DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7, applicant addresses the rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112. Has not amended the claim to sufficiently overcome the rejection. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained as outlined below.
On page 8, applicant addresses the Partlo reference. Partlo is not relied on to teach the beam rotation mechanism related to the amended language at issue. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Continuing on page 8 and 9, applicant addresses the Ershov reference. Applicant does not discuss the applied embodiment of Ershov. Fig. 33 of Ershov shows the orientation of the longitudinal direction of the beam cross section is different on either side of element 412a. Compare inset 414a and 414a. Accordingly, the applied embodiment of Ershov continues to teach the claim as amended.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT/JP2020/023003 filed on 06/11/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “The pulse width extension device according to claim 1, wherein the first plane is parallel to the gravity direction.” Applicant does not define “a gravity direction” in any claim. Accordingly, it is unclear what direction “the gravity direction” is referring too. For the purpose of this Office Action, the Office will interpret the claim as “The pulse width extension device according to claim 1, wherein the first plane is parallel to a gravity direction.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partlo et al. (US20090080476A1), hereafter Partlo, in view of Ershov et al. (US20100108913A1), hereafter Ershov.
Regarding claim 1, Partlo discloses a pulse width extension device (Figs. 3A and 3B; [0016]; [0032], comprising: a first delay optical system (Fig. 3A element 150) including a first beam splitter ([0032]) and a plurality of first concave mirrors (Figs. 3A elements 154, 158, 162, 168, 180, 182; [0035]), and having a first loop optical path formed on a first plane, the first loop optical path being configured by the first beam splitter and the plurality of first concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 152, 156, 160, 16, 182, 186); a second delay optical system (Fig. 3A element 190) including a second beam splitter ([0033]) and a plurality of second concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 172, 176, 194, 195, 198, 202; [0035]), and having a second loop optical path formed on a second plane parallel to and different from the first plane (Fig. 3A element 150 is formed in a plane that is parallel to the plane 190 is formed in), the second loop optical path being configured by the second beam splitter and the plurality of second concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 178, 174, 200, 193, 192, 204, 196). Partlo does not explicitly disclose a first beam rotation mechanism arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system and the second delay optical system and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system and adjust an orientation of a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane. However, Ershov discloses a first delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 380a), a second delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 420a), and a first beam rotation mechanism (Fig. 33 element 412a) arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 380a) and the second delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 420a) and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system and adjust an orientation of a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light (Compare Fig. 33 insets 410a and 414a before and after element 412a) so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane (Fig. 33 inset 414a show the beam being rotated 90 degrees compared to the beam shown in inset 410a and inset 414 is perpendicular, the profile is into and out of the page, to the plane of the delay 420 which lies in the page). An advantage is to lower coherence in order to reduce speckle in the beam on a workpiece ([0225]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Partlo with a first beam rotation mechanism arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system and the second delay optical system and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane as disclosed by Ershov in order to lower coherence in order to reduce speckle in the beam on a workpiece.
Regarding claim 4, Ershov further discloses a second beam rotation mechanism ahead of the first delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 376a), wherein the second beam rotation mechanism is configured to rotate a beam of the pulse laser light to enter the first delay optical system so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the first loop optical path is perpendicular to the first plane (Fig. 33 element 378a shows the longitudinal direction going into and out of the page while the loop is in the page; Compare also 374a and 378a).
Regarding claim 5, Ershov further discloses the second beam rotation mechanism includes two or more mirrors (Fig. 33 element 376a shows at least 4 mirrors).
Regarding claim 6, Partlo further discloses the first delay optical system includes four or more of the first concave mirrors (Figs. 3A and 3B elements 150 show at least 6 concave mirrors; [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Partlo further discloses the first delay optical system includes an even number of pairs of the first concave mirrors (Figs. 3A and 3B elements 150 show at least 6 concave mirrors; [0035]), the first concave mirrors of each pair being arranged to face each other (Figs. 3A and 3B elements 154 and 184 face each other, elements 162 and 176 face each other, and elements 180 and 158 face each other).
Regarding claim 8, Partlo further discloses the second delay optical system includes four or more of the second concave mirrors (Figs. 3A and 3B elements 190 show at least 6 concave mirrors; [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, Partlo further discloses the second delay optical system includes an even number of pairs of the second concave mirrors (Figs. 3A and 3B elements 190 show at least 6 concave mirrors; [0035]), the second concave mirrors of each pair being arranged to face each other (Figs. 3A and 3B elements 202 and 194 face each other, elements 172 and 168 face each other, and elements 195 and 198 face each other).
