DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment of 2/23/2026. All changes made to the claims have been entered. Accordingly, Claims 1, 3-5, 7-28, 31-34 are currently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the amended subject matter of “monitor a search space set group (SSSG) in a first bandwidth part (BWP); switch from the first BWP to a second BWP based on an expiration of a timer or a radio resource control (RRC) configuration; and monitor in the second BWP, a previous SSSG or a configured SSSG designated as a first SSSG for the second BWP, wherein the previous SSSG or the first SSSG are monitored in the second BWP during a scheduled monitoring occasion based on a downlink monitoring configuration” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 9, 17, 18, 28, 33, 34, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the subject matter of “monitor in the second BWP, a previous SSSG or a configured SSSG designated as a first SSSG for the second BWP, wherein the previous SSSG or the first SSSG are monitored in the second BWP during a scheduled monitoring occasion based on a downlink monitoring configuration”. It is however unclear on what is meant by “previous SSSG” as the claim also recites being designated as a first SSSG. It is unclear on how a first SSSG for the second BWP may be a previous SSSG. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter. Similar rationale is applied to independent claim 28 reciting similar subject matter.
Claim 9 recites the subject matter of “PDCCH”. It is however unclear on what is meant by such term. Examiner suggests defining such term.
Claim 17 recites the subject matter “the previous SSSG is the SSSG”. It is however unclear on what is meant by such subject matter. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter.
Claim 18 recites the subject matter “the previous SSSG is the SSSG”. It is however unclear on what is meant by such subject matter. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter.
Claim 33 recites the subject matter “the previous SSSG is the SSSG”. It is however unclear on what is meant by such subject matter. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter.
Claim 34 recites the subject matter of “PDCCH”. It is however unclear on what is meant by such term. Examiner suggests defining such term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, 17-21, 23-25, 27, 28, 31, 32, 33, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lai et al. (US 2023/0141378).
Regarding claim 1, 28, Lai discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor (one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon; and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: perform a bandwidth part (BWP) switching from a first BWP to a second BWP, [0017] and abstract and figure 12 and figure 13) is configured to:
monitor a search space set group (SSSG) in a first bandwidth part (BWP)( monitoring a SSSG configured in the first BWP and the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP, [0099] and [0107])
switch from the first BWP to a second BWP based on an expiration of a timer or a radio resource control (RRC) configuration (performing a bandwidth part (BWP) switching from a first BWP to a second BWP during a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) adaptation time period in response to a bwp-InactivityTimer expiration, [0007] and [0017] and [0099] and [0101] and [0103] and [0116]); and
monitor in the second BWP, a previous SSSG or a configured SSSG designated as a first SSSG for the second BWP, wherein the previous SSSG or the first SSSG are monitored in the second BWP during a scheduled monitoring occasion based on downlink monitoring configuration (starting monitoring a default SSSG in the second BWP in response to the default SSSG being configured (correlating to a configured SSSG designated as a first SSSG) and the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP and more than one monitoring occasion can be configured to a UE before the on-duration, [0007]-[0011] and [0107] and [0074]-[0080] and [0017] and [0099] and [0033])
Regarding claim 3, Lai discloses wherein to monitor the previous SSSG, the at least one processor is configured to monitor the previous SSSG before receiving or without receiving an SSSG indication indicative of the previous SSSG in connection with a BWP switch to the second BWP (the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP and In one embodiment, if a UE detects or receives a DCI format in a first BWP with a BWP indicator field that indicates an active DL/UL BWP change for a cell (correlating to without receiving an SSSG indication) and the first SSSG switching timer in the first BWP is running (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer is running), the UE may switch or change from the first BWP to a second BWP according to the BWP indicator field…More specifically, the UE may stop the first SSSG switching timer in the first BWP. In addition, the UE may monitor a default SSSG in the second BWP. Furthermore, the UE may be configured SSSG switching timer in each BWP), [0107] and [0105] and [0017] and [0077]-[0078] and [0092] and [0096] and [0099]).
Regarding claim 4, Lai discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to monitor a downlink channel in the second BWP according to the first SSSG (monitor PDCCH on the one active BWP and SS set group switching feature was introduced by which UE can be configured to switch between sparse and frequent PDCCH monitoring, [0073] and [0076] and [0080] and [0105]) based on the at least one processor being configured to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP before receiving or without receiving an SSSG indication associated with the second BWP (In one embodiment, if a UE detects or receives a DCI format in a first BWP with a BWP indicator field that indicates an active DL/UL BWP change for a cell (correlating to without receiving an SSSG indication) and the first SSSG switching timer in the first BWP is running (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer is running), the UE may switch or change from the first BWP to a second BWP according to the BWP indicator field…More specifically, the UE may stop the first SSSG switching timer in the first BWP. In addition, the UE may monitor a default SSSG in the second BWP. Furthermore, the UE may be configured SSSG switching timer in each BWP), [0105] and [0017] and [0077]-[0078] and [0092] and [0096] and [0099]).
