DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges and accepts the amendment filed on 12/25/25.
Claims 1, 8 and 10 are amended;
Claim 11 is canceled;
Claim 18 is newly added; and
Claims 1-10 and 12-18 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 8 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment filed on 12/25/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraphs on page 10 of Remarks, filed 12/25/25, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102a1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference CHUNG.
Regarding claim 1, the Examiner now interprets 9022 as “a first electrode structure”, 9042 as “a second electrode structure” and 9021 as “a third electrode structure” in FIG. 1A of CHUNG. Under the interpretation, CHUNG now discloses a through hole structure (602a, FIG. 1A, [0019]) in the first epitaxial structure, wherein a conductive layer (702, FIG. 1A, [0019]) is in the through hole structure and connected to the connecting layer and the third electrode structure (702 is connected to 34 and 9021, FIG. 1A). Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated by CHUNG.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by CHUNG et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0350742 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHUNG discloses a semiconductor light emitting device (100, FIG. 1A, [0015]) comprising:
a substrate (10, FIG. 1A, [0015]);
a first epitaxial structure (a first epitaxial stack 20 including multiple columnar bodies P, FIG. 1A, [0015]) and a second epitaxial structure (an adjacent second epitaxial stack 20 including multiple columnar bodies P, FIG. 1A, [0015]) on the substrate side by side;
a connecting layer (34, FIG. 1A, [0018]) between the first epitaxial structure and the substrate, between the second epitaxial structure and the substrate (a horizontal portion of 34 is positioned between 10 and the first/second epitaxial stacks 20, FIG. 1A), and between the first epitaxial structure and the second epitaxial structure (a vertical portion of 34 is positioned between two adjacent epitaxial stacks 20, FIG. 1A);
a first electrode structure (9022, FIG. 1A, [0027]) on the first epitaxial structure away from the substrate;
a second electrode structure (9042, FIG. 1A, [0027]) on the second epitaxial structure away from the substrate;
a third electrode structure (9021, FIG. 1A, [0027]) electrically connected to the connecting layer (9021 is electrically connected to 34 via 702, FIG. 1A); and
a through hole structure (602a, FIG. 1A, [0019]) in the first epitaxial structure, wherein a conductive layer (702, FIG. 1A, [0019]) is in the through hole structure and connected to the connecting layer and the third electrode structure (702 is connected to 34 and 9021, FIG. 1A).
Regarding claim 2, CHUNG discloses the connecting layer comprises a first portion (see annotated FIG. 1A below) and a second portion (see annotated FIG. 1A below), and the first portion and the second portion are between the first epitaxial structure and the second epitaxial structure (see annotated FIG. 1A below); the first portion is electrically connected to the first epitaxial structure (see annotated FIG. 1A below), the second portion is electrically connected to the second epitaxial structure (see annotated FIG. 1A below), and a spacing (see annotated FIG. 1A below) is between the first portion and the second portion, so that the first portion is not connected to the second portion.
Regarding claim 6, CHUNG discloses the semiconductor light emitting device has a first light emitting region (204 of the first epitaxial structure, FIG. 1A, [0018]) and a second light emitting region (204 of the second epitaxial structure, FIG. 1A, [0018]) adjacent to the first light emitting region, the first epitaxial structure has a plurality of first epitaxial columnar structures (P, FIG. 1A, ([0016]) in the first light emitting region, and the second epitaxial structure has a plurality of second epitaxial columnar structures (P, FIG. 1A, ([0016]) in the second light emitting region.
Regarding claim 7, CHUNG discloses the first epitaxial structure further includes a first mesa structure (a first mesa of the first epitaxial structure, FIG. 1A), the second epitaxial structure further includes a second mesa structure (a second mesa of the second epitaxial structure, FIG. 1A), and the first epitaxial columnar structures are on the first mesa structure and the second epitaxial columnar structures are on the second mesa structure (FIG. 1A).
Regarding claim 14, CHUNG discloses the semiconductor light emitting device has a first light emitting region (204 of the first epitaxial structure, FIG. 1A, [0018]) and a second light emitting region (204 of the second epitaxial structure, FIG. 1A, [0018]) surrounding the first light emitting region, the first epitaxial structure is in the first light emitting region, and the second epitaxial structure is in the second light emitting region (FIG. 1A).