Regarding claim 10, Ershov further discloses the first beam rotation mechanism includes two or more mirrors (Fig. 33 element 412a shows at least 4 mirrors).
Regarding claim 11, Ershov further discloses the first beam rotation mechanism includes four or more mirrors (Fig. 33 element 412a shows at least 4 mirrors).
Regarding claim 12, Partlo in view of Ershov do not explicitly disclose an angle formed between incident light and reflection light of at least one mirror among the four or more mirrors configuring the first beam rotation mechanism is 45 degrees. However, Ershov discloses that the angle between the incident light and the reflection light of at least one mirror may be optimized based on the configuration of the beam rotation mechanism (Compare Fig. 31 and 32). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Partlo and Ershov with an angle formed between incident light and reflection light of at least one mirror among the four or more mirrors configuring the first beam rotation mechanism is 45 degrees, since Ershov discloses that the angle between the incident light and the reflection light of at least one mirror may be optimized based on the configuration of the beam rotation mechanism in order to achieve the desired optical path and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 13, Partlo further discloses the pulse width extension device is arranged on a back side of a laser device which outputs the pulse laser light (Fig. 1 element 62 is on the output side of the laser device).
Regarding claim 14, Partlo further discloses the first surface is parallel to the gravity direction (Fig. 4 shows the mirror mounts having a vertical surface that is parallel to the gravity direction as evidenced by the base 92B).
Regarding claim 15, Partlo further discloses the first delay optical system includes 2n pieces of the first concave mirrors and the second delay optical system includes 2m pieces of the second concave mirrors (See annotated Fig. 3A below), where each of n and m is an integer of two or more (See annotated Fig. 3A below), the 2n pieces of the first concave mirrors are arranged into rows, each including n pieces of the first concave mirrors (See annotated Fig. 3A below), as being faced to each other in a second axis direction (See annotated Fig. 3A below), and the n pieces of the first concave mirrors on each of the rows of the first concave mirrors are arranged in a third axis direction (See annotated Fig. 3A below), and the 2m pieces of the second concave mirrors are arranged into rows (See annotated Fig. 3A below), each including m pieces of the second concave mirrors (See annotated Fig. 3A below), as being faced to each other in the second axis direction (See annotated Fig. 3A below), and the m pieces of the second concave mirrors on each of the rows of the second concave mirrors are arranged in the third axis direction (See annotated Fig. 3A below), where a first axis direction represents a direction perpendicular to the first plane (See annotated Fig. 3A below), and the second axis direction and the third axis direction represents two directions perpendicular to the first axis direction and perpendicular to each other (See annotated Fig. 3A below).
Regarding claim 16, Partlo further discloses the pulse laser light is incident on the first beam splitter in the first axis direction (Figs. 3A and 3B elements 140 and 152; [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Partlo further discloses the pulse laser light is incident on the first beam splitter in the third axis direction (Figs. 3A and 3B elements 186 and 142; [0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Ershov further discloses a folded propagation optical system (Fig. 33 elements unlabeled fold mirror above element 392a and 400a), arranged on an optical path between the first beam splitter and the first beam rotation mechanism (Fig. 33 element 400a and unlabeled folding mirror are between unshown splitter in element 380a and element 412a), through which the pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system propagates, wherein an optical path formed in the folded propagation optical system is formed on the same plane as the first plane (Fig. 33 the folding path and the first delay element are formed in the plane of the page).
