DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 29, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The combination of Lee and Liberg fills the exact gaps the applicant points to by showing (1) Lee explicitly teaches selecting the RA type (2-step vs. 4-step) based on comparing the same reference-signal received power (RSRP) to a first threshold, and (2) Liberg independently and explicitly teaches that after an initial RA/CE-level selection, the UE performs a second received-power comparison against a second threshold set (first threshold + offset) to determine the repetition count for the preamble transmission, where each CE level inherently specifies the exact number of repetitions. The applicant’s argument that Lee alone does not teach determining repetitions is irrelevant because the rejection never relied on Lee for that element; instead, Liberg directly supplies it with multiple passages explaining that repetition count is determined by CE level and that CE level is decided by comparing received power to a second threshold set. The applicant also argues that Liberg’s reference signal may differ from Lee’s reference signal and that Liberg does not explicitly state the determination occurs “after selecting the RA type,” but this fails because obviousness does not require identical nomenclature across references, Lee’s RSRP-based RA-type selection and Liberg’s RSRP-based second comparison are plainly compatible and would be naturally combined by a POSITA, since both rely on the same class of measurements (RSRP/NRSRP) and both govern RA behavior. Further, once Lee teaches selecting an RA type before transmitting Msg A, it would have been obvious to subsequently apply Liberg’s widely known CE-level thresholding to optimize uplink robustness, because Liberg expressly teaches the purpose of adjusting repetitions based on received-power thresholds to improve RA reliability. Therefore, the combination yields exactly what the claim recites: after RA-type selection, the UE performs a second received-power-threshold comparison to determine the number of repetitions for the RA preamble and then transmits using that number. Thus, the applicant’s arguments do not rebut the rationale or the mapping, and the rejection remains fully supported.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20220210843 A1) in view of Liberg et al. (US 20200163120 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a method comprising: selecting, by a wireless device and for a random access (RA) procedure, a RA type from 2-step RA and 4-step RA, based on comparing: a received power of a reference signal; and a first received power threshold for RA type selection (Paragraph 180, 183, 185-186, 190, 191, These passages show a wireless UE (wireless device) performing an RA procedure and selecting between 2-step and 4-step RACH based on comparing a measured reference-signal RSRP (received power of SSB/CSI-RS) with a configured threshold, which maps closely to selecting a RA type based on comparing a received power of a reference signal to a first received-power threshold).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach after selecting the RA type, determining a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions; and transmitting, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions.
However, Liberg et al. teaches after selecting the RA type, determining a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions (Paragraph 72, 116, 122, 141-144, 159-160, 167-172, The passage teaches that after the UE selects an initial RA configuration, it compares the same reference-signal received power against a second threshold set (first threshold plus offset) to select a new CE level, and because each CE level inherently defines a specific repetition count, this second power-threshold comparison determines the number of repetitions for the uplink RA); and transmitting, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions (Paragraph 73, 122,144, These passages teach that after deciding the (second) number of repetitions, the wireless device actually transmits/initiates an RA attempt using that number of repetitions of a random access preamble, which is an uplink RA signal, thereby transmitting for the RA procedure an uplink signal with the determined number of repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide after selecting the RA type, determining a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions; and transmitting, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions as taught by Liberg in the system of Lee et al., so that it would optimize RA reliability by adapting both RA-type selection and repetition configuration to current channel conditions using consistent signal-strength-based criteria.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. teaches the reference signal is a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Paragraph 12, 16, 132, 133, The passages collectively establish that a synchronization signal block (SSB) functions as a reference signal. Specifically, the channel quality is measured through an SSB ([0012]), and the RSRP value of an SSB is used to determine whether to transmit a message ([0016]). Additionally, the SSB is directly associated with RACH resource selection and transmission ([0132], [0133]). Therefore, these passages teach that the reference signal is an SSB).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. teaches the wireless device selects 4-step RA as the RA type based on the received power of the reference signal being lower than the first received power threshold (Paragraph 191, The passage teaches that the UE selects the 4-step RACH procedure when the measured RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) value is lower than a predefined threshold, consistent with the claim).