Regarding claim 5, 32, Lai discloses wherein the downlink monitoring configuration indicates one SSSG of a plurality of SSSGs configured for the second BWP as the first SSSG for the second BWP (if a UE detects or receives a DCI with a PDCCH adaptation field that indicates a SSSG switching (ID) and a BWP indicator field that indicates an active DL/UL BWP change for a cell in a first BWP, the UE may switch or change from the first BWP to a second BWP according to the BWP indicator field…the UE may monitor a default SSSG in the second BWP, [0114]-[0115] and [0092] and [0096]-[0097])
Regarding claim 9, 34, Lai discloses, wherein the downlink monitoring configuration indicates that the first BWP is associated with a PDCCH skipping configuration and the second BWP is associated with the SSSG switching configuration (a UE receives a DCI indicating BWP switching and PDCCH adaptation (i.e., PDCCH skipping, and/or SSSG switching), when the PDCCH adaptation may start should be determined. Specifically, the PDCCH adaption may start after the application delay (e.g., the PDCCH skipping application delay and/or the SSSG switching delay) from receiving the DCI and/or after the PDCCH switching delay from receiving the DCI. For example, the UE may start monitor a SSSG (e.g., default SSSG) after an application delay from receiving the DCI by the UE.), [0094] and [0081] and [0096]-[0099] and [0104]-[0105] and [0110]).
Regarding claim 17, 33, Lai discloses wherein the previous SSSG is the SSSG and corresponds to a previous SSSG index that the network node monitored in the first BWP in a previous downlink monitoring occasion (the UE may switch or change from the first BWP to a second BWP according to the BWP indicator field…and continue the first SSSG switching timer in the second BWP. More specifically, the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP (correlating to a previous SSSG in the first BWP) and UE may start monitoring a default SSSG with SSSG index 0, [0107] and [0092] and [0114]-[0115] and figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 18, Lai discloses wherein the previous SSSG is the SSSG and corresponds to a previous SSSG index that the network node monitored in the first BWP in a previous downlink monitoring occasion based on each of the first BWP and the second BWP being associated with information indicative of performing SSSG switching respectively in the first BWP and the second BWP (the UE may switch or change from the first BWP to a second BWP according to the BWP indicator field…and continue the first SSSG switching timer in the second BWP. More specifically, the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP (correlating to a previous SSSG in the first BWP) and UE may start monitoring a default SSSG with SSSG index 0 and a DCI indicating BWP switching and PDCCH adaptation (i.e., PDCCH skipping, and/or SSSG switching), [0107] and [0092] and [0094] and [0114]-[0115] and figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 19 Lai discloses wherein an SSSG timer and a BWP inactivity timer independently operate (A BWP inactivity timer (which is independent from the DRX inactivity-timer described above) is used to switch the active BWP and The switching mechanisms for SS set group switching may further include a timer-based SS switching: a timer (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchingTimer) may be configured for SS switching (correlating to independent as one timer is used for BWP switching and one timer is used for SSSG switching), [0073] and [0079] and [0076])
Regarding claim 20, Lai discloses wherein an SSSG timer is dependent on a BWP inactivity timer ( A BWP inactivity timer…is used to switch the active BWP and the timer for SSSG switching, and/or the searchSpaceSwitchTimer may be configured per BWP and/or per cell, [0073] and [0103] and [0105]-[0106] and [0110] and [0104]-[0105])
Regarding claim 21, Lai discloses, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: suspend or terminate the SSSG timer after switching from the first BWP to the second BWP (the UE may switch or change BWP from BWP 0 to BWP 1 (i.e., the UE is not required to receive or transmit during a BWP switching delay) and perform at least one of the following steps:…the UE may stop the timer for SSSG switching (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer) in the BWP 0; the timer for SSSG switching (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer) in the BWP 0 may be stopped (e.g., by the UE) (correlating to suspend or terminate), [0096]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 23, Lai discloses wherein to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP, the at least one processor is configured to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP based on information indicative of whether to perform BWP switching (perform a bandwidth part (BWP) switching from a first BWP to a second BWP during a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) adaptation time period in response to a bwp-InactivityTimer expiration; and start monitoring a default SSSG in the second BWP in response to the default SSSG being configured, [0017] and [0074]-[0080] and [0033] and [0092]-[0096] and [0105]-[0106] and [0114]-[0015] and [0116]).
Regarding claim 24, Lai discloses, wherein the information indicative of whether to perform the BWP switching comprises: RRC configuration information; the expiration of a BWP inactivity timer; or the expiration of an SSSG timer (perform a bandwidth part (BWP) switching from a first BWP to a second BWP during a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) adaptation time period in response to a bwp-InactivityTimer expiration; and start monitoring a default SSSG in the second BWP in response to the default SSSG being configured, [0017] and [0074]-[0080] and [0033] and [0092]-[0096] and [0105]-[0106] and [0114]-[0015] and [0116]).