Regarding claim 19, Partlo discloses a laser device (Title; Fig. 1) comprising: a laser oscillator configured to output pulse laser light (Fig. 1 element 30; Abstract); and a pulse width extension device (Figs. 3A and 3B; [0016]; [0032], comprising: a first delay optical system (Fig. 3A element 150) including a first beam splitter ([0032]) and a plurality of first concave mirrors (Figs. 3A elements 154, 158, 162, 168, 180, 182; [0035]), and having a first loop optical path formed on a first plane, the first loop optical path being configured by the first beam splitter and the plurality of first concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 152, 156, 160, 16, 182, 186); a second delay optical system (Fig. 3A element 190) including a second beam splitter ([0033]) and a plurality of second concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 172, 176, 194, 195, 198, 202; [0035]), and having a second loop optical path formed on a second plane parallel to and different from the first plane (Fig. 3A element 150 is formed in a plane that is parallel to the plane 190 is formed in), the second loop optical path being configured by the second beam splitter and the plurality of second concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 178, 174, 200, 193, 192, 204, 196). Partlo does not explicitly disclose a first beam rotation mechanism arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system and the second delay optical system and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system and adjust an orientation of a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane. However, Ershov discloses a first delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 380a), a second delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 420a), and a first beam rotation mechanism (Fig. 33 element 412a) arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 380a) and the second delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 420a) and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system (Compare Fig. 33 insets 410a and 414a before and after element 412a) and adjust an orientation of a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light (Compare Fig. 33 insets 410a and 414a before and after element 412a) so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane (Fig. 33 inset 414a show the beam being rotated 90 degrees compared to the beam shown in inset 410a and inset 414 is perpendicular, the profile is into and out of the page, to the plane of the delay 420 which lies in the page). An advantage is to lower coherence in order to reduce speckle in the beam on a workpiece ([0225]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Partlo with a first beam rotation mechanism arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system and the second delay optical system and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane as disclosed by Ershov in order to lower coherence in order to reduce speckle in the beam on a workpiece.
Regarding claim 20, Partlo discloses an electronic device manufacturing method ([0021]), comprising: generating laser light with a pulse width extended using a laser device (Fig. 1; Abstract); outputting the laser light to an exposure apparatus ([0021]); and exposing a photosensitive substrate to the laser light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture an electronic device ([0021]), the laser device (Title; Fig. 1) including: a first delay optical system (Fig. 3A element 150) including a first beam splitter ([0032]) and a plurality of first concave mirrors (Figs. 3A elements 154, 158, 162, 168, 180, 182; [0035]), and having a first loop optical path formed on a first plane, the first loop optical path being configured by the first beam splitter and the plurality of first concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 152, 156, 160, 16, 182, 186); a second delay optical system (Fig. 3A element 190) including a second beam splitter ([0033]) and a plurality of second concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 172, 176, 194, 195, 198, 202; [0035]), and having a second loop optical path formed on a second plane parallel to and different from the first plane (Fig. 3A element 150 is formed in a plane that is parallel to the plane 190 is formed in), the second loop optical path being configured by the second beam splitter and the plurality of second concave mirrors (Fig. 3A elements 178, 174, 200, 193, 192, 204, 196). Partlo does not explicitly disclose a first beam rotation mechanism arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system and the second delay optical system and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system and adjust an orientation of a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane. However, Ershov discloses a first delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 380a), a second delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 420a), and a first beam rotation mechanism (Fig. 33 element 412a) arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 380a) and the second delay optical system (Fig. 33 element 420a) and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system (Fig. 33 inset 414a show the beam being rotated 90 degrees compared to the beam shown in inset 410a and inset 414 is perpendicular, the profile is into and out of the page, to the plane of the delay 420 which lies in the page) and adjust an orientation of a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light (Compare Fig. 33 insets 410a and 414a before and after element 412a) so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane (Fig. 33 inset 414a show the beam being rotated 90 degrees compared to the beam shown in inset 410a and inset 414 is perpendicular, the profile is into and out of the page, to the plane of the delay 420 which lies in the page). An advantage is to lower coherence in order to reduce speckle in the beam on a workpiece ([0225]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Partlo with a first beam rotation mechanism arranged on an optical path between the first delay optical system and the second delay optical system and configured to rotate a beam of pulse laser light having passed through the first delay optical system so that a longitudinal direction of a beam cross-sectional shape of the pulse laser light traveling on the second loop optical path is perpendicular to the second plane as disclosed by Ershov in order to lower coherence in order to reduce speckle in the beam on a workpiece.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 2 recites “The pulse width extension device according to claim 1, further comprising a return propagation optical system through which the pulse laser light having passed through the second delay optical system propagates, wherein an optical path formed in the return propagation optical system is formed on the same plane as the second plane.” While return propagation optical systems are well known in the art, the Office has no evidence that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine a return propagation optical system in the specific configuration as claimed by applicant in claim 2 with Partlo and Ershov. Claim 3 is objected to based on its dependence from claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joshua King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 06/23/2026