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. teaches the wireless device selects 2-step RA as the RA type (Paragraph 185 & 191, The passage explicitly teaches that the UE can select the 2-step RACH procedure when certain conditions related to the measured RSRP value are satisfied) based on the received power of the reference signal (Paragraph 191, The passage teaches that the UE measures the RSRP value of a reference signal (SSB or CSI-RS), which represents the received power of the reference signal) being higher than the first received power threshold (Paragraph 191-192, The passage teaches that the UE selects the 2-step RACH procedure when the RSRP value (received power) is greater than or equal to a threshold, which satisfies the condition of being higher than the first received power threshold).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. teaches the transmitting further comprises transmitting, in response to the RA type being 2-step RA (Paragraph 185, This passage teaches that the transmitting is performed in response to the RA type being a 2-step RA because it describes how the 2-step RACH procedure combines the transmission of Msg 3 and the preamble into Msg A and the response into Msg B, thereby simplifying the RACH process to two steps), a transport block with the first number of repetitions via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Paragraph 186, This passage teaches that the transport block is transmitted via a PUSCH as part of the 2-step RACH procedure).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. teaches monitoring, after the transmitting the uplink signal with the number of repetitions, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a RA response (RAR) corresponding to the preamble (Paragraph 134, This teaches that after transmitting the RACH preamble (which corresponds to the uplink signal with the number of repetitions), the UE monitors a PDCCH for a RAR message. The PDCCH carrying the RAR is masked by an RA-RNTI, allowing the UE to identify and receive the RAR. Therefore, this part of the claim is taught by the passage).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. teaches selecting a random access channel (RACH) resource set (Paragraph 133, This teaches the selection of a RACH resource set because the UE is explicitly stated to select an SSB that satisfies a threshold and transmit a RACH preamble in RACH resources associated with the selected SSB, thereby indicating that the UE is choosing a particular RACH resource set for transmission), from a plurality of RACH resource sets (Paragraph 132, This teaches that there are multiple RACH resource sets available since the RACH configuration includes information about associations between multiple SSBs and RACH resources, indicating that the UE selects from a plurality of RACH resource sets), corresponding to the selected RA type (Paragraph 136, This teaches that the RACH resource set corresponds to the selected RA type since it distinguishes between contention-free and contention-based RA procedures, where the selected RA type determines how the RACH resource set is selected), wherein each RACH resource set of the plurality of RACH resource sets is associated with a respective RA type (Paragraph 136, This teaches that each RACH resource set corresponds to a respective RA type because the passage explains that in a contention-based RACH procedure, the UE selects from multiple random access preambles, while in a contention-free RACH procedure, the BS allocates the preamble, thereby establishing that different RACH sets are associated with different RA types).
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. teaches a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: select, for a random access (RA) procedure, a RA type from 2-step RA and 4-step RA, based on comparing: a received power of a reference signal; and a first received power threshold for RA type selection (Paragraph 180, 183, 185-186, 190, 191, These passages show a wireless UE (wireless device) performing an RA procedure and selecting between 2-step and 4-step RACH based on comparing a measured reference-signal RSRP (received power of SSB/CSI-RS) with a configured threshold, which maps closely to selecting a RA type based on comparing a received power of a reference signal to a first received-power threshold).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach after selecting the RA type, determine a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions; and transmit, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions.
However, Liberg et al. teaches after selecting the RA type, determine a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions (Paragraph 72, 116, 122, 141-144, 159-160, 167-172, The passage teaches that after the UE selects an initial RA configuration, it compares the same reference-signal received power against a second threshold set (first threshold plus offset) to select a new CE level, and because each CE level inherently defines a specific repetition count, this second power-threshold comparison determines the number of repetitions for the uplink RA); and transmit, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions (Paragraph 73, 122,144, These passages teach that after deciding the (second) number of repetitions, the wireless device actually transmits/initiates an RA attempt using that number of repetitions of a random access preamble, which is an uplink RA signal, thereby transmitting for the RA procedure an uplink signal with the determined number of repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide after selecting the RA type, determine a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions; and transmit, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions as taught by Liberg in the system of Lee et al., so that it would optimize RA reliability by adapting both RA-type selection and repetition configuration to current channel conditions using consistent signal-strength-based criteria.