Regarding claim 15, CHUNG discloses a passivation layer (32, FIG. 1A, [0018]) between the first epitaxial structure and the second epitaxial structure, wherein a surface of the passivation layer is coplanar with a surface of the first epitaxial structure and a surface of the second epitaxial structure (FIG. 1A).
Regarding claim 16, CHUNG discloses the first epitaxial structure includes a first mesa structure (a first mesa of the first epitaxial structure, FIG. 1A) and a first epitaxial columnar structure (P, FIG. 1A, [0016]) on the first mesa structure, and the second epitaxial structure includes a second mesa structure (a second mesa of the second epitaxial structure, FIG. 1A) and a second epitaxial columnar structure (P, FIG. 1A, [0016]) on the second mesa structure.
Regarding claim 17, CHUNG discloses a width of the first mesa structure is equal or close to a width of the first epitaxial columnar structure (FIG. 1A), and a width of the second mesa structure is equal or close to a width of the second epitaxial columnar structure (FIG. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUNG et al in view of HANAOKA (US PG Pub 2021/0083452 A1).
Regarding claim 8, CHUNG has disclosed the semiconductor light emitting device outlined in the rejection to claim 7 above except a first distance is between at least one of the first epitaxial columnar structures and at least one of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, a second distance is between at least two of the first epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, and the first distance is greater than the second distance. HANAOKA discloses a first distance (a first distance D1 between 155 of 120 on the left and 151 of 120 on the right, see annotated FIG. 2 below) is between at least one of the first epitaxial columnar structures and at least one of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, a second distance (a second distance D2 between 151/155 of 120 on the left, see annotated FIG. 2 below) is between at least two of the first epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, and the first distance is greater than the second distance (D1>D2, see annotated FIG. 2 below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the epitaxial columnar structures with a first distance being between at least one of the first epitaxial columnar structures and at least one of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, a second distance being between at least two of the first epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, and the first distance being greater than the second distance as taught by HANAOKA in order to obtain desired output pattern, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 9, CHUNG has disclosed the semiconductor light emitting device outlined in the rejection to claim 7 above except a first distance is between one of the first epitaxial columnar structures and one of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, a third distance is between at least two of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, and the first distance is greater than the third distance. HANAOKA discloses a first distance (a first distance D1 between 155 of 120 on the left and 151 of 120 on the right, see annotated FIG. 2 below) is between one of the first epitaxial columnar structures and one of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, a third distance (a third distance D3 between 151/155 of 120 on the right, see annotated FIG. 2 below) is between at least two of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, and the first distance is greater than the third distance (D1>D3, see annotated FIG. 2 below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the epitaxial columnar structures with a first distance being between one of the first epitaxial columnar structures and one of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, a third distance being between at least two of the second epitaxial columnar structures that are adjacent to each other, and the first distance being greater than the third distance as taught by HANAOKA in order to obtain desired output pattern, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUNG et al. in view of Pruijmboom et al. (US PG Pub 2014/0348192 A1).
Regarding claim 12, CHUNG has disclosed the semiconductor light emitting device outlined in the rejection to claim 7 above except at least one thermal conductive structure, wherein the at least one thermal conductive structure is at least on a back surface of the first light emitting region or at least on a back surface of the second light emitting region, the at least one thermal conductive structure covers an area where the first epitaxial columnar structures or the second epitaxial columnar structures are located. Pruijmboom discloses at least one thermal conductive structure (2, FIG. 1, where 2 comprises a highly heat conduction material, [0020] and [0026]), wherein the at least one thermal conductive structure is at least on a back surface of the first light emitting region or at least on a back surface of the second light emitting region (2 is on a bottom surface of mesas 4 including light emitting regions, FIG. 1), the at least one thermal conductive structure covers an area where the first epitaxial columnar structures or the second epitaxial columnar structures are located (2 covers an entire area of the epitaxial structures of the VCSEL 1, FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor light emitting device of CHUNG with the at least one thermal conductive structure mounted on the bottom as taught by Pruijmboom in order to obtain effective heat removal.
Regarding claim 13, CHUNG, as modified, discloses the first electrode structure is between the at least one thermal conductive structure and the first mesa structure (the first p-contact electrode 7 is between the sub-mount 2 and the first mesa 4, FIG. 1 of Pruijmboom), and the second electrode structure is between the at least one thermal conductive structure and the second mesa structure (the second p-contact electrode 7 is between the sub-mount 2 and the second mesa 4, FIG. 1 of Pruijmboom).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is allowed.
Claims 3-5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828