Regarding claim 25, Lai discloses, wherein the information indicative of whether to perform the BWP switching comprises the expiration of a BWP inactivity timer (in response to a bwp-InactivityTimer expiration; and start monitoring a default SSSG in the second BWP in response to the default SSSG being configured, [0017] and [0074]-[0080] and [0033] and [0092]-[0096] and [0105]-[0106] and [0114]-[0015] and [0116]).
Regarding claim 27, Lai discloses wherein the first SSSG is associated with an SSSG timer and the first BWP or the second BWP is associated with a BWP inactivity timer (A BWP inactivity timer is used to switch the active BWP and The switching mechanisms for SS set group switching may further include a timer-based SS switching: a timer (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchingTimer) may be configured for SS switching, [0073] and [0079] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 31, Lai discloses wherein monitoring the previous SSSG or the configured SSSG includes monitoring the previous SSSG or the configured SSSG before receiving or without receiving an SSSG indication in connection with a BWP switch to the second BWP (the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP and In one embodiment, if a UE detects or receives a DCI format in a first BWP with a BWP indicator field that indicates an active DL/UL BWP change for a cell (correlating to without receiving an SSSG indication) and the first SSSG switching timer in the first BWP is running (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer is running), the UE may switch or change from the first BWP to a second BWP according to the BWP indicator field…More specifically, the UE may stop the first SSSG switching timer in the first BWP. In addition, the UE may monitor a default SSSG in the second BWP. Furthermore, the UE may be configured SSSG switching timer in each BWP), [0107] and [0105] and [0017] and [0077]-[0078] and [0092] and [0096] and [0099]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 22, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-8, 10-15, 26 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
7. 7 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fail to particularly disclose wherein the downlink monitoring configuration indicates that the first BWP is associated with a first SSSG switching configuration indicating a first number of search space set groups and the second BWP is associated with a second SSSG switching configuration indicating a second number of search space set groups greater than the first number of search space set groups, wherein the DCI indicates a portion of the second number of search space set groups that corresponds up to the first number of search space set groups based on the second number of search space set groups being greater than the first number of search space set groups. It is noted that the closest prior art, Lai et al. (US 2023/0141378) discloses a method of search space set group (SSSG) monitoring, including: performing a bandwidth part (BWP) switching from a first BWP to a second BWP during a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) adaptation time period in response to a bwp-InactivityTimer expiration; and starting monitoring a default SSSG in the second BWP in response to the default SSSG being configured. However the stated prior art fails to disclose or render obvious to the above underline limitations as claimed.
8. 8 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fail to particularly disclose wherein the downlink monitoring configuration indicates that the first BWP is associated with a first SSSG switching configuration indicating a first number of search space set groups and the second BWP is associated with a second SSSG switching configuration indicating a second number of search space set groups smaller than the first number of search space set groups, wherein the DCI indicates each of the second number of search space set groups based on the second number of search space set groups being smaller than the first number of search space set groups. It is noted that the closest prior art, Lai et al. (US 2023/0141378) discloses a method of search space set group (SSSG) monitoring, including: performing a bandwidth part (BWP) switching from a first BWP to a second BWP during a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) adaptation time period in response to a bwp-InactivityTimer expiration; and starting monitoring a default SSSG in the second BWP in response to the default SSSG being configured. However the stated prior art fails to disclose or render obvious to the above underline limitations as claimed.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Lai fails to disclose “monitor in the second BWP, a previous SSSG or a configured SSSG designated as a first SSSG for the second BWP, wherein the previous SSSG or the first SSSG are monitored in the second BWP during a scheduled monitoring occasion based on downlink monitoring configuration” (remarks page 11-12). Examiner however respectfully disagrees as Lai discloses “starting monitoring a default SSSG in the second BWP in response to the default SSSG being configured (correlating to a configured SSSG designated as a first SSSG in which is monitored) and the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP and more than one monitoring occasion can be configured to a UE before the on-duration” ([0007]-[0011] and [0107] and [0074]-[0080] and [0017] and [0099] and [0033]) in which Examiner correlates a default SSSG in the second BWP that is monitored first, in which the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP to “a previous SSSG or a configured SSSG designated as a first SSSG for the second BWP”. Applicant further submits that provisional patent application 63/263655 does not provide support for the cited statement in paragraph [0107] regarding “UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP” (remarks page 11). Examiner however respect disagrees as provisional patent application 63/263655 clearly discloses “the UE may monitor same SSSG in the second BWP as in the first BWP” on page 17.
Conclusion
1. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lai et al. (US 2023/0397224) disclosing receiving downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) while monitoring the PDCCH on a UE-specific search space, the DCI including an information field indicating a value associated with the first SSSG ID; and starting PDCCH monitoring in the first SSSG and stopping PDCCH monitoring in the one or more second SSSGs from a slot that is at least a time offset after the last symbol of the DCI and BWP switching (abstract and [0142])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN H NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 2473