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. teaches the reference signal is a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Paragraph 12, 16, 132, 133, The passages collectively establish that a synchronization signal block (SSB) functions as a reference signal. Specifically, the channel quality is measured through an SSB ([0012]), and the RSRP value of an SSB is used to determine whether to transmit a message ([0016]). Additionally, the SSB is directly associated with RACH resource selection and transmission ([0132], [0133]). Therefore, these passages teach that the reference signal is an SSB).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. teaches the wireless device to select 4-step RA as the RA type based on the received power of the reference signal being lower than the first received power threshold (Paragraph 191, The passage teaches that the UE selects the 4-step RACH procedure when the measured RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) value is lower than a predefined threshold, consistent with the claim).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. teaches the wireless device to select 2-step RA as the RA type (Paragraph 185 & 191, The passage explicitly teaches that the UE can select the 2-step RACH procedure when certain conditions related to the measured RSRP value are satisfied) based on the received power of the reference signal (Paragraph 191, The passage teaches that the UE measures the RSRP value of a reference signal (SSB or CSI-RS), which represents the received power of the reference signal) being higher than the first received power threshold (Paragraph 191-192, The passage teaches that the UE selects the 2-step RACH procedure when the RSRP value (received power) is greater than or equal to a threshold, which satisfies the condition of being higher than the first received power threshold).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. teaches the transmitting further comprises transmitting, in response to the RA type being 2-step RA (Paragraph 185, This passage teaches that the transmitting is performed in response to the RA type being a 2-step RA because it describes how the 2-step RACH procedure combines the transmission of Msg 3 and the preamble into Msg A and the response into Msg B, thereby simplifying the RACH process to two steps), a transport block with the first number of repetitions via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Paragraph 186, This passage teaches that the transport block is transmitted via a PUSCH as part of the 2-step RACH procedure).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. teaches monitor, after the transmitting the uplink signal with the number of repetitions, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a RA response (RAR) corresponding to the preamble (Paragraph 134, This teaches that after transmitting the RACH preamble (which corresponds to the uplink signal with the number of repetitions), the UE monitors a PDCCH for a RAR message. The PDCCH carrying the RAR is masked by an RA-RNTI, allowing the UE to identify and receive the RAR. Therefore, this part of the claim is taught by the passage).
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. teaches select a random access channel (RACH) resource set (Paragraph 133, This teaches the selection of a RACH resource set because the UE is explicitly stated to select an SSB that satisfies a threshold and transmit a RACH preamble in RACH resources associated with the selected SSB, thereby indicating that the UE is choosing a particular RACH resource set for transmission), from a plurality of RACH resource sets (Paragraph 132, This teaches that there are multiple RACH resource sets available since the RACH configuration includes information about associations between multiple SSBs and RACH resources, indicating that the UE selects from a plurality of RACH resource sets), corresponding to the selected RA type (Paragraph 136, This teaches that the RACH resource set corresponds to the selected RA type since it distinguishes between contention-free and contention-based RA procedures, where the selected RA type determines how the RACH resource set is selected), wherein each RACH resource set of the plurality of RACH resource sets is associated with a respective RA type (Paragraph 136, This teaches that each RACH resource set corresponds to a respective RA type because the passage explains that in a contention-based RACH procedure, the UE selects from multiple random access preambles, while in a contention-free RACH procedure, the BS allocates the preamble, thereby establishing that different RACH sets are associated with different RA types).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to: select, for a random access (RA) procedure, a RA type from 2-step RA and 4-step RA, based on comparing: a received power of a reference signal; and a first received power threshold for RA type selection (Paragraph 180, 183, 185-186, 190, 191, These passages show a wireless UE (wireless device) performing an RA procedure and selecting between 2-step and 4-step RACH based on comparing a measured reference-signal RSRP (received power of SSB/CSI-RS) with a configured threshold, which maps closely to selecting a RA type based on comparing a received power of a reference signal to a first received-power threshold).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach after selecting the RA type, determine a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions; and transmit, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions.
