
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill performing the method of treating myotonic dystrophy 1 by administering the compound above could be expected to encounter subjects with congenital myotonic dystrophy and would have been motivated to treat them in the method of the patent.
Regarding instant claim 68, patent claim 12 of discloses the method further comprising administering an additional active agent (Col. 262).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 49 and 65-66 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/A.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626