However, Liberg et al. teaches after selecting the RA type, determine a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions (Paragraph 72, 116, 122, 141-144, 159-160, 167-172, The passage teaches that after the UE selects an initial RA configuration, it compares the same reference-signal received power against a second threshold set (first threshold plus offset) to select a new CE level, and because each CE level inherently defines a specific repetition count, this second power-threshold comparison determines the number of repetitions for the uplink RA; and transmit, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions (Paragraph 73, 122, 144, These passages teach that after deciding the (second) number of repetitions, the wireless device actually transmits/initiates an RA attempt using that number of repetitions of a random access preamble, which is an uplink RA signal, thereby transmitting for the RA procedure an uplink signal with the determined number of repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide after selecting the RA type, determine a number of repetitions, for transmission of an uplink signal comprising a preamble corresponding to the RA procedure with the selected RA type, based on comparing: the received power of the reference signal; and a second received power threshold for determining of the number of repetitions; and transmit, for the RA procedure, the uplink signal with the number of repetitions as taught by Liberg in the system of Lee et al., so that it would optimize RA reliability by adapting both RA-type selection and repetition configuration to current channel conditions using consistent signal-strength-based criteria.
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al. teaches the reference signal is a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Paragraph 12, 16, 132, 133, The passages collectively establish that a synchronization signal block (SSB) functions as a reference signal. Specifically, the channel quality is measured through an SSB ([0012]), and the RSRP value of an SSB is used to determine whether to transmit a message ([0016]). Additionally, the SSB is directly associated with RACH resource selection and transmission ([0132], [0133]). Therefore, these passages teach that the reference signal is an SSB).
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al. teaches the wireless device to select 4-step RA as the RA type based on the received power of the reference signal being lower than the first received power threshold (Paragraph 191, The passage teaches that the UE selects the 4-step RACH procedure when the measured RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) value is lower than a predefined threshold, consistent with the claim).
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al. teaches the wireless device to select 2-step RA as the RA type (Paragraph 185 & 191, The passage explicitly teaches that the UE can select the 2-step RACH procedure when certain conditions related to the measured RSRP value are satisfied) based on the received power of the reference signal (Paragraph 191, The passage teaches that the UE measures the RSRP value of a reference signal (SSB or CSI-RS), which represents the received power of the reference signal) being higher than the first received power threshold (Paragraph 191-192, The passage teaches that the UE selects the 2-step RACH procedure when the RSRP value (received power) is greater than or equal to a threshold, which satisfies the condition of being higher than the first received power threshold).
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al. teaches monitor, after the transmitting the uplink signal with the number of repetitions, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a RA response (RAR) corresponding to the preamble (Paragraph 134, This teaches that after transmitting the RACH preamble (which corresponds to the uplink signal with the number of repetitions), the UE monitors a PDCCH for a RAR message. The PDCCH carrying the RAR is masked by an RA-RNTI, allowing the UE to identify and receive the RAR. Therefore, this part of the claim is taught by the passage).
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al. teaches select a random access channel (RACH) resource set (Paragraph 133, This teaches the selection of a RACH resource set because the UE is explicitly stated to select an SSB that satisfies a threshold and transmit a RACH preamble in RACH resources associated with the selected SSB, thereby indicating that the UE is choosing a particular RACH resource set for transmission), from a plurality of RACH resource sets (Paragraph 132, This teaches that there are multiple RACH resource sets available since the RACH configuration includes information about associations between multiple SSBs and RACH resources, indicating that the UE selects from a plurality of RACH resource sets), corresponding to the selected RA type (Paragraph 136, This teaches that the RACH resource set corresponds to the selected RA type since it distinguishes between contention-free and contention-based RA procedures, where the selected RA type determines how the RACH resource set is selected), wherein each RACH resource set of the plurality of RACH resource sets is associated with a respective RA type (Paragraph 136, This teaches that each RACH resource set corresponds to a respective RA type because the passage explains that in a contention-based RACH procedure, the UE selects from multiple random access preambles, while in a contention-free RACH procedure, the BS allocates the preamble, thereby establishing that different RACH sets are associated with different RA types).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiong et al. (US 11991754 B2)
Agiwal et al. (US 11895707 B2)
Zhang et al. (US 11716768 B2)
Wang et al. (US 20210307082 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464